Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

About Health Canada

ARCHIVED - Americas

Warning This content was archived on June 24 2013.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

May, 2005

Global events such as the SARS outbreak have taught us that countries must work together for the common good. Regardless of geographic location and political boundaries, concern for the health and well-being of our citizens binds Latin American, North American and Caribbean countries in a common purpose.

The causes of ill health do not respect borders. Non-communicable diseases continue to account for the majority of death and illness in the Americas, regardless of the country of residence. To some populations, infectious diseases such as HIV/AIDS, TB, vector borne malaria and dengue continue to spread with devastating results. Marginalised populations, especially indigenous people, women, children and the elderly continue to suffer the most from inequitable access to health services. Given the massive and frequent movement of people and goods between countries, it is crucial that Canada assist in dealing with health problems at their source.

Health Canada has a close working relationship with the Next link will take you to another Web site Pan American Health Organization (PAHO). PAHO is utilized as an important pathway by the Department for health related work undertaken in the Americas. Health Canada has also entered into formal agreements (MOUs, LOIs, etc.) with the governments of Mexico and Cuba and with the Caribbean Epidemiological Centre (CAREC) located in Trinidad and Tobago.

As a signatory to the Declaration of the Third Summit of the Americas, Canada has committed to undertake activities that will address the health concerns of both Canadians and non-Canadians throughout the Americas. We view health as a fundamental investment which has both economic and political benefits. Healthy people are productive people who make important contributions to the economic well-being of their country. Collaboration between countries in the Americas region benefits us all through the creation of opportunities to share expertise, knowledge and information with the ultimate goal of addressing the health concerns affecting the region.

Related Resources

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

À propos de Santé Canada

ARCHIVÉE - Amériques

Avertissement Ce contenu a été archivé le 24 juin 2013.

Information archivée dans le Web

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette information dans tout autre format de rechange à la page « Contactez-nous ».

Le 19 juin 2002

Des événements mondiaux comme l'épidémie du SRAS nous ont montré que les pays doivent travailler ensemble dans l'intérêt de tous. Peu importent le lieu géographique et les frontières politiques, les pays d'Amérique latine, d'Amérique du Nord et des Caraïbes partagent un objectif commun : la santé et le bien être de leur population.

Les causes de maladie ne respectent pas les frontières. Les maladies non transmissibles demeurent la principale cause de maladie et de décès partout dans les Amériques. Chez certaines populations, des maladies infectieuses telles que le VIH/sida, la dengue et le paludisme à transmission vectorielle continuent de se propager de façon dévastatrice. Ce sont encore les groupes marginalisés, en particulier les Autochtones, les femmes, les enfants et les personnes âgées, qui sont les plus affectés par l'accès inéquitable aux services de santé. Vu les mouvements massifs et fréquents de personnes et de marchandises entre les pays, il est crucial que le Canada aide à lutter contre les problèmes de santé à la source.

Santé Canada a des liens de travail étroits avec Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web l'Organisation panaméricaine de la Santé (OPS). C'est un intermédiaire important pour ses interventions de santé dans les Amériques. Santé Canada a également conclu des ententes officielles (protocoles d'entente, lettres d'intention, etc.) avec les gouvernements du Mexique et de Cuba et le Caribbean Epidemiological Centre (CAREC) à Trinité et Tobago.

En tant que signataire de la Déclaration du troisième Sommet des Amériques, le Canada s'est engagé à mener des activités de lutte contre les problèmes de santé des Canadiennes et des Canadiens et de toute la population des Amériques. Nous voyons la santé comme un investissement fondamental avantageux sur les plans économique et politique. Une population en santé est productive et contribue grandement au bien être économique de son pays. La collaboration entre les pays de la région des Amériques profite à tous, car elle donne des occasions de partager l'expertise, le savoir et l'information dans le but final de remédier aux problèmes de santé qui touchent la région.

Ressources connexes