Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

About Health Canada

Federal Sustainable Development Act and Health Canada

Health Canada supports the Government of Canada's commitment to sustainable development under the Next link will take you to another Web site Federal Sustainable Development Act (FSDA).

The FSDA, which came into force in June 2008, requires the Government of Canada to develop a Federal Sustainable Development Strategy (FSDS) that makes environmental decision-making more transparent and accountable to Parliament. The FSDA also requires that federal government departments and agencies develop sustainable development strategies to support the FSDS.

Federal Sustainable Development Strategy

The Next link will take you to another Web site Federal Sustainable Development Strategy (FSDS) is a whole-of-government approach to achieve environmental sustainability. The approach improves transparency and accountability on the government's progress on sustainable development by linking the sustainable development planning and reporting to the Government of Canada's Expenditure Management System. The FSDS also establishes measurement, monitoring and reporting in order to track and report on progress to Canadians.

The Government of Canada's FSDS has four themes:

  1. Addressing Climate Change and Air Quality;
  2. Maintaining Water Quality and Availability;
  3. Protecting Nature; and
  4. Shrinking the Environmental Footprint - Beginning with Government.

Health Canada is engaged in themes 1, 2 and 4, which are consistent with the Department's mandate.

Health Canadaĺs Sustainable Development Strategy

Federal departments and agencies, including Health Canada, are required under the FSDA to develop a departmental sustainable development strategy to comply with and contribute to the FSDS.

Health Canada's Sustainable Development Strategy (SDS) consists of two parts:

  1. The first part of the SDS includes Health Canada's Report on Plans and Priorities (RPP), which provides a brief description of the Department's contribution to the FSDS. It also hyperlinks to the Greening Government Operations supplementary tables. Health Canada's FSDS commitments are linked to the following three FSDS themes:
    • Theme I: Addressing Climate Change and Air Quality
    • Theme II: Maintaining Water Quality and Availability
    • Theme IV: Shrinking the Environmental Footprint - Beginning with Government
  2. The second part of the SDS is entitled Planning for a Sustainable Future: Health Canada's Sustainable Development Strategy. This portion of the SDS provides a more detailed description of the departmental contribution to the FSDS regarding the implementation strategies identified in the FSDS. Progress on the SDS is reported through the Departmental Performance Report.

Related Resources

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Aidez le gouvernement du Canada à organiser son site Web! Remplissez un questionnaire anonyme de 5 minutes. Commencez maintenant.
À propos de Santé Canada

La Loi fédérale sur le développement durable et Santé Canada

Santé Canada appuie l'engagement pris par le gouvernement du Canada à l'égard du développement durable dans le cadre de la Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web Loi fédérale sur le développement durable (LFDD).

La LFDD, qui est entrée en vigueur en juin 2008 confie au gouvernement du Canada le mandat d'élaborer une Stratégie fédérale de développement durable (SFDD) qui accroîtra la transparence du processus décisionnel en matière environnementale et favorisera la reddition de compte au Parlement. La LFDD oblige également les ministères et organismes fédéraux à élaborer des stratégies de développement durable à l'appui de la SFDD.

Stratégie fédérale de développement durable

La Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web Stratégie fédérale de développement durable (SFDD) est une approche pangouvernementale à l'égard du développement durable. Cette approche améliore la transparence et la reddition de comptes relatives aux progrès du gouvernement en matière de développement durable, en reliant la planification et la production de rapports à cet égard au système de gestion des dépenses du gouvernement du Canada. La SFDD institue également des mesures, un suivi et une production de rapports pour suivre les progrès et en rendre compte à la population canadienne.

La SFDD du gouvernement du Canada a quatre thèmes :

  1. relever les défis des changements climatiques et de la qualité de l'air;
  2. maintenir la qualité et la disponibilité de l'eau;
  3. protéger la nature;
  4. réduire l'empreinte environnementale - en commençant par le gouvernement.

Santé Canada participe activement aux thèmes 1, 2 et 4, qui correspondent à son mandat.

Stratégie de développement durable de Santé Canada

Les ministères et organismes fédéraux, y compris Santé Canada, sont tenus, en vertu de la LFDD, d'élaborer une stratégie ministérielle de développement durable afin de se conformer à la SFDD et d'y contribuer.

La stratégie de développement durable (SDD) de Santé Canada comporte deux parties :

  1. La première partie de la SDD comprend le Rapport sur les plans et les priorités (RPP) de Santé Canada qui fournit une brève description de la contribution du Ministère à la SFDD et un hyperlien vers les tableaux supplémentaires sur l'écologisation des opérations gouvernementales. Les engagements de Santé Canada à l'égard de la SFDD sont liés aux trois thèmes suivants :
    • Thème 1 : relever les défis des changements climatiques et de la qualité de l'air
    • Thème 2 : maintenir la qualité et la disponibilité de l'eau
    • Thème 4 : réduire l'empreinte environnementale - en commençant par le gouvernement
  2. La deuxième partie de la SDD est intitulée Planifier un avenir durable : Stratégie de développement durable de Santé Canada. Cette partie de la SDD fournit une description plus détaillée de la contribution du Ministère à la SFDD en ce qui concerne les stratégies de mise en oeuvre cernées dans la SFDD. Le Rapport ministériel sur le rendement permet de faire état des progrès vis-à-vis de la SDD.

Ressources connexes