Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

About Health Canada

Bureau of Nutritional Sciences

The Bureau of Nutritional Sciences comprises two Divisions: The Nutrition Evaluation Division and the Nutrition Research Division, who work in concert in four main program areas:

  • Nutrition Labelling and Claims, Nutrition Quality and Safety, Special Purpose Foods for Vulnerable Groups, and Food Surveillance and Monitoring.

Work is carried out through:

Scientific advice on nutrition is provided to other Federal and Provincial government agencies, non-government health and educational organizations, the food industry and consumers. Close liaison is maintained with provincial and international nutritional authorities.

See also: