Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

About Health Canada

Veterinary Drugs Directorate

Located in Ottawa, the Veterinary Drugs Directorate (VDD) is part of the Health Products and Food Branch of Health Canada. To protect human and animal health and the safety of Canada's food supply, the Veterinary Drugs Directorate (VDD) evaluates and monitors the safety, quality and effectiveness, sets standards, and promotes the prudent use of veterinary drugs administered to food-producing and companion animals.

The Directorate is working to enhance the efficiency of operations and to streamline the review of veterinary drug submissions and experimental studies certificates. At the same time, we are making advancements in the areas of information management and processing, policy development, communications with Canadians and working in partnership with stakeholders, to address the issue of global harmonization.

The Directorate is staffed by a multi-disciplinary team of people with skills and experience specific to their job functions. These include program staff with backgrounds in veterinary medicine, biology, microbiology, toxicology, pharmacology, epidemiology, parasitology, animal sciences, aquaculture, environmental health safety and chemistry, IT/knowledge management, strategic planning, communications, policy, finance and administration.

Offices and Divisions

The Directorate is comprised of six divisions:

  • Director General's Office
  • Human Safety Division
  • Manufacturing and Chemical Evaluation Division
  • Clinical Evaluation Division
  • Submission and Knowledge Management Division
  • Strategic Planning and Stakeholder Relations Division

See also:

Contact us for more information.

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

À propos de Santé Canada

Direction des médicaments vétérinaires

Située à Ottawa, la Direction des médicaments vétérinaires (DMV) relève de la Direction générale des produits de santé et des aliments de Santé Canada. Afin de protéger la santé humaine et animale ainsi que la sécurité des approvisionnements alimentaires du Canada, la Direction des médicaments vétérinaires (DMV) établit des normes, évalue et surveille l'innocuité, la qualité et l'efficacité des médicaments vétérinaires et encourage leur utilisation prudente chez les animaux destinés à l'alimentation et chez les animaux de compagnie.

La Direction s'emploie à améliorer l'efficacité des opérations et à rationaliser l'évaluation des présentations de médicaments vétérinaires et des certificats d'études expérimentales. En même temps, elle fait des progrès dans les domaines de la gestion et du traitement de l'information, de l'élaboration des politiques, des communications avec la population canadienne et travaille en partenariat avec des intervenants en vue d'aborder la question de l'harmonisation mondiale.

La Direction est composée d'une équipe pluridisciplinaire ayant les compétences et l'expérience propres à l'exercice de ses fonctions. Cela comprend des membres du personnel ayant une formation dans des disciplines telles que la médecine vétérinaire, la biologie, la microbiologie, la toxicologie, la pharmacologie, l'épidémiologie, la parasitologie, la zootechnie, l'aquaculture, l'hygiène, la salubrité et la chimie de l'environnement, la gestion du savoir et des TI, la planification stratégique, les communications, la politique, les finances et l'administration.

Bureaux et divisions

La Direction est composée de six divisions :

  • Bureau du directeur général
  • Division de l'innocuité pour les humains
  • Division de l'évaluation chimique et de la fabrication
  • Division de l'évaluation clinique
  • Division de la gestion des présentations et du savoir
  • Division de la planification stratégique et des relations avec les intervenants

Voir

Contactez-nous pour plus d'nformation.