Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Help the Government of Canada organize its website! Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.
About Health Canada

Pest Management Regulatory Agency

The Health Canada Pest Management Regulatory Agency (PMRA) is responsible for pesticide regulation in Canada. Created in 1995, this branch of Health Canada consolidates the resources and responsibilities for pest management regulation.

Pesticides are stringently regulated in Canada to ensure they pose minimal risk to human health and the environment. Under authority of the Pest Control Products Act, Health Canada:

  • registers pesticides after a stringent, science-based evaluation that ensures any risks are acceptable;
  • re-evaluates the pesticides currently on the market on a 15-year cycle to ensure the products meet current scientific standards; and
  • promotes sustainable pest management.

Health Canada also promotes and verifies compliance with the Act and enforces situations of non compliance warranting action. Our programs and initiatives look to improve the regulatory process and provide Canadians pest control products and strategies with acceptable risk and value. Health Canada is committed to providing an open, transparent and participatory process for pesticide regulation.

Health Canada works with provincial, territorial and federal departments in Canada to help refine and strengthen pesticide regulation across the country. These partnerships ensure that the diverse needs of the Canadian public are addressed at all levels of government, and that the policies developed by Health Canada meet these needs.

Beyond Canada, Health Canada also works closely with a number of international organizations including: United States Environmental Protection Agency, the North American Free Trade Agreement Technical Working Group, and the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development. These close ties contribute to the development of policies and regulations.

To ensure that interested parties are aware of Health Canada's proposals and decisions related to pesticides and pesticide regulations, publications are released on a regular basis detailing the relevant information, including proposed registration decisions, requests for comments on proposed decisions or policies, or pesticide registration decisions. Everyone is welcome to sign up for the RSS feed to be notified when publications are made available.

Information on pest control and the proper use of pesticides, as well as the Public Registry, which is the repository of non-confidential information on registered and proposed pesticides, can be found in the Protecting Your Health and the Environment section.

Tools and information necessary for pesticide manufacturers and registrants, from new pesticide applications to renewals and incident reporting can also be found in the Registrants and Applicants section.

If you have a question that is not answered on this site, please contact the Pest Management Information Service.

Members of the media are encouraged to visit Health Canada's media room.

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

À propos de Santé Canada

Agence de réglementation de la lutte antiparasitaire

Créée en 1995, l'Agence de réglementation de la lutte antiparasitaire (ARLA) de Santé Canada est chargée de la réglementation des pesticides au Canada, ainsi que des ressources et des responsabilités liées à la réglementation de la lutte antiparasitaire.

Au Canada, les pesticides sont rigoureusement réglementés afin de s'assurer que les risques qu'ils posent pour la santé humaine et l'environnement sont minimes. En vertu de la Loi sur les produits antiparasitaires, Santé Canada :

  • homologue les pesticides à la suite d'une évaluation rigoureuse et fondée sur des données scientifiques afin de s'assurer que les risques qu'ils posent sont acceptables;
  • réévalue tous les 15 ans les pesticides qui sont sur le marché afin de s'assurer qu'ils répondent aux normes en vigueur;
  • fait la promotion de la lutte antiparasitaire durable.

De plus, Santé Canada encourage et vérifie la conformité à la Loi, puis applique des mesures dans les situations de non-conformité. Ses programmes et ses initiatives visent à améliorer le processus réglementaire et à offrir à la population canadienne des produits et des stratégies de lutte antiparasitaire dont les risques et la valeur sont acceptables. Santé Canada s'emploie à offrir un processus de participation qui fasse preuve d'ouverture et de transparence pour la réglementation des pesticides.

Santé Canada travaille avec des ministères provinciaux et territoriaux ainsi qu'avec d'autres ministères fédéraux pour améliorer et renforcer la réglementation des pesticides à l'échelle du pays. Ces partenariats permettent de s'assurer que les divers besoins de la population canadienne sont pris en compte à tous les échelons gouvernementaux et que les politiques élaborées par Santé Canada répondent à ces besoins.

À l'extérieur du pays, Santé Canada collabore étroitement avec plusieurs organisations internationales, notamment l'Environmental Protection Agency des États-Unis, le Groupe de travail technique de l'Accord de libre-échange nord-américain et l'Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques. Ces liens étroits contribuent à l'élaboration de politiques et de règlements.

Afin que les parties intéressées soient informées des propositions et des décisions de Santé Canada concernant les pesticides et leur réglementation, des publications sont diffusées régulièrement pour présenter en détail l'information pertinente, telles que des projets de décisions d'homologation, des demandes de consultation sur des projets de décisions ou de politiques et des décisions d'homologation de pesticides. Tout le monde peut s'inscrire à la fil de nouvelle RSS pour être informé des documents qui sont publiés.

La section protéger votre santé et l'environnement présente de l'information sur la lutte antiparasitaire et l'utilisation adéquate des pesticides et comprend un Registre public, qui regroupe des renseignements non confidentiels sur les pesticides proposés et homologués.

Les outils et les renseignements nécessaires aux fabricants et aux titulaires d'homologation de pesticides, tels que les demandes d'homologation de nouveaux produits, les demandes de renouvellement et les déclarations d'incidents, se trouvent également sur la section titulaires et demandeurs.

Si vous n'avez pas trouvé la réponse à votre question dans le présent site, veuillez communiquer avec le Service de renseignements sur la lutte antiparasitaire.

Nous encourageons les représentants des médias à visiter la salle des médias de Santé Canada.