Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

About Health Canada

Health Canada is the Federal department responsible for helping Canadians maintain and improve their health, while respecting individual choices and circumstances.

What is Health Canada's Goal?

According to our mission and vision, Health Canada's goal is for Canada to be among the countries with the healthiest people in the world.

To achieve this goal, Health Canada:

  • Relies on high-quality scientific research as the basis for our work.
  • Conducts ongoing consultations with Canadians to determine how to best meet their long-term health care needs.
  • Communicates information about disease prevention to protect Canadians from avoidable risks.
  • Encourages Canadians to take an active role in their health, such as increasing their level of physical activity and eating well.

Health Canada into the Future

Health Canada believes that prevention and health promotion can hold health care costs down and improve quality of life in the long term. To this end, the Department is committed to meeting the challenges of tomorrow by supporting research and fostering partnerships with researchers across the country and the world. We also work collaboratively with the provinces and territories to test ways in which the Canadian health care system can be improved and ensure its sustainability for the future.

What Information is Available?

This section contains an overview of Health Canada and provides you points of entry to many Health Canada-specific related topics. From here you can learn more about how the Department is structured, where our offices are situated and who our ministers are. You can also find out about our strategies and initiatives, as well as the budget estimates for our programs.

This section also provides information about health-related legislation and activities, including commissions and inquiries. From here, you can access a complete repository of all reports and publications available on this Web site and find a list of health-related conferences and events, including our consultations with Canadians.

Health Canada - a partner in health for all Canadians

At Health Canada our role is to help Canadians maintain and improve their health. While the provinces and territories are responsible for delivering healthcare to the majority of Canadians, the federal government also has a number of key roles and responsibilities in areas that affect health and healthcare. In addition to working closely with provincial and territorial governments, we also work with other federal departments and agencies, non-governmental organizations, other countries, Aboriginal partners and the private sector to help achieve our goal of Canada being one of the healthiest countries in the world.

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

À propos de Santé Canada

Santé Canada est le ministère fédéral responsable d'aider les Canadiennes et les Canadiens à maintenir et à améliorer leur santé, tout en respectant les choix individuels et les circonstances.

But de Santé Canada

Conformément à sa mission et sa vision, Santé Canada a pour but de classer les Canadiens parmi les populations les plus en santé au monde.

Pour atteindre ce but, Santé Canada :

  • fonde son travail sur la recherche scientifique de qualité supérieure;
  • consulte régulièrement les Canadiens pour déterminer quels sont les soins de santé qui conviennent le mieux à leurs besoins à long terme;
  • informe les Canadiens sur la prévention de la maladie afin de les protéger des dangers évitables;
  • encourage les Canadiens à s'occuper sérieusement de leur santé en adoptant un mode de vie sain qui inclut l'activité physique et la saine alimentation.

Santé Canada et l'avenir

Santé Canada est d'avis que la prévention et la promotion de la santé peuvent réduire les coûts en soins de santé et améliorer la qualité de vie à long terme. Dans cette optique, le Ministère s'engage à relever les défis de demain en finançant la recherche et en favorisant les partenariats avec les chercheurs à la grandeur du pays et à l'étranger. La collaboration avec les provinces et les territoires est aussi cruciale pour évaluer comment le système de santé canadien peut être amélioré et pour assurer sa durabilité pour l'avenir.

Ressources disponibles

Cette section vous offre un aperçu de l'organisation de Santé Canada et une porte d'entrée à toute une gamme de sujets spécifiques à la santé. Vous pouvez en apprendre davantage sur la structure du Ministère, l'emplacement des ses bureaux, ainsi que sur ses ministres. Vous pouvez également consulter les programmes, stratégies et initiatives, ainsi que les budgets alloués.

Ces ressources vous fournissent l'information sur la législation en matière de santé, sur les activités telles les commissions, les enquêtes, les conférences et les événements spéciaux, incluant les consultations auprès des Canadiens. Vous avez également accès à un dépôt complet des rapports et publications disponibles sur ce site Web.

Santé Canada - Partenaire en santé de tous les Canadiens

Le rôle de Santé Canada est d'aider les Canadiens à maintenir et à améliorer leur santé. Même si ce sont les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux qui sont responsables de fournir des soins de santé à la majorité des Canadiens, un certain nombre de responsabilités et de rôles clés dans certains domaines qui touchent la santé et les soins de santé reviennent au gouvernement fédéral. En plus de travailler étroitement avec les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux, Santé Canada travaille aussi avec d'autres ministères et organismes fédéraux, des organisations non gouvernementales, d'autres pays, des partenaires autochtones et le secteur privé pour contribuer à l'atteinte de son objectif : que le Canada ait l'une des populations les plus en santé au monde