Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

About Health Canada

Canada-United States Regulatory Cooperation Council (RCC)

On February 4, 2011 Prime Minister Stephen Harper and United States (U.S.) President Barack Obama announced the creation of the Canada-United States Regulatory Cooperation Council (RCC) to better align the two countries' regulatory approaches, where possible.

This announcement was followed by the release of the initial RCC Joint Action Plan which came to a close in March 2014 and included many successes including the implementation of the Common Electronic Submission Gateway, a streamlined process of joint reviews for pesticides with minor use, and greater alignment between Canada and the U.S under the Globally Harmonized System of Classification and Labelling of Chemicals.

On August 29, 2014, a second phase of regulatory cooperation was initiated with the public launch of the RCC Joint Forward Plan.  The Joint Forward Plan seeks to make regulatory cooperation a routine, ingrained practice between Canadian and U.S. regulatory authorities.

Two key deliverables of the Join Forward Plan include the development of Regulatory Partnership Statements that outline the framework for how cooperative activities will be managed between agencies, and the development of work plans that support the Department to Department commitments included in the Joint Forward Plan.

In meeting its commitments set out in the Joint Forward Plan, Health Canada, with U.S. counterparts, has developed the following Regulatory Partnership Statements and work plans.

Regulatory Partnership Statements

Department to Department Commitments & Work Plans

Health Canada / U.S. Food and Drug Administration

Pharmaceutical and Biological Products: Health Canada and U.S. Food and Drug Administration will continue to work closely together to harmonize and align their pre and post-marketing surveillance requirements and standards (including pharmacovigilance issues) through the work of the International Conference on Harmonisation of Technical Requirements for Registration of Pharmaceuticals for Human Use and the International Pharmaceutical Regulators Forum.  They will also continue to share inspection schedules through the Pharmaceutical Inspection Co-operation Scheme and to promote leveraging of inspectional resources to maximize inspection coverage. Regulators will also continue to expand the Common Electronic Submission Gateway for the biological and pharmaceutical industry, where appropriate.

Over-the-Counter Products: Health Canada and U.S. Food and Drug Administration will coordinate and adjust their respective over-the-counter (OTC) monographs development processes for OTC drugs to reduce the regulatory burden on stakeholders.

Medical Devices: Health Canada and U.S. Food and Drug Administration will continue to work closely together on pre and post market regulatory convergence topics, including in particular, through the International Medical Devices Regulators Forum (IMDRF). IMDRF aims to accelerate international medical device regulatory harmonization and convergence for regulators and stakeholders worldwide.

Veterinary Drugs: Health Canada’s Veterinary Drugs Directorate  and the U.S. Food and Drug Administration’s Center for Veterinary Medicine will coordinate their respective submission and review processes for veterinary drug applications to enable simultaneous product reviews with a view to simultaneous product availability. They will coordinate standards development as appropriate and  assessment activities pertaining to the pre-market evaluation of veterinary drugs. Further work in this area will also explore the availability of electronic templates that could be used to submit veterinary drug applications.

Health Canada / Occupational Safety and Health Administration (U.S. Department of Labor)

Workplace Chemicals: Health Canada and the U.S. Department of Labor will work together to coordinate the adoption of future updates of the Globally Harmonized System for Classification and Labelling of Workplace Chemicals (GHS) to facilitate common approaches and synchronized implementation in Canada and the United States. This includes developing a mechanism to maintain alignment as the system is updated and modernized or new requirements or standards are put in place, exploring innovative methods to jointly engage stakeholders as well as enhanced collaboration on common interpretation and guidance materials.

Health Canada's Pest Management Regulatory Agency / U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

Pesticides: The US Environmental Protection Agency's (US EPA) Office of Pesticide Programs (OPP) and Health Canada's Pest Management Regulatory Agency (PMRA) are working together to:

  1. Collaborate on a bilateral pesticide re-evaluation for three neonicotinoid pesticides (i.e., imidacloprid, thiamethoxam, and clothianidin) employing a new pollinator risk assessment framework
  2. Develop best practices for coordinated work planning for the re-evaluation of registered pesticides
  3. Develop new and/or alternative approaches to testing and assessment, including reducing the need for animal testing wherever possible
  4. Align pesticide residue trial requirements by prospectively determining the number of residue field trials required for joint registrations
  5. Jointly develop information technology solutions that facilitate the submission of applications to either regulatory authority

Health Canada & Environment Canada / U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

Chemicals Management: Environment Canada, Health Canada and the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency will collaborate in efforts to align chemical regulatory processes, specifically through the development of common approaches to address emerging risk issues and jointly considering how the use of novel data can inform the assessment of chemicals. Further, they will collaborate in efforts to develop common approaches for regulatory reporting requirements for new uses of chemical substances (Significant New Activity provisions/Significant New Use Rules).

For More Information

To learn about upcoming or ongoing consultations on proposed federal regulations, visit the Canada Gazette and Consulting with Canadians websites.

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

À propos de Santé Canada

Conseil de coopération en matière de réglementation (CCR) Canada-États-Unis

Le 4 février 2011, le premier ministre Stephen Harper et le président des États-Unis Barack Obama ont annoncé la création du Conseil de coopération en matière de réglementation (CCR) Canada-États-Unis dans le but de mieux harmoniser les approches réglementaires des deux pays, dans la mesure du possible.

Cette annonce a été suivie de la publication du Plan d'action conjoint initial du CCR, qui a pris fin en mars 2014 et qui a connu de nombreux succès, dont la mise en place du Portail commun de demandes électroniques, un processus rationalisé d'examen conjoint des pesticides à usage limité, et une meilleure harmonisation entre le Canada et les États-Unis dans le cadre du Système général harmonisé de classification et d'étiquetage des produits chimiques.

Le 29 août 2014, le lancement public du Plan prospectif conjoint du CCR a donné le coup d'envoi de la deuxième phase de la coopération réglementaire. Le Plan prospectif conjoint vise à faire de la coopération une pratique régulière et bien ancrée entre les organismes de réglementation du Canada et des États-Unis. 

Deux des livrables clés du Plan prospectif conjoint sont l'élaboration d'énoncés de partenariat en matière de réglementation qui présentent le cadre selon lequel les organismes gèreront les activités de coopération et l'élaboration de plans de travail à l'appui des engagements réciproques entre les ministères canadiens et les départements américains qui figurent dans le Plan prospectif conjoint.

En vue de respecter ses engagements selon le Plan prospectif conjoint, Santé Canada, en collaboration avec ses homologues américains, a élaboré les énoncés de partenariat en matière de réglementation et les plans de travail suivants les engagements entre ministères.

Énoncés de partenariat en matière de réglementation

Engagements entre ministères et les plans de travail

Santé Canada et U.S. Food and Drug Administration

Produits pharmaceutiques et biologiques: Santé Canada et la Food and Drug Administration continueront de collaborer étroitement pour harmoniser leurs normes et exigences de réglementation préalables et postérieures à la mise en marché (y compris les questions qui traitent de la pharmacovigilance) dans le cadre des travaux de la Conférence internationale sur l’harmonisation des exigences techniques relatives à l’homologation des produits pharmaceutiques à usage humain et le Forum des organismes internationaux de réglementation des produits pharmaceutiques. Les organismes de réglementation continueront d’échanger des renseignements relatifs aux calendriers d’inspection au moyen du Pharmaceutical Inspection Co-operation Scheme et de promouvoir une meilleure utilisation des ressources d’inspection et d’optimiser la couverture des inspections. Les organismes de réglementation continueront d’élargir le Portail commun de demandes électroniques pour l’industrie biologique et pharmaceutique, lorsque cela est convenable.

Produits en vente libre : Santé Canada et la Food and Drug Administration coordonneront et ajusteront leurs propres monographies pour les médicaments en vente libre au Canada et aux États-Unis dans le but de diminuer le fardeau administratif des intervenants.

Matériel médical: Santé Canada et la Food and Drug Administration continueront de travailler étroitement ensemble dans le domaine de la convergence réglementaire préalable et postérieure à la mise en marché, notamment par l'intermédiaire du travail de l'International Medical Devices Regulators Forum (IMDRF). L'IMDRF a pour objectif d'accélérer l'harmonisation et la convergence de la réglementation du matériel médical à travers le monde.

Médicaments vétérinaires: La Direction des médicaments vétérinaires (DMV) de Santé Canada et le Center for Veterinary Medicine (CVM) de la Food and Drug Administration (FDA) des États-Unis coordonneront leurs processus de présentation et d’examen respectifs en ce qui a trait aux présentations de médicaments vétérinaires afin de pouvoir procéder à des examens parallèles d’un produit en vue de le rendre accessible en même temps dans les deux pays. La DMV et le CVM coordonneront l’élaboration de normes et les activités d’évaluation préalable à la commercialisation de médicaments vétérinaires, au besoin. D’autres travaux à ce sujet permettront de vérifier l’existence de gabarits électroniques que l’on pourrait utiliser pour présenter des médicaments vétérinaires.

Santé Canada et Occupational Safety and Health Administration (U.S. Department of Labor)

Produits chimiques utilisés au travail: Santé Canada et le Département du Travail des États-Unis travailleront de concert pour adopter les futures mises à jour du Système général harmonisé (SGH) de classification et d'étiquetage des produits chimiques utilisés au travail de manière à faciliter des approches communes et la mise en oeuvre synchronisée au Canada et aux États-Unis. Il faudra à cette fin élaborer un mécanisme pour poursuivre l'harmonisation pendant la mise à jour et la modernisation du système ou la mise en place de nouvelles exigences ou normes, étudier des méthodes novatrices pour mobiliser conjointement les intervenants, et améliorer la collaboration sur l'interprétation commune et les documents d'orientation.

L'Agence de réglementation de la lutte antiparasitaire de Santé Canada et U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

Pesticides : L'Office of Pesticides Program de la United States Environmental Protection Agency (OPP EPA) et l'Agence de réglementation des produits antiparasitaires (ARLA) de Santé Canada travaillent ensemble afin de :

  1. Collaborer à une réévaluation bilatéral des pesticides pour trois pesticides de la classe des néonicotinoïdes (c.‑à‑d. l'imidaclopride, la thiaméthoxame et la clothianidine) et à l'utilisation  d'un nouveau cadre d'évaluation des risques pour les pollinisateurs.
  2. Établir des pratiques exemplaires pour la planification des travaux coordonnés relativement à la réévaluation de pesticides homologués.
  3. Concevoir des méthodes nouvelles et (ou) de remplacement en matière d'essai et d'évaluation, y compris la réduction du besoin d'effectuer des essais sur des animaux, dans la mesure du possible.
  4. Harmoniser les exigences relativement aux essais concernant les résidus de pesticides en déterminant à l'avance le nombre requis d'essais sur les résidus dans des champs pour les homologations conjointes.
  5. Élaborer conjointement des solutions en matière de technologie de l'information (TI) qui faciliteront la présentation de demandes à l'un ou l'autre des organismes de réglementation.

Environnement Canada et U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

Gestion des produits chimiques : Environnement Canada, Santé Canada et l'Environmental Protection Agency collaboreront en vue d'harmoniser les processus de réglementation, plus précisément en élaborant des approches communes pour contrer les nouveaux risques et en déterminant comment les nouvelles données peuvent orienter l'évaluation des produits chimiques. De plus, ils élaboreront ensemble des approches communes relativement aux exigences applicables aux rapports sur la réglementation pour les nouvelles utilisations des substances chimiques (dispositions relatives aux nouvelles activités importantes et règlements sur les nouveaux usages importants).

Pour de plus amples renseignements

Pour de plus amples renseignements concernant les consultations actuelles ou à venir sur les projets de règlement fédéraux, veuillez consulter la Gazette du Canada ou le site Web Consultations auprès des Canadiens.