Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Help the Government of Canada organize its website! Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.
About Health Canada

Legislation and Guidelines

Health Canada administers many pieces of legislation and develops and enforces regulations under this legislation that have a direct impact on the health and safety of Canadians. The Department consults with the Canadian public, industry, non-governmental organizations (NGOs) and other interested parties in the development of these laws. Health Canada also prepares guidelines in order to help interpret and clarify legislation and regulations.

What is Legislation?

Legislation refers to written laws, often referred to as Acts or statutes, which are enacted by Parliament, the legislative arm of government. Draft legislation, called a bill, is introduced to Parliament and requires the assent of the House of Commons, the Senate and the Crown to become law.

What are Regulations?

Regulations are a form of law, sometimes referred to as subordinate legislation, which define the application and enforcement of legislation. Regulations are made under the authority of an Act, called an Enabling Act. Regulations are enacted by the body to whom the authority to make regulations has been delegated in the Enabling Act, such as the Governor in Council or a minister, etc.

What are Guidelines?

Guidelines are departmental documents that are used to interpret legislation and/or regulation. Although they may be derived from legislation and are often used to advise how one might comply with a regulation, guidelines do not have the force of law.

What Information is Available?

In this section, you will find a listing of the Acts for which Health Canada has total or partial responsibility, a listing of Acts in which Health Canada has a special interest and a listing of regulations made under each of the acts directly administered by Health Canada. In addition, you will find some information about how Health Canada engages in international regulatory cooperation and about Health Canada's contribution to government-wide efforts to modernize the Canadian regulatory system.

Warning: Unknown: Unable to allocate memory for pool. in Unknown on line 0 Législation et lignes directrices - Santé Canada - Page principale
Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

À propos de Santé Canada

Législation et lignes directrices

Santé Canada élabore et met en application des règlements qui font partie de la législation du gouvernement du Canada. Le Ministère consulte le public canadien, l'industrie et les autres parties intéressées dans l'élaboration de lois qui protègent la santé des Canadiens. Il prépare également des lignes directrices et des politiques qui aident à interpréter et clarifier les textes législatifs pour lesquels le Ministère a une responsabilité totale ou partielle.

Lois, règlements et lignes directrices

Santé Canada administre de nombreuses lois et met au point et applique des règlements en vertu de ces lois qui influent directement sur la santé et la sécurité de la population canadienne. Le Ministère consulte la population, l'industrie, les organisations non gouvernementales (ONG) et les autres parties au Canada qui s'intéressent à l'élaboration de ces lois. De plus, nous produisons des lignes directrices pour faciliter l'interprétation et la clarification des lois et des règlements.

Qu'est-ce qu'une loi?

Une loi est une disposition écrite adoptée par le Parlement, organe législatif du gouvernement. Un projet de loi est présenté au Parlement et doit recevoir la sanction de la Chambre des communes, du Sénat et de la Couronne pour devenir loi.

Qu'est-ce qu'un règlement?

Un règlement est une forme de loi, parfois appelé législation subordonnée, qui définit l'application et l'exécution de la loi. Il est pris sous le régime d'une loi, appelée loi habilitante. Les règlements sont adoptés par l'organe auquel le pouvoir de prendre des règlements a été délégué dans la loi habilitante, par exemple le gouverneur en conseil, un ministre, etc.

Qu'est-ce qu'une ligne directrice?

Une ligne directrice est un document ministériel utilisé pour interpréter une loi et/ou un règlement. Bien qu'elle découle peut-être d'une loi et serve souvent à conseiller sur les façons possibles d'observer un règlement, la ligne directrice n'a pas force de loi.

Quelle information existe-t-il?

Dans cette section, vous trouverez une liste des lois dont Santé Canada est responsable en tout ou en partie, une liste des lois qui intéressent particulièrement Santé Canada et une liste des règlements pris sous le régime de chacune des lois administrées directement par Santé Canada. De plus, vous trouverez des renseignements sur les activités de coopération internationale de Santé Canada en matière de réglementation et sur son apport à l'action pangouvernementale de modernisation du système de réglementation au Canada.