Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

About Health Canada

Health Canada Announces Wind Turbine Noise and Health Study

UPDATE - July 18, 2012: In recognition of the potential difficulty over the summer holiday period of certain interested Canadians in providing input before August 8, 2012,
submissions will be accepted until September 7, 2012.

July 10, 2012
For immediate release

OTTAWA - Health Canada, in collaboration with Statistics Canada, will conduct a research study that will explore the relationship between wind turbine noise and health effects reported by, and objectively measured in, people living near wind power developments.

"This study is in response to questions from residents living near wind farms about possible health effects of low frequency noise generated by wind turbines," said the Honourable Leona Aglukkaq, Minister of Health. "As always, our Government is putting the health and safety of Canadians first and this study will do just that by painting a more complete picture of the potential health impacts of wind turbine noise."

Health Canada is aware of health-related complaints from individuals living in close proximity to wind turbine establishments. The study is being designed with support from external experts, specializing in areas including noise, health assessment, clinical medicine and epidemiology.

The proposed research design and methodology was posted on Health Canada's web site today for a 30-day public comment period. Feedback obtained will be reviewed by the design committee, compiled and published to the website, along with the design committee's responses.

The study will be focused on an initially targeted sample size of 2,000 dwellings selected from 8-12 wind turbine installation facilities in Canada. In addition to taking physical measurements from participants, such as blood pressure, investigators will conduct face-to-face interviews and take noise measurements inside and outside of some homes to validate sound modelling.

Health Canada has expertise in measuring noise and assessing the health impacts of noise because of its role in administering the Radiation Emitting Devices Act (REDA). As defined under REDA, noise is a form of radiation.

The study results are expected to be published in 2014.

-30-


Media Enquiries:
Health Canada
(613) 957-2983

Cailin Rodgers
Office of the Honourable Leona Aglukkaq
Federal Minister of Health
(613) 957-0200

Public Enquiries:
(613) 957-2991
1-866 225-0709

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

À propos de Santé Canada

Santé Canada annonce la tenue d'une étude sur le bruit des éoliennes et ses effets sur la santé

MISE À JOUR - Le 18 juillet 2012 - Étant donné la difficulté pour certains Canadiens intéressés de fournir leurs commentaires d'ici le 8 août 2012 en raison de la période des vacances, ils pourront le faire d'ici le 7 septembre 2012.

Le 10 juillet 2012
Pour diffusion immédiate

OTTAWA - Santé Canada, en collaboration avec Statistique Canada, réalisera une étude  sur le lien entre le bruit des éoliennes et les effets sur la santé mesurés objectivement chez des personnes vivant à proximité d'éoliennes.

« Cette étude est réalisée à la suite de préoccupations de résidents vivant près de parcs d'éoliennes qui s'interrogent sur les effets possibles du bruit de basse fréquence sur leur santé, a déclaré l'honorable Leona Aglukkaq, ministre de la Santé. Comme toujours, notre gouvernement fait passer la santé et la sécurité des Canadiens en premier en commandant une étude qui permettra de brosser un tableau plus complet des effets potentiels du bruit des éoliennes sur la santé. »

Santé Canada est conscient des préoccupations soulevées par certains résidents vivant à proximité d'éoliennes. L'étude est conçue en collaboration avec des experts externes, spécialisés dans des domaines comme le bruit, les évaluations de la santé, la médecine clinique et l'épidémiologie.

La conception et la méthodologie proposées ont été affichées aujourd'hui sur le site Web de Santé Canada (URL) pour une période de consultation publique de 30 jours. Le comité de conception examinera les commentaires reçus, les compilera, les publiera sur le site Web, et formulera ses observations.

L'étude sera réalisée sur un échantillon initial prévu de 2 000 habitations situées à proximité de 8 à 12 installations d'éoliennes au Canada. En plus de prendre des mesures physiques des participants, comme la pression artérielle, les chercheurs procéderont à des entrevues individuelles et mesureront le bruit à l'intérieur et à l'extérieur des résidences pour valider la modélisation du son.

Santé Canada possède une expertise en matière de mesure du niveau sonore et d'évaluation des répercussions du bruit sur la santé parce qu'il doit appliquer la Loi sur les dispositifs émettant des radiations. Aux termes de cette loi, le bruit est considéré comme une radiation.

Les résultats de l'étude devraient être publiés en 2014.

-30-


Renseignements aux médias
Santé Canada
613-957-2983

Cailin Rodgers
Cabinet de l'honorable Leona Aglukkaq
Ministre fédérale de la Santé
613-957-0200

Renseignements au public
613-957-2991
1-866-225-0709