Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

About Health Canada

Harper Government Takes Steps To Bring Clinical Trial Information Home -
Plans Underway for First Canadian List of Authorized Clinical Trials

October 18, 2012
For immediate release

OTTAWA - The Honourable Leona Aglukkaq, Minister of Health, today announced the Government of Canada's intention to create a web-based list of Health Canada authorized drug clinical trials in patients.

"This project will make information about drug clinical trials easier for Canadians to find and use so that they can make informed decisions about their health," said Minister Aglukkaq. "It will no longer be necessary for patients and health care providers to search through various international registries to find out if trials are available in Canada."

Stakeholders will be formally invited to provide feedback on the plan and proposed information to be included in the list later this fall. When ready, the list will be placed on Health Canada's website.

Health Canada will continue to encourage sponsors to register their clinical trials on the two publicly accessible registries currently available. These registries, which are also part of the World Health Organization's Register Network, collect and display international clinical trial information and can be searched free of charge.

Health Canada is committed to providing updates on progress related to clinical trial registration and disclosure, and feedback will be taken into consideration as the project moves forward. This initiative is another example of the Government of Canada's commitment to transparency.

-30-


Media Enquiries:
Health Canada
(613) 957-2983

Cailin Rodgers
Office of the Honourable Leona Aglukkaq
Federal Minister of Health
(613) 957-0200

Public Enquiries:
(613) 957-2991
1-866 225-0709

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

À propos de Santé Canada

Le gouvernement Harper prend des mesures pour accroître la disponibilité des renseignements sur les essais cliniques au Canada -
Des plans sont en cours pour la création de la première liste d'essais cliniques autorisés au Canada

Le 18 octobre 2012
Pour diffusion immédiate

OTTAWA - L'honorable Leona Aglukkaq, ministre de la Santé, a annoncé aujourd'hui l'intention du gouvernement du Canada de mettre en ligne une liste des essais cliniques pharmacologiques sur des patients autorisés par Santé Canada.

« Ce projet permettra aux Canadiens de plus facilement trouver et utiliser les renseignements sur les essais cliniques pharmaceutiques afin qu'ils puissent prendre des décisions éclairées par rapport à leur santé », déclare la ministre Aglukkaq. « Désormais, les patients et les fournisseurs de soins de santé n'auront plus à chercher dans divers registres internationaux pour déterminer si des essais sont disponibles au Canada. »

Les intervenants seront officiellement invités, plus tard cet automne, à soumettre des commentaires sur le plan et les renseignements qu'on propose d'inclure dans la liste. Lorsque la liste sera prête, elle sera affichée sur le site Web de Santé Canada.

Santé Canada continuera d'encourager les promoteurs à enregistrer leurs essais cliniques dans les deux registres accessibles au public actuellement disponibles. Ces registres, qui font aussi partie du Réseau de registres de l'Organisation mondiale de la Santé, sont des recueils de renseignements sur les essais cliniques réalisés dans le monde qui peuvent être consultés gratuitement.

Santé Canada s'engage à fournir des mises à jour sur les progrès liés à l'enregistrement et à la divulgation des renseignements des essais cliniques, et les commentaires seront pris en considération pour l'avancement du projet. Cette initiative est un autre exemple de l'engagement du gouvernement à l'égard de la transparence.

-30-


Renseignements aux médias
Santé Canada
613-957-2983

Cailin Rodgers
Cabinet de l'honorable Leona Aglukkaq
Ministre fédérale de la Santé
613-957-0200

Renseignements au public
613-957-2991
1-866-225-0709