Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada
About Health Canada

Key Things to Know About Biomonitoring in Canada

April 2013

Harper Government Releases Second Set of Biomonitoring Data from the Canadian Health Measures Survey

  • Human biomonitoring is the measurement of a chemical, or the products it makes when it breaks down in the body (as measured in our blood and urine). The measurements indicate the amount of a chemical that is present in a person at a given time.
  • Biomonitoring data collected in the Canadian Health Measures Survey (CHMS) provide a nationally-representative sample of Canadians' exposure to chemicals.
  • Health Canada scientists use this information:
    • as a baseline from which to measure future results and find out if the levels in the Canadian population are changing over time;
    • to identify if Canadians' exposure is comparable to sub-populations in Canada or to populations of other countries such as the United States;
    • to prioritize further research on potential links between the exposure to certain chemicals and specific health effects;
    • as part of ongoing risk assessment of chemicals; and
    • to inform the development of risk management actions to protect the health of  Canadians and to measure the impact of these actions over time.
  • The information is also available to scientists in Canada and around the world for research purposes.
  • Cycle 1 (2007-2009) results, released in 2010, included data on 92 chemicals measured in approximately 5,600 Canadians aged six to 79 years.
  • Cycle 2 (2009-2011), released on April 17, 2013, includes data on 91 chemicals measured in approximately 6,400 Canadians, aged three to 79 years.
  • Sample collection is currently underway for Cycle 3 and is expected to be complete in December 2013. Planning is underway for Cycles 4 (2014-2015) and Cycle 5 (2016-2017).

Questions and Answers

1. Are biomonitoring results in Canada generally the same, higher or lower than the United States?

Results from Cycle 1 released in 2010 show that Canadians' level of exposure to chemicals is generally similar to the United States. Canadians' exposure to some chemicals, such as lead and BPA, are generally lower than the United States. The Cycle 2 data will be analyzed in the coming year.

2. Data show that bisphenol A (BPA) is present in children. What does this mean?

It is important to note that the presence of a chemical in the body does not necessarily mean a health effect will occur. The health risks associated with a chemical, including BPA, depend on the hazard (its potential to cause health effects), the dose (the amount of chemical to which you are exposed) and the frequency (how often you are exposed).

Canada was the first country in the world to take action to protect newborns and infants against BPA in baby bottles. In 2010, the Government passed regulations prohibiting the advertisement, import and sale of polycarbonate baby bottles that contain BPA. This precautionary action was taken to protect the most vulnerable populations - newborns and infants. 

For more Next link will take you to another Web site information on BPA, please consult the Chemical Substances website: http://www.chemicalsubstanceschimiques.gc.ca/challenge-defi/batch-lot-2/bisphenol-a/index-eng.php

3. What is the Government doing about BPA in food packaging?

Health Canada continues to monitor the latest information around exposure to BPA and the safety of its use as a food packaging material.

The department remains of the opinion that current dietary exposure to BPA through food packaging uses is not expected to represent a health risk to Canadians, including newborns and children. In fact, based on our most recent detailed exposure estimation, exposure rates are actually lower than previously thought. This is good news.

Health Canada has conducted studies with the food and food packaging industries to examine factors that may affect or influence how BPA is transferred to canned foods.  It was determined that the levels being found, specifically in canned infant formula, can be considered to be as low as reasonably achievable.

That being said, the department remains committed to supporting Canadians in making informed food choices. As a result, we continue to support the development of alternatives to using BPA in food can linings and will prioritize the review of these new materials as they are developed.

For additional information on Health Canada's actions to protect consumers from dietary exposure to BPA, please consult:
http://www.hc-sc.gc.ca/fn-an/securit/packag-emball/bpa/bpa_rm-gr-2012-09-eng.php

4. Data show that fluoride is present in children. What does this mean?

It is important to note that the presence of a chemical in the body does not necessarily mean a health effect will occur. The health risks associated with a chemical, including fluoride, depend on the hazard (its potential to cause health effects), the dose (the amount of chemical to which you are exposed) and the frequency (how often you are exposed).

Small, detectable amounts of fluoride found in children are similar to the results found for Canadians of all ages and have not been found to pose any risks to people's health at these low levels.

Most Canadians are exposed to fluoride on a daily basis, through the trace amounts that are found in almost all foods and through fluoride that is added to some drinking water supplies to prevent tooth decay.

Fluoride is a natural element that is found in soil, water (both fresh and salt) and in various foods. Fluoride is released into the environment by weathering processes and by volcanic activity. It may also be released by the production of phosphate fertilizers, by aluminum smelting and by chemical manufacturing.

For more information on fluoride, please consult the It's Your Health article on Health Canada's website: http://www.hc-sc.gc.ca/hl-vs/iyh-vsv/environ/fluor-eng.php

5. Data show that triclosan is present in children. What does this mean?

It is important to note that the presence of a chemical in the body does not necessarily mean a health effect will occur. The health risks associated with a chemical, including triclosan, depend on the hazard (its potential to cause health effects), the dose (the amount of chemical to which you are exposed) and the frequency (how often you are exposed).

In March, 2012, the Government of Canada released a preliminary health and environmental assessment of triclosan which concluded that current levels of triclosan in products such as toothpaste, shampoo and soap do not pose a risk to human health and Canadians can continue to safely use these products.

In the assessment, the Government specifically considered exposure of vulnerable populations, including children and pregnant women, also confirming their continued safe use of these products.

Additionally, we would expect to see that most Canadians have some level of triclosan in their bodies as a result of the chemical's widespread use. This result is consistent with measurements from the U.S. where over 80% of Americans had detectable levels of triclosan in their urine.

For complete Next link will take you to another Web site information on triclosan, please consult the Chemical Substances website: http://www.chemicalsubstanceschimiques.gc.ca/fact-fait/triclosan-eng.php

6. Data show that lead is present in children. What does this mean?

It is important to note that the presence of a chemical in the body does not necessarily mean a health effect will occur. The health risks associated with a chemical, including lead, depend on the hazard (its potential to cause health effects), the dose (the amount of chemical to which you are exposed) and the frequency (how often you are exposed).

Lead exposure in Canada has decreased substantially since the early 1970s, mainly because leaded gasoline and lead-based paints were phased out and the use of lead solder in food cans was almost completely eliminated. In fact, blood lead levels in Canadians have declined by more than 70% since 1978-79.

Health Canada's Lead Risk Reduction Strategy for Consumer Products has also introduced or tightened lead content limits for:

  • children's jewellery;
  • consumer paints and other surface coatings;
  • applied paints and surface coatings on furniture, toys and other children's articles and on pencils and artists' brushes;
  • glazed ceramic and glass foodware;
  • corded window coverings; and
  • products whose use involves mouth contact, including all toys for children under 3 years of age.

The Government of Canada continues to focus its efforts and resources on further reducing exposure to lead in ways that can make the most difference for the health of Canadians over the long term. For example, we are proposing further lead content limits for other product groups that children are most likely to be exposed to. As part of our Risk Management Strategy for Lead, we are also:

  • strengthening controls on releases of air pollutants from various industrial sectors, which will also provide co-benefit reductions in lead emissions;
  • updating the Soil Quality Guidelines for lead;
  • working with the provinces and territories to revise blood lead guidance for health care providers and public health officials; and
  • updating the Guidelines for Canadian Drinking Water Quality for lead.

For more information on lead, please consult the It's Your Health article on Health Canada's website: http://www.hc-sc.gc.ca/hl-vs/iyh-vsv/environ/lead-plomb-eng.php#he

-30-


Media Enquiries:
Health Canada
(613) 957-2983

Cailin Rodgers
Office of the Honourable Leona Aglukkaq
Federal Minister of Health
(613) 957-0200

Public Enquiries:
(613) 957-2991
1-866 225-0709

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

À propos de Santé Canada

Ce qu'il faut savoir sur la biosurveillance au Canada

Avril 2013

Le gouvernement Harper diffuse le deuxième ensemble de données de biosurveillance issues de l’Enquête canadienne sur les mesures de la santé

  • La biosurveillance humaine est la mesure d’une substance chimique ou des produits qui découlent de sa décomposition dans l’organisme (mesurée dans le sang et l’urine). Ces mesures indiquent la quantité d’une substance chimique présente dans l’organisme d’une personne à un moment donné.
  • Les données de biosurveillance recueillies dans le cadre de l’Enquête canadienne sur les mesures de la santé (ECMS) fournissent un échantillon national représentatif de l’exposition des Canadiens aux substances chimiques.
  • Les scientifiques de Santé Canada utilisent ces données aux fins suivantes :
    • comme point de référence pour mesurer les résultats futurs et déterminer si les niveaux dans la population canadienne varient au fil du temps;
    • de déterminer si l’exposition des Canadiens est comparable à celle de sous‑populations du Canada ou d’autres pays, comme les États-Unis;
    • prioriser d’autres études sur les liens possibles entre l’exposition à certaines substances chimiques et la manifestation de certains effets sur la santé;
    • dans le cadre de l’évaluation permanente des produits chimiques;
    • pour guider l’élaboration de mesures de gestion du risque en vue de protéger la santé des Canadiens et mesurer l’effet de ces mesures au fil du temps.
  • Ces renseignements sont mis à la disposition de scientifiques du Canada et du monde entier à des fins de recherche.
  • Les résultats du cycle 1 (2007-2009), qui ont été publiés en 2010, portaient sur la mesure de 92 substances chimiques chez environ 5 600 Canadiens âgés de six à 79 ans.  
  • Les résultats du cycle 2 (2009-2011), publiés le 17 avril 2013, portent sur la mesure de 91 substances chimiques chez environ 6 400 Canadiens âgés de trois à 79 ans.
  • Le prélèvement des échantillons pour le cycle 3 est en cours; il devrait être terminé en décembre 2013. La planification des cycles 4 (2014-2015) et 5 (2016-2017) est en cours.

Questions et réponses

1. Les résultats de biosurveillance au Canada sont-ils en général les mêmes, plus élevés ou plus bas que ceux des États-Unis?

Selon les résultats du cycle 1 publiés en 2010, le niveau d’exposition aux substances chimiques au Canada est en général semblable à celui des États-Unis. L’exposition des Canadiens à certaines substances chimiques, notamment le plomb et le BPA, est généralement plus faible qu’aux États-Unis. Les données du cycle 2 seront analysées au cours de l’année à venir.

2. Les données indiquent la présence de bisphénol A chez les enfants. Qu’est-ce que cela signifie?

Il est important de souligner que la présence d’une substance chimique dans l’organisme ne signifie pas nécessairement qu’elle aura un effet sur la santé. Les risques pour la santé associés à une substance chimique, notamment le BPA, dépendent de la menace (les effets possibles sur la santé), de la concentration (la quantité à laquelle une personne est exposée) et de la fréquence de l’exposition.

Le Canada a été le premier pays à prendre des mesures relatives à cette substance et à interdire l’utilisation du BPA dans la fabrication des biberons afin de protéger les nouveaux-nés et les nourrissons. En 2010, le gouvernement a adopté un règlement interdisant la publicité, l’importation et la vente de biberons contenant du polycarbonate. Cette mesure de précaution a été prise afin de protéger les populations les plus vulnérables, soit les nouveaux-nés et les nourrissons. 

Pour obtenir de plus amples Le lien suivant vous amènera à un autre site Web  renseignements sur le bisphénol A, veuillez consulter le site Internet des Substances chimiques http://www.chemicalsubstanceschimiques.gc.ca/challenge-defi/batch-lot-2/bisphenol-a/index-fra.php

3. Que fait le gouvernement au sujet du BPA dans les emballages alimentaires?

Santé Canada continue de surveiller les renseignements les plus à jour sur l’exposition au BPA et sur l’innocuité de son utilisation dans les emballages alimentaires.

Le Ministère est encore d’avis que l’exposition alimentaire actuelle au BPA par l’intermédiaire des emballages n’est pas de nature à causer un risque pour la santé de la population canadienne, notamment celle des nouveaux-nés et des nourrissons. En fait, selon notre plus récente estimation détaillée, les taux d’exposition sont moins élevés qu’on ne le croyait auparavant. Ce sont de bonnes nouvelles.

Santé Canada a réalisé des études en collaboration avec les industries alimentaires et de l’emballage afin d’examiner les facteurs qui ont un effet sur la manière dont le BPA est transféré aux aliments en conserve. Il a été déterminé que les concentrations détectées, surtout dans les préparations pour nourrissons en conserve, sont les plus faibles que l’on peut raisonnablement atteindre.

Cela dit, le Ministère demeure déterminé à aider les Canadiens à faire des choix alimentaires éclairés. Par conséquent, nous continuons d’appuyer l’élaboration de solutions de rechange à l’utilisation de BPA dans le revêtement intérieur des conserves et accorderons la priorité à l’examen de nouveaux matériaux à mesure qu’ils sont élaborés.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les mesures prises par Santé Canada afin de protéger les consommateurs contre l’exposition alimentaire au BPA, veuillez consulter le site
http://www.hc-sc.gc.ca/fn-an/securit/packag-emball/bpa/bpa_rm-gr-2012-09-fra.php

4. Les données démontrent que le fluorure est présent dans l’organisme des enfants. Qu’est-ce que cela signifie?

Il est important de souligner que la présence d’une substance chimique dans l’organisme ne signifie pas nécessairement qu’elle aura un effet sur la santé. Les risques pour la santé associés à une substance chimique, notamment le fluorure, dépendent de la menace (les effets possibles sur la santé), de la concentration (la quantité à laquelle une personne est exposée) et de la fréquence de l’exposition.

Les faibles quantités de fluorure détectables dans l’organisme des enfants sont semblables aux quantités détectées chez les Canadiens de tous âges; à ces faibles concentrations, il ne pose pas de risque pour la santé.

La plupart des Canadiens sont exposés quotidiennement au fluorure, par les quantités négligeables qui se trouvent dans presque tous les aliments et le fluor qui est ajouté dans l’eau potable de certaines municipalités afin de prévenir la carie dentaire.

Qu’est-ce que le fluor? Le fluor est un élément naturel présent dans le sol, dans l’eau (douce et salée) ainsi que dans divers aliments. Il se trouve dans l’environnement sous l’effet de l’altération atmosphérique et de l’activité volcanique. Il provient aussi des fumées rejetées par les industries d’engrais phosphatés, d’aluminium et de produits chimiques.

Pour en savoir plus sur le fluorure, veuillez consulter l’article Votre santé et vous à ce sujet sur le site Internet de Santé Canada http://www.hc-sc.gc.ca/hl-vs/iyh-vsv/environ/fluor-fra.php

5. Les données démontrent que le triclosan est présent dans l’organisme des enfants. Qu’est-ce que cela signifie?

Il est important de souligner que la présence d’une substance chimique dans l’organisme ne signifie pas nécessairement qu’elle aura un effet sur la santé. Les risques pour la santé associés à une substance chimique, notamment le triclosan, dépendent de la menace (les effets possibles sur la santé), de la concentration (la quantité à laquelle une personne est exposée) et de la fréquence de l’exposition.

En mars 2012, le gouvernement du Canada a diffusé une évaluation sanitaire et environnementale préliminaire sur le triclosan qui concluait que les concentrations actuelles de cette substance dans les produits comme les dentifrices, les shampoings et les savons ne posent aucun risque pour la santé humaine et que les Canadiens peuvent continuer d’utiliser ces produits sans danger.

Dans cette évaluation, le gouvernement s’est surtout penché sur les groupes à risque, notamment les enfants et les femmes enceintes, ce qui a permis de confirmer que ces personnes peuvent continuer d’utiliser ces produits sans danger.

De plus, on peut s’attendre à ce que la plupart des Canadiens aient une certaine concentration de triclosan dans leur organisme en raison de l’utilisation répandue de cette substance. Ce résultat cadre avec les mesures faites aux États-Unis, où plus de 80 % de la population a un niveau détectable de triclosan dans l’urine.

Pour obtenir de plus amples Le lien suivant vous amènera à un autre site Web renseignements sur le triclosan, veuillez consulter le site Internet des Substances chimiques, à http://www.chemicalsubstanceschimiques.gc.ca/fact-fait/triclosan-fra.php

6. Les données démontrent que le plomb est présent dans l’organisme des enfants. Qu’est‑ce que cela signifie?

Il est important de souligner que la présence d’une substance chimique dans l’organisme ne signifie pas nécessairement qu’elle aura un effet sur la santé. Les risques pour la santé associés à une substance chimique, notamment le plomb, dépendent de la menace (les effets possibles sur la santé), de la concentration (la quantité à laquelle une personne est exposée) et de la fréquence de l’exposition.

Au Canada, l’exposition au plomb a beaucoup diminué depuis le début des années 1970, en raison surtout de l’élimination progressive de l’essence au plomb et des peintures à base de plomb et de la quasi-élimination des produits de soudure à base de plomb dans les conserves d’aliments. En fait, le niveau de plomb dans le sang des Canadiens a diminué de plus de 70 % depuis 1978-1979.

La Stratégie de réduction des risques liés au plomb pour les produits de consommation adoptée par Santé Canada a instauré ou resserré les limites de teneur en plomb pour :

  • les bijoux pour enfants;
  • les peintures grand public et autres revêtements;
  • les peintures et revêtements appliqués sur les meubles, les jouets et d’autres articles destinés aux enfants et sur les crayons et pinceaux d’artiste;
  • les articles de vaisselle en céramique et en verre émaillés;
  • les couvre-fenêtres à cordon;
  • les produits dont l’utilisation implique un contact avec la bouche, notamment les jouets pour les enfants âgés de moins de trois ans.

Le gouvernement du Canada continue de consacrer ses efforts et ses ressources à la réduction encore plus grande de l’exposition au plomb d’une manière qui sera la plus utile pour la santé des Canadiens à long terme. Par exemple, nous proposons de limiter les concentrations de plomb dans d’autres groupes de produits avec lesquels les enfants sont les plus susceptibles d’entrer en contact. Dans le cadre de notre Stratégie de gestion des risques, nous allons aussi :

  • renforcer les contrôles de rejets de polluants atmosphériques de divers secteurs industriels, ce qui permettra aussi de réduire les émissions de plomb;
  • mettre à jour les Recommandations pour la qualité du sol – plomb;
  • collaborer avec les provinces et les territoires afin de réviser les directives sur les concentrations de plomb dans le sang à l’intention des fournisseurs de soins de santé et des responsables de la santé publique;
  • mettre à jour la Ligne directrice sur la qualité de l’eau potable pour le plomb.

Pour en savoir plus sur le plomb, veuillez consulter l’article Votre santé et vous à ce sujet sur le site Internet de Santé Canada http://www.hc-sc.gc.ca/hl-vs/iyh-vsv/environ/lead-plomb-fra.php#he

-30-


Renseignements aux médias
Santé Canada
613-957-2983

Cailin Rodgers
Cabinet de l'honorable Leona Aglukkaq
Ministre fédérale de la Santé
613-957-0200

Renseignements au public
613-957-2991
1-866-225-0709