Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

About Health Canada

ARCHIVED - Message from the Honourable Leona Aglukkaq, Minister of Health

Warning This content was archived on June 24 2013.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

Heart Health Month

February, 2011

February is Heart Health Month and, as Minister of Health, I hope all Canadians will take this opportunity to take a good look at their lifestyle.

We make choices every day that affect our health. A heart-healthy lifestyle is one that includes regular physical activity, healthy eating and a healthy weight.

Nine of every 10 Canadians over the age of 20 have at least one risk factor for cardiovascular disease. Those risk factors for heart attacks and stroke include: high blood pressure or high cholesterol; diabetes; smoking; stress; physical inactivity; poor nutrition; misuse of alcohol and being overweight or obese.

Because cardiovascular diseases are a significant threat to good health and a leading cause of death, the Government of Canada is taking action:

  • The Canadian Institutes of Health Research last year invested more than $95 million in heart-health research.
  • Canada's Health Ministers have made it a priority to promote good health, the prevention of disease, disability and injury. Federal, provincial and territorial governments are also working together to curb childhood obesity.
  • Canada's Health Ministers have adopted the interim goal of reducing the average sodium intake of Canadians to 2,300 mg per day by 2016. To help achieve this goal, the Health Ministers called on industry leaders to reduce sodium levels in food products voluntarily, and to work with governments to better educate consumers and health professionals.
  • The Government of Canada's Cardiovascular Disease Program focuses on surveillance, preventing high blood pressure, and providing information to Canadians on prevention.
  • Health Canada has developed tools to help Canadians make better food choices, including the Eat Well and Be Active Educational Toolkit, a nutrition labelling campaign, Canada's Food Guideand consumer information on sodium.
  • The federal government provided $6 million over two years for ParticipACTION, announced in the 2010 federal budget, to enable the organization to promote more healthy lifestyles for Canadians through physical activity and fitness.

I would like to congratulate the Next link will take you to another Web site Heart and Stroke Foundation of Canada for increasing awareness about cardiovascular health and raise research funds during Heart Health Month. Throughout the year, the Government of Canada is dedicated to ensuring we learn how to take better care of our health, including our hearts.

Leona Aglukkaq
Minister of Health
Government of Canada

For more info:
Follow us on Next link will take you to another Web site Twitter and Next link will take you to another Web site Facebook

Link to:

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

À propos de Santé Canada

ARCHIVÉE - Message de Leona Aglukkaq, ministre de la Santé

Avertissement Ce contenu a été archivé le 24 juin 2013.

Information archivée dans le Web

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette information dans tout autre format de rechange à la page « Contactez-nous ».

Mois de la santé cardiovasculaire

Février 2011

Février est le Mois de la santé cardiovasculaire et, à titre de ministre de la Santé, j'espère que tous les Canadiens en profiteront pour revoir leurs habitudes de vie.

Chaque jour, nous faisons des choix qui touchent notre santé. L'activité physique régulière, une saine alimentation et un poids santé favorisent la santé cardiaque.

Neuf Canadiens de plus de 20 ans sur 10 présentent au moins un facteur de risque de maladie cardiovasculaire. Hypertension, hypercholestérolémie, diabète, tabagisme, stress, inactivité physique, mauvaise alimentation, abus d'alcool, excès de poids et obésité font parties des facteurs qui augmentent le risque de crise cardiaque et d'AVC.

Puisque les maladies cardiovasculaires représentent une menace réelle pour notre santé et sont une des principales causes de décès, le gouvernement du Canada prend des mesures :

  • L'an dernier, les Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada ont investi plus de 95 millions de dollars dans la recherche sur la santé cardiaque.
  • Les ministres de la Santé du Canada se sont donné pour mission de promouvoir la santé et la prévention des maladies, incapacités et blessures. Les gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux collaborent pour freiner l'obésité juvénile.
  • Les ministres de la Santé du Canada ont adopté comme objectif intérimaire une réduction de l'apport moyen en sodium à 2 300 mg par jour d'ici 2016. Pour y parvenir, les ministres de la Santé inciteront les dirigeants de l'industrie à réduire volontairement le sodium dans les aliments et à travailler avec les gouvernements pour sensibiliser le consommateur et les professionnels de la santé.
  • Le Programme sur les maladies cardiovasculaires du gouvernement du Canada met l'accent sur la surveillance, la prévention de l'hypertension et l'éducation à la prévention.
  • Santé Canada offre aux Canadiens des outils pour les aider à faire de bons choix alimentaires, dont la trousse Mangez bien et soyez actif, la campagne d'étiquetage nutritionnel, le Guide alimentaire canadienet de l'information sur le sodium.
  • Le gouvernement fédéral consacrera 6 millions de dollars sur deux ans à ParticipACTION, somme annoncée dans le budget fédéral de 2010, pour aider cet organisme à promouvoir l'activité physique comme moyen de garder la santé.

Je tiens à féliciter la Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web Fondation des maladies du coeur du Canada pour son travail de sensibilisation à la santé cardiovasculaire et de collecte de fonds de recherche pendant le Mois de la santé cardiovasculaire. Tout au long de l'année, le gouvernement du Canada agit pour nous inciter à améliorer notre santé, y compris celle de notre coeur.

Leona Aglukkaq
Ministre de la Santé
Gouvernement du Canada

Pour de plus amples informations
Suivez-nous sur Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web Twitter et Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web Facebook