Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

About Health Canada

Message from the Honourable Leona Aglukkaq, Minister of Health

National Nutrition Month

March 2012

March is National Nutrition Month. This year, Dietitians of Canada has chosen the theme "Get the real deal on your meal." In keeping with this theme, I encourage all Canadians to make a habit of choosing healthy and nutritious food and to base the choices about the foods they eat on reliable and relevant information.

Healthy eating is important to good health. Food nourishes your body and gives you energy to maintain a healthy, active lifestyle. Eating the right foods can also help reduce your risk of many chronic diseases.

Information about food and nutrition is everywhere--in newspapers, magazines and on the internet. But how do you know which information to trust and what is just a myth? Not all the information out there is credible; myths and misinformation are everywhere.

Our government supports the health and well-being of Canadians through various healthy eating initiatives:

In the spirit of National Nutrition Month, I encourage all Canadians to choose healthy and nutritious foods, whatever the occasion, throughout the year.

Leona Aglukkaq
Minister of Health
Government of Canada

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

À propos de Santé Canada

Message de l'honorable Leona Aglukkaq, ministre de la Santé

Mois de la nutrition

mars 2012

Mars est le mois de la nutrition au Canada. Cette année, Les Diététistes du Canada ont choisi pour thème Toute la vérité sur ce que vous mangez. J'encourage donc tous les Canadiens à prendre l'habitude de choisir des aliments sains et nutritifs et à se baser sur des renseignements fiables et pertinents pour faire leurs choix.

Une saine alimentation est essentielle à la santé. Les aliments nourrissent le corps et procurent l'énergie quotidienne nécessaire pour maintenir un mode de vie sain et actif. Consommer les bons types d'aliments peut aussi aider à réduire le risque de maladies chroniques.

On trouve de l'information sur les aliments et la nutrition partout - dans les journaux, les magazines et sur Internet. Mais comment discerner le vrai du faux ? L'information qui circule n'est pas toujours crédible ; les mythes et les renseignements trompeurs sont monnaie courante.

Notre gouvernement favorise la santé et le bien-être des Canadiens grâce à diverses initiatives sur la saine alimentation :

Dans l'esprit du Mois de la nutrition, j'invite tous les Canadiens à choisir des aliments sains et nutritifs, peu importe l'occasion, pendant toute l'année.

Leona Aglukkaq
Ministre de la Santé
Gouvernement du Canada