Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada
Consumer Product Safety

Canada Consumer Product Safety Act (CCPSA)

The Next link will take you to another Web site Canada Consumer Product Safety Act (CCPSA) received Royal Assent in late 2010, and it came into force on June 20, 2011.

About the Legislation

Canada and Canadians have been well served by our consumer product safety laws. However, modern realities such as more complex materials, speedier innovation to market, new source countries for products, and increased consumer demand for information require a 21st century approach.

Administered by Health Canada, the new Next link will take you to another Web site Canada Consumer Product Safety Act adopts modern tools and techniques that strengthen protection and bring Canada's consumer product safety system into line with our key trading partners.

The CCPSA reflects years of extensive consultations with a broad range of stakeholders, including industry representatives, consumer groups, children's organizations, standards development organizations, other levels of government and the general public.

The new law applies to a wide variety of consumer products including children's toys, household products and sporting goods, but excludes products like motor vehicles and their integral parts, food, drugs (including natural health products) and animals as these are regulated by other Canadian laws.

What are the key provisions of the new Canada Consumer Product Safety Act?

  • Reporting of Incidents: The Act requires industry to provide information to Health Canada and to the product's supplier (if applicable) concerning consumer product safety incidents or product defects that result, or could reasonably be expected to result, in death or harmful health effects. This "early warning" provision also applies to inadequate labelling or instructions that could lead to the same results, and to recall orders or other corrective measures initiated in other jurisdictions for human health or safety reasons.

  • Preparing and Maintaining Documents: So that unsafe products can be traced back to their source, the CCPSA requires those who manufacture, import, advertise, sell or test consumer products for commercial purposes to prepare and maintain certain documents. Normally, these records would already be part of regular business practice. For example, the CCPSA requires that a retailer document the name and address of the product's supplier, and the location and the period during which they sold the product (but not the name of the individual to whom the product was sold). These requirements are more detailed at higher levels of trade.

  • Information on Product Safety: Health Canada can require manufacturers or importers to provide or obtain safety information - including studies or tests - that indicate whether a consumer product meets the requirements of the CCPSA.

  • General Prohibition: Under the Act, there are prohibitions related to the manufacture, importation, sale or advertisement of consumer products that could pose an unreasonable danger to the health or safety of Canadians.

  • Packaging and Labelling: Under the CCPSA there are prohibitions related to the packaging, labelling or advertisement of a consumer product in a manner that is false, misleading or deceptive in respect of its safety.

Everyone has a Role to Play

Because product safety is in everyone's best interest, everyone has a role to play. The CCPSA clearly defines industry's obligations, helps consumers to make informed choices about the products they purchase, and provides government with the tools to take action when necessary.

Consultations

  • Consultation on the Proposal for Cadmium Guidelines in Children's Jewellery
  • Consultation on Draft Guidance for Mandatory Incident Reporting under the Canada Consumer Product Safety Act - completed April 8, 2011
  • Consultation on Draft Guidance on Preparing and Maintaining Documents under the Canada Consumer Product Safety Act
  • Regulatory Consultation - Proposal for the Making of Administrative Monetary Penalties (AMP) Regulations under the proposed Canada Consumer Product Safety Act - completed November 26, 2010
  • Regulatory Consultation on the Proposal for the Making of Exemption Regulations Respecting Consumer Products Non-Compliant with Requirements in Regulations and Preparing and Maintaining Documents under the Proposed Canada Consumer Product Safety Act - completed November 12, 2010
  • Consultation on the Mandatory Reporting Policy for the Proposed Canada Consumer Product Safety Act - completed October 29, 2010
    • Mandatory Reporting - Feedback

News Releases and Speeches

For more information

Related Resources

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Sécurité des produits de consommation

Loi canadienne sur la sécurité des produits de consommation (LCSPC)

La Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web Loi canadienne sur la sécurité des produits de consommation (LCSPC) a reçu la sanction royale à la fin de 2010 et a entrée en vigueur le 20 juin 2011.

La Loi

Nos lois sur la sécurité des produits de consommation ont été utiles pour le Canada et sa population. Mais c'est une approche pour le 21e siècle qui s'impose dans le contexte actuel où les constituants des produits sont complexes, où les innovations se succèdent rapidement sur le marché, où les importations viennent de nouveaux pays et où les consommateurs sont avides d'information.

La Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web Loi canadienne sur les produits de consommation, nouvel instrument dont l'application relève de Santé Canada, recourt à des outils et à des techniques modernes qui assurent une meilleure protection et harmonisent notre système de sécurité des produits avec celui de nos grands partenaires commerciaux.

Cette loi est le fruit, notamment, de vastes consultations menées auprès d'intervenants d'horizons divers, comme le secteur de l'industrie, les groupes de consommateurs, les organismes de défense des enfants, les organismes de normalisation, les autres ordres de gouvernement et le grand public.

Elle encadre une grande diversité de produits de consommation, comme les jouets, les produits ménagers et les articles de sport, mais non les véhicules motorisés et leurs pièces, les aliments, les médicaments (y compris les produits de santé naturels) et les animaux, qui sont réglementés par d'autres lois canadiennes.

Quelles sont les principales dispositions de la Loi canadienne sur la sécurité des produits de consommation?

  • Déclaration des incidents : La Loi oblige l'industrie à aviser Santé Canada et le fournisseur (le cas échéant) de tout incident qui est associé à un produit non sécuritaire ou défectueux et qui a entraîné ou pourrait raisonnablement avoir entraîné la mort ou des problèmes de santé. Cette disposition prévoyant un « signalement précoce » s'applique également aux étiquettes ou aux directives qui ne fournissent pas l'information requise et peuvent, à ce titre, avoir les même conséquences, ainsi qu'aux rappels et aux autres mesures correctives prises à l'étranger pour assurer la sécurité ou protéger la santé humaine.

  • Tenue de dossiers : Pour assurer la traçabilité des produits, la LCSPC exige de toute personne qui fabrique, importe, vend ou met à l'essai un produit de consommation, ou en fait la publicité, à des fins commerciales qu'elle produise et conserve certains documents, qui sont par ailleurs tenus dans le cadre des pratiques commerciales habituelles. Elle oblige par exemple le détaillant à consigner les nom et adresse de la personne de qui elle a obtenu le produit, les lieux où elle l'a vendu et la période pendant laquelle elle l'a vendu (mais pas le nom de l'acheteur). Les exigences sont plus complexes aux niveaux commerciaux supérieurs.

  • Information sur la sécurité des produits : Santé Canada peut exiger du fabricant ou de l'importateur qu'il communique ou obtienne des données de sécurité - y compris des résultats d'études ou d'essais - indiquant si un produit de consommation respecte les dispositions de la LCSPC.

  • Interdiction générale : La Loi renferme des dispositions qui interdisent la fabrication, l'importation, la publicité et la vente de produits de consommation qui présentent un risque déraisonnable pour la santé ou la sécurité humaines.

  • Emballage et étiquetage : La LCSPC interdit à toute personne d'emballer ou d'étiqueter un produit, ou d'en faire la publicité, d'une manière fausse, trompeuse ou mensongère en ce qui a trait à la sécurité de celui-ci.

Tout le monde a un rôle à jouer

Comme il y va de l'intérêt de tous, la sécurité des produits est l'affaire de tous. La LCSPC définit clairement les obligations de l'industrie, aide les consommateurs à faire des choix éclairés dans l'achat de produits et dote le gouvernement des outils nécessaires pour intervenir lorsqu'il doit le faire.

Consultations

  • Consultation sur la ligne directrice proposée quant au cadmium dans les bijoux pour enfants
  • Consultation sur l'ébauche des lignes directrice sur la déclaration obligatoire des incidents prévue dans la Loi canadienne sur la sécurité des produits de consommation - complété le 8 avril 2011
  • Consultation sur une ébauche de ligne directrice concernant la tenue de documents aux termes de la Loi canadienne sur la sécurité des produits de consommation
  • Consultation sur la réglementation - Projet d'établissement du Règlement sur les sanctions administratives pécuniaires en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur la sécurité des produits de consommation proposée - complété le 26 novembre 2010
  • Consultation réglementaire sur la proposition visant à prendre un Règlement sur l'exemption concernant certains produits non conformes ainsi que la préparation et la tenue de documents en vertu du projet de loi intitulé Loi canadienne sur la sécurité des produits de consommation - complété le 12 novembre 2010
  • Consultation sur la politique visant la déclaration obligatoire relative à la Loi canadienne sur la sécurité des produits de consommation proposée - complété le 29 octobre 2010
    • Déclaration obligatoire - Rétroaction

Allocutions et communiqués récents

Autres renseignements

Ressources connexes