Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Consumer Product Safety

For Industry: Canada Consumer Product Safety Act

Implementation of the new Next link will take you to another Web site Canada Consumer Product Safety Act (CCPSA) has been underway since the Act came into force on June 20, 2011. To make the transition from the Hazardous Products Act to the new legislation as smooth as possible, the Government will be actively communicating with industry to inform them of their new obligations and requirements under the Act.

Help on accessing alternative formats, such as Portable Document Format (PDF), Microsoft Word and PowerPoint (PPT) files, can be obtained in the alternate format help section.

Canada Consumer Product Safety Act ľ CCPSA

Before moving forward with this Act, Health Canada sought the views of stakeholders, including industry representatives and consumer groups. Some of the new requirements (e.g. mandatory reporting, requirement to produce test results upon request) may impose some additional accountability on industry.

To further minimize the impact, Health Canada will continue to work closely with industry to communicate the new requirements. The purpose of the new Act is to reinforce industry's responsibility to ensure they are not supplying consumer products that could pose an unreasonable danger to human health or safety, which will help to strengthen the health and safety of Canadians and increase consumer confidence.

Health Canada's objective at all times is to secure and improve the health and safety of all Canadians, and to support industry in their efforts to comply with the new legislation.

Experience has shown that industry values a good reputation and works hard to ensure products are safe. However, in cases where an individual or company does not fulfill their role and responsibilities in protecting the safety of Canadians, the government has more tools and flexibility at its disposal, including the ability to request information on a product's safety and to order a recall of unsafe products from the market. As well, significant penalties are being introduced for serious offences.

Product safety is good for business

The new Act introduces additional responsibilities for business, but also provides additional benefits. After all, product safety is not only everyone's business - it makes good business sense as well.

An unsafe product in the marketplace is bad news for consumers and businesses. For businesses, unsafe products create negative public perception and shaky consumer confidence. Product recalls are costly and disruptive for industry. The new approach will help keep unsafe products out of the market.

Finally, by introducing consistency and compatibility with the product safety systems of international trading partners, Canadian manufacturers will be in a better competitive situation when exporting their products.

Key New Requirements for Industry under the CCPSA:

  • Do not manufacture, import, sell or advertise consumer products that could pose an unreasonable danger to the health and safety of Canadians.

  • Do not supply products that are on Schedule 2, that do not comply with the regulations, or that are packaged or labelled in a misleading manner as to the product's safety.

  • Maintain records concerning purchases and sales so that unsafe products can be traced to their origin.

  • Report incidents that pertain to:
    • An occurrence that resulted or may reasonably have been expected to result in death or serious adverse health effects;
    • A defect or characteristic that may reasonably be expected to result in death or serious adverse health effects;
    • Inadequate labelling or instructions that could lead to such results; and /or
    • A recall order or other corrective measure initiated in another jurisdiction for human health or safety reasons.

  • Provide or obtain information on a product's safety if requested to do so.

For more information

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Sécurité des produits de consommation

Pour l'industrie : Loi canadienne sur la sécurité des produits de consommation

La mise en place de la nouvelle Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web Loi canadienne sur la sécurité des produits de consommation (LCSPC) est en cours depuis que la Loi est entrée en vigueur le 20 juin 2011. Pour faciliter la transition de la Loi sur les produits dangereux à la nouvelle Loi, le gouvernement informe activement l'industrie des nouvelles obligations et exigences imposées par celle-ci.

Si vous avez besoin d'aide pour accéder aux formats de rechange, tels que Portable Document Format (PDF), Microsoft Word et PowerPoint (PPT), visitez la section d'aide sur les formats de rechange.

La Loi canadienne sur la sécurité des produits de consommation – LCSPC

Avant de proposer cette Loi, Santé Canada a sollicité l'avis d'intervenants, dont des représentants de l'industrie et de groupes de consommation. Certaines des nouvelles exigences (p. ex. la déclaration obligatoire et les obligations relatives à la présentation sur demande de résultats d'essai) pourraient élargir la responsabilité de l'industrie.

Pour réduire encore davantage les répercussions de la transition, Santé Canada continuera de travailler de près avec l'industrie, en lui faisant connaître les nouvelles exigences. La nouvelle Loi a pour but d'accroître la responsabilité de l'industrie, pour qu'elle veille à ne pas offrir des produits de consommation qui pourraient poser un risque déraisonnable pour la santé ou la sécurité humaine, de contribuer à améliorer la santé et la sécurité de la population canadienne et d'accroître la confiance des consommateurs.

En tout temps, l'objectif de Santé Canada consiste à assurer et à améliorer la santé et la sécurité de tous les Canadiens et à aider l'industrie à se conformer à la nouvelle Loi.

Il est reconnu que, en général, l'industrie accorde de la valeur à une bonne réputation et s'efforce de vérifier la sécurité des produits. Cependant, dans les cas où une personne ou une entreprise ne s'acquitte pas de son rôle et de ses responsabilités en matière de protection de la sécurité des Canadiens, le gouvernement dispose d'autres outils et de solutions de rechange, y compris la possibilité de demander des renseignements sur le caractère sécuritaire d'un produit et d'ordonner un rappel des produits non sécuritaires. De plus, d'importantes sanctions s'appliqueront aux infractions graves.

La sécurité des produits est une bonne affaire

La nouvelle Loi impose de nouvelles responsabilités aux entreprises, mais apporte aussi de nouveaux avantages. La sécurité des produits n'est pas seulement l'affaire de tous : elle donne aussi du bon sens aux affaires.

La présence d'un produit non sécuritaire sur le marché n'est pas une bonne nouvelle pour les consommateurs et les entreprises. Pour les entreprises, les produits non sécuritaires donnent une mauvaise impression au public et ébranlent la confiance des consommateurs. Les rappels de produits sont coûteux et perturbateurs pour l'industrie. La nouvelle approche contribuera à faire en sorte que des produits non sécuritaires ne se retrouvent pas sur le marché.

Enfin, grâce à l'uniformisation des systèmes de sécurité des produits qui deviendront compatibles avec ceux des partenaires commerciaux étrangers, les fabricants canadiens seront dans une meilleure position concurrentielle pour l'exportation de leurs produits.

Principales nouvelles obligations de l'industrie en vertu de la Loi

  • Interdiction de fabriquer, d'importer, de vendre ou d'annoncer des produits de consommation qui pourraient poser un risque déraisonnable pour la santé et la sécurité de la population canadienne.

  • Interdiction de fournir des produits inscrits à l'annexe 2 qui ne sont pas conformes aux règlements ou qui sont emballés ou étiquetés d'une manière trompeuse concernant la sécurité du produit.

  • Obligation de tenir des documents concernant les achats et les ventes, afin de pouvoir retracer la provenance des produits non sécuritaires.

  • Obligation de déclarer les incidents concernant :
    • un événement qui a causé ou pouvait causer un décès ou qui a eu ou pouvait avoir des effets négatifs sur la santé;
    • Un défaut ou une caractéristique qui pourrait de façon raisonnable se traduire par un décès ou un effet indésirable grave pour la santé;
    • un étiquetage ou un mode d'emploi inadéquat qui aurait de tels résultats;
    • un rappel ou toute mesure prise dans une autre administration pour des raisons de santé et de sécurité humaine.

  • Obligation de fournir ou d'obtenir de l'information concernant la sécurité d'un produit lorsque cela est demandé.

Pour de plus amples renseignements