Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Consumer Product Safety

Pollinator Protection

Pollinators are organisms that help transfer pollen from one flowering plant to another. This fertilizes plants so that they can produce seeds and fruit.

With over 700 native species in Canada, bees are the most common pollinators. Other pollinators include butterflies, moths, wasps, flies, some types of beetles, hummingbirds and certain bats. Bees and other insect pollinators are critical to the production of many crops and play an essential ecological role. Crops that depend on the work of pollinators include tree and berry fruit, canola, alfalfa, squash, and melon.

Pollinator Health and Pesticides

Declines in honeybee and other pollinator populations have generated considerable scientific and public interest both in Canada and internationally. A number of factors are seen as potential contributors to these declines and no single factor has been identified as the cause. The available science suggests that multiple factors acting in combination may be at play, including loss of habitat and food sources, diseases, viruses and pests, and pesticide exposure.

It is also known that certain pesticides can pose an immediate, or "acute", threat to bees. In order to protect pollinators, the labels of pesticides that pose such risks specify detailed use directions to reduce potential exposure. These include restrictions on pesticide spraying on flowering crops or weeds where bees may be present. All precautions and directions on pesticide labels should be followed.

Health Canada Activities

As the federal authority for pesticide regulation, Health Canada is actively working with key stakeholders as well as provincial agriculture and environment ministries to ensure agricultural practices across the country protect pollinators. It is also collaborating with other pesticide regulators internationally to refine pesticide risk assessment methods and data requirements so that the potential effects on bees are better understood and risks can be mitigated.

Risk Mitigation

Best Management Practices

The following best management practices include measures that can be taken by growers to protect bees and other insect pollinators including honeybees, from pesticide exposure.

Other Risk Mitigation Documents

External Resources

Risk Assessment

Health Canada's risk assessment framework for bees was developed in cooperation with the United States Environmental Protection Agency (USEPA) and the California Department of Pesticide Regulation. The pollinator risk assessment framework and guidance in the links that follow this paragraph represents an advancement in how we assess the risks posed by pesticides to bees, and allows improved pollinator protection in our regulatory decisions and risk mitigation measures. Health Canada also cooperates internationally through the OECD to develop improvements to pollinator risk assessment and mitigation, including development of test guidelines and guidance documents.

Health Canada Reports

How to Report Suspected Pollinator Pesticide Poisonings

For bee poisonings related to pesticides, contact the appropriate federal or provincial authority:

  • British Columbia (Ministry of Agriculture): 604-556-3129
  • Alberta (Ministry of Agriculture and Rural Development): 780-415-2314
  • Saskatchewan (Ministry of Agriculture): 306-953-2304
  • Manitoba (Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Development): 204-945-4825/204-945-3861
  • Ontario (Health Canada): 519-826-2895
  • Qubec (Ministre de l'Agriculture, des Pcheries et de l'Alimentation): 1-866-381-1717
  • Nova Scotia (Department of Agriculture): 902-679-8998
  • Prince Edward Island (Department of Agriculture and Forestry): 902-314-0816
  • New Brunswick (Department of Agriculture, Aquaculture and Fisheries): 506-453-2108
  • Newfoundland and Labrador (Department of Natural Resources): 709-637-2079

You can contact Health Canada's Pest Management Regulatory Agency at 1-800-267-6315.

More information about the Health Canada Pest Management Regulatory Agency Incident Reporting Program and how to report suspected incidents is available on the Health Canada website.

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Sécurité des produits de consommation

Protection des insectes pollinisateurs

Certains hyperliens donnent accès à des sites d'organismes qui ne sont pas assujettis à la  Loi sur les langues officielles. L'information qui s'y trouve est donc dans la langue du site.

Les pollinisateurs sont des organismes qui contribuent à transférer le pollen d'une fleur à l'autre, assurant ainsi la fertilisation des plantes, de même que la production de graines et de fruits.

Au Canada, on compte plus de 700 espèces d'abeilles indigènes. Ce sont les insectes pollinisateurs les plus répandus. Les papillons (nocturnes et diurnes), les guêpes, les mouches, certaines espèces de coléoptères, les colibris et même quelques chauves-souris contribuent aussi à la pollinisation des plantes. Les abeilles et les autres insectes pollinisateurs sont indispensables à la production de plusieurs cultures et ils jouent un rôle écologique essentiel. La culture des arbres fruitiers, des petits fruits, du canola, des courges et des melons est impossible sans insectes pollinisateurs.

Santé des insectes pollinisateurs et pesticides

Au Canada comme ailleurs dans le monde, le déclin des populations d'abeilles mellifères et des autres pollinisateurs a suscité un vif intérêt auprès de la communauté scientifique et du grand public. Même si de nombreux facteurs étaient à l'origine de ce phénomène, aucun d'entre eux n'a été reconnu comme en étant la cause. Les renseignements scientifiques dont on dispose suggèrent qu'il pourrait s'agir de l'action combinée de plusieurs facteurs, comme la destruction des habitats, l'appauvrissement des sources de nourriture, les maladies, les virus, les organismes nuisibles et l'exposition aux pesticides.

On sait également que certains pesticides constituent une menace immédiate ou un risque aigu pour les abeilles. Afin de protéger les insectes pollinisateurs, les étiquettes apposées sur les contenants des pesticides connus pour poser de tels risques fournissent un mode d'emploi détaillé visant à réduire le risque d'exposition. Le mode d'emploi comprend également des restrictions concernant la pulvérisation de pesticides sur des plantes cultivées ou des mauvaises herbes dont la floraison attire les abeilles. Les mises en garde et les instructions qui figurent sur les étiquettes des pesticides devraient toujours être suivies.

Activités de Santé Canada

Autorité fédérale chargée de la réglementation des pesticides, Santé Canada collabore activement avec les intervenants ainsi qu'avec les ministères de l'Agriculture et de l'Environnement des provinces et des territoires pour veiller à ce que les pratiques agricoles utilisées partout au pays assurent la protection des insectes pollinisateurs. Santé Canada travaille aussi à l'échelle internationale avec les autres organismes de réglementation des pesticides dans le but d'améliorer les méthodes d'évaluation des risques et de préciser les exigences en matière de données. Il sera ainsi possible de mieux comprendre les effets que peuvent avoir les pesticides sur les abeilles et d'atténuer les risques.

Réduction des risques

Pratiques exemplaires de gestion

Les liens suivants portent sur les pratiques exemplaires de gestion, notamment sur les mesures que peuvent prendre les agriculteurs pour protéger les abeilles et les autres insectes pollinisateurs contre une exposition aux pesticides.

Autres documents portant sur la réduction des risques

Documents publiés à l'étranger

Évaluation des risques

Le cadre d'évaluation des risques pour les abeilles de Santé Canada a été élaboré en collaboration avec la United States Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) et le California Department of Pesticide Regulation. Le cadre d'évaluation des risques pour les insectes pollinisateurs et les lignes directrices dont les liens sont fournis à la suite de ce paragraphe font progresser nos méthodes d'évaluation des risques que posent les pesticides pour les abeilles, et permettent d'améliorer le volet lié à la protection des insectes pollinisateurs dans nos décisions réglementaires et nos mesures de réduction des risques. Santé Canada collabore également avec d'autres pays par le biais de l'OCDE afin d'apporter des améliorations à l'évaluation et à la réduction des risques pour les pollinisateurs, y compris la préparation de lignes directrices et de documents d'orientation sur les essais.

Rapports de Santé Canada

Comment déclarer un cas suspect d'intoxication aux pesticides chez les insectes pollinisateurs

Pour signaler un cas d'intoxication aux pesticides chez les abeilles, communiquez avec l'autorité fédérale ou provinciale responsable :

  • Colombie-Britannique (Ministry of Agriculture) : 604-556-3129
  • Alberta (Ministry of Agriculture and Rural Development) : 780-415-2314
  • Saskatchewan (Ministry of Agriculture) : 306-953-2304
  • Manitoba (Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Development) : 204-945-4825/204-945-3861
  • Ontario (Santé Canada) : 519-826-2895
  • Québec (ministère de l'Agriculture, des Pêcheries et de l'Alimentation) : 1-866-381-1717
  • Nouvelle-Écosse (Department of Agriculture) : 902-679-8998
  • Île-du-Prince-Édouard (Department of Agriculture and Forestry) : 902-314-0816
  • Nouveau-Brunswick (ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Aquaculture et des Pêches) : 506-453-2108
  • Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador (Department of Natural Resources) : 709-637-2079

Vous pouvez aussi joindre l'Agence de réglementation de la lutte antiparasitaire de Santé Canada au 1-800-267-6315.

Vous trouverez davantage d'information sur le Programme de déclaration d'incident relatif aux produits antiparasitaires de l'Agence de réglementation de la lutte antiparasitaire de Santé Canada ainsi que des précisions sur la façon de déclarer un incident lié à l'exposition à un pesticide sur le site Web de Santé Canada.