Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Consumer Product Safety

Sustainable Pest Management

Sustainable pest management (SPM) is designed to meet society's current and future needs for the protection of human health and the environment for the production of food, feed and fibre, and for the use of natural resources. SPM combines a range of pest management practices, including the judicious use of pesticides, to ensure that our natural resources are utilized efficiently and conserved for future generations. Sustainable pest management programs must also address the economic viability of available and new pest control products and practices.

In this topic...

Under the Next link will take you to another Web site Pest Control Products Act Health Canada must protect human health and the environment by only registering products that meet strict safety standards. To ensure sustainability Health Canada also examines the value of pesticide uses by assessing their efficacy, and their potential social and economic impacts.

Health Canada collaborates with multiple stakeholders to move towards sustainable pest management. These stakeholders include but are not limited to:

To assist the various stakeholders in achieving their SPM goals, the Pest Management Regulatory Agency (PMRA) has dedicated staff that keep the stakeholders informed, support discussions across different sectors, and ensure that regulatory needs are understood.

Related information

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Sécurité des produits de consommation

Lutte antiparasitaire durable

La lutte antiparasitaire durable vise à combler les besoins actuels et futurs de la population quant à la protection de la santé humaine et de l'environnement, à la production d'aliments, d'aliments pour bétail et de fibres, et à l'utilisation de ressources naturelles. La lutte antiparasitaire durable combine diverses pratiques de lutte antiparasitaire, notamment l'utilisation judicieuse de pesticides, pour veiller à l'emploi efficace de nos ressources naturelles et à leur conservation pour les générations futures. Les programmes de lutte antiparasitaire durable doivent également se préoccuper de la viabilité économique des nouveaux produits et des nouvelles pratiques de lutte antiparasitaire.

Dans cette section...

Sous la Le lien suivant vous amène à une autre site Web Loi sur les produits antiparasitaires Santé Canada doit protéger la santé humaine et l'environnement, Santé Canada ne doit homologuer que les produits qui respectent des normes de sécurité rigoureuses. Aux fins de durabilité, le Ministère évalue également l'emploi des pesticides en examinant leur efficacité et leurs effets sociaux et économiques potentiels.

Santé Canada collabore avec divers intervenants pour faire avancer la lutte antiparasitaire durable, notamment :

Pour aider les divers intervenants à remplir leurs objectifs en matière de lutte antiparasitaire durable, le personnel de l'Agence de réglementation de la lutte antiparasitaire s'affaire à tenir les intervenants à jour, à soutenir la discussion dans les différents secteurs et à veiller à ce que les besoins en matière de réglementation soient bien compris.

Renseignements connexes