Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Consumer Product Safety

NOI2016-01, Notice of Intent Regarding Conditional Registrations under the Pest Control Products Regulations

Warning This content was archived on March 19, 2016.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

Notice to the reader: The online consultation is now closed.

Pest Management Regulatory Agency
19 January 2016
2291-9589 (PDF version)
Catalogue number: H113-23/2016-1E-PDF (PDF version)

Help on accessing alternative formats, such as Portable Document Format (PDF), Microsoft Word and PowerPoint (PPT) files, can be obtained in the alternate format help section.

Purpose

The purpose of this notice is to inform Canadians and interested stakeholders of Health Canadas intent to discontinue the granting of new conditional registrations under the Pest Control Products Regulations, effective 1 June 2016.

Background

Health Canadas Pest Management Regulatory Agency (PMRA) regulates pesticides on behalf of the Minister of Health. A pest control product (pesticide) is only registered under the Pest Control Products Act for use in Canada if PMRA determines through a rigorous scientific evaluation that the health and environmental risks are acceptable when label directions are followed, and that the product has value. The health risk assessment requires that consideration be given to sensitive sub-populations such as pregnant women, infants, children and seniors; the environmental risk assessment considers factors such as risks to non-target species. If a product poses a concern to human health, future generations, or the environment, it is not registered for use in Canada.

The Pest Control Products Act contains substantial transparency and consultation provisions. Prior to granting a full registration in respect of a new pesticide, a consultation document including the full scientific basis for the proposed decision is published. Once a full registration is granted, the Pest Control Products Act requires that all the scientific data used in decision making be placed in the Product Register and that it be available for inspection by the public. Also, anyone can file a notice of objection, once the final decision is made public.

Conditional registrations, which are approximately one percent of all registered pesticides in Canada, are granted only when the review of the scientific data and information is sufficient to determine that the risks of a pesticide are acceptable, but PMRA requires additional information, such as monitoring data after a product registration, to confirm the results of models used in the risk assessment. However, the transparency provisions of the Pest Control Products Act do not apply until the conditional registration is renewed or converted to a full registration (in other words, until the additional information is received and reviewed by PMRA).

Changes to PMRAs Approach to Granting Conditional Registrations

In April 2015, the House of Commons Standing Committee on Health published its report The Statutory Review of the Pest Control Products Act, 2015. The report included a recommendation that PMRA review the transparency and openness of its processes to register pesticides with a view to ensuring that Canadians are able to provide meaningful and informed input into the decision-making process and clearly understand decisions once they are made. The report also recommended that PMRA review the use of conditional registrations to ensure that they are being used in a manner that protects the health of Canadians and their environment.

The Commissioner of the Environment and Sustainable Development has previously recommended that PMRA reduce the number of conditional registrations issued and the length of time pesticides remain conditionally registered. A number of non-governmental organizations have raised concerns with the lack of transparency in the approach to conditional registrations.

As a regulator, Health Canada plays an important role in protecting the health and safety of Canadians and is committed to transparency and openness to further strengthen trust in our regulatory decisions. Consistent with Health Canadas Regulatory Transparency and Openness Framework and taking into account issues raised regarding conditional registrations, PMRA intends to discontinue the granting of new conditional registrations, as of 1 June 2016. A full public consultation will occur in a timely manner before each decision to register a new pesticide is made. Existing conditional registrations will be monitored to ensure that the required information is received and reviewed by PMRA in a timely manner.

Any impact of this approach is expected to be minimal. Granting of conditional registrations has decreased substantially in recent years to the point where they represent approximately one percent of all registered products in Canada and, there will be no impact on the process by which applicants apply for and obtain a full registration. In addition, should additional information or scientific data be required in the future, the Minister of Health would maintain the authority under the Pest Control Products Act to require, at any time, the manufacturer to compile information, conduct tests and monitor experience with the pesticide related to effects on human health and the environment, or its value, and to report this information to PMRA. This new approach will improve the transparency and openness of the pesticide regulatory system, and will clarify that all pesticide registration decisions are made with the same high level of scientific scrutiny.

Public Comments

Interested persons may make representations, with respect to this Notice of Intent, within 60 calendar days. Please provide your comments to pmra.publications@hc-sc.gc.ca by 19 March 2016, and include the following information:

  • Your full name and organization;
  • Your phone number; and,
  • Your complete mailing address or email address.

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Sécurité des produits de consommation

NOI2016-01, Avis d’intention concernant les homologations conditionnelles aux termes du Règlement sur les produits antiparasitaires

Avertissement Ce contenu a été archivé le 19 mars 2016.

Information archivée dans le Web

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette information dans tout autre format de rechange à la page « Contactez-nous ».

Avis au lecteur : La période de consultation en ligne est maintenant terminée.

Agence de réglementation de la lutte antiparasitaire
Le 19 janvier 2016
ISSN : 2291-9597 (version PDF)
Numéro de catalogue : H113-23/2016-1F-PDF (version PDF)

Si vous avez besoin d'aide pour accéder aux formats de rechange, tels que Portable Document Format (PDF), Microsoft Word et PowerPoint (PPT), visitez la section d'aide sur les formats de rechange.

But

Le présent avis a pour but d’informer les Canadiens et les intervenants intéressés que Santé Canada prévoit cesser d’accorder de nouvelles homologations conditionnelles aux termes du Règlement sur les produits antiparasitaires, à compter du 1er juin 2016.

Contexte

L’Agence de réglementation de la lutte antiparasitaire (ARLA) de Santé Canada règlemente les produits antiparasitaires au nom de la ministre de la Santé. Un produit antiparasitaire (c’est-à-dire un pesticide) est homologué pour utilisation au Canada, en vertu de la Loi sur les produits antiparasitaires, seulement lorsque l’ARLA détermine, après avoir effectué une évaluation scientifique rigoureuse, que les risques pour la santé et l’environnement sont acceptables lorsque les directives sur l’étiquette sont suivies, et que le produit a de la valeur. L’évaluation des risques pour la santé doit tenir compte des effets chez les sous-populations sensibles, notamment les femmes enceintes, les nourrissons, les enfants et les personnes âgées, tandis que l’évaluation des risques environnementaux se penche sur des facteurs comme les risques pour les espèces non ciblées. Si un produit soulève des préoccupations pour la santé humaine, les générations futures ou l’environnement, il n’est pas homologué pour utilisation au Canada.

La Loi sur les produits antiparasitaires prévoit des mesures importantes en matière de transparence et de consultation. Avant d’accorder une homologation complète à un nouveau produit antiparasitaire, l’ARLA publie un document de consultation renfermant l’ensemble des fondements scientifiques relatifs au projet de décision. En vertu de la Loi sur les produits antiparasitaires, après avoir accordé l’homologation complète, toutes les données scientifiques ayant servi à prendre la décision doivent être versées dans le dossier du produit et rendues accessibles au public à des fins d’examen. De plus, une fois que la décision définitive est publiée, toute personne peut déposer un avis d’objection.

Les homologations conditionnelles, qui comptent pour environ un pour cent de l’ensemble des homologations au Canada, sont accordées seulement lorsque l’examen des données et des renseignements scientifiques permet de déterminer que les risques que pourrait poser un produit antiparasitaire sont acceptables, mais que l’ARLA exige des renseignements additionnels, comme des données de surveillance après l’homologation, afin de confirmer les résultats fournis par les modèles utilisés dans le cadre de l’évaluation des risques. Toutefois, les mesures prévues par la Loi sur les produits antiparasitaires en matière de transparence ne s’appliquent pas tant que l’homologation conditionnelle ne sera pas renouvelée ou convertie en une homologation complète (donc pas avant que l’ARLA ait reçu et examiné les renseignements additionnels).

Changements à la démarche de l’ARLA relativement aux homologations conditionnelles

En avril 2015, Le Comité permanent sur la santé de la Chambre des communes a publié son rapport intitulé L’examen législatif de la Loi sur les produits antiparasitaires, 2015. Dans son rapport, le Comité recommande que l’ARLA examine les critères de transparence et d’ouverture de ses processus d’homologation des produits antiparasitaires pour faire en sorte que les Canadiens puissent apporter des commentaires utiles et éclairés dans le cadre du processus décisionnel et qu’ils puissent bien comprendre les décisions prises. Toujours dans son rapport, le Comité recommande que l’ARLA examine le recours aux homologations conditionnelles afin de s’assurer qu’elles soient utilisées d’une manière qui protège la santé des Canadiens et leur environnement.

La Commissaire à l'environnement et au développement durable (CEDD) a déjà recommandé que l’ARLA réduise le nombre et la durée des homologations conditionnelles. Un certain nombre d’organisations non gouvernementales ont soulevé des préoccupations à l’égard du manque de transparence de la méthode utilisée pour accorder des homologations conditionnelles.

À titre d’organisme de réglementation, Santé Canada joue un rôle important afin de protéger la santé et la sécurité des Canadiens, et le Ministère s’est engagé à faire preuve de transparence et d’ouverture afin de renforcer davantage la confiance envers ses décisions règlementaires. Conformément au Cadre règlementaire de transparence et d'ouverture de Santé Canada et afin de donner suite aux préoccupations soulevées à l’égard de ce type d’homologations, l’ARLA prévoit cesser d’accorder de nouvelles homologations conditionnelles à compter du 1er juin 2016. Une consultation publique complète se tiendra en temps opportun avant de prendre chaque décision d’homologuer un nouveau pesticide. Les homologations conditionnelles en vigueur feront l’objet d’un suivi afin d’assurer que les renseignements requis sont reçus et examinés rapidement par l’ARLA.

Les incidences de cette décision devraient être minimes. Le nombre d’homologations conditionnelles accordées a grandement diminué au cours des dernières années, au point où elles ne comptent désormais que pour un pour cent de l’ensemble des homologations au Canada; il n’y aura par ailleurs aucune incidence sur le processus de demande et d’obtention d’une homologation complète. De plus, au cas où des informations additionnelles ou des données scientifiques devaient être requises plus tard, la ministre de la Santé maintiendra l’autorité, en vertu de la Loi sur les produits antiparasitaires, d’exiger à n’importe quel moment que le fabricant compile des renseignements, effectue des essais et surveille l’expérience menée avec le produit antiparasitaire relativement aux effets sur la santé humaine, sur l’environnement, ou sur la valeur du produit, et qu’il transmette les données recueillies à l’ARLA. Cette nouvelle démarche améliorera les aspects liés à la transparence et à l’ouverture du système de réglementation des produits antiparasitaires, et elle servira à établir de façon claire que toutes les décisions d’homologation sont prises en observant le même niveau élevé de rigueur scientifique.

Commentaires du public

Les personnes désirant formuler des commentaires à l’égard du présent avis d’intention peuvent le faire dans un délai de 60 jours civils. Veuillez faire parvenir vos commentaires par courriel à : pmra.publications@hc-sc.gc.ca, au plus tard le 19 mars 2016, et y inclure les renseignements suivants :

  • votre nom et celui de votre organisation;
  • votre numéro de téléphone;
  • votre adresse postale complète et votre adresse électronique.