Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Consumer Product Safety

Protecting Your Health and the Environment

Pesticides are stringently regulated in Canada to ensure they pose minimal risk to human health and the environment. Health Canada relies on a number of mechanisms to protect your health and the environment, throughout a pesticide's lifecycle.

Compliance and Enforcement

Health Canada's Regional Offices promote and verify compliance with the Pest Control Products Act and Regulations. Regular investigations, inspections and consultations help ensure only the products that meet stringent safety standards are used in Canada and they're used according to the label directions.

Pesticides and Food

Canadians are particularly concerned about the safety of the food they eat. A strict process is followed before pesticides are used on food to safeguard Canadians' health.

Pesticide Registration Process

Health Canada thoroughly assesses the health and environmental risks of pesticides before products are registered for use in Canada. This extremely rigorous and complex process also examines the efficacy and the value of the product.

Programs and Initiatives

Science and agriculture are constantly evolving, creating new opportunities for improving pest management practices. Health Canada works with various agencies, advisory bodies and other departments to develop programs and initiatives that support lower-risk products and sustainable pest management practices.

Public Registry

The Public Registry is a collection of non-confidential information on pesticides and the pesticide regulatory system.


To ensure registered products continue to meet the most modern health and environmental standards, pesticides are reassessed on a cyclical basis every 15 years by a special review process.

Science Policies

To protect human health and the environment, Health Canada applies emerging scientific concepts and procedures in its regulatory decision-making. The issues and concerns that affect Canadians also play an important role. Science Policy Notices provide information on Pest Management Regulatory Agency (PMRA) policies, frameworks and issues related to science.

Pesticide Incident Reporting

Health Canada collects, monitors and analyses information about incident reports related to pesticide exposure from across Canada. This information is used to assess pesticide risks and improve risk-reduction efforts.

Additional Resources

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Sécurité des produits de consommation

Protéger votre santé et l'environnement

Les pesticides sont rigoureusement réglementés au Canada afin de s'assurer que les risques qu'ils présentent pour la santé humaine et l'environnement sont minimes. Santé Canada se fonde sur un certain nombre de mécanismes afin de protéger votre santé et l'environnement, et ce, tout au long du cycle de vie d'un pesticide.

Conformité et application de la loi

Les bureaux régionaux de Santé Canada encouragent et vérifient la conformité des utilisateurs de pesticides aux termes de la Loi sur les produits antiparasitaires et de ses règlements. Des enquêtes, des inspections et des consultations régulières permettent de garantir que seuls les produits qui respectent les strictes normes de sécurité soient utilisés au Canada et que leur usage se fait conformément au mode d'emploi.

Pesticides et aliments

Les Canadiennes et les Canadiens sont particulièrement préoccupés par l'innocuité des aliments qu'ils consomment. Afin de protéger la santé de la population canadienne, les pesticides doivent subir un processus rigoureux avant de pouvoir être utilisés sur des aliments.

Processus d'homologation des pesticides

Santé Canada évalue en profondeur les risques que pose les pesticides pour la santé et l'environnement avant de les homologuer pour utilisation au Canada. Ce processus extrêmement rigoureux et complexe permet également d'examiner l'efficacité et la valeur du produit.

Programmes et initiatives

La science et l'agriculture évoluent constamment, ce qui permet d'améliorer les pratiques de lutte antiparasitaire. Santé Canada travaille avec diverses agences, des organismes consultatifs et d'autres ministères à la création de programmes et d'initiatives qui appuient les produits à faible risque et les pratiques de lutte antiparasitaire durable.

Registre public

Le Registre public rassemble des renseignements non confidentiels sur les pesticides et le système de réglementation des pesticides.

Réévaluation

Afin de s'assurer que les produits homologués continuent de respecter les plus récentes normes de protection en matière de santé et d'environnement, les pesticides font l'objet d'une réévaluation à tous les 15 ans dans le cadre d'un processus d'examen spécial.

Politiques scientifiques

Afin de protéger la santé humaine et l'environnement, Santé Canada applique de nouveaux concepts et procédures scientifiques à son processus décisionnel relatif à la réglementation. Les questions et les préoccupations qui touchent la population canadienne jouent également un rôle important. Les documents de principe présentent des renseignements concernant les politiques, les cadres de travail et les enjeux de l'Agence de réglementation de la lutte antiparasitaire (ARLA) relatifs à la science.

Déclaration d'incident liée à l'exposition aux pesticides

Santé Canada recueille, surveille et analyse des renseignements sur les ventes de pesticides et les déclarations d'incident liés à l'exposition aux pesticides, et ce, pour l'ensemble du Canada. Ces renseignements sont utilisés pour évaluer les risques associés aux pesticides et pour améliorer les activités de réduction des risques.

Ressources additionnelles