Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Consumer Product Safety

Public Registry

One of the mandates of the Pest Control Products Act is to increase transparency in the pesticide registration system. A key mechanism for meeting this mandate is the Pesticide Public Registry.

The Public Registry is a collection of non-confidential information on pesticides and the pesticide regulatory system. All publicly available information on currently registered pesticides is available here.

The Public Registry is made up of the following components:

Pesticide Product Information Database

The Next link will take you to another Web site Pesticide Product Information Database was developed to allow interested members of the public to browse information on specific products, active ingredients, or programs related to pesticides that are regulated by Health Canada.

The reports in the Database are grouped under headings that reflect the status of the pesticide product, active ingredient or program:

  • Applications to register or amend the registration of a pesticide
  • Products under re-evaluation
  • Registered products
  • Active ingredients
  • Programs and special actions, including:
    • Research authorizations
    • Products under reconsideration
    • Minor Use applications
  • Incident Reports.

For help on the reports available through the Pesticide Product Information Database, please contact the Pest Management Information Service.

The Database is updated every 24 hours to reflect changes such as the receipt of new applications and the posting of reports and other documents. This update occurs between 2:30 and 3:30 a.m. and during this time the registry reports section may be unavailable for browsing.

If you require an accessible version of a document made available through the Pesticide Product Information Database, please send an email to PMRA Web Coordination-Coordination du Web de l' Please allow at least 48 hours for a response.

Regulatory and Policy Documents

There are a number of regulatory and policy documents that are used in the regulation and registration of pesticides. The documents in this section provide details on the policies that guide our regulatory activities, and offer guidance to pesticide manufacturers and users.

The proposed and final regulations for the new Act and reports on international harmonization activities are also available.

Policies, Guidelines and Codes of Practice

The Pest Management Regulatory Agency has a series of regulatory documents that are addressed to stakeholders. These documents detail Health Canada's guidelines, policies and regulation proposals related to pesticides. Also included are documents detailing issues related to science or other regulations.

International Harmonization Activities

Below is a list of the reports concerning international harmonization activities related to the regulation of pest control products. More information on Health Canada's international activities regarding pesticides can be found in Advisory Bodies and Partnerships.

Public Involvement

The Pest Control Products Act offers several different opportunities for the public to participate in the regulatory process. Under the Act, the public is able to:

Inspect Confidential Test Data

Prior to making a registration decision, Health Canada reviews the scientific test data submitted by pesticide companies. To prevent data manipulation, the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development developed an internationally accepted set of Test Guidelines and Principles of Good Laboratory Practices (GLP) to promote the quality and validity of test data. The Good Laboratory Practices cover the organizational process and conditions under which non-clinical studies are planned, performed, monitored, recorded and reported. Independent trail audits can be conducted under the GLP guidelines at anytime to verify integrity of data.

GLP applies to all testing of pesticides to obtain data on their properties and/or safety with respect to human health or the environment, for the purpose of supporting an application for registration or a research permit. Studies covered by GLP include field studies as well as laboratory studies.

Following the data review, Health Canada conducts a health and environmental risk assessment and a value assessment based on these data. Through the Reading Room, the public now has the opportunity to inspect the confidential test data supporting the decision to register a new pesticide active ingredient, or a major amendment, re-evaluation or special review of a registered pesticide.

Inspection of test data is a new opportunity provided by the Pest Control Products Act (PCPA) to facilitate transparency and public participation in the registration decision-making process. The data is available for inspection upon request in the Reading Room, located at the Health Canada Pest Management Regulatory Agency headquarters in Ottawa.

You are encouraged to review the consultation and decision documents, which summarizes the information that was evaluated and the reasons for the decision. If you would like to inspect the test data, please follow the process outlined in the Guidance Document Inspection of Confidential Test Data Supporting Pesticide Registration Decisions.

Request a Reconsideration of Decision

Under the PCPA, you have the opportunity to file a Notice of Objection after a decision statement of a major registration decision is made public. Reconsideration of decisions can only be requested on major registration decisions such as:

  • Granting or denying applications to register a new active ingredient
  • Registering or amending major new uses, and
  • Amending or cancelling registrations following a re-evaluation or special review.

Decision statements that qualify for a reconsideration of decision will be identified. Decisions on which Health Canada has consulted the public, under subsection 28(1) of the PCPA, qualify for requests for reconsideration.

If, after reviewing the decision statement and the evaluation reports in the Public Registry and/or the data in the Reading Room, you believe there is a scientific basis for reconsidering a regulatory decision, you may file a Notice of Objection. You have 60 days from the decision date to submit a Notice of Objection along with the scientific rationale for it.

Health Canada will then review the request and will consider establishing a review panel to examine the regulatory decision in question. Objections must have a valid rationale and be science-based.

For additional information on the reconsideration of decision process, consult the fact sheet "Getting involved in Canada's pesticide regulatory process."

Request a Special Review

The Act includes a new provision for the initiation of special reviews of the registration of a pest control product. A special review may be initiated if there is scientific evidence that the health or environmental risks or the value of the product are unacceptable.

Special reviews can be triggered by new scientific evidence provided by other federal or provincial departments, a member country of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development, or from the public.

To request a Special Review of a pest control product, send your scientific evidence via email to the Pest Management Regulatory Agency.

Health Canada will review the new scientific evidence and decide on the appropriate course of action.

Additional Resources

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Sécurité des produits de consommation

Registre public

La Loi sur les produits antiparasitaires prescrit notamment d'accroître la transparence du processus d'homologation des pesticides, et le Registre public des pesticides est un des dispositifs essentiels au respect de cette obligation.

Le Registre public regroupe des renseignements non confidentiels sur les pesticides ou leur réglementation. Tous les renseignements publics disponibles sur les pesticides actuellement homologués y figurent.

Il comporte trois sections :

Information sur les produits antiparasitaires

La Le lien suivant vous amène à une autre site Web base de données Information sur les produits antiparasitaires permet au public de chercher des renseignements sur certains pesticides, certaines matières actives ou certains programmes relatifs aux pesticides réglementés par Santé Canada.

Ses rapports sont regroupés sous diverses rubriques relatives au statut du produit, à ses matières actives ou aux programmes le concernant.

  • Demandes d'homologation ou de modification de l'homologation d'un pesticide
  • Produits faisant l'objet d'une réévaluation
  • Produits homologués
  • Matières actives
  • Programmes et mesures spéciales :
    • Autorisations de recherche
    • Produits faisant l'objet d'un réexamen
    • Pesticides à usage limité
  • Rapports d'incidents

Si vous avez besoin d'aide pour obtenir un rapport de cette base de données, veuillez communiquer avec le Service de renseignements sur la lutte antiparasitaire.

La base de données est actualisée tous les jours, entre 2 h 30 et 3 h 30, pour y verser les nouvelles demandes d'homologation ainsi que les nouveaux rapports et autres documents. La section des rapports du registre pourrait être inaccessible pendant cette mise à jour.

Pour obtenir une version accessible d'un document de la Base de données Information sur les produits antiparasitaires, vous êtes prié d'envoyer un courriel à PMRA Web Coordination-Coordination du Web de l'ARLA@hc-sc.gc.ca. Veuillez prévoir un délai d'au moins 48 heures pour obtenir une réponse.

Documents réglementaires et documents de politiques

Certains documents réglementaires ou de politiques sont associés à la réglementation ou à l'homologation des pesticides. Ceux de la présente section renferment des renseignements sur les politiques orientant nos activités réglementaires et fournissent des directives aux fabricants et aux utilisateurs de pesticides.

Vous trouverez également dans cette section les règlements et projets de règlements d'application de la nouvelle Loi, ainsi que des rapports sur les activités d'harmonisation internationale.

Politiques, lignes directrices et codes de pratique

Vous trouverez ci-après une série de documents réglementaires visant à renseigner les intervenants sur les lignes directrices, les politiques et les projets de règlements de Santé Canada en matière de lutte antiparasitaire, ainsi que des documents ayant trait à des questions scientifiques ou à d'autres règlements.

Activités d'harmonisation internationale

Vous trouverez-ci après la liste des rapports concernant les activités internationales en matière de réglementation des produits antiparasitaires. D'autres renseignements sur ces activités sont publiés sous la rubrique Groupes consultatifs et Partenariats.

Participation du public

La Loi sur les produits antiparasitaires autorise le public à participer au processus de réglementation de diverses façons :

Consulter des données d'essai confidentielles

Avant de prendre une décision concernant une homologation, Santé Canada examine les données d'essais scientifiques présentées par les fabricants de pesticides. Pour éviter que de telles données soient manipulées et en assurer la validité et la qualité, l'Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques a mis au point un ensemble de directives d'analyse et de bonnes pratiques de laboratoire (BPL) acceptées à l'échelle internationale. Les BPL définissent la façon d'organiser les études non cliniques et de les planifier, de les réaliser, de les contrôler, de les enregistrer et d'en communiquer les résultats. Elles prévoient que des vérifications indépendantes de l'intégrité des données peuvent être effectuées en tout temps.

Sont assujetties aux BPL toutes les études réalisées sur le terrain ou en laboratoire pour produire les données sur les propriétés d'un pesticide ou son innocuité pour l'humain ou l'environnement qui appuieront une demande en vue de faire homologuer ce produit ou autoriser des travaux de recherche à son sujet.

Santé Canada analyse ces données et évalue ensuite la valeur du produit et les risques qu'il pourrait présenter pour la santé humaine et l'environnement. Dans la Salle de lecture, le public peut consulter les données d'études confidentielles sur lesquelles sont fondées les décisions concernant l'homologation d'une nouvelle matière active d'un pesticide, ou encore une modification importante, la réévaluation ou l'examen spécial d'un pesticide homologué.

La possibilité de consulter les données d'essais est une nouvelle mesure que prévoit la Loi sur les produits antiparasitaires pour favoriser la transparence du processus d'homologation et la participation du public à celui-ci. La consultation se fait dans la Salle de lecture, située à l'administration centrale de l'Agence de réglementation de la lutte antiparasitaire, à Ottawa.

Nous vous invitons à lire les documents relatifs aux consultations et aux décisions, où sont résumés l'information évaluée et les motifs justifiant les décisions. Pour consulter les données d'essais, veuillez respecter la marche à suivre décrite dans le document d'orientation Consultation des données d'essai confidentielles appuyant des décisions d'homologation de pesticides.

Demander l'examen d'une décision

En vertu de la Loi sur les produits antiparasitaires, vous pouvez déposer un Avis d'opposition après la publication d'un énoncé de décision relative à une homologation, pourvu qu'il s'agisse d'une décision importante, comme :

  • accepter ou rejeter une demande d'homologation d'une nouvelle matière active;
  • homologuer une nouvelle utilisation importante ou en modifier l'homologation;
  • modifier ou révoquer une homologation à la suite d'une réévaluation ou d'un examen spécial.

Les décisions pouvant faire l'objet d'un réexamen seront déterminées. C'est le cas de celles que Santé Canada aura prises après avoir consulté le public, conformément au paragraphe 28(1) de la Loi sur les produits antiparasitaires.

Si vous croyez que l'examen d'une décision est scientifiquement justifié après avoir consulté l'énoncé de décision et les rapports d'évaluation dans le Registre public ou les données dans la Salle de lecture, vous pouvez déposer un avis d'opposition. Vous avez un délai de 60 jours à partir de la date de décision pour déposer votre avis accompagné d'une justification scientifique.

Santé Canada étudiera votre demande et pourrait alors établir une commission pour examiner la décision réglementaire contestée. La justification présentée doit être valide et scientifiquement fondée.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur le processus d'examen d'une décision, consultez la fiche de renseignements Participer au processus canadien de réglementation des pesticides.

Demander un examen spécial

La Loi renferme une nouvelle disposition prévoyant l'examen spécial de l'homologation d'un produit antiparasitaire. Cet examen peut être institué si des données scientifiques révèlent que la valeur du produit ou ses risques pour la santé ou l'environnement sont inacceptables.

La présentation de nouvelles données scientifiques par d'autres ministères fédéraux ou provinciaux, un État membre de l'Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques ou le public peut donner lieu à un examen spécial.

Pour demander un examen spécial veuillez faire parvenir vos données scientifiques à l'appui de votre demande par courriel à l'Agence de réglementation de la lutte antiparasitaire.

Santé Canada analysera ces données et décidera des mesures à prendre.

Ressources additionnelles