Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Consumer Product Safety

Re-evaluation Note REV2016-04, Joint PMRA / USEPA Re-evaluation Update for the Pollinator Risk Assessment of the Neonicotinoid Insecticides

Pest Management Regulatory Agency
6 January 2016
ISSN: 1925-0649 (PDF version)
Catalogue number: H113-5/2016-4E-PDF (PDF version)

Help on accessing alternative formats, such as Portable Document Format (PDF), Microsoft Word and PowerPoint (PPT) files, can be obtained in the alternate format help section.

Table of Contents


In May 2015, Health Canada's Pest Management Regulatory Agency (PMRA) and the United States Environmental Protection Agency's Office of Pesticide Programs (USEPA OPP) (Agencies) announced, as an initiative of the Regulatory Cooperation Council, that they would be collaborating on a bilateral pesticide re-evaluation process for the pollinator assessment of three neonicotinoid pesticides (clothianidin, imidacloprid, and thiamethoxam), based on the jointly developed harmonized Guidance for Assessing Pesticide Risks to Bees, found on the USEPA's Pollinator Risk Assessment Guidance page. The Agencies have been working closely with the California Department of Pesticide Regulation (CDPR). In addition, USEPA OPP and CDPR are using the same framework to conduct a co-operative re-evaluation of dinotefuran, a neonicotinoid pesticide which is registered in the United States but not in Canada.

These pesticides are nitroguanidine neonicotinoids, a group of insecticides that have been approved for use in the United States and Canada for a number of years. In recent years, there have been reports in scientific literature suggesting that exposure to neonicotinoids may impact pollinator health; however, these studies have generally been conducted under laboratory situations, or in the field with exposure to doses that are higher than would normally be encountered in the environment.

In support of science-based risk management decisions, the Agencies are relying on the harmonized Pollinator Risk Assessment Framework methodology to conduct the pollinator risk assessment for the neonicotinoids. The Framework relies on a tiered approach which begins with conservative exposure assumptions and laboratory toxicity data conducted with individual bees, then progresses to more realistic exposure measurements in nectar and pollen, as well as colony level bee studies conducted in the field.

Data required under the Framework has been divided into three tiers. Tier 1 consists of laboratory toxicity studies with both adult and larval honey bees exposed for acute and chronic durations. Tier 2 effects studies include feeding and tunnel studies in which honey bee hives are exposed to neonicotinoids in a more realistic setting than the laboratory. Tier 2 residue studies measure exposure based on pollen and nectar residue data from neonicotinoid products applied to crops using different application methods. Tier 3 studies are generally large-scale field studies that most closely resemble an in-field exposure scenario for honey bees.

Neonicotinoid registrants have submitted, or are in the process of conducting, a number of studies to support their chemical-specific pollinator risk assessments. The Agencies will use these studies as well as information from published literature in the tiered risk assessment approach. All relevant scientific information will be considered alongside incident data in a weight-of-evidence approach, which considers if the information is robust and consistent, for the risk characterization.

This document provides a status update on the pollinator risk assessments of clothianidin, imidacloprid, thiamethoxam, and dinotefuran.

Status of Registrant Data Submission and Review by the Agencies

Over 350 pollinator studies have been submitted by the neonicotinoid registrants and are currently undergoing a cooperative review by all three agencies. To date, over 300 of the studies received have been reviewed by at least one agency. While progress is being made with the study reviews, there are additional studies that are currently being conducted which are required for the completion of the re-evaluations.

Status of Open Literature Review

The Agencies will incorporate information from the body of peer-reviewed scientific literature into the pollinator risk assessments. Studies may include information about neonicotinoid residues in pollen/nectar as well as lethal and sublethal effects (foraging behavior, etc.) to different life stages (larvae, adults) in honey bee hives, and overall colony health. Studies on different types of bees (for example bumble bees and solitary bees) will also be included.

The Agencies have conducted a number of literature searches which have identified hundreds of peer reviewed scientific studies. After a screen of the results, the Agencies prioritized about 250 open literature studies for further evaluation based on whether they assessed the residues or effects described above. Studies which are considered to be informative will be incorporated into the pollinator risk assessment. The Agencies continue to monitor current research findings and will incorporate more recent information as it becomes available.

Next Steps

Since the Agencies began the imidacloprid review about a year before the other neonicotinoids, imidacloprid is further along in the review process and initial findings have been presented in preliminary pollinator risk assessment documents:

See table below for anticipated milestones for the pollinator assessments. The publication of each document will be followed by a public consultation period.

Milestones for the Pollinator Assessments
Neonicotinoid Assessment PMRA / USEPA/ CDPRTable 1 footnote 1

Table 1 footnotes

Table 1 footnote 1

CDPR plans to issue its determination with respect to its reevaluation of neonicotinoids (clothianidin, dinotefuran, imidacloprid, and thiamethoxam) on or before 1 July 2018.

Return to table 1 footnote 1 referrer

Table 1 footnote 2

Not Applicable to PMRA.

Return to table 1 footnote 2 referrer

Imidacloprid Preliminary Jan. 2016
Final Dec. 2016
Clothianidin Preliminary Dec. 2016
Final Dec. 2017
Thiamethoxam Preliminary Dec. 2016
Final Dec. 2017
Dinotefuran Preliminary Dec. 2016Table 1 footnote 2
Final Dec. 2017Table 1 footnote 2

Additional Information

The issue of pollinator health is complex, and is likely influenced by a number of factors including pests, pathogens and viruses, nutrition, pesticide exposure, bee management practices, and lack of genetic diversity. The PMRA and USEPA OPP, as the federal regulators of pesticides in Canada and the United States, respectively, are working together to protect bees and other pollinators from pesticide exposure.

Information regarding PMRA's and USEPA OPP's actions to protect pollinators and additional resources can be found at PMRA's section on Pollinator Protection and the USEPA's section on Protecting Bees and Other Pollinators from Pesticides.

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Sécurité des produits de consommation

Note de réévaluation REV2016-04, Compte rendu de la réévaluation conjointe de l'ARLA et de l'EPA concernant l'évaluation des risques causés par les insecticides de la classe des néonicotinoïdes pour les pollinisateurs

Agence de réglementation de la lutte antiparasitaire
Le 6 janvier 2016
ISSN : 1925-0665 (version PDF)
Numéro de catalogue : H113-5/2016-4F-PDF (version PDF)

Si vous avez besoin d'aide pour accéder aux formats de rechange, tels que Portable Document Format (PDF), Microsoft Word et PowerPoint (PPT), visitez la section d'aide sur les formats de rechange.

Certains hyperliens donnent accès à des sites d'organismes qui ne sont pas assujettis à la  Loi sur les langues officielles. L'information qui s'y trouve est donc dans la langue du site.

Table des matières

Introduction

En mai 2015, l'Agence de réglementation de la lutte antiparasitaire (ARLA) de Santé Canada et l'Office of Pesticide Programs (OPP) de la United States Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) (les agences) ont annoncé, dans le cadre d'une initiative du Conseil de coopération en matière de réglementation (CCR), qu'elles allaient collaborer à un processus bilatéral de réévaluation de pesticides relativement à une évaluation des risques pour les pollinisateurs posés par trois pesticides de la classe des néonicotinoïdes, soit la clothianidine, l'imidaclopride et le thiaméthoxam. Cette évaluation est fondée sur le cadre de travail conjoint harmonisé, intitulé Guidance for Assessing Pesticide Risks to Bees (en anglais seulement), lequel se trouve sur la page Web Pollinator Risk Assessment Guidance (en anglais seulement) de l'EPA. Les agences collaborent étroitement avec le California Department of Pesticide Regulation (CDPR). Par ailleurs, l'OPP de l'EPA et le CDPR se servent du même cadre de travail pour mener une réévaluation collaborative sur le dinotéfurane, un pesticide de la classe des néonicotinoïdes qui est homologué aux États-Unis, mais pas au Canada.

Ces pesticides sont des néonicotinoïdes contenant de la nitroguanidine, un groupe d'insecticides homologués pour utilisation aux États-Unis et au Canada depuis un certain nombre d'années. Au cours des récentes années, la documentation scientifique suggérait que l'exposition aux néonicotinoïdes pourrait avoir des effets sur la santé des pollinisateurs. Cependant, ces études ont généralement été menées dans des conditions de laboratoire ou sur le terrain, à des doses d'exposition plus élevées que celles qui sont normalement mesurées dans l'environnement.

Afin d'appuyer les décisions relativement à la gestion des risques axée sur la science, les agences se servent de la démarche du cadre de travail harmonisé de l'évaluation des risques pour les pollinisateurs afin de mener l'évaluation des risques posés par les néonicotinoïdes pour les pollinisateurs. Le cadre de travail est fondé sur une démarche progressive qui consiste d'abord à établir des hypothèses conservatrices sur l'exposition et des données toxicologiques obtenues en laboratoire sur des abeilles individuelles, puis elle s'étend de manière à obtenir des mesures plus réalistes sur l'exposition dans le nectar et le pollen, puis des études sur les abeilles à l'échelle des colonies menées sur le terrain.

Les données exigées par le cadre de travail ont été divisées en trois niveaux. Le niveau 1 comprend les études sur la toxicité chronique et aigüe menées en laboratoire sur des abeilles domestiques adultes et sur des larves d'abeilles domestiques. Les études de niveau 2 sur les effets comprennent des études sur l'alimentation et dans des conditions semi-naturelles dans le cadre desquelles les ruches d'abeilles domestiques sont exposées à des néonicotinoïdes dans un milieu plus réaliste que celui d'un laboratoire. Les études sur les résidus du niveau 2 mesurent l'exposition selon des données de résidus dans le pollen et le nectar de produits de la classe des néonicotinoïdes appliqués sur des cultures par diverses méthodes. Les études de niveau 3 sont généralement des études sur le terrain à grande échelle qui se rapprochent davantage du scénario d'exposition des abeilles domestiques sur le terrain.

Les titulaires d'homologations de pesticides de la classe des néonicotinoïdes ont présenté ou sont en train de mener un certain nombre d'études afin d'appuyer leurs évaluations des risques pour les pollinisateurs propres à leurs produits chimiques. Les agences se serviront de ces études et des renseignements contenus dans la documentation publiée dans le cadre de la démarche progressive d'évaluation des risques. Tous les renseignements scientifiques pertinents seront pris en compte en parallèle avec les données sur les incidents dans une démarche fondée sur le poids de la preuve, laquelle évalue si l'information est robuste et uniforme, à des fins de caractérisation des risques.

Le présent document fournit un compte rendu d'étape sur les évaluations des risques pour les pollinisateurs relativement à la clothianidine, l'imidaclopride, le thiaméthoxam et le dinotéfurane.

État d'avancement de la présentation des données par les titulaires d'homologation et de l'examen par les agences

Plus de 350 études sur les pollinisateurs ont été présentées par les titulaires d'homologation de pesticides de la classe des néonicotinoïdes, et elles font actuellement l'objet d'un examen par les trois agences. Jusqu'ici, plus de 300 études ont été examinées par au moins une agence. L'examen progresse, mais d'autres études nécessaires à l'achèvement des réévaluations sont toujours en cours.

État des sources publiées

Les agences incluront dans les évaluations des risques pour les pollinisateurs les renseignements provenant du corpus de documents scientifiques examinés par les pairs. Les études peuvent comprendre des renseignements sur les résidus de néonicotinoïdes dans le pollen et le nectar, des renseignements sur les effets létaux et sublétaux (butinage, etc.) à différents stades de vie (larvaire et adulte) dans les ruches d'abeilles domestiques, et des renseignements sur la santé globale des colonies. Des études sur différentes espèces d'abeilles comme les bourdons et les abeilles solitaires seront également incluses.

Les agences ont mené un certain nombre de recherches documentaires, ce qui a permis de trouver des centaines d'études scientifiques examinées par les pairs. Après avoir procédé à un filtrage des résultats, les agences ont priorisé environ 250 études de sources publiées afin de les évaluer plus en détail en portant attention à celle qui évaluent les résidus ou les effets susmentionnés. Les études considérées comme étant informatives seront incluses dans l'évaluation des risques pour les pollinisateurs. Les agences continuent de se tenir au courant des conclusions des recherches en cours, et elles incluront les plus récents renseignements au fur et à mesure qu'ils deviendront disponibles.

Prochaines étapes

Le tableau ci-dessous présente les jalons prévus pour les évaluations des risques pour les pollinisateurs. La publication de chacun des documents sera suivie d'une période de consultation.

Jalons prévus pour les évaluations des risques pour les pollinisateurs
Néonicotinoïdes Évaluation ARLA / EPA/ CDPR Table 1 footnote 1

Table 1 footnotes

Table 1 footnote 1

Le CDPR prévoit publier le résultat de sa réévaluation des pesticides de la classe des néonicotinoïdes (la clothianidine, l'imidaclopride, le thiaméthoxam et le dinotéfurane) au plus tard le 1er juillet 2018.

Return to table 1 footnote 1 referrer

Table 1 footnote 2

Ne s'applique pas à l'ARLA.

Return to table 1 footnote 2 referrer

Imidaclopride Préliminaire Janvier 2016
Finale Décembre 2016
Clothianidine Préliminaire Décembre 2016
Finale Décembre 2017
Thiaméthoxam Préliminaire Décembre 2016
Finale Décembre 2017
Dinotéfurane Préliminaire Décembre 2016Table 1 footnote 2
Finale Décembre 2017Table 1 footnote 2

Renseignements additionnels

La santé des pollinisateurs est une question complexe qui est influencée par plusieurs facteurs comme les organismes nuisibles, les pathogènes et virus, la nutrition, l'exposition aux pesticides, les pratiques de gestion des abeilles et le manque de diversité génétique. L'ARLA et l'OPP de l'EPA, à titre d'organismes de réglementation des pesticides au Canada et aux États-Unis respectivement, travaillent ensemble afin de protéger les abeilles et les autres pollinisateurs contre l'exposition aux pesticides.

Vous trouverez des renseignements sur les mesures prises par l'ARLA et l'OPP de l'EPA afin de protéger les pollinisateurs, de même que d'autres sources d'information aux adresses suivantes :