Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Drugs and Health Products

ARCHIVED - Policy Statement

Warning This content was archived on June 24 2013.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

Help on accessing alternative formats, such as Portable Document Format (PDF), Microsoft Word and PowerPoint (PPT) files, can be obtained in the alternate format help section.

Contact: MHPD-DPSC

2005-08-01

Advertising Campaigns of Branded and Unbranded Messages

November 2000
Administrative Update: August 2005

Health Canada recently conducted an investigation on an advertising campaign directed to consumers involving the dissemination of branded and unbranded messages for a prescription drug. In the advertising campaign, branded messages provided the name of the prescription drug with no mention of its use and unbranded messages, discussed the therapeutic indication without naming the drug.

Health Canada reviewed the advertising campaign with respect to the application of Section C.01.044 (1) of the Food and Drug Regulations and associated Health Canada guidelines and policies, in particular, The Distinction Between Advertising and Other Activities. Health Canada concluded that the Direct-to-Consumer campaign, as a whole, did constitute a violation of C.01.044 (1) of the Food and Drug Regulations. In order to provide guidance to independent preclearance advertising agencies for future opinions in this area, the following elements should be considered:

Canada's Food and Drugs Act, (FDA) defines "advertisement" to include "any representation by any means whatever for the purpose of promoting directly or indirectly the sale or disposal of any food, drug, cosmetic or device". Section C. 01.044 of the Food and Drug Regulations requires that advertising of prescription medicines (e.g. drugs listed in Schedule F of the Regulations) be limited to the drug's name, price and quantity:

C.01.044. (1) Where a person advertises to the general public a Schedule F Drug, the person shall not make any representation other than with respect to the brand name, proper name, common name, price and quantity of the drug.

Applying this definition and rule, a drug firm cannot combine promotional information on a specific prescription only drug and a particular disease or condition in a single advertisement. Further, if a typical consumer could easily link two announcements and the messages contained in such announcements taken together similarly contravene this prohibition then the airing of such announcements sufficiently close in time is also prohibited by the rule. A sponsor seeking to broadcast non-branded messages discussing treatments and branded messages identifying a prescription drug product in question concurrently, would contravene Section C.01.044 of the Regulations.

Health Canada recognizes the importance to the pharmaceutical industry and to the general public of being able to disseminate and access non-promotional information regarding drugs for human use. The policy "The Distinction Between Advertising and Other Activities", issued in 1996 is intended to fulfill the need for guidance on the distinction between advertising and non-promotional activities. The purpose of the above-mentioned policy is to set the limits between information and advertising. This policy does not explicitly address the issue of advertisements which may be aired consecutively or simultaneously. However, it does express that no one factor in itself will determine whether or not a particular message is advertising. The content and the context in which a message is disseminated must be evaluated.

Therefore, even though the individual ads, taken independently, met the Food and Drugs Act and Regulations, as a whole (unbranded and branded messages), the campaign was considered to contravene the Food and Drugs Regulations. When a particular information piece can be characterized as part of a larger campaign that combines promotional information on a specific prescription only drug and a particular disease or condition in a single advertisement then it may be part of a larger set of activities that can be argued to constitute a violation of these Regulations.

In the Direct-to-Consumer campaign, the fact that similar context, style, music and actors were used in both the unbranded and branded messages was taken into consideration.

The sponsor was advised that the basis for Health Canada's decision must be considered when developing future advertisements.

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Médicaments et produits de santé

ARCHIVÉE - Énoncé de politique

Avertissement Ce contenu a été archivé le 24 juin 2013.

Information archivée dans le Web

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette information dans tout autre format de rechange à la page « Contactez-nous ».

Si vous avez besoin d'aide pour accéder aux formats de rechange, tels que Portable Document Format (PDF), Microsoft Word et PowerPoint (PPT), visitez la section d'aide sur les formats de rechange.

contact : MHPD-DPSC

2005-08-01

Campagnes de publicité comprenant des messages avec ou sans mention de marque

novembre 2000
Mise à jour administrative : août 2005

Santé Canada a récemment mené une enquête sur une campagne de publicité s'adressant directement aux consommateurs durant laquelle ont été diffusés des messages avec et sans mention de marque pour un médicament d'ordonnance. Au cours de la campagne en question, des messages publicitaires avec mention de la marque donnaient le nom d'un médicament d'ordonnance sans préciser l'indication thérapeutique de ce dernier, et des messages sans mention de la marque présentaient l'indication thérapeutique d'un médicament sans le nommer.

Santé Canada a examiné la campagne de publicité en fonction de l'application de l'article C.01.044. (1) du Règlement sur les aliments et drogues ainsi que des lignes directrices et des politiques de Santé Canada qui s'y rattachent, en particulier la politique sur la Distinction entre les activités publicitaires et les autres activités. Santé Canada a conclu que la campagne de publicité directe en question constitue, dans l'ensemble, une infraction à l'article C.01.044. (1) du Règlement sur les aliments et drogues. Pour être en mesure de guider à l'avenir les organismes indépendants de pré-approbation des publicités dans ce domaine, il faut tenir compte des éléments suivants :

La Loi sur les aliments et drogues (LAD) du Canada définit ainsi le terme « publicité » : «S'entend notamment de la présentation, par tout moyen, d'un aliment, d'une drogue, d'un cosmétique ou d'un instrument en vue d'en stimuler directement ou indirectement l'aliénation, notamment par vente. » L'article C. 01.044 du Règlement sur les aliments et drogues exige que la publicité des médicaments d'ordonnance (p. ex. les drogues mentionnées à l'annexe F du Règlement) soit limitée au nom, au prix et à la quantité :

C.01.044 (1) Quiconque fait la publicité auprès du grand public d'une drogue mentionnée à l'annexe F doit ne faire porter la publicité que sur la marque nominative, le nom propre, le nom usuel, le prix et la quantité de la drogue.

Selon cette définition et ce règlement, un fabricant de médicaments ne peut combiner dans une même annonce de l'information promotionnelle sur un médicament d'ordonnance donné et une maladie ou un état particulier. Par ailleurs, si un consommateur moyen peut aisément faire un rapprochement entre deux annonces et que l'ensemble des messages véhiculés dans ces annonces enfreint cette interdiction, la diffusion suffisamment rapprochée de telles annonces est également interdite par le Règlement. Si un promoteur souhaite diffuser simultanément un message sans mention de marque portant sur des traitements ainsi qu'un message avec mention de marque où l'on identifie le médicament d'ordonnance en question, il enfreindra l'article C.01.044 du Règlement.

Santé Canada reconnaît l'importance que revêtent, pour l'industrie pharmaceutique et le grand public, la diffusion, à des fins autres que publicitaires, de renseignements sur les médicaments destinés à la consommation humaine et l'accès à cette information. La politique intitulée « Distinction entre les activités publicitaires et les autres activités » , qui date de 1996, a pour objet de servir de guide en ce qui concerne la distinction entre les activités publicitaires et les activités non promotionnelles. Son but est de mieux préciser la différence entre l'information et la publicité. Cette politique n'aborde pas de manière explicite la question des publicités diffusées une après l'autre ou simultanément. Toutefois, elle mentionne qu'aucun facteur particulier ne peut à lui seul déterminer si un message constitue ou non une publicité. Le contenu du message ainsi que le contexte dans lequel il est diffusé doivent être évalués.

Par conséquent, même si chaque annonce individuelle est conforme à la Loi sur les aliments et drogues et au Règlement sur les aliments et drogues, dans l'ensemble (les messages avec mention de marque et les messages sans mention de marque) la campagne enfreint le Règlement sur les aliments et drogues. Lorsqu'un élément d'information peut être déterminé comme faisant partie d'une campagne plus vaste qui combine, dans une même annonce, des renseignements publicitaires sur un médicament d'ordonnance donné et une maladie ou un état précis, cet élément d'information peut être considéré comme faisant partie d'un ensemble d'activités plus large qui pourrait constituer une infraction à ce Règlement.

On a tenu compte également que, dans le cadre de la campagne de publicité en question, un contexte, un style, une musique et des acteurs semblables ont été utilisés pour les messages avec mention de marque et les messages sans mention de marque.

On a avisé le promoteur qu'il devra tenir compte des éléments constituant la base de la décision rendue par Santé Canada pour ses prochaines publicités.