Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Drugs and Health Products

Medical Isotopes - Frequently Asked Questions

  1. What is a medical isotope?
  2. What is a Curie?
  3. Why is this issue a concern to Canadians?
  4. What is the most common medical isotope?
  5. What is the process to produce Tc-99m?
  6. What is Canada's regular consumption of medical isotopes?
  7. Where does Canada regularly get its medical isotope supplies? Where are supplies coming from now that Chalk River is down? Can you break this down by percentage?
  8. Do Canadian hospitals have the technology/equipment needed to use medical isotopes other than Tc-99m? What is this technology?
  9. What is a half-life of an isotope? What does it mean? What is the half-life of Tc-99m?
  10. What are the alternatives to Tc-99m?
  11. What are some of the alternatives that Canada's scientific community are currently working on?
  12. Does Canada have an emergency plan for this type of medical emergency?

Doctors looking at X-rays

1. What is a medical isotope?

A medical isotope is a safe radioactive substance used primarily to diagnose illness. The energy emitted by the isotope when inside a patient is detected by special cameras while the patient is being scanned. These scans essentially light up the organ and show how it is working rather than what it looks like. The branch of medicine and medical imaging that uses these isotopes is known as nuclear medicine.

2. What is a Curie?

A Curie is a measure of radioactivity. Prescribed doses of medical isotopes are measured in Curies (Ci). Prescribed doses vary depending on the isotope and the area of the body scanned.

3. Why is this issue a concern to Canadians?

Medical isotopes are used primarily to diagnose health conditions. Technetium-99 (Tc-99m) is the medical isotope used in over 80 percent of all nuclear medicine scans in Canada. The shutdown of the Chalk River reactor affects supply. Tc-99m is used in tests to diagnose medical conditions of the heart, the circulatory system, and organs. There is no one alternative for all the uses of Tc-99m, but there are alternatives available for some uses. It is up to the health care provider to make specific decisions about diagnosis and treatment.

4. What is the most common medical isotope?

Tc-99m is the medical isotope used in approximately 80 percent of all nuclear medicine scans in Canada. It is used in tests on the heart, the circulatory system, and organs.

5. What is the process to produce Tc-99m?

The production of Tc-99m begins with the fission of the isotope Uranium-235, which produces radioactive Molybdenum-99. Molybdenum-99 is further processed and refined and shipped to a distributor, who puts the substance into a container, called a generator, for sale and shipment to hospitals and radiopharmacies. The Tc-99m is derived from the Molybdenum-99 generator into a saline solution, which is injected into or inhaled by the patient before a diagnostic scan.

6. What is Canada's regular consumption of medical isotopes?

Tc-99m does the majority of nuclear medicine diagnostic tests, about 24,000 out of 30,000 nuclear medicine diagnostic scans per week. There are about 300 therapeutic doses administered each week in Canada.

7. Where does Canada regularly get its medical isotope supplies? Where are supplies coming from now that Chalk River is down? Can you break this down by percentage?

The world's supply of Molybdenum-99/Technetium-99m is from five large commercial reactors. The majority of Canada's supply is sourced from the NRU reactor at Chalk River (between 80-85% when the NRU is operational). Other sources of supply include the European reactors, as well as the reactor in South Africa. Some of these reactors have ramped up production to help lessen the impact of the NRU shutdown, and this additional production has entered the Canadian supply chain.

We have also recently approved the use of isotopes produced in Australia.

8. Do Canadian hospitals have the technology/equipment needed to use medical isotopes other than Tc-99m? What is this technology?

Availability of technology, medical imaging equipment and isotopes will vary from province to province, and from hospital to hospital. Alternative nuclear medicine cameras, known as Positron Emission Tomography (PET) scanners, are another type of nuclear medicine camera. Availability of these cameras is limited, but are available in large urban centres. Alternative isotopes, such as Thallium, can be used in the same type of camera as Tc-99m, and therefore availability will be the same as for Tc-99m. Availability of other imaging modalities, such as MRI and CT, will also vary across the country.

9. What is a half-life of an isotope? What does it mean? What is the half-life of Tc-99m?

The medical usefulness of isotopes dwindles in a predictable way that is measured by the isotope's half-life. The half-life is the time it takes for half the product to lose its radioactivity.

Because most medical isotopes have short half-lives, they can't be stockpiled like other more stable products, such as vaccines. The half-life of Molybdenum-99 (the isotope used to produce Tc-99m) is 66 hours. The half-life of Tc-99m is 6 hours. Generators, containers that encase Molybdenum-99 degrading to Tc-99m, expire after two weeks.

10. What are the alternatives to Tc-99m?

There is no one alternative for all the uses of Tc-99m, but there are alternatives available for some uses. It is up to the health care provider to make specific decisions about diagnosis and treatment. Patient's needs, as well as a facility's ability to access and use alternatives, inform health care providers' decisions about alternatives for diagnosis and treatment. Some alternative isotopes have decay faster than Tc-99m, which makes their availability limited.Footnote 1

Alternative isotopes that can be used with existing cameras:

Alternative isotopes that can be used with existing cameras (SPECT and gamma cameras) offer advantages because they can use existing infrastructure. The alternative isotopes are produced by small accelerators, called cyclotrons, and are not reliant on nuclear reactors.

  • Thallium-201 is approved as an alternative for most heart tests, which account for approximately half of all Tc-99m procedures in Canada.
  • Iodine-123 is approved to image kidneys. It can also be used to image the thyroid gland, and can be made available by request from a physician or through clinical trials.
  • Gallium-67 is approved for detection of Hodgkin's disease and lymphomas, among other types of cancers.

Alternative isotopes that can be used with alternative cameras:

Positron Emission Tomography (PET) scanners are another type of nuclear medicine camera, which use different isotopes from the gamma and SPECT gamma cameras. Availability of these cameras is limited. Alternative isotopes that can be used with these scanners include:

  • 18 F FDG is approved for some cancer scans.
  • 18F Sodium Fluoride can be used for bone-scanning through clinical trials.
  • Nitrogen-13 ammonia can be made available through Health Canada for heart procedures at the request of a physician, or through clinical trial.
  • Rubidium-82 can be made available through Health Canada to replace a small number of heart studies at the request of a physician, or through clinical trial.

There are also alternative scanning technologies such as Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI) and Computed Tomography (CT), which can be used for some imaging needs.

11. What are some of the alternatives that Canada's scientific community are currently working on?

The Government of Canada has established an expert panel to review proposals from the private and public sectors for new sources of key medical isotopes for Canada. In order to identify the most promising solutions, the Government of Canada will seek submissions from private and public sector organizations. The expert review panel will assess the concepts and proposals against identified criteria. The expert review panel will bring together world class expertise in the domains of health science, applied science and public policy.

The Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR) has been working closely with others to plan a research strategy. Discussions have focused on the need to: evaluate the state of the science in medical imaging (nuclear and non-nuclear); identify areas where a targeted investment of funds might lead to advances in the field; and address the medical needs created by a potential reduction in access to Molybdenum-99.

As well, the Government of Canada is providing $6 million towards research which will advance research into alternative, non-nuclear, medical isotopes that could replace Technetium-99m in certain medical imaging procedures and support the production and clinical testing of these alternatives.

12. Does Canada have an emergency plan for this type of medical emergency?

Canada has many tools in place to help address the shortage of Molybdenum-99/Technetium-99m. For example, Health Canada shared clinical guidance with the health care community on strategies to maximize the existing supplies of Tc-99m. In addition, there is a regulatory toolkit to help the health care community access alternative isotopes and alternative imaging modalities.

News Releases

Additional Information

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Note: The material in this fact sheet is general information made available to Canadians by Health Canada. However, any specific decisions on treatment or procedures remain with the health care provider, in order to meet each patient's unique circumstances.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Médicaments et produits de santé

Isotopes médicaux - Foire aux questions

  1. Qu'est-ce qu'un isotope médical?
  2. Qu'est-ce qu'un curie?
  3. Pourquoi cette question est-elle préoccupante pour les Canadiens?
  4. Quel est l'isotope médical le plus utilisé?
  5. Comment le 99mTc est-il produit?
  6. Dans quelle mesure les isotopes médicaux sont-ils utilisés au Canada?
  7. D'où proviennent les isotopes médicaux du Canada, maintenant que le réacteur de Chalk River est arrêté et dans quelles proportions?
  8. Les hôpitaux canadiens disposent-ils de la technologie et des instruments nécessaires pour utiliser d'autres isotopes que le 99mTc? De quelle technologie s'agit-il?
  9. Qu'est-ce que la période radioactive d'un isotope ? Qu'est-ce que cela signifie ? Quelle est la période radioactive du 99mTc?
  10. Quels sont les isotopes de remplacement du 99mTc?
  11. Quelles sont quelques-unes des solutions de rechange sur lesquelles travaille la communauté scientifique canadienne?
  12. Le Canada dispose-t-il d'un plan pour ce type d'urgence médicale?

Médecins regardant des rayons X

1. Qu'est-ce qu'un isotope médical?

L'isotope médical est une substance radioactive sécuritaire surtout utilisée pour le diagnostic de maladies. Des caméras spéciales détectent l'énergie émise par les isotopes dans le corps du patient. Essentiellement, l'organe est illuminé pour montrer comment il fonctionne et non son apparence. La médecine nucléaire est la branche de la médecine et de l'imagerie médicale qui utilise les isotopes.

2. Qu'est-ce qu'un curie?

Un curie est une mesure de radioactivité. Les doses prescrites d'isotopes médicaux se mesurent en curies (Ci). Les doses prescrites varient selon l'isotope et selon la partie du corps soumise au test diagnostic.

3. Pourquoi cette question est-elle préoccupante pour les Canadiens?

Les isotopes médicaux sont surtout utilisés pour diagnostiquer des maladies. Le technétium-99 (99mTc) est l'isotope médical employé dans plus de 80 % des épreuves diagnostiques en médecine nucléaire au Canada, et l'arrêt du réacteur de Chalk River a une incidence sur l'approvisionnement. Le 99mTc est utilisé pour les examens diagnostics du coeur, de l'appareil circulatoire et d'autres organes. Il n'existe pas une solution de rechange unique pour tous les usages du 99mTc, mais il en existe certaines pour des usages précis. La décision concernant le diagnostic et le traitement relève du médecin traitant.

4. Quel est l'isotope médical le plus utilisé?

Le 99mTc est l'isotope médical employé dans environ 80% des tests diagnostics en médecine nucléaire au Canada. Il est utilisé pour les examens diagnostiques du coeur, de l'appareil circulatoire et d'autres organes.

5. Comment le 99mTc est-il produit?

La production du 99mTc débute par la fission de l'isotope d'uranium-235, qui produit le molybdène-99 radioactif. Le molybdène-99 est ensuite traité et raffiné puis envoyé à un distributeur, qui le place dans un contenant, appelé générateur, aux fins de la vente et du transport dans les hôpitaux et les radiopharmacies. Le 99mTc est dérivé du générateur de molybdène-99 dans une solution saline, qui est injectée ou inhalée par le patient avant le test diagnostic.

6. Dans quelle mesure les isotopes médicaux sont-ils utilisés au Canada?

Le 99mTc est utilisé dans la majorité des tests diagnostics en médecine nucléaire, soit environ 24 000 des 30 000 procédures effectuées chaque semaine. Environ 300 doses thérapeutiques sont administrées chaque semaine au Canada.

7. D'où proviennent les isotopes médicaux du Canada, maintenant que le réacteur de Chalk River est arrêté et dans quelles proportions?

L'approvisionnement mondial en molybdène-99 et en technétium-99 provient de cinq grands réacteurs provinciaux. Au Canada, l'approvisionnement provient en grande partie du réacteur NRU de Chalk River (80 à 85 % lorsque le NRU est opérationnel). Les réacteurs d'Europe et celui d'Afrique du Sud sont d'autres sources. Certains de ces réacteurs ont accru leur production pour permettre d'atténuer les effets de l'arrêt du NRU, et cette production accrue fait maintenant partie de la chaîne d'approvisionnement canadienne.

Nous avons approuvé récemment l'utilisation d'isotopes produits en Australie.

8. Les hôpitaux canadiens disposent-ils de la technologie et des instruments nécessaires pour utiliser d'autres isotopes que le 99mTc? De quelle technologie s'agit-il?

La disponibilité de la technologie, de l'équipement d'imagerie diagnostique et des isotopes varie d'une province ou d'un hôpital à l'autre. L'appareil de tomographie par émission de positons (TEP) est un autre type d'appareil médical nucléaire. Ces caméras ne sont pas disponibles partout, mais on les trouve dans les grands centres urbains. Des isotopes de remplacement, comme le thallium, peuvent s'utiliser avec le même type de caméras que le 99mTc ; sa disponibilité sera donc la même que le 99mTc. La disponibilité des autres moyens d'imagerie, comme l'imagerie par résonnance magnétique (IRM) et la tomographie axiale commandée par ordinateur (TACO), varie dans l'ensemble du pays.

9. Qu'est-ce que la période radioactive d'un isotope ? Qu'est-ce que cela signifie ? Quelle est la période radioactive du 99mTc?

L'utilité médicale de l'isotope disparaît de manière prévisible. La période pendant laquelle il est utile correspond à la moitié de sa période radioactive.

a plupart des isotopes utilisés en médecine ayant une courte durée de radioactivité, on ne peut les stocker comme on le fait pour des produits plus stables, comme les vaccins. La période radioactive du molybdène-99 (l'isotope utilisé pour produire le 99mTc) est de 66 heures alors que celle du 99mTc est de six heures. Le générateur ou contenant dans lesquels est conservé le molybdène-99 qui se dégrade pour produire du 99mTc expire après deux semaines.

10. Quels sont les isotopes de remplacement du 99mTc?

Il n'existe pas une solution de rechange unique pour tous les usages du 99mTc, mais il en y en a pour des usages précis. Il appartient au médecin de décider de la méthode diagnostique et du traitement. Le médecin prendra une décision en fonction des besoins du patient et de la possibilité de recourir à d'autres options pour le diagnostic et le traitement. Certains isotopes de remplacement se désintègrent plus rapidement que le 99mTc, ce qui limite leur accessibilité.Note de bas de page 1

Isotopes de remplacement compatibles avec les caméras actuelles :

Les isotopes de remplacement compatibles avec les caméras actuelles (caméras à tomographie monophotonique d'émission et caméras gamma) sont avantageux car qu'ils permettent d'utiliser l'infrastructure actuelle. Les isotopes de remplacement sont produits par de petits accélérateurs, appelés cyclotrons, qui ne dépendent pas des réacteurs nucléaires.

  • Le thallium-201 a été approuvé comme isotope de remplacement pour la plupart des examens en cardiologie, qui constituent environ la moitié des interventions utilisant le 99mTc au Canada.
  • L'iode-123 a été approuvé pour l'examen des reins par imagerie. Il peut aussi être utilisé pour l'imagerie de la glande thyroïde et peut être obtenu sur demande par un médecin ou dans le cadre d'essais cliniques.
  • Le gallium-67 a été approuvé pour déceler divers types de cancer, notamment la maladie de Hodgkin et les lymphomes.

Isotopes de remplacement qui peuvent être utilisés avec d'autres caméras :

L'appareil de tomographie par émission de positons (TEP) est un autre type d'appareil employé en médecine nucléaire, qui utilise des isotopes différents de ceux utilisés par les caméras gamma et les caméras à tomographie monophotonique d'émission. L'accessibilité de ces caméras est limitée. Voici les isotopes de remplacement qui peuvent être utilisés avec ces appareils :

  • Le fluorodésoxyglucose marqué au fluor 18 a été approuvé pour certains tests diagnostics du cancer.
  • Le fluorure de sodium marqué au fluor 18 peut être utilisé pour l'imagerie des os dans le cadre d'essais cliniques.
  • L'ammoniac marqué à l'azote 13 peut être accessible par l'entremise de Santé Canada pour l'imagerie du coeur à la demande du médecin ou dans le cadre d'essais cliniques.
  • Le rubidium-82 peut remplacer un nombre restreint d'examens en cardiologie et peut être accessible par l'entremise de Santé Canada à la demande du médecin ou dans le cadre d'essais cliniques.

Il existe d'autres technologies de remplacement, comme l'IRM et la tomographie par ordinateur, qui peuvent répondre à certains besoins d'imagerie.

11. Quelles sont quelques-unes des solutions de rechange sur lesquelles travaille la communauté scientifique canadienne?

Le gouvernement du Canada a créé un comité d'experts pour examiner les propositions des secteurs privé et public relativement à de nouvelles sources d'isotopes médicaux pour le Canada. Afin de trouver les solutions les plus prometteuses, le gouvernement du Canada sollicitera des propositions d'organismes des secteurs privé et public. Le comité, qui regroupera des experts du monde entier dans les domaines des sciences de la santé, des sciences appliquées et de la politique publique, se chargera d'évaluer les concepts et les propositions en fonction de critères établis.

Les Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada (IRSC) travaillent avec divers intervenants pour élaborer une stratégie de recherche. Les discussions portent sur la nécessité d'évaluer l'état des connaissances scientifiques en imagerie médicale (nucléaire et non nucléaire), de cerner des secteurs où l'investissement ciblé pourrait mener à des percées et de répondre aux besoins médicaux découlant d'une réduction possible de l'accès au molybdène-99.

Par ailleurs, le gouvernement du Canada investit 6 millions de dollars dans la recherche pour trouver des isotopes médicaux non nucléaires qui pourraient remplacer le 99mTc dans certaines procédures diagnostiques médicales et pour favoriser la production et l'essai clinique de ces isotopes de remplacement.

12. Le Canada dispose-t-il d'un plan pour ce type d'urgence médicale?

Le Canada a mis en place de nombreux outils pour remédier à la pénurie de molybdène-99 et de technétium-99m. Santé Canada a notamment fourni à la communauté médicale des directives au sujet des stratégies visant à maximiser les réserves existantes de 99mTc. Par ailleurs, il existe un ensemble d'outils réglementaires visant à aider la communauté médicale à se procurer des isotopes et des modalités d'imagerie de remplacement.

Communiqués

Renseignements supplémentaires

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Remarque : Le présent feuillet d'information contient des renseignements généraux que Santé Canada fournit à la population canadienne. Cependant, toute décision précise concernant le traitement ou les procédures diagnostiques incombe au médecin traitant qui l'adaptera aux circonstances particulières du patient.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1 referrer