Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Drugs and Health Products

Compliance and Enforcement

Compliance and enforcement activities are a key element of safeguarding the drugs and health products to which Canadians have access.

As part of its regulatory responsibilities, Health Canada is responsible for compliance monitoring and enforcement activities related to health products in order to verify that regulatory requirements are being applied appropriately. The Health Products and Food Branch Inspectorate is the directorate primarily responsible for health product compliance monitoring activities such as industry inspection and product investigation. The Inspectorate develops and implements enforcement strategies in these areas. Establishment licensing and related laboratory functions support the Inspectorate's compliance and enforcement activities.

The Inspectorate's activities relate to:

The Inspectorate is also developing monitoring and compliance activities in relation to Assisted Human Reproduction in collaboration with its partners within Health Canada.

Registering a health product complaint:

What information can you find here?

In this section, you will find information concerning our compliance and enforcement activities related to blood and donor semen, cells, tissues and organs, drugs, medical devices and natural health products. You will be able to read about our international activities, and learn about legislation, licensing, good manufacturing procedures and good clinical practices.

Annual inspection summary reports outline inspection activities conducted by the Inspectorate.

The Next link will take you to another Web site Canadian Food Inspection Agency provides all federal inspection services related to food and enforces the food safety and nutritional quality standards established by Health Canada.

Related Resources

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Médicaments et produits de santé

Conformité et application de la loi

Les activités de vérification de la conformité et d'application de la loi sont essentielles à la sécurité des médicaments et des produits de santé offerts aux Canadiens.

Dans le cadre de ses responsabilités en matière de réglementation, Santé Canada prend des mesures pour vérifier la conformité des produits de santé à la loi et faire respecter la réglementation à cet égard. L'Inspectorat de la Direction générale des produits de santé et des aliments est principalement responsable de la vérification de la conformité des produits de santé, notamment de l'inspection de l'industrie et des enquêtes sur les produits. À cette fin, il élabore et met en oeuvre des stratégies d'application de la loi. Les licences d'établissement et les fonctions de laboratoire connexes l'aident à s'acquitter de ses responsabilités.

Les activités de l'Inspectorat ont trait à ce qui suit :

L'Inspectorat est aussi en cours d'élaborer des activités de surveillance et de conformité reliées à la procréation assistée, en collaboration avec ses partenaires à l'intérieur de Santé Canada.

Enregistrer une plainte d'un produit de santé :

Ressources disponibles

Dans la présente section, vous pouvez trouver des renseignements sur nos activités de vérification de la conformité et d'application de la loi concernant le sang et le sperme de donneur, les cellules, les tissus et les organes, les médicaments, les instruments médicaux et les produits de santé naturels. Vous pouvez aussi vous renseigner sur nos activités à l'échelle internationale, ainsi que sur les lois, les licences, les bonnes pratiques de fabrication et les bonnes pratiques cliniques.

Les rapports sommaires annuels sur les inspections décrivent les activités d'inspection réalisées par l'Inspectorat.

Le lien suivant vous amène à une autre site Web L'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments offre tous les services fédéraux d'inspection des aliments et applique les normes de salubrité des aliments et de qualité nutritionnelle établies par Santé Canada.

Ressources connexes