Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Drugs and Health Products

Medical Marihuana Regulatory Reform 2011 Consultations Results

Warning This content was archived on June 19 2014.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

In recent years, a wide range of stakeholders including police and law enforcement, fire officials, physicians, municipalities, and program participants and groups representing their interests, have identified concerns with the current Marihuana Medical Access Program (MMAP).

To address these concerns, an online and in-person consultation process was launched between June - November 2011, to gather comments from interested parties on the proposed improvements to the Program. Input from these consultations will be considered in the development of new regulations.

Here's what they said:

Introduction

The Results

  1. Physician - patient interaction
  2. Patient access
  3. Proof of legal possession
  4. Licensed production

Conclusion

Introduction

Background

On June 17, 2011, in response to concerns heard from Canadians, the Minister of Health announced that she is considering improvements to Health Canada's Marihuana Medical Access Program (the Program). The proposed improvements would reduce the risk of abuse and exploitation by criminal elements and keep our children and communities safe, while significantly improving the way program participants access marihuana for medical purposes.

Health Canada also launched public consultations on the proposed improvements.  A consultation document was posted on the Health Canada website which outlines the proposed improvements. 

This report serves as a summary of the key themes heard during that consultation process.

The improvements under consideration

See more information on the proposed improvements to the Program.

Who was consulted?

Between June and November 2011, Health Canada consulted with key stakeholders to get their views on the proposed changes and to gain information and knowledge to inform the development of new regulations. Stakeholder groups included:

  • authorized and licensed individuals under the current Program;
  • compassion clubs and cannabis dispensaries;
  • provincial and territorial ministries of health and of public safety;
  • physicians, including medical associations and colleges of physicians and surgeons;
  • municipalities;
  • law enforcement officials;
  • fire officials;
  • pharmacists; and
  • Canadians with an interest in the Program.

The Results

1. Physician - patient interaction

Health Canada's proposal maintains that individuals would still be required to consult a physician to obtain access to marihuana for medical purposes.  However, categories of conditions and symptoms would be eliminated. Therefore, there would no longer be a requirement for some individuals to obtain a specialist assessment in addition to their primary care physician in order to access marihuana for medical purposes.  The existing medical declaration would be replaced by a simpler document provided by the physician to the individual.

In response to physicians' request for more information about the use of marihuana to support their patients, Health Canada is consulting with experts in the medical and scientific communities on ways to improve physicians' access in obtaining comprehensive, accurate, and up-to-date information on the use of marihuana for medical purposes.

The role of physicians

All stakeholders welcomed efforts to improve physicians' access to information on the use of marihuana for medical purposes.  Program participants, physicians and medical associations indicated that improving access to such information may be helpful in ensuring that physicians are better informed when discussing the use of marihuana for medical purposes as a treatment option.

Clinical guidelines on the use of marihuana for medical purposes, information on potential therapeutic indications and information on the evaluation of potential risks and benefits of marihuana for medical purposes were all identified as principal areas where physicians would like more information.

Categories of conditions and symptoms

The removal of categories of conditions and symptoms is considered a positive step toward improving the application process for program participants, particularly those who have stated that the requirement to get a specialist assessment can take a significant amount of time. Medical associations indicated that, in the absence of regulated categories of conditions and symptoms, they would like to continue to work with Health Canada to develop guidelines that could assist physicians in making informed decisions with respect to the use of marihuana to treat particular symptoms and/or conditions.  

The potential role of other healthcare practitioners

Some stakeholders suggested that the list of health care providers who can support an individual's request to use marihuana for medical purposes should be expanded. Suggestions included nurse practitioners, pharmacists, naturopaths, herbalists, practitioners of traditional Chinese medicine and chiropractors.

2. Patient access

Under the proposed redesigned program, individuals would no longer be required to apply to Health Canada to obtain an authorization to possess marihuana for medical purposes. Nor would Health Canada continue to issue personal-use production licenses (PUPLs) or designated person production licenses (DPPLs) to individuals. These forms of production would be phased out.  The only legal source of dried marihuana would be licensed producers, which would be licensed by Health Canada to produce and distribute dried marihuana by registered mail or bonded courier.

Application process

All stakeholders welcomed the streamlined process in which Health Canada no longer receives applications or collects personal medical information from program participants. 

The establishment of licensed producers and the phasing out of personal and designated production

Federal and provincial public safety officials, municipalities, law enforcement, and fire officials have, in the past, cited a number of serious public health and safety concerns with personal and designated production, including:

  • the potential for diversion of marihuana produced for medical purposes to the illicit market;
  • the risk of home invasion due to the presence of large quantities of dried marihuana or marihuana plants;
  • public safety risks, including electrical and fire hazards, stemming from the cultivation of marihuana in homes;
  • public health risks due to the presence of excess mould and poor air quality associated with the cultivation of marihuana plants in homes.

These stakeholder groups indicated that the proposed phase-out of personal and designated production would address their concerns regarding public safety, security and public health risks.  Law enforcement representatives indicated that the proposed changes would greatly reduce the potential for diversion of marihuana for medical purposes to the illicit market. 

All stakeholders agreed that the public health, safety, and security of residential neighbourhoods and the mitigation of risks associated with personal and designated production are important objectives. However, many current program participants suggested that Health Canada consider strengthening inspection processes for those individuals who hold a PUPL or a DPPL, rather than eliminating personal and designated production. Many stakeholders also agreed that licensed operations would allow for greater regulation and control of production through zoning and by-laws.

Distribution

All stakeholders agreed that it is necessary to ensure a secure means of distributing dried marihuana to individuals who use it for medical purposes. Many stakeholders groups requested that Health Canada consider distribution through pharmacies, as pharmacists have extensive knowledge and experience in dispensing therapeutic products. Absent the potential for pharmacy distribution, the majority of stakeholders agreed that distribution of dried marihuana directly to individuals by mail is a secure option as it reduces the potential number of points for diversion. Some stakeholders, particularly law enforcement and representatives of local governments, noted that some citizens may express discomfort with the idea of establishing store-front entities specific to the distribution of marihuana in their communities.

Compassion clubs and cannabis dispensaries asked that Health Canada consider inclusion within the regulatory framework of an option for store-front, community-based dispensaries. They believe that such entities could play an important role in providing education and outreach to individuals who use marihuana for medical purposes. 

Dried marihuana only

As in the current program, dried marihuana would be the only product permitted for production, sale and distribution under the proposed new regulations. Due to the unknown health risks associated with products such as cannabis oils, extracts, creams, and edibles, many stakeholders supported the status quo of dried marihuana to other products.  On the other hand, compassion clubs and cannabis dispensaries, as well as most program participants, asked that Health Canada consider allowing other forms of products, most notably edibles and extracts. 

3. Proof of legal possession

Under Health Canada's proposed improvements, program participants would no longer be required to submit information to Health Canada in order to be authorized to possess dried marihuana. Individuals would no longer receive an authorization to possess or an identification card from Health Canada.

Identification cards

Individuals who use marihuana for medical purposes and law enforcement see the value of an identification card as a convenient means by which to demonstrate that an individual is in lawful possession of marihuana. These stakeholder groups are in agreement that as long as another method to prove lawful possession is determined through this process, the card itself would not be necessary. However, these stakeholders noted the importance of Health Canada advising law enforcement agencies about the mechanism by which patients will be able to demonstrate proof of possession.

4. Licensed production

In order to be licensed by Health Canada, licensed producers would have to demonstrate compliance with requirements related to, for example, product quality, personnel, record-keeping, safety and security, disposal and reporting, as set out in new proposed regulations.  These controls would aim to ensure the quality of the product being purchased by program participants, as well as the security of production sites.

Licensed producers would be permitted to produce marihuana indoors and would be able to produce any strain(s) of marihuana.

Cost and choice for patients

Program participants considered the availability of multiple strains a significant improvement to the program. However, they are concerned that the transition to licensed production will render the price of marihuana more costly, given that licensed producers will have to take their overhead costs and profit margins into account when pricing their products.  Some individuals also expressed concerns that marihuana may not be covered under provincial and private drug plans. To address these issues, some stakeholders suggested that Health Canada explore means to regulate the price of dried marihuana for medical purposes

Regulatory requirements for licensed producers

All stakeholders welcomed clear regulations that outlined requirements for licensed producers; however, some parties interested in becoming licensed to produce commercially highlighted that requirements should not be so complex that only large businesses could become licensed.

Complying with municipal zoning bylaws and building codes was viewed by all stakeholders as a necessary step to securing a commercial production licence. Municipalities emphasized that it would be important for interested parties to obtain applicable municipal authorization to operate before applying to Health Canada for a commercial production licence.  Municipalities, fire officials, law enforcement and potential licensed producers agreed that production sites should not be publicly disclosed, but should be known by municipalities and first responders for inspections and public health and safety reasons.

Conclusion

Overall, the proposal to create a regulated industry is well received, though some program participants have asked that Health Canada consider allowing them to maintain their personal and/or designated production licenses.  All stakeholders are supportive of elements of the proposal that would improve and simplify the application process for participants. Finally, there is widespread support for measures that Health Canada could undertake to increase outreach and information for physicians.

Next steps

Input from these consultations is being considered in the development of new regulations, on which Canadians will again have an opportunity to comment when the proposed regulations appear in Canada Gazette, Part I, in 2012.

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Médicaments et produits de santé

Résultats des consultations sur la réforme réglementaire relative à l'utilisation de la marihuana à des fins médicales de 2011

Avertissement Ce contenu a été archivé le 19 juin 2014.

Information archivée dans le Web

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette information dans tout autre format de rechange à la page « Contactez-nous ».

Ces dernières années, un vaste éventail d'intervenants, y compris des agents de paix et d'application de la loi, des responsables des services d'incendie, des médecins, des représentants municipaux, des participants au programme et des groupes qui représentent leurs intérêts, ont soulevé des préoccupations à l'égard du Programme d'accès à la marihuana à des fins médicales (PAMFM).

Pour répondre à ces préoccupations, des consultations en ligne et en personne ont été lancées entre juin et novembre 2011, en vue de recueillir des commentaires sur les améliorations proposées au Programme. 

Santé Canada a consulté des intervenants et des partenaires afin d'orienter l'élaboration du nouveau programme. 

Voici ce qui a été dit

Introduction

Les résultats

  1. Relation médecin-patient
  2. Accès des patients
  3. Preuve de l'autorisation de possession
  4. Production autorisée

Conclusion

Introduction

Contexte

En réponse à des préoccupations exprimées par des citoyens, la ministre de Santé Canada a annoncé, le 17 juin 2011, son intention d'apporter des améliorations au Programme d'accès à la marihuana à des fins médicales de Santé Canada (le Programme). En plus de réduire le risque d'abus et d'exploitation par des éléments criminels et d'offrir une meilleure protection à nos enfants et à nos collectivités, les changements proposés permettraient d'apporter des améliorations aux modalités d'accès à la marihuana à des fins médicales pour les participants au Programme.

Santé Canada a mené des consultations publiques sur les améliorations proposées, ces dernières ayant été présentées dans un document de consultation publié sur le site Web du Ministère.

Le présent rapport résume les principaux thèmes dont il a été question au cours du processus de consultation.

Les améliorations à l'examen

Voir plus de renseignements sur les améliorations proposées au Programme.

Qui a été consulté?

De juin à novembre 2011, Santé Canada a consulté des intervenants clés pour obtenir leur point de vue sur les changements proposés, ainsi que pour recueillir de l'information et acquérir des connaissances qui le guideront dans l'élaboration de la nouvelle réglementation. Au nombre des groupes d'intervenants consultés, mentionnons les suivants :

  • personnes autorisées et titulaires d'une licence sous le régime du Programme actuel;
  • clubs de compassion et centres de distribution de cannabis;
  • ministres provinciaux et territoriaux de la Santé et de la Sécurité publique;
  • médecins, y compris les associations médicales et les collèges de médecins et de chirurgiens;
  • municipalités;
  • responsables de l'application de la loi;
  • responsables des services d'incendie;
  • pharmaciens;
  • citoyens canadiens ayant exprimé de l'intérêt à l'égard du Programme.

Les résultats

1. Relation médecin-patient

Dans le cadre de la proposition de Santé Canada, l'obligation de consulter un médecin pour avoir accès à de la marihuana à des fins médicales serait maintenue, mais les catégories de symptômes ou de problèmes de santé seraient abolies. L'exigence voulant que certaines personnes doivent consulter un spécialiste, en plus de leur médecin de premier recours, pour avoir accès à de la marihuana à des fins médicales serait éliminée. La déclaration médicale actuelle serait remplacée par un autre document plus simple, que le médecin fournirait au patient.

En réponse aux médecins qui demandent davantage de renseignements sur l'utilisation de la marihuana pour soutenir leurs patients, Santé Canada consulte actuellement des experts des milieux scientifique et médical en vue de faciliter l'accès à de l'information exhaustive, exacte et à jour sur l'utilisation de la marihuana à des fins médicales.

Le rôle des médecins

Tous les intervenants accueillent favorablement les efforts déployés pour faciliter l'accès des médecins à de l'information sur l'utilisation de la marihuana à des fins médicales. Selon les participants au Programme, les associations médicales et les médecins, ces derniers seraient ainsi mieux renseignés lorsqu'ils doivent considérer l'utilisation de la marihuana à des fins médicales comme option thérapeutique.

Les médecins souhaitent recevoir davantage d'information sur les sujets suivants : recommandations pour la pratique clinique concernant l'utilisation de la marihuana à des fins médicales; information sur les éventuelles indications thérapeutiques; information sur l'évaluation des avantages et des risques éventuels de l'utilisation de la marihuana à des fins médicales.

Les catégories de symptômes et de problèmes de santé

L'abolition des catégories de symptômes et de problèmes de santé est considérée comme une mesure contribuant à l'amélioration du processus de demande pour les participants, surtout pour ceux qui ont indiqué que l'évaluation par un spécialiste peut prendre beaucoup de temps. Les associations médicales ont indiqué qu'en l'absence de catégories de symptômes ou de problèmes fixées par la réglementation, elles souhaiteraient continuer à collaborer avec Santé Canada pour établir des lignes directrices que les médecins pourraient consulter pour prendre des décisions éclairées sur l'utilisation de la marihuana comme traitement de certains symptômes ou problèmes de santé. 

Le rôle que pourraient jouer d'autres professionnels de la santé

Certains intervenants ont proposé d'allonger la liste des fournisseurs de soins de santé aptes à appuyer les demandes d'utilisation de la marihuana à des fins médicales. Au nombre des professionnels proposés, mentionnons les infirmières praticiennes, les pharmaciens, les naturopathes, les herboristes, les praticiens de la médecine chinoise traditionnelle et les chiropraticiens.

2. Accès des patients

Dans le cadre du programme remanié proposé, il ne serait plus nécessaire de présenter une demande à Santé Canada pour obtenir l'autorisation de posséder de la marihuana à des fins médicales. Le Ministère ne délivrerait plus de licences de production à des fins personnelles ni de licences de production à titre de personne désignée. Ces modes de production seraient progressivement éliminés. La seule source d'approvisionnement légale deviendrait celle émise par les producteurs autorisés par Santé Canada à produire de la marihuana séchée et à la distribuer sous pli recommandé ou par messagerie assurée.

Processus de demande

Tous les intervenants ont réagi favorablement au processus simplifié dans le cadre duquel Santé Canada ne recevrait plus de demandes et ne recueillerait plus de renseignements personnels d'ordre médical sur les participants au Programme. 

Instauration de producteurs autorisés et élimination graduelle de la production à des fins personnelles et à titre de personne désignée

Par le passé, les responsables fédéraux et provinciaux de la sécurité publique, les responsables de l'application de la loi et des services d'incendie et les municipalités se sont dits préoccupés par certains aspects, liés à la santé et à la sécurité, de la production à des fins personnelles et à titre de personne désignée, comme :

  • la possibilité de diversion vers le marché clandestin de la marihuana produite à des fins médicales;
  • le risque de cambriolage à domicile attribuable à la présence d'importantes quantités de marihuana séchée ou de plants de marihuana;
  • le risque pour la sécurité publique, y compris le risque électrique et d'incendie, découlant de la culture de la marihuana à domicile;
  • le risque pour la santé publique associé à la culture de plants de marihuana dans les résidences, comme la présence de moisissures et la mauvaise qualité de l'air.

Les groupes d'intervenants susmentionnés ont indiqué que l'élimination graduelle de la production à des fins personnelles et à titre de personne désignée répondrait à leurs préoccupations relatives à la sécurité publique et aux risques pour la santé publique. Les responsables de l'application de la loi ont fait savoir que les changements proposés réduiraient sensiblement la possibilité de détourner vers le marché clandestin la marihuana produite à des fins médicales.

Tous les intervenants conviennent que la santé et la sécurité publiques, la sécurité des quartiers résidentiels et l'atténuation des risques associés à la production à des fins personnelles et à titre de personne désignée sont des objectifs importants. Cependant, bon nombre de participants au Programme ont proposé que Santé Canada envisage de renforcer les processus d'inspection des titulaires de licences de production à des fins personnelles et de licences de production à titre de personne désignée, plutôt que d'éliminer ces modes de production. De nombreux intervenants sont aussi d'avis que l'exploitation commerciale permettrait de renforcer la réglementation et le contrôle de la production grâce au zonage et aux règlements municipaux.

Distribution

Tous les intervenants conviennent qu'il faut pouvoir compter sur un mode de distribution sécuritaire de la marihuana séchée aux personnes qui en font usage à des fins médicales. De nombreux groupes d'intervenants demandent à Santé Canada d'envisager la distribution par l'entremise des pharmacies, puisque les pharmaciens ont beaucoup d'expérience et de connaissances en matière de délivrance de produits thérapeutiques. À défaut de pouvoir assurer la délivrance du produit dans les pharmacies, la majorité des intervenants sont d'avis que la distribution directe de marihuana séchée par la poste constitue une option sécuritaire, puisqu'elle réduit le nombre d'étapes où il pourrait y avoir détournement. Certains intervenants, surtout les responsables de l'application de la loi et les représentants d'administrations locales, font remarquer que certains citoyens pourraient être mal à l'aise à l'idée d'avoir dans leur collectivité des établissements commerciaux voués à la distribution de marihuana.

Les clubs de compassion et les centres de distribution de cannabis demandent à Santé Canada de prévoir, dans le cadre de réglementation, la possibilité d'instaurer des centres de distribution commerciaux dans les collectivités. Selon eux, de tels établissements auraient un rôle important à jouer pour sensibiliser et joindre les utilisateurs de marihuana à des fins médicales.

Utilisation exclusive de marihuana séchée

Comme c'est le cas dans le cadre du programme actuel, la marihuana séchée serait le seul produit dont la distribution, la vente et la production seraient autorisées en vertu de la nouvelle réglementation. Étant donné que les risques pour la santé associés à l'usage de produits comme les huiles, extraits et crèmes de cannabis et les produits comestibles au cannabis ne sont pas connus, de nombreux intervenants favorisent le statu quo, à savoir l'autorisation de l'usage de marihuana séchée seulement. En revanche, les clubs de compassion et les centres de distribution de cannabis ainsi que la plupart des participants au Programme demandent à Santé Canada de considérer l'autorisation d'autres types de produits, surtout les extraits et les produits comestibles.

3. Preuve de l'autorisation de possession

Dans le cadre des améliorations proposées par Santé Canada, les participants au Programme ne seraient plus tenus de présenter de l'information au Ministère pour obtenir l'autorisation de posséder de la marihuana séchée. Ils ne recevraient plus d'autorisation de possession ni de carte d'identité de Santé Canada.

Cartes d'identité

Les utilisateurs de marihuana à des fins médicales et les responsables de l'application de la loi reconnaissent la valeur et le caractère pratique de la carte d'identité pour prouver qu'une personne est autorisée à posséder de la marihuana. Ces groupes d'intervenants sont d'avis que, dans la mesure où d'autres modalités sont mises en place pour attester l'autorisation de possession, la carte d'identité n'est plus requise en soi. Ces intervenants font toutefois valoir qu'il est important que Santé Canada tienne les autorités policières au courant du mécanisme qui permettra aux patients de prouver qu'ils sont titulaires d'une autorisation de possession.

4. Production autorisée

Les producteurs autorisés qui souhaitent obtenir une autorisation devront prouver qu'ils respectent les dispositions de la nouvelle réglementation liées à la qualité du produit, au personnel, à la tenue de registres, à la sécurité, à l'élimination et à la production de rapports, entre autres. Ces dispositions assureraient la qualité du produit que les participants au Programme peuvent se procurer, ainsi que la sécurité des lieux de production.

Les producteurs autorisés pourraient faire la culture intérieure de marihuana et produire n'importe quelle souche de marihuana.

Coût et choix pour les patients

Les participants au Programme estiment que la disponibilité de plusieurs souches constitue une amélioration considérable. Ils craignent toutefois que la transition vers la production autorisée fasse augmenter le prix de la marihuana, puisque les producteurs fixeront leurs prix de manière à récupérer les coûts indirects et à se dégager une marge de profit. Certaines personnes redoutent aussi que les régimes d'assurance-médicaments provinciaux et privés refusent de rembourser la marihuana. Pour éviter ces problèmes, certains proposent que Santé Canada étudie les moyens de réglementer le prix de la marihuana séchée utilisée à des fins médicales.

Exigences réglementaires s'appliquant aux producteurs autorisés

Tous les intervenants accueillent favorablement l'idée d'établir clairement dans la réglementation les exigences que les producteurs autorisés doivent respecter. Certaines parties souhaitant obtenir l'autorisation de produire de la marihuana à des fins commerciales ont toutefois souligné que les exigences ne doivent pas être complexes au point où seules les grandes entreprises pourront s'y conformer et devenir producteur autorisé.

Tous les intervenants considèrent le fait de se conformer aux codes des bâtiments et aux règlements de zonage municipaux comme une étape essentielle pour obtenir une licence de production autorisée. Les municipalités ont souligné qu'il serait important pour les parties intéressées d'obtenir auprès d'elles les autorisations nécessaires avant de demander à Santé Canada de délivrer une licence de production commerciale. Les municipalités, les responsables des services d'incendie et de l'application de la loi et les éventuels producteurs autorisés conviennent que les lieux de production ne devraient pas être divulgués publiquement, mais devraient être connus des municipalités et des premiers répondants aux fins d'inspection et pour des raisons de santé et de sécurité.

Conclusion

D'une manière générale, la proposition de créer une industrie réglementée est bien reçue, même si certains participants au Programme demandent au Ministère d'envisager de leur permettre de conserver leur licence de production à des fins personnelles ou leur licence de production à titre de personne désignée. Tous les intervenants appuient les éléments de la proposition qui permettraient d'améliorer et de simplifier le processus de demande pour les participants. Enfin, les mesures que Santé Canada pourrait prendre pour sensibiliser les médecins et leur fournir davantage d'information reçoivent un appui massif.

Prochaines étapes

Les commentaires recueillis dans le cadre des consultations susmentionnées sont pris en compte dans l'élaboration de la nouvelle réglementation. Les Canadiens pourront d'ailleurs se prononcer à ce sujet lorsque le projet de règlement sera publié dans la Gazette du Canada, Partie I, en 2012.