Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Drugs and Health Products

Consultation Revision to the Final Guidance Document on Classification of Veterinary Drugs and Livestock Feeds

Warning This content was archived on October 20, 2016.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

Notice to the reader: The online consultation is now closed.

November 27, 2015

Dear Stakeholders:

Further to the release of the final Guidance Document on Classification of Veterinary Drugs and Livestock Feeds on June 18, 2014, Health Canada's Veterinary Drugs Directorate and the Canadian Food Inspection Agency (CFIA)'s Animal Feed Division have identified the need to provide further clarifications on the guidance document. Therefore, the guidance document has been updated to incorporate three (3) additional Appendices. This communication is aimed at notifying stakeholders of this update and to seek feedback on the Appendices added to the initial document.

The additional Appendices are intended to provide assistance to sponsors, manufacturers or consultants in determining the appropriate regulatory oversight for a product destined for use in livestock species.  Appendix D is the Classification Information Template, presented in a revised format which will facilitate electronic information entry for product classification requests. Appendix E provides direction for product classification on stress-related indications; while Appendix F-1 will aid in the classification of Mycotoxin Detoxifying Agents (MDAs), including mycotoxin binders.

Based on feedback received from the first online consultation (February 6 – June 6, 2013), stakeholders expressed interest in further engagement on more product-specific and complex classification issues, such as those described in Appendices E and F-1. These documents will help improve the transparency of the existing classification process, as well as increase the consistency and predictability of classification decisions taken by both regulators.

Animal Feed Division
Animal Health Directorate
Canadian Food Inspection Agency

Veterinary Drugs Directorate
Health Products and Food Branch
Health Canada

How to Get Involved

This consultation is open for comment starting November 30, 2015 until January 28, 2016. Please read through the information provided in the link below to the updated guidance. Once read, please submit your comments via email, by fax or by mail to:

consultationVDD-DMV@hc-sc.gc.ca

Consultations - Veterinary Drugs Directorate
Health Products and Food Branch, Health Canada
Ground Floor, Suite 14 - Holland Cross Complex
11 Holland Avenue
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0K9
Fax: (613) 957-3861

Updated guidance document

Interested parties are encouraged to provide comments and suggestions by January 28, 2016.

Reporting to Canadians

After careful consideration of the comments received from the 60-day consultation period, Health Canada and CFIA will revise the Appendices as necessary and the updated final Guidance Document on Classification of Veterinary Drugs and Livestock Feeds will be published on the Health Canada website, under the Veterinary Drugs Section.

If you have any questions or concerns on the additional Appendices, please contact us at: consultationVDD-DMV@hc-sc.gc.ca.

Interested in our other consultations? Sign up and stay informed about topics that matter to you.

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Médicaments et produits de santé

Consultation - Révision du Document d'orientation sur la classification des médicaments vétérinaire et des aliments du bétail

Avertissement Ce contenu a été archivé le 20 octobre 2016.

Information archivée dans le Web

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette information dans tout autre format de rechange à la page « Contactez-nous ».

Avis au lecteur : La période de consultation en ligne est maintenant terminée.

Le 27 novembre 2015

Chers intervenants:

Suite à la publication finale du Document d'orientation sur la classification des médicaments vétérinaires et des aliments du bétail le 18 juin 2014, la Direction des médicaments vétérinaires (DMV) de Santé Canada et la Division des aliments pour animaux de l'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments (ACIA) ont identifié des sujets reliés au document d'orientation qui nécessitaient des clarifications. Dans ce but, le document d'orientation a été mis à jour pour incorporer trois (3) annexes additionnelles. Cette notice vise à informer les intervenants de cette révision et à solliciter leur opinion sur le contenu des annexes ajoutées au document d'orientation initial.

L'objectif de ces annexes additionnelles est d'aider les promoteurs, les fabricants ou les consultants à déterminer le niveau de supervision réglementaire adéquat pour un produit destiné à l'usage chez les animaux de production. L'annexe D est le modèle pour la présentation d'informations aux fins de classification, présenté sous un format différent qui permettra de faciliter la soumission électronique de demandes de classification de produits. L'annexe E fournit des directives au sujet des indications associées au stress dans le contexte de la classification de produits. L'annexe F-1 aide à la classification d'agents utilisés pour la détoxification des mycotoxines, qui incluent les agglomérants de mycotoxines.

S'appuyant sur les commentaires reçus lors de la première consultation en ligne (qui a eu lieu du 6 février au 6 juin 2013), les intervenants ont exprimé un intérêt à être impliqués de façon continue dans les problématiques complexes de la classification et spécifiques à certains produits, telles que présentées dans les annexes E et F-1. Ces documents contribueront à améliorer la transparence du processus de classification actuel, ainsi qu'à augmenter la constance et la prévisibilité des décisions de classification prises par les deux organismes de réglementation.

La Division des aliments pour animaux
Direction de la santé animale
Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments

La Direction des médicaments vétérinaires
Direction générale des produits de santé et des aliments
Santé Canada

Comment participer

La consultation en question peut faire l'objet de commentaires à compter du 30 novembre 2015 jusqu'au 28 janvier 2016. Veuillez sélectionner et lire attentivement la « Version révisée du document d'orientation » en utilisant le lien ci-dessous. Une fois la lecture terminée, veuillez soumettre vos commentaires par courriel, par télécopieur ou par la poste à :

consultationVDD-DMV@hc-sc.gc.ca
Consultations - Direction des médicaments vétérinaires
Direction générale des produits de santé et des aliments, Santé Canada
Complexe Holland Cross
11, avenue Holland
Rez-de-chaussée, bureau 14
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0K9

Télécopieur : 613-957-3861

Version révisée du document d'orientation

Les groupes intéressés sont encouragés à soumettre des commentaires et des suggestions d'ici le 28 janvier 2016.

Informer les Canadiens et les Canadiennes

Après avoir soigneusement pris en considération les commentaires reçus pendant la période de consultation de 60 jours, Santé Canada et l'ACIA vont réviser les annexes en conséquence. La version finale du Document d'orientation sur la classification des médicaments vétérinaire et des aliments du bétail sera officiellement publié sur le site Web de Santé Canada, sous la rubrique Médicaments Vétérinaires.

Si vous avez des questions au sujet de ces annexes additionnelles, veuillez nous contacter à : consultationVDD-DMV@hc-sc.gc.ca.

Intéressé par nos autres consultations? Inscrivez-vous et restez informé sur les sujets qui vous interpellent.