Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Drugs and Health Products

Procedures for Accessing Dried Marijuana for Medical Purposes Under the Marihuana for Medical Purposes Regulations

The following steps outline the process to obtain dried marijuana for medical purposes under the Next link will take you to another Web site Marihuana for Medical Purposes Regulations. More information can be found in the Accessing Marijuana for Medical Purposes information bulletin.

Health Canada maintains an updated list of all licensed producers on its website. Health Canada does not authorize the operation of retail storefronts, such as "compassion clubs" or "dispensaries".

To register with a licensed producer under the MMPR, you need to follow the following steps:

Step 1: Consult with a Healthcare Practitioner

Treatment decisions are best made in consultation with your healthcare practitioner.

Under the Marihuana for Medical Purposes Regulations, an authorized healthcare practitioner includes physicians in all provinces and territories, and nurse practitioners in provinces and territories where supporting dried marijuana for medical purposes is permitted under their scope of practice.

Step 2: Obtain a Medical Document from your Healthcare Practitioner

You will need to obtain a medical document from your practitioner.

The following information must be included on the medical document signed and dated by the healthcare practitioner:

  • your full name;
  • your date of birth;
  • address where you consulted with the practitioner;
  • daily grams of dried marijuana you are authorized to use, the period of use (i.e. number of days, weeks or months), which cannot exceed one year from the date the medical document is signed by the healthcare practitioner;
  • the healthcare practitioner's name and, administrative information (profession, licence number, province of licence, business address, phone number, fax number and email address, if applicable); and
  • an attestation by the healthcare practitioner that the information contained in the document is correct and complete.

Healthcare practitioners can complete Health Canada's sample medical document or provide the required information in the format of their choice.

Step 3: Register and Order with a Licensed Producer

Once you have obtained a medical document from your authorized healthcare practitioner, you can register as a client with the licensed producer of your choice. To register, you will need to submit certain information, including the original medical document. Please contact the licensed producer for further information regarding application requirements.

After registering as a client, you will be able to order dried marijuana from the licensed producer.

Do not send your medical document to health canada

Step 4: Shipping of your Dried Marijuana for Medical Purposes

Your dried marijuana will be sent to you directly by the licensed producer. The Next link will take you to another Web site Controlled Drugs and Substances Act (CDSA) prohibits possession, trafficking, import and export, and production of controlled substances, including marijuana, unless authorized by regulations. Neither the MMPR nor any other Health Canada regulations authorize licensed producers to provide marijuana for medical purposes through a storefront.

Possession of Dried Marijuana for Medical Purposes:

The amount of dried marijuana you can possess is the lesser of thirty times the daily amount stipulated by your healthcare practitioner or 150 grams. For example, if your healthcare practitioner recommends 3 grams per day, you would be allowed a maximum of 90 grams at any one time (30 days × 3 grams). However, if your healthcare practitioner recommends 6 grams per day, you would be allowed to possess a maximum of 150 grams at any one time, which would therefore be less than a 30-day supply.

Showing Proof of Legal Possession of Marijuana for Medical Purposes:

If asked by law enforcement, you can demonstrate that you are in legal possession of dried marijuana for medical purposes obtained from a licensed producer by showing either the label on the marijuana package containing your specific client information or the separate document containing the same information which accompanied your shipment of marijuana.

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Médicaments et produits de santé

Comment accéder de cannabis à des fins médicales à partir d'un producteur autorisé

Les étapes suivantes présentent le processus pour obtenir cannabis à des fins médicales à partir d'un producteur autorisé en vertu du Règlement sur l'accès au cannabis à des fins médicales (RACFM).

Santé Canada tient une liste à jour de tous les producteurs autorisés sur son site Web. Santé Canada n'autorise pas les centres de distribution au détail, tels que les clubs compassion ou les dispensaires.

Étapes pour s'inscrire auprès d'un producteur autorisé au titre du RACFM :

Étape 1 : Consulter un praticien de la santé

Il est préférable de consulter votre praticien de la santé pour prendre des décisions relatives aux traitements.

Le RACFM comprend une définition des praticiens de la santé autorisés qui inclut les médecins de toutes les provinces et de tous les territoires ainsi que les infirmières praticiennes de toutes les provinces et de tous les territoires où la prescription de la cannabis à des fins médicales est permise dans le cadre de l'exercice de leurs fonctions.

Étape 2 : Obtenir un document médical rempli par votre praticien de la santé

Une fois que vous avez consulté un praticien de la santé autorisé, vous devez vous procurer un document médical auprès de ce dernier.

Le Règlement stipule que les renseignements suivants doivent être inclus dans le document médical signé et daté par le praticien de la santé :

  • votre nom complet;
  • votre date de naissance;
  • l'adresse à laquelle vous avez consulté un praticien de la santé;
  • la quantité quotidienne en grammes de marijuana séchée que vous avez le droit d'utiliser et la période d'utilisation (c.-à-d. nombre de jours, de semaines ou de mois), laquelle ne doit pas dépasser une année à compter de la date à laquelle le document médical est signé par le praticien de la santé;
  • le nom du praticien de la santé et les renseignements administratifs le concernant (profession, numéro de permis, province du permis d'exercer, adresse d'affaires, numéro de téléphone, numéro de télécopieur et adresse courriel, le cas échéant);
  • une attestation par le praticien de la santé que les renseignements compris dans le document sont exacts et complets.

Étape 3 : S'inscrire et passer une commande auprès d'un producteur autorisé

Une fois que vous avez obtenu un document médical de la part d'un praticien de la santé, vous pouvez vous inscrire comme client auprès d'un producteur autorisé. Pour ce faire, vous devez soumettre certains renseignements incluant votre document médical original. Veuillez communiquer avec un producteur autorisé afin d'obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les exigences de la demande d'inscription.

Lorsque vous serez inscrit en tant que client, vous serez en mesure de commander de la cannabis à des fins médicales auprès de ce producteur autorisé.

N'envoyez pas votre document médical à Santé Canada.

Étape 4 : Livraison de votre marijuana séchée à des fins médicales

Le producteur autorisé vous enverra directement votre cannabis. La Loi réglementant certaines drogues et autres substances (LRCDAS) interdit la possession, le trafic, l'importation, l'exportation et la production de substances contrôlées, y compris la marijuana, à moins d'en avoir obtenu l'autorisation par règlement. Ni le RACFM ni aucun autre règlement de Santé Canada n'autorisent les producteurs autorisés à fournir de la cannabis à des fins médicales à des centres de distribution.

Possession de cannabis à des fins médicales

Vous aurez le droit de posséder une quantité de marijuana séchée qui représente soit 30 fois la quantité quotidienne de marihuana prescrite par le praticien de la santé, soit 150 grammes, selon la moindre de ces quantités. Par exemple, si un praticien de la santé autorisé recommande 3 grammes par jour, vous serez autorisé à posséder une quantité maximale de 90 grammes en tout temps (30 jours × 3 grammes). Cependant, si le praticien recommande 6 grammes par jour, vous serez autorisé à posséder un maximum de 150 grammes en tout temps, ce qui sera donc moins que 30 fois la quantité quotidienne.

Présentation d'une preuve de possession légale de cannabis à des fins médicales

Si la police l'exige, vous pouvez démontrer que vous possédez légalement de la cannabis à des fins médicales en produisant soit l'étiquette sur le contenant de cannabis comprenant vos renseignements particuliers de client, soit le document distinct renfermant les mêmes renseignements qui a été envoyé avec votre commande de cannabis ainsi qu'une pièce d'identité à photo appropriée, par exemple un permis de conduire.