Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Help the Government of Canada organize its website! Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.
Drugs and Health Products

Adverse Reaction and Medical Device Problem Reporting

Consumers/patients and health professionals can report adverse reactions (also known as side effects) to health products, including prescription and non-prescription medications, biologics, natural health products and radiopharmaceuticals, to the Canada Vigilance Program.

Privacy Statement: Information related to the identity of the patient and/or the reporter of an adverse reaction is protected as per the Next link will take you to another Web site Privacy Act and in the case of an access to information. Suspected health product-related adverse reaction information is submitted on a voluntary basis, and is maintained in a computerized database. Adverse reaction information is used for the monitoring of marketed health products, and may contribute to the detection of potential product-related safety issues as well as to the benefit-risk assessments of these products.

More details regarding personal information collected under this program can be found in InfoSource's Next link will take you to another Web site Personal Information Bank, Health Canada; Health Products and Food Branch; Branch Incident Reporting System; PIB# PPU 088.

Reporting by Consumers

Reporting for Health Products (except Medical Devices)

Reporting for Medical Devices

Note to consumers:
Consumers are encouraged to consult their health professional who could offer additional information that may be useful in reporting a side effect.

Reporting by Health Professionals

Reporting for Health Products (except Medical Devices)

Reporting for Medical Devices

  • Health professionals are encouraged to report device-related incidents directly to Health Canada by completing a Medical Device Problem Report.

Reporting by Industry

According to Canada's Next link will take you to another Web site Food and Drugs Act, it is mandatory for Market Authorization Holders (MAH) (manufacturers and distributors) and for source establishments of human cells, tissues and organs to submit adverse reaction reports to Health Canada, as well as, it is mandatory for manufacturers and importers to submit medical device problems reports to Health Canada. Additional information on the regulatory requirements related to adverse reaction reporting can be found in the Guidance Documents and Guidelines section of the Reports and Publications - MedEffect™ Canada page.

Reporting for Drugs

Market Authorization Holders (manufacturers and distributors) must submit reports to the Canada Vigilance National Office by:

Reporting for Natural Health Products or Cells, Tissues and Organs

Market Authorization Holders for Natural Health Products or Cell, Tissue and Organ (CTO) Source Establishments must submit reports to the Canada Vigilance National Office by:

Reporting for Medical Devices

Manufacturers and importers of medical devices must submit report to the Canada Vigilance - Medical Device Problem Reporting Program by:

If you require further assistance, contact the Canada Vigilance National Office.

Reporting Adverse Reactions to Other Products

To report an adverse reaction to cosmetics, medical devices, pesticides, veterinary drugs, consumer products, foods or any other product on the Canadian market, visit the Adverse Reaction Reporting for Specific Products for details on how to submit an adverse reaction report.

Related Documents

Consumers

Health Professionals

Industry

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Aidez le gouvernement du Canada à organiser son site Web! Remplissez un questionnaire anonyme de 5 minutes. Commencez maintenant.
Médicaments et produits de santé

Déclaration des effets indésirables ou des incidents liés aux matériels médicaux

Les consommateurs/patients et les professionnels de la santé peuvent déclarer tout effet indésirable (aussi appelé effet secondaire) associé aux produits de santé, incluant les médicaments d'ordonnance ou en vente libre, les produits biologiques, les produits de santé naturels et les produits radiopharmaceutiques, au Programme Canada Vigilance.

Énoncé de confidentialité : En vertu des dispositions de la Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, tout renseignement associé à l'identité du patient et/ou de la personne qui déclare un effet indésirable est protégé. Les renseignements sur les effets indésirables présumés attribuables à un produit de santé commercialisé sont fournis sur une base volontaire et conservés dans une base de données informatisée. Ces renseignements sont utilisés dans le cadre de l'évaluation des produits de santé commercialisés et peuvent contribuer à la détection de problèmes potentiels en matière de sécurité ainsi qu'à l'évaluation de leurs bienfaits et de leurs risques.

Pour obtenir plus d'information sur les renseignements personnels recueillis dans le cadre de ce programme, veuillez consulter le Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web Fichier de renseignements personnels d'InfoSource Santé Canada; Direction générale des produits de santé et des aliments; Système de déclaration des incidents; SCan PPU 088.

Déclaration par les consommateurs

Déclaration associée aux produits de santé (à l'exception des matériels médicaux)

Déclaration associée aux matériels médicaux

Note à l'intention des consommateurs :
Les consommateurs sont encouragés de consulter leur professionnel de santé qui serait en mesure d'offrir des renseignements supplémentaires qui pourront être utiles à la déclaration d'un effet secondaire.

Déclaration par les professionnels de la santé

Déclaration associée aux produits de santé (à l'exception des matériels médicaux)

Déclaration associée aux matériels médicaux

Déclaration par l'industrie

Certains hyperliens donnent accès à des sites d'organismes qui ne sont pas assujettis à la Le lien suivant vous amène à une autre site Web Loi sur les langues officielles. L'information qui s'y trouve est donc dans la langue du site.

Aux termes de la Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web Loi sur les aliments et drogues du Canada, les détenteurs d'une autorisation de mise en marché (DAMM) (fabricants et distributeurs) et les établissements centraux de cellules, tissus et organes (CTO) doivent obligatoirement soumettre les déclarations d'effets indésirables à Santé Canada ainsi que les fabricants et les importateurs de matériels medicaux de soumettre les rapports d'incidents à Santé Canada. Des renseignements supplémentaires sur les exigences réglementaires liées à la déclaration des effets indésirables sont disponibles dans la section Documents d'orientation et lignes directrices de la page des Rapport et publications - MedEffetMC Canada.

Déclaration associée aux médicaments

Les détenteurs d'une autorisation de mise en marché (fabricants et distributeurs) doivent soumettre les déclarations au bureau national de Canada Vigilance :

Déclaration associée aux produits de santé naturels ou aux cellules, tissus et organes humains

Les détenteurs d'une autorisation de mise en marché de produits de santé naturels ou les établissements centraux de cellules, tissus et organes (CTO) doivent soumettre les déclarations au bureau national de Canada Vigilance :

Déclaration associée aux matériels médicaux

Les fabricants et les importateurs de matériels médicaux doivent soumettre les déclarations à Canada Vigilance - Programme de déclaration des incidents liés aux matériels médicaux :

Si vous avez besoin d'aide supplémentaire, communiquez avec le bureau national de Canada Vigilance.

Déclaration d'effets indésirables associés à d'autres produits

Pour signaler un effet indésirable associé à des cosmétiques, instruments médicaux, pesticides, médicaments vétérinaires, produits de consommation, des aliments ou tout autre produit sur le marché canadien, consulter la Déclaration des événements indésirables pour des produits spécifiques pour obtenir des détails sur la façon de présenter une déclaration d'effet indésirable.

Documents connexes

Consommateurs

Professionnels de la santé

Industrie