Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Drugs and Health Products

Notice to Industry to change procedures for the Reporting of Adverse Events Following Immunization (AEFI) and Periodic Safety Update Reports (PSURs) for vaccines

Help on accessing alternative formats, such as Portable Document Format (PDF), Microsoft Word and PowerPoint (PPT) files, can be obtained in the alternate format help section.

March 25, 2011
Our file number: 10-126749-180

By way of this notice, Health Canada's Health Products and Food Branch (HPFB) is informing vaccine market authorization holders (MAH) of its intent to change the reporting process for AEFIs and PSURs for prophylactic vaccines.

Part of Health Canada's mandate is to manage the ongoing safety, efficacy and quality of all health products, including vaccines. The Public Health Agency of Canada (PHAC) works closely with public health authorities in the provinces and territories to gather and analyse information on the safety of vaccines and collaborates with Health Canada to assess the safety of vaccines on an ongoing basis.

It is the intent of Health Canada to fully incorporate the post-market surveillance of vaccines into the lifecycle management of products over the next few weeks, including Post-Market Reporting Compliance (PMRC) Inspections. To that end, and in order for MAH to fulfil their regulatory obligations under C.01.016 of the Food and Drug Regulations, vaccine market authorization holders shall report serious AEFIs that occur in Canada, as well as serious unexpected AEFIs that occur outside of Canada to HPFB's Marketed Health Products Directorate (MHPD) via the Canada Vigilance Program, as is the case for all human drug products. This change becomes effective on March 25, 2011 and is retroactive to January 1, 2011.

In addition, as of March 25, 2011 all PSURs are to be filed through Submission and Information Policy Division (SIPD). As per guidance documents posted on the Health Canada Web site, currently there are two acceptable formats in which sponsors can file electronic PSUR submissions. The two formats are:

  • Electronic submission in eCTD format
  • Electronic submission in non-eCTD format

PSUR submissions in eCTD format on CD/DVD should be accompanied by a paper cover letter as announced in the Notice Increased Scope of Submissions being accepted in Electronic Common Technical Document (eCTD) Format and acceptance of electronic-only submissions.

If PSUR submissions are not submitted in eCTD format, MAH are recommended to submit them in  electronic format as PDF files in accordance to the notice published on the Health Canada website in February 2008, Release of Health Canada's Revisions to"1.6 Electronic Review Documents" in Draft Guidance for Industry: Preparation of New Drug Submissions in the CTD Format.

The electronic submission in PDF format is the legal document for PSUR submissions in the "non-eCTD format". The naming convention used for the PDF file is up to the MAH's discretion; however meaningful names should be applied. The CD/DVD including both the electronic copy of the PSUR and the cover letter should be accompanied by a paper cover letter. No paper copy of PSUR submissions should be submitted to Health Canada.

The HPFB is working collaboratively with PHAC and encourages continued communication as in the past between market authorization holders and PHAC on aspects of safety related information.

Questions regarding this notice should be directed to the Canada Vigilance Program.

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Médicaments et produits de santé

Avis à l'industrie concernant un changement de procédure relative aux rapports sur les effets secondaires suivant l'immunisation (ESSI) et aux rapports périodiques de pharmacovigilance (RPPV) s'appliquant aux vaccins

Si vous avez besoin d'aide pour accéder aux formats de rechange, tels que Portable Document Format (PDF), Microsoft Word et PowerPoint (PPT), visitez la section d'aide sur les formats de rechange.

25 mars 2011

Numéro de dossier : 10-126749-180

Par le présent avis, la Direction générale des produits de santé et des aliments (DGPSA) de Santé Canada informe les détenteurs d'autorisation de mise en marché (DAMM) de vaccin de son intention d'apporter un changement à la procédure relative aux rapports sur les ESSI et aux RPPV s'appliquant aux vaccins prophylactiques.

Dans le cadre de son mandat, Santé Canada doit veiller à l'innocuité, à l'efficacité et à la qualité de tous les produits de santé, y compris les vaccins. L'Agence de la santé publique du Canada (ASPC), de concert avec les autorités de santé publique des provinces et des territoires recueille et analyse de l'information sur l'innocuité des vaccins, et collabore avec Santé Canada à l'évaluation de l'innocuité des vaccins de façon continue.

Au cours des prochaines semaines, Santé Canada intégrera la surveillance des vaccins après leur mise en marché à la gestion du cycle de vie des produits, ce qui comprend l'inspection de la conformité aux exigences de déclaration après commercialisation (CEDAC). À cette fin et pour que les DAMM puissent respecter leurs obligations en vertu de l'article C.01.016 du Règlement sur les aliments et drogues, les DAMM de vaccin doivent déclarer les ESSI graves survenant au Canada, ainsi que les ESSI graves et imprévus survenant à l'étranger à la Direction des produits de santé commercialisés (DPSC) de la DGPSA par l'entremise du programme Canada Vigilance, comme c'est le cas pour tous les médicaments pour usage humain. Ce changement entre en vigueur le 25 mars 2011 avec effet rétroactif au 1er janvier 2011.

De plus, à compter du 25 mars 2011, tous les RPPV doivent être présentés à la Division des politiques sur les présentations et renseignements (DPPR). Comme le précisent les directives publiées dans le site Web de Santé Canada, les demandeurs peuvent présenter leurs RPPV électroniques en deux formats, soit :

  • la présentation électronique en format eCTD;
  • la présentation électronique en format autre que eCTD.

Les présentations de RPPV en format eCTD sur CD ou DVD devraient être accompagnées d'une version papier de la lettre de présentation, comme le précise l'avis intitulé Augmentation du nombre de types de présentations acceptées en format Electronic Common Technical Document (eCTD) et en format électronique uniquement, et publié dans le site Web de Santé Canada.

Si les présentations de RPPV n'existent pas en format eCTD, les DAMM devraient les présenter en format électronique PDF, en conformité avec l'avis publié dans le site Web de Santé Canada en février 2008, Diffusion des modifications apportées par Santé Canada au paragraphe 1.6 Documents pour examen par voie électronique du document « Ébauche de ligne directrice à l'intention de l'industrie : Préparation de présentations de drogue nouvelle dans le format du CTD ».

La présentation électronique en format PDF constitue le document qui a valeur juridique dans le cas des présentations de RPPV en « format autre que eCTD ». L'appellation des fichiers PDF demeure à la discrétion du DAMM. Des noms qui évoquent le contenu doivent toutefois être utilisés. Le CD/DVD comprenant la version électronique du RPPV et la lettre de présentation doit être accompagné d'une version papier de la lettre de présentation. Aucune présentation de RPPV sur support papier ne doit être envoyée à Santé Canada.

La DGPSA collabore avec l'ASPC et encourage les DAMM à poursuivre la communication d'information sur l'innocuité avec l'ASPC.

Les questions concernant le présent avis doivent être transmises au Programme Canada Vigilance.