Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Adverse Reaction Reporting

Side Effect Reporting Form

Help on accessing alternative formats, such as Portable Document Format (PDF), Microsoft Word and PowerPoint (PPT) files, can be obtained in the alternate format help section.

Protected when completed - B

Instructions to Complete the Side Effect Reporting Form

How do I complete the Side Effect Reporting Form?

  • All sections of the form should be filled in as completely as possible. Use a separate form for each patient. Attach an additional form if there is more than one suspected health product. Additional pages may be attached if more space is required. Please provide the product label where possible.
  • Follow-up information for a side effect that has already been reported can be submitted using a new form, indicating that it consists of follow-up information, including, if known, the date of the original report and the report number provided in the acknowledgement.

What is a side effect?

A side effect (also known as adverse reaction) is a harmful and unintended response to a health product. Health products include prescription and non-prescription medications; natural health products; biologics (includes biotechnology products, vaccines, fractionated blood products, human blood and blood components, as well as human cells, tissues and organs) radiopharmaceuticals; and disinfectants and sanitizers with disinfectant claims. This includes any undesirable patient effect suspected to be associated with health product use. An unintended effect, health product abuse, overdose, interaction (including drug-drug and drug-food interactions) and unusual lack of therapeutic efficacy are all considered to be reportable side effects.

What is considered a serious side effect?

A serious side effect is one that requires in-patient hospitalization or prolongation of existing hospitalization, causes congenital malformation, results in persistent or significant disability or incapacity, is life-threatening or results in death. Side effects that result in significant medical intervention to prevent one of these listed outcomes are also considered to be serious.

What types of side effects should be reported?

All suspected side effects should be reported, especially those that are:

  • unexpected, regardless of their severity (i.e. not consistent with product information or labelling);
  • serious, whether expected or not;
  • reactions to I health products (on the market less than five years), regardless of their nature or severity.

How to submit your completed form

  • Fax: 1-866-678-6789
  • Mail: Canada Vigilance Program
    Marketed Health Products Directorate
    Health Canada
    Address locator 0701E
    Ottawa ON K1A 0K9

Other ways to report a side effect

Do not send reports by e-mail. Health Canada is not able to ensure secure transfer of information by e-mail.

Other information

  • Reporting a side effect does not constitute an admission that medical personnel or the product caused or contributed to it.
  • Side effect reports are, for the most part, only suspected associations. A temporal or possible association is sufficient for a report to be made. Reporting of a side effect does not imply a definitive causal link.
  • Health professionals and consumers may also report side effects to the market authorization holder. Indicate on your form sent to Health Canada if a case was also reported to the product's market authorization holder. For more information about side effect reporting, call Health Canada at 1-866-234-2345 or contact a regional office directly:

For more information about side effect reporting, call Health Canada at 1-866-234-2345 or contact a regional office directly:

British Columbia
CanadaVigilance_BC@hc-sc.gc.ca

Alberta, Northwest Territories and Yukon
CanadaVigilance_AB@hc-sc.gc.ca

Saskatchewan and Nunavut
CanadaVigilance_SK@hc-sc.gc.ca

Manitoba
CanadaVigilance_MB@hc-sc.gc.ca

Ontario
CanadaVigilance_ON@hc-sc.gc.ca

Qubec
CanadaVigilance_QC@hc-sc.gc.ca

New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island, and Newfoundland and Labrador
CanadaVigilance_ATL@hc-sc.gc.ca

Confidentiality

In the context of Health Canada's side effect reporting program (the Canada Vigilance Program), personal information is collected pursuant to section 4 of the Department of Health Act, for the purpose of monitoring licensed products, detecting potential emerging safety issues and trends, mitigating the risks and improving the safe use and efficacy of the health products. Information related to the identity of the patient and/or reporter will be protected as personal information under the Privacy Act, and in the case of an access to information request, under theI. Suspected health product side effect-related information that is voluntarily submitted to Health Canada is maintained in a secure computerized database. The program endeavours to use and disclose only de-identified information but may use and disclose personal information that is not de-identified as permitted under the Privacy Act. For further details regarding the personal information collected under this program, visit the Personal Information Bank; Health Canada; Health Products and Food Branch; Branch Incident Reporting System; PIB#PPU 088. Every Canadian individual has the right to access their own personal information and is entitled to request correction to ensure accuracy of their information. If you wish to exercise this right, contact the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

As per the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat Government Security Policy.

Return to footnote referrer

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Déclaration des effets indésirables

Formulaire de déclaration d'effets secondaires

Si vous avez besoin d'aide pour accéder aux formats de rechange, tels que Portable Document Format (PDF), Microsoft Word et PowerPoint (PPT), visitez la section d'aide sur les formats de rechange.

Protégé une fois rempli - B

Instructions pour remplir le Formulaire de déclaration d'effets secondaires

Comment compléter le Formulaire de déclaration des effets secondaires

  • Vous devez compléter toutes les sections du formulaire en fournissant le plus de renseignements possible. Utiliser un formulaire par patient. S'il y a plus d'un produit soupçonné, il faut joindre un autre formulaire. Vous pouvez joindre d'autres feuilles si vous manquez d'espace. Veuillez fournir l'étiquette des produits, si possible.
  • L'information de suivi pour un effet secondaire qui a déjà été déclaré peut être soumise au moyen d'un nouveau formulaire, en indiquant s'il s'agit d'information de suivi, y compris, s'ils sont connus, la date du rapport d'origine et le numéro du rapport fourni dans l'accusé de réception.

Qu'est-ce qu'un effet secondaire?

Un effet secondaire (ou effet indésirable) est une réaction nocive et inattendue à un produit de santé. Les produits de santé incluent les médicaments d'ordonnance ou en vente libre, les produits de santé naturels, les produits biologiques (incluant les produits biotechnologiques, les vaccins, les produits sanguins obtenus par fractionnement, le sang et les composants sanguins humains ainsi que les cellules, les tissus et les organes humains), les produits radiopharmaceutiques, les désinfectants et les produits d'hygiène comportant des allégations de propriétés de désinfection. Cela comprend tout effet indésirable ressenti par le patient qui peut être lié à l'utilisation d'un produit de santé. Une réaction inattendue, l'usage abusif d'un produit de santé, une surdose, une interaction (entre deux médicaments ou entre un médicament et un aliment) et un manque d'efficacité thérapeutique inhabituel peuvent tous faire l'objet d'une déclaration d'effet secondaire.

Qu’est-ce qu’un effet secondaire grave?

Un effet secondaire grave est une réaction qui nécessite ou prolonge l'hospitalisation, cause une malformation congénitale ou une invalidité ou incapacité persistante ou importante, met la vie en danger ou entraîne la mort. Les effets secondaires qui nécessitent une intervention médicale importante permettant de prévenir l'un des effets énumérés ci-dessus sont également jugés graves.

Quels types d'effets secondaires devraient être déclarés?

  • Vous devriez déclarer tous les effets indésirables présumés, surtout s'ils sont :
  • imprévus (ne correspondent pas aux effets mentionnés sur le produit ou l'étiquette), peu importe leur gravité;
  • graves, qu'ils soient prévus ou non;
  • liés à des produits de santé commercialisés depuis peu longtemps (moins de 5 ans), peu importe leur nature ou leur gravité.

Comment soumettre votre formulaire complété

  • Par télécopieur : 1-866-678-6789
  • Par la poste : Santé Canada
    Direction des produits de santé commercialisés
    Programme Canada Vigilance
    Indice de l'adresse : 0701E
    Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0K9

Autres moyens de déclarer un effet secondaire

N'envoyez pas de déclaration par courriel. Santé Canada n'est pas en mesure d'assurer le transfert sécuritaire de l'information par courriel.

Renseignements supplémentaires

  • La déclaration d'un effet secondaire ne constitue pas un aveu quant à la responsabilité du personnel médical ou au rôle du produit dans l'incident.
  • Dans la plupart des cas, les déclarations d'effet secondaire visent à signaler un lien présumé. Un simple lien temporel ou possible peut justifier une déclaration, laquelle ne suppose pas l'existence d'un lien de cause à effet.
  • Les professionnels de la santé et les consommateurs peuvent également déclarer les effets secondaires au détenteur de l'autorisation de mise en marché (DAMM). Dans ce cas, il convient de l'indiquer sur le formulaire de déclaration envoyé à Santé Canada.

Pour en savoir plus sur la déclaration des effets secondaires, communiquer directement avec Santé Canada, au 1-866-234-2345, ou avec un bureau régional :

Colombie-Britannique
CanadaVigilance_BC@hc-sc.gc.ca

Alberta, Territoires du Nord-Ouest et Yukon
CanadaVigilance_AB@hc-sc.gc.ca

Saskatchewan et Nunavut
CanadaVigilance_SK@hc-sc.gc.ca

Manitoba
CanadaVigilance_MB@hc-sc.gc.ca

Ontario
CanadaVigilance_ON@hc-sc.gc.ca

Québec
CanadaVigilance_QC@hc-sc.gc.ca

Nouveau-Brunswick, Nouvelle-Écosse, Île-du-Prince-Édouard et Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador
CanadaVigilance_ATL@hc-sc.gc.ca

Confidentialité

Dans le cadre du programme de déclaration des effets secondaires de Santé Canada (le Programme Canada Vigilance), les renseignements personnels sont recueillis conformément à l'article 4 de la Loi sur le ministère de la Santé, dans le but de surveiller les produits homologués, de déceler les nouveaux problèmes possibles liés à la sécurité et les tendances, ainsi que de réduire les risques et d'accroître l'utilisation sécuritaire et l'efficacité des produits de santé. L'information liée à l'identité du patient ou du déclarant sera protégée à titre de renseignements personnels en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, et, dans le cadre d'une demande d'accès à l'information, en vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information. Les renseignements sur les effets secondaires présumés attribuables à un produit de santé qui sont fournis volontairement à Santé Canada sont conservés dans une base de données informatisée protégée. Les responsables du Programme s'efforcent d'utiliser et de communiquer uniquement des données anonymisées, mais peuvent utiliser et divulguer des renseignements personnels non anonymisés aux fins permises en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels. Pour plus d'information au sujet des renseignements personnels recueillis dans le cadre de ce programme, consultez le fichier de renseignements personnels (FRP); Santé Canada; Direction générale des produits de santé et des aliments; Système de déclaration des incidents; PPU 088. Chaque Canadien a le droit d'accéder à ses renseignements personnels et de présenter une demande de correction pour assurer l'exactitude de ses renseignements. Si vous désirez vous prévaloir de ce droit, communiquez avec le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor.

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Selon la Politique du gouvernement du Canada émise par le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page referrer