Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Drugs and Health Products

About Natural Health Product Regulation in Canada

The Natural Health Products Directorate (NHPD) has changed its name to the Natural and Non-prescription Health Products Directorate (NNHPD) subsequent to its recently expanded mandate to include the oversight of non-prescription and disinfectant drugs in addition to natural health products (NHPs). Please note that we are currently modifying documents to reflect this change.

Thank you for your patience and understanding.

All natural health products (NHPs) sold in Canada are subject to the Natural Health Products Regulations, which came into force on January 1, 2004.

The Regulations help give Canadians access to a wide range of natural health products that are safe, effective and of high quality.

In this section:

About the Regulations

The Natural Health Products Regulations were created after many consultations with Canadian consumers, academics, health care practitioners and industry stakeholders. They address Canadians' concerns about NHP availability and safety, as well as the House of Commons Standing Committee on Health's 53 recommendations on the regulation of natural health products (NHPs) in Canada.

To be legally sold in Canada, all natural health products must have a product licence, and the Canadian sites that manufacture, package, label and import these products must have site licences.

To get product and site licences, specific labelling and packaging requirements must be met, good manufacturing practices must be followed, and proper safety and efficacy evidence must be provided.

Licensing Requirements

The licensing requirements of the Natural Health Products Regulations apply to any person or company that manufactures, packages, labels and/or imports NHPs for commercial sale in Canada. They do not apply to health care practitioners who compound products on an individual basis for their patients, or to retailers of NHPs.

Product licensing

All natural health products must have a product licence before they can be sold in Canada. To get a licence, applicants must give detailed information about the product to Health Canada, including: medicinal ingredients, source, dose, potency, non-medicinal ingredients and recommended use(s).

Once Health Canada has assessed a product and decided it is safe, effective and of high quality, it issues a product licence along with an eight-digit Natural Product Number (NPN) or Homeopathic Medicine Number (DIN-HM), which must appear on the label. This number lets you know that the product has been reviewed and approved by Health Canada.

Because Health Canada has not yet evaluated all natural health products currently on the market, products with exemption numbers can also legally be sold in Canada. The exemption number will be listed on the product label in the form EN-XXXXXX.

These products have not been fully evaluated by Health Canada, but have gone through an initial assessment to make sure that information supporting their safety, quality and efficacy has been provided, and that specific safety criteria have been met. This will allow Canadians access to the full range of NHPs they are used to while Health Canada continues to fully assess each product.

You can search for licensed natural health products using Health Canada's Licensed Natural Health Products Database, or for exempted natural health products using Health Canada's Exempted Products Database. See How do I know if a product has been licensed? for more information.

Evidence requirements for safety and efficacy

The safety and efficacy of NHPs and their health claims must be supported by proper evidence so that consumers and Health Canada know the products are indeed safe and effective. Evidence may include clinical trial data or references to published studies, journals, pharmacopoeias and traditional resources. The type and amount of supporting evidence required depends on the proposed health claim of the product and its overall risks.

Labelling

All NHPs must meet specific labelling requirements, to help you make safe and informed choices about the NHPs you choose to use. Information required on NHP labels includes:

  • product name
  • product licence number
  • quantity of product in the bottle
  • complete list of medicinal and non-medicinal ingredients
  • recommended use (including purpose or health claim, route of administration and dose)
  • any cautionary statements, warnings, contra-indications and possible adverse reactions associated with the product
  • any special storage conditions

More information on labelling and packaging requirements for natural health products is available in the Labelling Guidance Document.

Site licensing

All Canadian manufacturers, packagers, labellers, and importers of natural health products must have site licenses. To get a licence, sites must maintain proper distribution records, have proper procedures for product recalls and for the handling, storage and delivery of their products, and demonstrate that they meet good manufacturing practice requirements.

Good Manufacturing Practices

Good Manufacturing Practices make sure proper standards and practices for the testing, manufacture, storage, handling and distribution of natural health products are met. Good Manufacturing Practices for NHPs cover:

  • product specifications
  • premises
  • equipment
  • personnel
  • sanitation program
  • operations
  • quality assurance
  • stability
  • records
  • sterile products
  • lot or batch samples
  • recall reporting

Good Manufacturing Practices are meant to ensure safe and high quality products while giving manufacturers, packagers, labellers, importers and distributors the flexibility to implement quality systems appropriate for their product lines and businesses. More information on Good Manufacturing Practices for NHPs is available in the Good Manufacturing Practices Guidance Document.

Adverse Reaction Reporting

The Natural Health Products Regulations require product licence holders to monitor all adverse reactions related to their product. License holders must report serious adverse reactions to Health Canada. See Adverse Reaction Reporting for more information.

Canadian consumers should report unwanted side effects (adverse reactions) to their health care provider and to Health Canada directly. See Adverse Reaction Reporting for more information.

Reporting side effects is important because it helps Health Canada identify rare or serious adverse reactions, make changes in product safety information, issue public warnings and advisories, and/or remove unsafe products from the Canadian market.

Clinical Trials

A clinical trial is when natural health products are tested using human subjects. Clinical trials are intended:

  • to discover or verify the product's effects
  • to identify any adverse events that are related to its use
  • to study its absorption, distribution, metabolism and excretion
  • to test its safety or efficacy

The Next link will take you to another Web site Natural Health Products Regulations set out requirements for conducting a clinical trial. Meanwhile, the Natural Health Products Directorate outlines the range of evidence that can be submitted in support of the safety and efficacy of a natural health product and the quality of a natural health product, or of a homeopathic medicine.

More information on the clinical trial process for natural health products is available in the Clinical Trials for Natural Health Products Guidance Document.

Related Advisories, Warnings and Recalls

For the most recent advisories, warnings and recalls about food, health and consumer products, see Advisories, Warnings and Recalls.

For More Information

More about natural health product

Additional resources

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Médicaments et produits de santé

Règlement sur les produits de santé naturels au Canada

La Direction des produits de santé naturels (DPSN) est maintenant connue sous le nom Direction des produits de santé naturels et sans ordonnance (DPSNSO) suite à l'élargissement de son mandat afin d'inclure la surveillance des médicaments sans ordonnance et des désinfectants en plus des produits de santé naturels (PSN). Veuillez noter que nous sommes en train de modifier nos documents afin de refléter ce changement.

Nous vous remercions de votre compréhension et patience.

Tous les produits de santé naturels (PSN) vendus au Canada sont assujettis au Règlement sur les produits de santé naturels, entré en vigueur le 1er janvier 2004.

Le Règlement permet aux Canadiens d'accéder à un vaste éventail de produits de santé naturels sécuritaires, efficaces et de grande qualité.

Contenu de la présente section :

À propos du Règlement

Le Règlement sur les produits de santé naturels est le fruit de nombreuses consultations auprès de consommateurs, d'universitaires, de professionnels de la santé et d'intervenants de l'industrie au Canada. Il tient compte des préoccupations des Canadiens au sujet de la disponibilité et de l'innocuité des PSN, de même que des 53 recommandations du Comité permanent de la santé sur la réglementation des produits de santé naturels au Canada.

Une licence de mise en marché doit être délivrée pour autoriser la vente d'un produit de santé naturel au Canada. Par ailleurs, les établissements canadiens chargés de la fabrication, de l'emballage, de l'étiquetage ou de l'importation de ces produits doivent détenir une licence d'exploitation.

Pour obtenir une licence de mise en marché ou d'exploitation, il est nécessaire de respecter les exigences en matière d'étiquetage et d'emballage ainsi que les bonnes pratiques de fabrication, et de fournir des preuves adéquates de l'innocuité et de l'efficacité des produits.

Conditions d'obtention d'une licence

Les conditions énoncées dans le Règlement sur les produits de santé naturels pour la délivrance des licences s'appliquent à toute personne ou entreprise qui fabrique, emballe, étiquette ou importe des PSN destinés à la vente au Canada. Elles ne s'appliquent pas aux professionnels de la santé qui préparent des produits composés à l'unité pour leurs patients ni aux détaillants de PSN.

Licences de mise en marché

Pour être vendus au Canada, tous les produits de santé naturels doivent faire l'objet d'une licence de mise en marché. Pour obtenir une licence, les demandeurs doivent présenter à Santé Canada des renseignements détaillés sur le produit, notamment : les ingrédients médicinaux, la source, la dose, l'activité, les ingrédients non médicinaux et l'usage recommandé.

Une fois que Santé Canada a évalué un produit et convenu de son innocuité, de son efficacité et de sa haute qualité, il délivre une licence de mise en marché comportant un numéro de produit naturel (NPN) ou de remède homéopathique (DIN-HM) de huit chiffres. Ce numéro, qui figure sur l'étiquette, confirme que le produit a été examiné et approuvé par Santé Canada.

Vous pouvez effectuer une recherche sur un produit de santé naturel homologué à partir de la Base de données des produits de santé naturels homologués de Santé Canada. Pour en savoir plus, consultez la section Comment savoir si un produit est homologué?.

Données requises à l'appui de l'innocuité et de l'efficacité

L'innocuité et l'efficacité d'un PSN, de même que les allégations relatives à la santé, doivent reposer sur des données pertinentes prouvant aux consommateurs et à Santé Canada que le produit est bel et bien sécuritaire et efficace. Les données peuvent comprendre les résultats d'essais cliniques ou des renvois à des études publiées, des revues, des pharmacopées et des ressources traditionnelles. Le type et la quantité de données requises à l'appui de la demande dépend des allégations proposées et des risques globaux.

Étiquetage

Tous les PSN doivent satisfaire à des exigences particulières en matière d'étiquetage afin d'aider les Canadiens à faire des choix sûrs et éclairés quant à l'utilisation des PSN. Les renseignements suivants doivent figurer sur l'étiquette des PSN :

  • nom du produit
  • numéro de la licence de mise en marché
  • quantité par unité posologique
  • liste intégrale des ingrédients médicinaux et non médicinaux
  • conditions d'utilisation recommandées (y compris les fins recommandées ou les allégations relatives à la santé, le mode d'administration et la dose)
  • avertissements, mises en garde, contre-indications et effets indésirables possibles associés au produit, s'il y a lieu
  • conditions d'entreposage particulières, s'il y a lieu

Vous trouverez des renseignements complémentaires sur les exigences relatives à l'étiquetage et à l'emballage des produits de santé naturels dans le Document de référence concernant l'étiquetage.

Licences d'exploitation

Au Canada, tous les fabricants, emballeurs, étiqueteurs et importateurs de produits de santé naturels doivent posséder une licence d'exploitation. À cette fin, les établissements visés doivent conserver des registres de distribution appropriés, mettre en place des procédures pour le rappel, la manipulation, l'entreposage et la distribution des produits, et démontrer qu'ils respectent les bonnes pratiques de fabrication.

Bonnes pratiques de fabrication

Les bonnes pratiques de fabrication permettent d'assurer le respect de normes et de pratiques adéquates pour l'essai, la fabrication, l'entreposage, la manipulation et la distribution des produits de santé naturels. Les bonnes pratiques de fabrication s'appliquent aux aspects suivants :

  • spécifications du produit
  • locaux
  • équipement
  • personnel
  • programme d'hygiène
  • exploitation
  • assurance de la qualité
  • stabilité
  • registres
  • produits stériles
  • échantillons de lot ou lots de fabrication
  • rapports sur les retraits du marché

Les bonnes pratiques de fabrication visent à assurer l'innocuité et la haute qualité des produits tout en donnant aux fabricants, aux emballeurs, aux étiqueteurs, aux importateurs et aux distributeurs la souplesse nécessaire pour mettre en place des systèmes qualité adaptés à leur gamme de produits et à leurs activités. Vous trouverez de plus amples renseignements sur les bonnes pratiques de fabrication relatives aux PSN dans le document de référence Bonnes pratiques de fabrication.

Déclaration des effets indésirables

D'après le Règlement sur les produits de santé naturels, les titulaires de licence de mise en marché doivent surveiller toutes les réactions indésirables attribuables à leurs produits. Ils doivent en outre signaler les effets indésirables de nature grave à Santé Canada. Pour en savoir plus, consultez la section sur la Déclaration des effets indésirables.

Les consommateurs canadiens devraient informer leur professionnel de la santé et Santé Canada directement de tout effet secondaire indésirable (réaction indésirable) observé. Pour en savoir plus, consultez la section sur la Déclaration des effets indésirables.

La déclaration des effets secondaires est importante; elle permet à Santé Canada d'identifier des réactions rares ou graves, de modifier l'information sur la sécurité des produits, de diffuser des mises en garde ou des avis et de retirer du marché les produits dangereux.

Essais cliniques

Un essai clinique consiste en une recherche portant sur un produit de santé naturel effectuée sur un sujet humain dans l'un des buts suivants :

  • découvrir ou vérifier les effets d'un produit
  • identifier tout effet indésirable lié à son utilisation
  • étudier son absorption, sa distribution, son métabolisme et son excrétion
  • vérifier son innocuité ou son efficacité

Le Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web Règlement sur les produits de santé naturels énonce les exigences applicables à la réalisation d'essais cliniques. La Direction des produits de santé naturels précise quant à elle les données qui peuvent être présentées pour démontrer l'innocuité et l'efficacité d'un produit de santé naturel ainsi que la qualité d'un produit de santé naturel ou d'un médicament homéopathique.

Pour en savoir plus sur le processus d'essai clinique relatif aux produits de santé naturels, consultez le document de référence sur les essais cliniques pour les produits de santé naturels.

Avis, mises en garde et retraits

Pour connaître les avis, mises en garde et retraits qui ont été émis récemment au sujet d'aliments, de produits de santé et de produits de consommation, consultez les avis, mises en garde et retraits.

Pour en savoir plus

Produits de santé naturels

Ressources additionnelles