Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Help the Government of Canada organize its website! Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.
Drugs and Health Products

ARCHIVED - Classification of Products at the Food-Natural Health Product Interface: Products in Food Formats

Warning This content was archived on June 24 2013.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

June 10, 2010 - Version 2.0

Cat. No.: H164-108/2010E-PDF (PDF Version)
ISBN: 978-1-100-16161-7 (PDF Version)

Help on accessing alternative formats, such as Portable Document Format (PDF), Microsoft Word and PowerPoint (PPT) files, can be obtained in the alternate format help section.

Table of Contents

1. Introduction

In Canada, natural health products and foods are regulated under the Next link will take you to another Web site Food and Drugs Act (FDA) and its associated regulations.  Products that meet the definition "natural health product" in the Next link will take you to another Web site Natural Health Products Regulations (NHPR) are subject to the FDAas it applies to a drug and to the NHPR.  Products that are foods as defined in the FDA are subject to the FDA as it applies to food and to Parts A, B and D of the Next link will take you to another Web site Food and Drug Regulations (FDR).  A product, that is both a natural health product and a food is subject to the NHPR but is exempted from the FDR as they apply to a foodFootnote 1.

Since the implementation of the Natural Health Products Regulations on January 1, 2004, Health Canada has received several hundred Product License Applications for products in food format.  Examples include energy drinks, vitamin or mineral supplements in candy format, and some juices or waters with added vitamins and minerals.  Health Canada is also aware of products in food format that meet the definition "natural health product" that are currently offered for sale without a product licence having been issued or applied for. 

This guidance document outlines the principles and considerations to be applied in determining if a product in a food format is a natural health productFootnote 2. It has been created and published with a view to achieving greater consistency, transparency and quality of classification decisions relating to products in food format.  It is intended to be used in conjunction with other existing guidance documents and policiesFootnote 3.

2. Interpretation

The following definitions are provided to assist in the interpretation of this guidance document:

"food" (Next link will take you to another Web site Section 2 of the Food and Drugs Act) means any article manufactured, sold or represented for use as a food or drink for human beings, including chewing gum, and any ingredients that may be mixed with food for any purpose whatever.

"natural health product" (Next link will take you to another Web site Section 1 of the Natural Health Products Regulations) means a substance set out in Schedule 1 of the NHPRFootnote 4 or a combination of substances in which all the medicinal ingredients are substances set out in Schedule 1, a homeopathic medicine or a traditional medicine, that is manufactured, sold or represented for use in

  1. the diagnosis, treatment, mitigation or prevention of a disease, disorder or abnormal physical state or its symptoms in humans;
  2. restoring or correcting organic functions in humans; or
  3. modifying organic functions in humans, such as modifying those functions in a manner that maintains or promotes health.

For the purposes of this guidance document, a product is "in food format" if it is sold in a format and serving size consistent with food use.  Examples of products in a food format include chewing gums, hard candies, candy bars, tea, juices and beverages.  Capsules, pills, and tablets are not considered to be food formats.

For the purposes of this guidance document, "therapeutic use" means a product that is used for the diagnosis, treatment, mitigation or prevention of a disease, disorder or abnormal physical state or its symptoms in humans, or restoring or correcting organic function in humans, or modifying organic functions in humans.

For the purposes of this guidance document, "food purpose" means a purpose that has been established by history of use, or by being regulated, defined or implied by the FDR, or that has been accepted following a novel food notification.

3. Scope

This guidance document pertains to a product that is in a food format and that:

  • contains a substance listed in Schedule 1 to the Natural Health Products Regulations at a level that is not permitted for use in a food under the food provisions of the Food and Drug Regulations; or
  • makes a claim for a therapeutic use that is not permitted to be made for a food under the food provisions of the Food and Drug Regulations.

4. Guiding Principles and Relevant Considerations

The following principles guide classification decisions to determine if a product in food format is a natural health product: 

  1. The definition "food" in the Food and Drugs Act and "natural health product" in the Natural Health Products Regulations must be interpreted in a manner that respects the primary objectives of the Act and its associated regulations: the protection of public health and safety.Footnote 5
  2. While potential health risks alone do not classify a product as either a food or an NHP, risk can be taken into account in interpreting definitions and applying appropriate regulatory frameworks that best achieve objectives relating to health protection.  For example, a product's use as a food implies that the product can be consumed freely and without regard to quantity.

In deciding whether a product in food format is a natural health product, the regulator will take account the following criteria:   

  • Product Composition;
  • Product Representations;
  • Product Format; and
  • Public Perception and History of use. 

4.1 Product Composition

Many foods and ingredients in food have health effects. When a food or ingredient is present in a product solely to provide nourishment, nutrition or hydration, or to satisfy hunger, thirst or a desire for taste, texture or flavour this is an indication that the product is a food and not an NHP - even if the product or ingredient falls within a class of substances included in the definition "natural health product".

Conversely, a product that is or that contains an added ingredient that has no known food purpose but that has only a therapeutic use is likely to be classified as a natural health productFootnote 6.  Similarly, a product that is or that contains a substance that has a known food purpose - but is present at a level incompatible with its use as a food and that is consistent only with a therapeutic use - is likely to be classified as a natural health product.  The nature of and risks associated with the health effects related to such an ingredient are also relevant to how the product is to be classified.

4.2 Product Representations

"Representation" includes indications of use, claims presented as a word, sentence, a picture, a symbol, a paragraph or an implication on product labels, package inserts or advertisement, placement and location of sale. A product that might for composition or other reasons be classified as a food may nonetheless be a natural health product if it is represented or sold as a product having therapeutic uses.  The nature of, and risks associated with a product's representation of its therapeutic uses are also relevant to how the product is to be classified. 

Some representations on a product's label or in advertising associated with it will provide an indication that it is an NHP.  Claims that speak to a product having therapeutic uses that are not based on the use of the product as a food suggest the product is an NHP. 

4.3 Product Format

NHPs are typically sold in a format that allows them to be consumed in measured or controlled amounts (doses).  If a product is sold in a particular food format (for example, a beverage) that lends itself to dosing (for example if it is sold in single dosage units or it is sold with a measure that indicates it to be consumed in controlled amounts) this is one indication that the product is an NHP as defined in the Natural Health Products Regulations

4.4 Public Perception and History of Use

If a product has a historical pattern of use as a food or if the public perception associated with the use of a product in the marketplace is that it is a food, these are indications that the product is a food rather than an NHP. 

Conversely, if the public perception associated with a product and its history and pattern of use indicate it is sold for a therapeutic purpose this supports the conclusion that the product is a natural health product. 

5. The Classification Decision-Making Process

Classification decisions are used to administer, monitor compliance with, and enforce the Food and Drugs Act and its regulations; and in particular the Natural Health Products Regulations and Parts A, B and D of the Food and Drug Regulations

The criteria outlined in this guidance document are used by Health Canada to determine if a product in food format is a natural health product.  These classification decisions will be made by the Food-NHP Classification Committee (F-NCC). The F-NCC will be made up of representatives from both the Food Directorate and Natural Health Products Directorate with expertise in the science underlying their respective product lines.

The F-NCC will apply this guidance document in making classification decisions.  The Committee will also consider other information that may be useful in arriving at classification decisions.   For example, the Committee may consider the classification decisions of other regulatory bodies.Footnote 7

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Section 3 of the Natural Health Products Regulations (Available at: http://laws.justice.gc.ca/en/ShowDoc/cr/SOR-2003-196/bo-ga:s_1::bo-ga:s_2/en?page=1&isPrinting=false#codese:3).

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

It should be noted that every product is assessed on a case-by-case basis taking account of the available facts relevant to whether a product meets the definition "natural health product" as set out in the Natural Health Products Regulations.

Return to footnote 2 referrer

Footnote 3

The criteria described in this document do not enable a determination of whether a product meets all the requirements of the relevant legislation. It is the responsibility of the manufacturer of a product to ensure that it complies with all the relevant requirements, legislation and associated regulations.

Return to footnote 3 referrer

Footnote 4

Substances listed in Schedule 1 to the NHPR ("Schedule 1 Substances") (available at: http://laws.justice.gc.ca/en/showdoc/cr/SOR-2003-196/sc:1/en#anchorsc:1) include:
1.A plant or a plant material, an alga, a bacterium, a fungus or a non-human animal material
2.An extract or isolate of a substance described in item 1, the primary molecular structure of which is identical to that which it had prior to its extraction or isolation
3.Any of the following vitamins: biotin, folate, niacin, pantothenic acid, riboflavin, thiamine, vitamin A, vitamin B6, vitamin B12, vitamin C, vitamin D, vitamin E, vitamin K1, vitamin K2,
4.An amino acid
5.An essential fatty acid
6.A synthetic duplicate of a substance described in any of items 2 to 5
7.A mineral
8.A probiotic

Return to footnote 4 referrer

Footnote 5

Consistent with the objectives of Health Canada and the applicable regulatory frameworks.

Return to footnote 5 referrer

Footnote 6

Examples include glucosamine sulfate, chondroitin sulfate, methylsulfonylmethane, Valerian, 5-HTP, St. John's Wort, and Ginkgo Biloba.

Return to footnote 6 referrer

Footnote 7

Health Canada recognizes the global nature of trade in these products. Decisions of other regulatory bodies would be interpreted to take account of the difference in legal systems, legislation and policies.

Return to footnote 7 referrer

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Médicaments et produits de santé

ARCHIVÉE - Classification des produits situés à la frontière entre les aliments et les produits de santé naturels : Produits sous forme d'aliments

Avertissement Ce contenu a été archivé le 24 juin 2013.

Information archivée dans le Web

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette information dans tout autre format de rechange à la page « Contactez-nous ».

Juin 2010 - Version 2.0

No de catalogue : H164-108/2010F-PDF (version PDF)
ISBN :  978-1-100-94964-2 (version PDF)

Si vous avez besoin d'aide pour accéder aux formats de rechange, tels que Portable Document Format (PDF), Microsoft Word et PowerPoint (PPT), visitez la section d'aide sur les formats de rechange.

Table des matières

1. Introduction

Au Canada, les produits de santé naturels et les aliments sont réglementés par la Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web Loi sur les aliments et drogues (LAD) et ses règlements d'application. Les produits qui satisfont à la définition de "  produits de santé naturels " du Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web Règlement sur les produits de santé naturels (RPSN) sont assujettis à la LAD telle qu'elle s'applique à une drogue, ainsi qu'au RPSN. Les produits qui sont des aliments au sens de la LAD sont assujettis à celle-ci telle qu'elle s'applique aux aliments, ainsi qu'aux parties A, B et D du Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web Règlement sur les aliments et drogues (RAD). Un produit qui est à la fois un produit de santé naturel et un aliment est assujetti au RPSN, mais exempté du RAD tels qu'ils s'appliquent aux alimentsNote de bas de page 1.

Depuis l'entré en vigueur du Règlement sur les produits de santé naturels le 1er janvier 2004, Santé Canada a reçu plusieurs centaines de demandes de licence de mise en marché pour des produits sous forme d'aliments. Les boissons énergisantes, les suppléments de vitamines ou de minéraux sous forme de bonbons et certains jus ou eaux contenant des vitamines et des minéraux ajoutés en sont des exemples. Santé Canada reconnaît aussi des produits sous forme d'aliments qui satisfont à la définition de « produits de santé naturels » et qui sont offert en vente sans avoir obtenu une licence de mise en marché ou en avoir fait la demande.

Le présent document de référence énonce les principes et les facteurs à appliquer lorsqu'il faut déterminer si un produit vendu sous forme d'aliment est un produit de santé naturelNote de bas de page 2. Ce document a été produit et diffusé afin d'accroître l'uniformité, la transparence et la qualité des décisions relatives à la classification des produits sous forme d'aliments. Il doit servir de concert avec d'autres documents de référence et politiques qui existent déjàNote de bas de page 3.

2. Interprétation

Les définitions suivantes visent à aider à interpréter ce document de référence :

"aliment" (Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web article 2 de la Loi sur les aliments et drogues) comprend les articles fabriqués, vendus ou présentés comme pouvant servir de nourriture ou de boisson à l'être humain, la gomme à mâcher ainsi que tout ingrédient pouvant être mélangé avec un aliment à quelque fin que ce soit.

"produit de santé naturel" (Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web article 1 du Règlement sur les produits de santé naturels) comprend une substance mentionnée à l'annexe 1 du RPSNNote de bas de page 4 ou combinaison de substances où tous les ingrédients médicinaux sont des substances mentionnées à l'annexe 1, remède homéopathique ou remède traditionnel, qui est fabriqué, vendu ou présenté comme pouvant servir

  1. au diagnostic, au traitement, à l'atténuation ou à la prévention d'une maladie, d'un désordre, d'un état physique anormal ou de leurs symptômes chez l'être humain;

  2. à la restauration ou à la correction des fonctions organiques chez l'être humain; ou

  3. à la modification des fonctions organiques chez l'être humain telle que la modification de ces fonctions de manière à maintenir ou promouvoir la santé.

Pour les fins du présent document, un produit est "sous forme d'aliment" s'il est vendu en format et la grosseur concorde avec l'usage alimentaire. La gomme à mâcher, les bonbons durs, les barres de friandises, thé, jus et les boissons sont des exemples de produits vendus sous forme d'aliments. Les gélules, pilules et comprimés ne sont pas considérés comme des formats d'aliments.

Pour les fins du présent document, "usage thérapeutique" s'entend du diagnostic, du traitement, de l'atténuation et de la prévention d'une maladie, d'un trouble ou d'un état physique anormal ou de ses symptômes chez l'humain, du rétablissement, de la correction ou de la modification d'une fonction organique chez l'humain.

Pour les fins du présent document d'orientation, "usage alimentaire" s'entend d'un usage établi par les antécédents d'utilisation ou par le fait que le produit est réglementé, défini ou sous-entendu dans le RAD, ou qu'il a été accepté suivant une notification d'aliment nouveau.

3. Champ d'application

Le présent document porte sur les produits sous forme d'aliments :

  • contenant une substance énumérée à l'annexe 1 du RPSN à un niveau n'étant pas permis pour usage en tant qu'aliment en vertu des dispositions du Règlement sur les aliments et les drogues; ou
  • portant des allégations pour usage à des fins thérapeutiques qui ne sont pas permis pour les aliments en vertu des dispositions du Règlement sur les aliments et les drogues.

4. Principes directeurs et facteurs pertinents

Les principes suivants guident les décisions sur la classification qui visent à déterminer si un produit sous forme d'aliment est un produit de santé naturel :

  1. faut interpréter la définition « aliment » dans la LAD et la définition « produit de santé naturel » dans le RPSN de façon à atteindre les objectifs premiers de la LAD et du RPSN, qui est la protection de la santé publique et la sécurité du publicNote de bas de page 5.
  2. Bien que le potentiel de risque pour la santé à lui seul ne permette pas de désigner la classification d'un produit en tant qu'aliment ou PSN, il doit être pris en compte dans l'interprétation des définitions et l'application des cadres règlementaires appropriés visant principalement à atteindre les objectifs relatifs à la protection de la santé. A titre d'exemple, l'usage d'un produit en tant qu'aliment laisse entendre que le produit peut être consommé sans égard à la quantité.

Lorsqu'il doit décider si un produit sous forme d'aliment est un produit de santé naturel, l'organisme de réglementation tiendra compte des facteurs suivants :

  • composition du produit;
  • présentations faites au sujet du produit;
  • format du produit; et
  • perception du public et antécédents d'utilisation.

4.1 Composition de produit

Beaucoup d'aliments et d'ingrédients contenus dans des aliments ont des effets sur la santé. Lorsqu'un aliment ou un ingrédient est présent dans un produit uniquement pour assurer la nourriture, nutrition ou hydratation, ou pour satisfaire à la faim, à la soif ou à un désir de goût, de texture ou de saveur, cela indique que le produit est un aliment et non un PSN - même si le produit ou l'ingrédient fait partie d'une catégorie de substances incluses dans la définition de "produit de santé naturel".

En revanche, un produit qui est ou qui contient une substance ajoutée qui n'a aucun usage alimentaire connu, mais qui a uniquement un usage thérapeutique, est susceptible d'être classé comme produit de santé naturelNote de bas de page 6. De même, un produit qui est ou qui contient une substance qui a un usage alimentaire connu - mais qui est présent à un niveau incompatible avec son usage comme aliment et concorde avec un usage uniquement thérapeutique - est susceptible d'être classé comme produit de santé naturel. La nature d'une telle substance et les risques associés à ses effets sur la santé sont aussi pertinents à la classification éventuelle du produit.

4.2 Présentations faites au sujet de produit

"Présentation" s'entend ici des indications d'emploi, des allégations faites sous la forme d'un mot, d'une phrase, d'une image, d'un symbole, d'un paragraphe ou d'une inférence sur les étiquettes, les prospectus de conditionnement ou dans la publicité.  De plus, la présentation peut être explicite ou implicite. Un produit qui, pour des raisons de composition ou autres, pourrait être classé comme aliment peut néanmoins être un produit de santé naturel s'il est présenté comme ayant des usages thérapeutiques ou s'il est vendu comme tel. La nature d'un produit présenté comme ayant des usages thérapeutiques et les risques connexes sont aussi pertinents à sa classification éventuelle.

Des présentations (ou allégations) sur l'étiquette d'un produit ou dans une publicité associée à celui ci donneront une indication qu'il s'agit d'un PSN. Les allégations selon lesquelles un produit a des usages thérapeutiques qui ne sont pas reliés à son usage comme aliment indiquent qu'il s'agit d'un PSN.

4.3 Format du produit

Les PSN sont habituellement vendus dans un format qui permet de les consommer en quantités mesurées ou contrôlées (doses). Si un produit est vendu sous forme d'un aliment en particulier (boisson, par exemple) qui se prête à un dosage (par exemple, s'il est vendu en doses uniques ou avec une mesure qui indique qu'il faut le consommer en quantités contrôlées), cela indique que le produit est un PSN au sens du RPSN.

4.4 Perception du public et antécédents d'utilisation

Si un produit a un historique d'utilisation en tant qu'aliment ou si la perception du public associé à l'usage du produit sur le marché est en tant qu'aliment, cela indique qu'un produit est un aliment plutôt qu'un PSN.

En revanche, si la perception que le public a d'un produit, son historique et ses antécédents d'utilisation indiquent qu'il est vendu à une fin thérapeutique, ces facteurs portent à conclure que le produit est un produit de santé naturel.

5. Le processus décisionnel sur la classification

Les décisions de classification servent à administrer, surveiller la conformité et l'application de la LAD et ses règlements d'application, et plus particulièrement le Règlements sur les produits de santé naturels et les parties A, B et D du Règlement sur les aliments et drogues.

Santé Canada utilise les critères décrits dans ce document d'orientation pour déterminer si un produit sous forme d'aliment est un produit de santé naturel. Ces décisions de classification seront prises par le Comité de classification des aliments-PSN (CCA-P). Le CCA-P sera constitué de représentants de la Direction des aliments et de la Direction des produits de santé naturels, ainsi que d'experts des sciences qui sous-tendent leurs gammes de produits respectives.

Le CCA-P appliquera les principes directeurs et critères lors du processus décisionnel sur la classification. Le comité tiendra compte d'autres sources d'informations pertinentes au processus décisionnel comme par exemple les décisions d'autres organismes de réglementation.Note de bas de page 7

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Article 3 du Règlement sur les produits de santé naturels. (Disponible en ligne à : http://laws.justice.gc.ca/en/ShowDoc/cr/SOR-2003-196/bo-ga:s_1::bo-ga:s_2/en/en?page=1&isPrinting=false#codese:3)

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1 referrer

Note de bas de page 2

Il convient de signaler que chaque produit est évalué individuellement en fonction des faits pertinents à la question de savoir si un produit satisfait à la définition de « produit de santé naturel » énoncée dans le Règlement sur les produits de santé naturels.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 2 referrer

Note de bas de page 3

Les critères décrits dans le présent document ne permettent pas de déterminer si un produit satisfait à toutes les exigences de la loi pertinente. Il incombe au fabricant d'un produit de s'assurer qu'il est conforme à toutes les exigences législatives et règlementaires pertinentes.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 3 referrer

Note de bas de page 4

Les substances énumérées à l'annexe 1 du RPSN (« substances de l'annexe 1 ») (disponible en ligne à : http://laws.justice.gc.ca/fr/showdoc/cr/DORS-2003-196/sc:1::sc:2/en/fr?page=5) comprennent les suivantes :
1.Plante ou matière végétale, algue, bactérie, champignon ou matière animale autre qu'une matière provenant de l'humain
2.Extrait ou isolat d'une substance mentionnée à l'article 1, dont la structure moléculaire première est identique à celle existant avant l'extraction ou l'isolation
3.Les vitamines suivantes : biotine, folate, niacine, acide pantothénique, riboflavine, thiamine, vitamine A, vitamine B6, vitamine B12, vitamine C, vitamine D, vitamine E, vitamine K1, vitamine K2
4.Acide aminé
5.Acide gras essentiel
6.Duplicat synthétique d'une substance mentionnée à l'un des articles 2 à 5
7.Minéral
8.Probiotique

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 4 referrer

Note de bas de page 5

Conformément aux objectifs de Santé Canada et au cadre de réglementation pertinent.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 5 referrer

Note de bas de page 6

Exemples : sulfate de glucosamine, sulfate de chondroïtine, méthylsulfonylméthane, Valériane, 5-HTP, millepertuis et Ginkgo Biloba.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 6 referrer

Note de bas de page 7

Santé Canada reconnaît le contexte commercial concernant ces produits. Les décisions d'autres organismes de réglementation seront prises en considération tout en tenant compte, des différences au niveau, des systèmes judiciaires, législatifs et des politiques.

etour à la référence de la note de bas de page 7 referrer