Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Drugs and Health Products

Notice: Guidance Document: Cancellation of a Drug Identification Number (DIN) and Notification of the Discontinuation of Sales

March 14, 2017
Our file number: 17-103104-439

Health Canada is pleased to announce the release of the final Guidance Document: Cancellation of a Drug Identification Number (DIN) and Notification of the Discontinuation of Sales.

The Regulations Amending the Food and Drug Regulations (Shortages of Drugs and Discontinuation of Sale of Drugs) (the Regulations) introduced, among other changes, a definition of the term "discontinue" in respect of the sale of a drug. In addition, the section requiring manufacturers to notify Health Canada within 30 days of the discontinuation of the sale of a drug, has been amended to specify the information that must be reported to Health Canada as part of this notification.

This guidance document provides assistance in interpreting sections of the Regulations that pertain to the cancellation of a DIN and the notification to Health Canada of the discontinuation of the sale of a drug. This guideline is designed to facilitate proper compliance by the manufacturers and to enhance consistency in the application of these regulatory requirements.

The guidance document is applicable to all drug products which have been issued a DIN pursuant to the Regulations.

Comments received from the June 29, 2016 consultation on the notice regarding Draft Guidance Document: Cancellation of a Drug Identification Number (DIN) and Notification of the Discontinuation of Sales were reviewed and considered in the finalization of this document. A summary of the comments received is available upon request.

This guidance document is effective immediately.

Questions related to this guidance document should be directed to:

Office of Submissions and Intellectual Property
Therapeutic Products Directorate, Health Products and Food Branch
Health Canada
Address Locator 0201A1
Finance Building, 101 Tunney's Pasture Driveway
Ottawa, Ontario  K1A 0K9

Telephone: 613-941-7281
Email: osip-bppi@hc-sc.gc.ca

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Médicaments et produits de santé

Avis : Ligne directrice : Annulation d'une identification numérique de drogue (DIN) et avis de cessation de la vente d'une drogue

14 mars 2017
Notre référence : 17-103104-439

Santé Canada est heureuse d'annoncer la diffusion de la version finale du document Annulation d'une identification numérique de drogue (DIN) et avis de cessation de la vente d'un drogue.

Le Règlement modifiant le Règlement sur les aliments et drogues (pénuries de drogues et cessation de la vente de drogues) a introduit, entre autres, une définition du terme « cesser» relativement à la vente d'une drogue. De plus, la section qui exige que les fabricants informent Santé Canada dans les trente (30) jours suivant la cessation de la vente d'une drogue a été modifiée afin de préciser les renseignements à fournir dans l'avis de cessation de la vente.

La présente ligne directrice aide à interpréter les exigences du Règlement concernant l'annulation de l'identification numérique d'une drogue et l'avis de cessation de la vente d'une drogue à Santé Canada. Elle a pour but de permettre aux fabricants de se conformer plus facilement aux exigences règlementaires et d'améliorer la cohérence dans l'application de ces exigences.

La présente ligne directrice s'applique à toutes les drogues dont un DIN a été attribué conformément au Règlement.

Les commentaires reçus dans le cadre de la consultation du 29 juin 2016 sur l'avis concernant la version préliminaire de la ligne directrice Annulation d'une identification numérique de drogue (DIN) et avis de cessation de la vente ont été examinés et pris en compte pour produire la version finale du document. Un résumé des commentaires reçus est disponible sur demande.

Cette ligne directrice entre en vigueur immédiatement.

Toute question concernant ce document doit être envoyée à l'adresse suivante :

Bureau des présentations et de la propriété intellectuelle
Direction des produits thérapeutiques Direction générale des produits de santé et des aliments
Santé Canada
Indice de l'adresse : 0201A1
Immeuble des finances, 101, promenade du pré Tunney
Ottawa (Ontario)  K1A 0K9

Téléphone : 613-941-7281
Courriel : osip-bppi@hc-sc.gc.ca