Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Drugs and Health Products

Notice ľ Mandatory use of the Electronic Common Technical Document (eCTD) format

April 24, 2017
Our file number: 17-104609-715

Health Canada has been accepting regulatory activities in eCTD format since 2004. As of December 2016, 84 percent of regulatory activities for Part C, Division 8 of the Food and Drug Regulations, for human drugs, have been provided in eCTD format. As Health Canada moves closer towards a common submission intake process to standardize and improve its business processes and tools, Sponsors are encouraged to take advantage of the many benefits of using the eCTD format.

In efforts to stay aligned with other regulatory authorities, in July of 2016, Health Canada announced January 1st, 2018 as the proposed date for mandatory filing of specified regulatory activities in eCTD format. This notice serves as a confirmation of this date.

Please be advised that exemption from the mandatory eCTD format requirement will be considered on a case by case basis. A request for an individual product exemption should be submitted, by email, to ereview@hc-sc.gc.ca. The subject line of the email should be “Mandatory eCTD Format - Exemption”. The content of the email request should contain the company name, product name, regulatory activity type, anticipated date of filing, rationale for the exemption as well as an intended plan for converting to eCTD format.

As of January 1st, 2018, the following regulatory activity types, as well as all additional information and subsequent regulatory activities/transactions (as per section 1.3 of the Guidance Document Preparation of Drug Regulatory Activities in eCTD Format) for human drugs, must be filed in eCTD format:

  • New Drug Submission (NDS);
  • Supplement to a New Drug Submission (SNDS);
  • Abbreviated New Drug Submission (ANDS); and
  • Supplement to an Abbreviated New Drug Submission (SANDS).

Regulatory activities for the following are recommended, however, not mandatory for filing in eCTD format:

  • Master Files;
  • Clinical Trial Applications (eCTD CTA pilot only);
  • Drug Identification Number (DIN) Applications and Post-Authorization Division 1 Changes (PDC) for Human drugs.

Regulatory activities for the following currently remain out of scope for filing in eCTD format; they must be filed in “non-eCTD electronic-only”:

  • Medical Devices;
  • Veterinary Drugs.

When applicable, regulatory transactions must be sent via the Common Electronic Submissions Gateway (CESG).  Refer to the Frequently Asked Questions - Common Electronic Submission Gateway (CESG FAQ) and the Notice - Mandatory Requirements for using the Common Electronic Submissions Gateway (CESG) documents for requirements and utilization of the CESG.

Questions regarding this notice can be sent to ereview@hc-sc.gc.ca.

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Médicaments et produits de santé

Avis – Utilisation obligatoire du format Electronic Common Technical Document (eCTD)

Le 24 avril 2017
Notre numéro de dossier : 17-104609-715

Santé Canada accepte les activités de réglementation au format eCTD depuis 2004. Au mois de décembre 2016, 84 % des activités de réglementation visées par la partie C, titre 8 du Règlement sur les aliments et drogues relatives aux médicaments à usage humain étaient soumises au format eCTD. À mesure que Santé Canada progresse vers un processus commun de réception des demandes afin de normaliser et d’améliorer ses processus et outils opérationnels, les promoteurs sont invités à tirer parti des nombreux avantages que présente le format eCTD.

Afin que ses processus continuent à cadrer avec ceux des autres organismes de réglementation, Santé Canada a annoncé, en juillet 2016, qu’il proposait la date butoir du 1erjanvier 2018 pour le dépôt obligatoire d’activités de réglementation particulières au format eCTD. Le présent avis confirme cette date.

Veuillez prendre note que toute demande d'exemption relative à l'utilisation de ce format obligatoire sera examinée au cas par cas. Toute demande d’exemption individuelle d’un produit devrait être acheminée par courriel à ereview@hc-sc.gc.ca. La ligne d’objet du courriel devrait indiquer « Exemption - format eCTD obligatoire ». La demande par courriel devrait inclure le nom de l’entreprise, le nom du produit, le type d’activité de réglementation, la date prévue du dépôt, la justification de la demande d’exemption ainsi que le plan prévu pour la conversion au format eCTD.

À compter du 1er janvier 2018, les types d’activités de réglementation ci-dessous, ainsi que toutes les activités de réglementation ou transactions connexes (conformément à l’article 1.3 de la Ligne directrice : Préparation des activités de réglementation des drogues en format eCTD) relatives aux médicaments à usage humain, doivent être déposés au format eCTD :

  • Présentation de drogue nouvelle (PDN);
  • Supplément à une présentation de drogue nouvelle (SPDN);
  • Présentation abrégée de drogue nouvelle (PADN);
  • Supplément à une présentation abrégée de drogue nouvelle (SPADN).

Le dépôt au format eCTD pour les activités de réglementation liées à ce qui suit est conseillé, mais pas obligatoire :

  • Fiches maîtresses;
  • Demandes d’essai clinique (projet pilote seulement en eCTD);
  • Demandes d'identification numérique de drogue (DIN) et changement post-autorisation de titre 1 (CPA) pour les médicaments à usage humain.

Les activités de réglementation liées à ce qui suit ne doivent pas être déposées au format eCTD pour le moment; elles doivent être soumises au format « électronique autre que le format eCTD » :

  • Instruments médicaux;
  • Médicaments à usage vétérinaire.

S'il y a lieu, les transactions réglementaires doivent être envoyées par l’intermédiaire du Portail commun de demandes électroniques. Consultez les documents Foire aux questions - Portail commun de demandes électroniques (FAQ PCDE) et Avis - Exigences obligatoires relatives à l’utilisation du Portail commun de demandes électroniques (PCDE) pour connaître les exigences et les consignes d’utilisation du PCDE.

Veuillez envoyer vos questions concernant le présent avis à ereview@hc-sc.gc.ca.