Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Drugs and Health Products

Notice - Patented Medicines (Notice of Compliance) Regulations

September 19, 2017
Our reference number: 17-106004-740

This notice applies in respect of the Patented Medicines (Notice of Compliance) Regulations.

In light of the Regulations Amending the Patented Medicines (Notice of Compliance) Regulations, 2017, Health Canada is in the process of updating the Guidance Document: Patented Medicines (Notice of Compliance) Regulations (“PM(NOC) Regulations”). In the interim, this Notice outlines updated information relating to Health Canada’s administration of the PM(NOC) Regulations as they read on or after September 21, 2017.

How to provide litigation information

As the Minister of Health will not be a party to actions for patent infringement under the amended PM(NOC) Regulations, litigation documents in such actions will no longer be served on the Minister. However, the Office of Patented Medicines and Liaison (“OPML”) within the Therapeutic Products Directorate (“TPD”) must have access to relevant information to determine whether there are any barriers under the PM(NOC) Regulations that would prohibit issuance of a notice of compliance (“NOC”) for a second person’s submission. As such, section 6.13 of the amended PM(NOC) Regulations requires a person who brings an action for infringement to provide the TPD with certain documents as soon as feasible. The TPD may also request any information or document required to assess whether NOC issuance is prohibited under section 7 of the PM(NOC) Regulations. If an action is brought, requests for verification of any portion of a submission served with a notice of allegation or produced in the litigation can be made under section 6.05 of the PM(NOC) Regulations.

All information related to litigation, including requests for verifications, must be submitted to the TPD electronically and no duplicate copy should be sent in paper format. Please provide the information by email to: opml_bmbl@hc-sc.gc.ca, or on an acceptable media format, using the requirements outlined below.

By email:

Litigation information should be provided via email unless it exceeds the size limit, in which case it should be provided on media.

  • The sender assumes the risk of transmitting confidential or sensitive information through email.
  • The maximum email size accepted by the corporate mail server is 20 megabytes, anything larger should be sent on media.
  • Documents contained in the email should not be password protected.
  • Please indicate PM(NOC) Regulations, the court file number and the stakeholder name in the subject line of the email.

On media:

The media formats acceptable when providing information are:

  • Compact Disc-Recordable (CD-R) conforming to the Joliet specification;
  • Digital Versatile Disc-Random Access Memory (DVD-RAM) Universal Disc Format (UDF) standard;
  • Single and dual layer Recordable Digital Versatile Discs;
  • Universal Serial Bus (USB) 2.0 or 3.0 drive.

Contact ereview@hc-sc.gc.ca for other media formats that may be acceptable at the time of providing the information.

  • Media and files should not be password protected.
  • Files stored on the media should not be zipped.
  • All information should be provided on a single disc/drive.
  • Media should be scanned using current virus-scanning software and should be certified virus-free.
  • All media should be labelled. The label on the disc/drive should contain the following information:
    • PM(NOC) Regulations
    • Stakeholder name
    • Court file number
    •  “This media has been virus-scanned and we certify that it is virus free”
  • Subsequent to burning the CD/DVD or transferring data to a drive, stakeholders should ensure that all files can be opened and no files are corrupt.
  • Information provided on approved media formats should be sent to the below address, to the attention of the OPML:

    Office of Submissions and Intellectual Property (OSIP)
    Finance Building
    101 Tunney's Pasture Driveway
    Address Locator: 0201A1
    Ottawa, Ontario
    K1A 0K9

How to provide other information

As is currently required, other information related to the PM(NOC) Regulations should be submitted in either the electronic Common Technical Document (“eCTD”) format or the non-eCTD electronic-only format. In accordance with Health Canada’s Frequently Asked Questions - Regulatory Activities in eCTD Format, regulatory transactions accepted in the eCTD format include:

  • Written correspondence related to the PM(NOC) Regulations;
  • Notice of allegation packages (e.g. including proof of service of the notice of allegation on the first person and certification of the date of filing of the submission) under the PM(NOC) Regulations;
  • Form IVs, including updates, filed in accordance with the PM(NOC) Regulations;
  • Form Vs, including updates, filed in accordance with the PM(NOC) Regulations; and
  • Consent letters (under the PM(NOC) Regulations).

For eCTD submissions, the regulatory transactions listed above should be submitted via the Common Electronic Submissions Gateway, as indicated in the Frequently Asked Questions - Common Electronic Submissions Gateway. For non-eCTD submissions, the above-noted information should be sent on an acceptable media format as indicated in the Guidance Document: Preparation of Drug Regulatory Activities in the 'Non-eCTD Electronic-Only' Format.

Form V update

Please note that updates have been made to the Form V: Declaration re: Patent List (“Form V”), in accordance with subsection 5(2.1) of the PM(NOC) Regulations. On or after September 21, 2017, second persons are required to use the new version of the Form V. However, there is no need to re-submit a Form V that was filed before September 21, 2017.

Verification

Section 6.05 of the PM(NOC) Regulations provides that, on the request of any party to an action under the regulations, the Minister must verify that any portion of a submission or supplement that is required to be served with a notice of allegation, or that is produced as a result of an order, corresponds to the information in the submission or supplement. As noted above, the documents to be verified are now to be provided directly to the TPD. To facilitate the verification process, parties are encouraged to continue to provide good quality copies of documents that are indexed using the format found in the example below, with respect to their location within the original submission or supplement. This format is similar to that requested for verifications under subsection 6(7) of the pre-September 21, 2017 version of the PM(NOC) Regulations.

If the productions are not formatted in a format acceptable to the TPD, they may be rejected for verification. To this effect, productions should be formatted as follows:

Index: The documents should be indexed and tabbed. The index should denote the location of the documents from within the production. It is important to note that providing detailed descriptions and information in the index will assist the TPD in locating the documents and verifying the production efficiently.

Description of Item: If multiple versions of a document were filed in respect of the relevant submission, for example a product monograph, add the “date of preparation” to the description (see Tab 2 of the example below).

If multiple documents have similar titles, use a distinguishing name and/or highlight the difference(s) between the documents (see Tab 6 of the example below).

Location: If a document is located in a Master File, provide the Master File number and note whether the document can be found in the Unrestricted/Open or Restricted/Closed portion of the file (see Tabs 4 and 5 of the example below).

Pages within a tab: When only certain pages are provided for verification from a larger document, note the page numbers to be verified in the index and the complete number of pages of the document (see Tab 3 of the example below).

Tabs: Use a naming convention similar to “Tab 3 - [name of document]” when formatting the electronic production. If there are multiple documents contained in one tab, use one New Folder per tab (see Tab 7 of the example below).

Sample Index Example
Tab Sequence Section Description of Item Location
1 0002 3.2.S.1.2 Quality - Body of Data - Drug Substance - Stability - Stability Data - Supplier Commitment [Submission no.]
2 0005 1.3.1 Non-Annotated Product Monograph [date of preparation] [Submission no.]
3 0004 3.2.S.3 Characterization, pp. 416-423 of 739 [Submission no.]
4 0000 1.0.4 Master File [Master File No.] - Administrative Information and Prescribing Information - Quality Overall Summary Master File [Master File No.] - Open Portion or Closed Portion
5 The portions of [drug manufacturer name]’s Master File [Master File No.] that comprise the Productions are the following:
0001 3.2.S.1 General Information, pp. 6-7 of 739 Unrestricted Part or Restricted Part
6 0009 5.3.1.2 Comparative Bioavailability and Bioequivalence Study Reports: Comparative, Randomized 2-way Crossover Bioavailability Study of Tablets Under Fed Conditions, Drug Concentration by Formulation [Submission no.]
Comparative Bioavailability and Bioequivalence  Study Reports: Comparative, Randomized 2-way Crossover Bioavailability Study of Tablets Under Fasting Conditions, Drug Concentration by Formulation
7 0003 3.2.1.5 Drug Product - Specification(s) [drug name] - 10-mg-release-specifications [Submission no.]
Drug Product - Specification(s) [drug name] - 15-mg-release-specifications [Submission no.]
Drug Product - Specification(s) [drug name] - 20-mg-release-specifications [Submission no.]

Paper Version of the Patent Register

As of September 21, 2017, the TPD will no longer maintain a paper version of the Patent Register. The Patent Register continues to be available electronically for public inspection.

Addition of Certificates of Supplementary Protection to the Patent Register

Once issued, all Certificates of Supplementary Protection will be assessed by the TPD in accordance with subsection 4(3.1) of the PM(NOC) Regulations for eligibility to be added to the Patent Register without requiring a separate form or request from the first person. It is possible that a Certificate of Supplementary Protection will be added to the Patent Register before publication on the Register of Certificates of Supplementary Protection and Applications.

Questions related to this Notice should be directed to the Office of Patented Medicines and Liaison at: opml_bmbl@hc-sc.gc.ca

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Médicaments et produits de santé

Avis - Règlement sur les médicaments brevetés (avis de conformité)

Le 19 septembre 2017
Notre numéro de dossier : 17-106004-740

Le présent avis s'applique en vertu du Règlement sur les médicaments brevetés (avis de conformité).

Compte tenu du Règlement de 2017 modifiant le Règlement sur les médicaments brevetés (avis de conformité), Santé Canada a entrepris de mettre à jour la Ligne directrice : Règlement sur les médicaments brevetés (avis de conformité) (le « Règlement sur les MB(AC) »). Entre-temps, cet avis présente les derniers renseignements relatifs à l'application par Santé Canada du Règlement sur les MB(AC) dans leur version du 21 septembre 2017.

Comment transmettre des renseignements relatifs à un litige

Puisque le ministre de la Santé ne sera plus partie aux actions en contrefaçon de brevet en vertu du Règlement sur les MB(AC) modifié, la documentation relative au litige ne lui sera plus signifiée. Toutefois, le Bureau des médicaments brevetés et liaison (BMBL) de la Direction des produits thérapeutiques (DPT) doit avoir accès aux renseignements pertinents pour déterminer s'il existe des obstacles en vertu du Règlement sur les MB(AC) qui interdiraient la délivrance d'un avis de conformité en réponse à la présentation d'une seconde personne. Par conséquent, l'article 6.13 du Règlement sur les MB(AC) modifié exige qu'une personne qui dépose une action en contrefaçon transmette aussitôt que possible certains documents à la DPT. La DPT peut également demander d'obtenir tout renseignement ou document requis pour déterminer si l'article 7 du Règlement sur les MB(AC) interdit la délivrance d'un avis de conformité. Si une action est entreprise, il est possible de déposer une demande de vérification de toute partie d'une présentation signifiée avec un avis d'allégation ou produite au cours du litige en vertu de l'article 6.05 du Règlement sur les MB(AC).

Tous les renseignements reliés au litige, y compris les demandes de vérification, doivent être envoyés à la DPT par voie électronique; aucune copie papier ne doit être envoyée. Veuillez envoyer les renseignements par courriel à : opml_bmbl@hc-sc.gc.ca, ou sur un support électronique acceptable en suivant les exigences indiquées ci-après.

Par courriel :

Les renseignements relatifs au litige doivent être envoyés par courriel à moins qu'ils excèdent la taille permise, auquel cas ils doivent être soumis sur un support électronique.

  • L'expéditeur assume les risques liés à la transmission par courriel de renseignements confidentiels ou de nature délicate.
  • La taille maximale acceptée par le serveur de courriels de l'entreprise est de 20 mégaoctets. Les documents excédant cette taille doivent être transmis sur support électronique.
  • Les documents envoyés par courriel ne devraient pas être protégés par un mot de passe.
  • Veuillez inscrire Règlement sur les MB(AC), le numéro de dossier de cour et le nom de l'intervenant(e) de la cause dans l'objet du courriel.

Sur support électronique :

Les supports électroniques acceptables pour la soumission de renseignements sont les suivants :

  • CD inscriptibles (CD-R) conformes à la norme Joliet;
  • Disques numériques polyvalents réinscriptibles (DVD-RAM) formatés selon la norme Universal Disk Format (UDF);
  • Disques numériques polyvalents (DVD) inscriptibles monocouches et doubles couches;
  • Clés USB 2.0 ou 3.0.

Veuillez communiquer avec ereview@hc-sc.gc.ca pour connaître les autres formats de support électronique acceptables au moment du fournir les renseignements.

  • Les supports et les fichiers ne devraient pas être protégés par des mots de passe.
  • Les fichiers enregistrés sur le support ne devraient pas être compressés.
  • Tous les renseignements doivent être transmis en totalité sur un seul disque ou lecteur.
  • Les supports doivent être analysés au moyen d'un programme de détection de virus à jour et certifiés exempts de virus.
  • Tous les supports devraient être étiquetés. Les étiquettes figurant sur le disque ou le lecteur doivent comporter les renseignements suivants :
    • Règlement sur les MB(AC)
    • Nom de l'intervenant(e)
    • Numéro de dossier de la Cour
    • « Ce support a été analysé par un logiciel antivirus et nous attestons qu'il est exempt de virus. »
  • Après avoir gravé le CD ou le DVD ou transféré les données sur un lecteur USB, les intervenants doivent veiller à ce que tous les fichiers puissent être ouverts et à ce qu'ils ne soient pas corrompus.
  • Les renseignements doivent être transmis sur un support électronique approuvé à l'adresse suivante :

    Bureau des présentations et de la propriété intellectuelle (BPPI)
    Immeuble des Finances
    101, promenade du pré Tunney
    Indice de l'adresse : 0201A1
    Ottawa, Ontario
    K1A 0K9

Comment transmettre d'autres renseignements

Actuellement, il est exigé que les autres renseignements reliés au Règlement sur les MB(AC) soient transmis soit en format electronic Common Technical Document (« eCTD ») soit en format électronique autre que le format eCTD. Conformément à la Foires aux questions - Les activités de réglementation en format eCTD de Santé Canada, les transactions de réglementation acceptées en format eCTD comprennent :

  • La correspondance reliée au Règlement sur les MB(AC);
  • Les dossiers d'avis d'allégation (comprenant par exemple une preuve de la signification de l'avis d'allégation à la première personne et une attestation de la date de dépôt de la présentation) en vertu du Règlement sur les MB(AC);
  • Le formulaire IV, y compris ses mises à jour, déposé conformément au Règlement sur les MB(AC);
  • Le formulaire V, y compris ses mises à jour, déposé conformément au Règlement sur les MB(AC);
  • Les lettres de consentement (en vertu du Règlement sur les MB(AC)).

Dans le cas des demandes en format eCTD, les transactions de réglementation ci-dessus doivent être transmises par le Portail commun de demandes électroniques, comme mentionné dans la Foires aux questions - Portail commun de demandes électroniques. Pour les demandes en format autre que le format eCTD, les renseignements indiqués ci-dessus doivent être envoyés sur un support électronique acceptable, comme prévu par la Ligne Directrice : Préparation des activités de réglementation en format « Électronique autre que le format eCTD ».

Mise à jour du formulaire V

Veuillez prendre note que les mises à jour apportées au formulaire V : Déclaration relative à la liste des brevets (le « formulaire V ») sont conformes au paragraphe 5(2.1) du Règlement sur les MB(AC). À partir du 21 septembre 2017, les secondes personnes devront utiliser la nouvelle version du formulaire V. Il n'est toutefois pas nécessaire de déposer un nouveau formulaire V si celui-ci a été déposé avant le 21 septembre 2017.

Vérification

L'article 6.05 du Règlement sur les MB(AC) indique que sur demande de toute partie à une action interjetée en vertu du Règlement, le ministre doit vérifier que toute section d'une présentation ou d'un supplément devant être signifiée avec un avis d'allégation, ou être produite en raison d'une ordonnance, correspond à l'information indiquée dans la présentation ou le supplément. Comme il a été mentionné précédemment, les documents à vérifier doivent désormais être directement transmis à la DPT. Pour faciliter le processus de vérification, nous encourageons les parties à transmettre des reproductions de documents de bonne qualité et indexées selon le format utilisé dans l'exemple suivant, en fonction de leur emplacement dans la présentation ou le supplément original. Ce format est semblable à celui exigé pour les vérifications effectuées en vertu du paragraphe 6(7) de la version du Règlement sur les MB(AC) antérieure au 21 septembre 2017.

La documentation qui n'est pas présentée dans un format acceptable pour la DPT pourrait être rejetée pour la vérification. Le format acceptable est le suivant :

Index : Les documents doivent être indexées et être indiquées par des onglets. L'index doit indiquer l'emplacement des documents dans la documentation. Il est important de noter qu'un index fournissant des descriptions et des renseignements détaillés aidera la DPT à trouver les documents et à vérifier la documentation efficacement.

Description des éléments : Si plusieurs versions d'un même document, comme une monographie de produit, ont été déposées pour une présentation particulière, ajoutez la « date de préparation » à la description (voir l'onglet 2 de l'exemple ci-dessous).

Si plusieurs documents ont des titres semblables, utilisez un nom distinct ou soulignez les différences entre les documents (voir l'onglet 6 de l'exemple ci-dessous).

Emplacement : Si un document se trouve dans une fiche maîtresse, fournissez le numéro de la fiche et précisez si le document se trouve dans la partie libre accès/ouverte ou accès restreint/fermée de la fiche (voir les onglets 4 et 5 de l'exemple ci-dessous).

Pages se trouvant dans un onglet : Lorsque seulement certaines pages d'un document plus imposant sont transmises pour vérification, indiquez dans l'index le numéro des pages à vérifier et le nombre de pages total du document (voir l'onglet 3 de l'exemple ci-dessous).

Onglets : Utilisez une convention d'appellation similaire à ceci : « Onglet 3 - [nom du document] » lorsque vous mettez la documentation électronique en forme. Si un onglet comprend plusieurs documents, utilisez un nouveau dossier par onglet (voir l'onglet 7 de l'exemple ci-dessous).

Exemple d'index
Onglet Séquence Section Description de l'élément Emplacement
1 0002 3.2.S.1.2 Qualité - Corps des données - Substance pharmaceutique - Stabilité - Données sur la stabilité - Engagement du fournisseur [Nº de présentation]
2 0005 1.3.1 Monographie de produit non annotée [date de préparation] [Nº de présentation]
3 0004 3.2.S.3 Caractérisation, aux pages 416 à 423 de 739 pages. [Nº de présentation]
4 0000 1.0.4 Fiche maîtresse [Nº de la fiche maîtresse] - Information concernant l'administration et la posologie - Sommaire global de la qualité Fiche maîtresse [Nº de la fiche maîtresse] - Partie ouverte ou partie fermée
5 Les parties de la fiche maîtresse [Nº de la fiche maîtresse] de [nom du fabricant du médicament] faisant partie de la documentation sont les suivantes :
0001 3.2.S.1 Information générale, pages 6 et 7 de 739 pages Partie en libre accès ou partie à accès restreint
6 0009 5.3.1.2 Rapports sur les études comparatives de biodisponibilité et de bioéquivalence : étude comparative, randomisée et croisée, à deux cohortes de la biodisponibilité des comprimés chez des sujets nourris, concentration du médicament par formulation [Nº de présentation]
Rapports sur les Études comparatives de biodisponibilité et de bioéquivalence : étude comparative, randomisée et croisée, à deux cohortes de la biodisponibilité des comprimés chez des sujets à jeun, concentration du médicament par formulation
7 0003 3.2.1.5 Produit pharmaceutique - Spécification(s) [nom du médicament] - Spécifications de mise en circulation (10 mg) [Nº de présentation]
Produit pharmaceutique - Spécification(s) [nom du médicament] - Spécifications de mise en circulation (15 mg) [Nº de présentation]
Produit pharmaceutique - Spécification(s) [nom du médicament] - Spécifications de mise en circulation (20 mg) [Nº de présentation]

Version papier du Regisre des brevets

En date du 21 septembre 2017, la DPT ne conservera plus de version papier du Registre des brevets. Le Registre des brevets sera accessible à la consultation publique par voie électronique.

Ajout de certificats de protection supplémentaire au Registre des brevets

Après avoir été délivrés, tous les certificats de protection supplémentaire seront évalués par la DPT conformément au paragraphe 4(3.1) du Règlement sur les MB(AC) pour déterminer s'ils peuvent être ajoutés au Registre des brevets sans autre formulaire distinct ou demande de la part de la première personne. Il est possible qu'un certificat de protection supplémentaire soit ajouté au Registre des brevets avant sa publication sur le registre des certificats de protection supplémentaire et des demandes.

Les questions relatives au présent avis doivent être adressées au Bureau des médicaments brevetés et liaison à l'adresse :

Courriel : opml_bmbl@hc-sc.gc.ca