Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Drugs and Health Products

Notice - To All Persons Interested in Importing, Advertising or Selling Electronic Smoking Products in Canada

Help on accessing alternative formats, such as Portable Document Format (PDF), Microsoft Word and PowerPoint (PPT) files, can be obtained in the alternate format help section.

March 27, 2009

Our file number: 09-108446-55

To All Persons Interested in Importing, Advertising or Selling Electronic Smoking Products in Canada

Electronic smoking products (i.e., electronic products for the vaporization and administration of inhaled doses of nicotine including electronic cigarettes, cigars, cigarillos and pipes, as well as cartridges of nicotine solutions and related products) fall within the scope of the Food and Drugs Act. All of these products require market authorization prior to being imported, advertised or sold in Canada. Market authorization is granted by Health Canada following successful review of scientific evidence demonstrating safety, quality and efficacy with respect to the intended purpose of the health product. This evidence is provided by the sponsor seeking market authorization. To date, no electronic smoking product has been authorized for sale by Health Canada.

In the absence of evidence provided by the sponsor establishing otherwise, an electronic smoking product delivering nicotine is regulated as a New Drug under Division 8, Part C of the Food and Drug Regulations. In addition, the delivery system within an electronic smoking kit that contains nicotine must meet the requirements of the Medical Devices Regulations. Appropriate establishment licences issued by Health Canada are also needed prior to importing, and manufacturing electronic cigarettes.

Health Canada is aware that some electronic smoking products have been advertised and sold in Canada without market authorization from Health Canada. Persons who may be importing, advertising or selling electronic smoking products without the appropriate authorizations are asked to stop doing so immediately. Products that are found to pose a risk to health and/or are in violation of the Food and Drugs Act and related Regulations may be subject to compliance and enforcement actions in accordance with the Health Products and Food Branch Inspectorate's Compliance and Enforcement Policy (POL-0001).

If you wish to submit a complaint about the advertising or sale of a health product without market authorization, please contact the Health Products and Food Branch Inspectorate.

The following Web links are provided for your information:

Sponsors interested in seeking market authorisation for electronic smoking products may contact Health Canada's Therapeutic Products Directorate for information about the drug submission process at: SIPDMail@hc-sc.gc.ca.

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Médicaments et produits de santé

Avis - À toutes les personnes qui souhaitent importer, annoncer ou vendre des cigarettes électroniques au Canada

Si vous avez besoin d'aide pour accéder aux formats de rechange, tels que Portable Document Format (PDF), Microsoft Word et PowerPoint (PPT), visitez la section d'aide sur les formats de rechange.

27 mars 2009

Notre numéro de dossier : 09-108446-55

À toutes les personnes qui souhaitent importer, annoncer ou vendre des cigarettes électroniques au Canada

Les cigarettes électroniques (c.-à-d. les produits électroniques servant à vaporiser et à administrer par inhalation des doses de nicotine, notamment les cigarettes, les cigares, les cigarillos et les pipes électroniques, ainsi que les cartouches de solution de nicotine et les produits connexes) relèvent de la Loi sur les aliments et drogues. Une autorisation de mise en marché doit être obtenue pour tous ces produits avant qu'un promoteur puisse les importer, les vendre ou les annoncer au Canada. Santé Canada délivre une autorisation de mise en marché à la suite d'un examen des données scientifiques démontrant l'innocuité, la qualité et l'efficacité du produit de santé relativement à l'usage auquel il est destiné. Ces données sont fournies par le promoteur qui demande l'autorisation de mise en marché. Jusqu'à maintenant, Santé Canada n'a autorisé la vente d'aucune cigarette électronique.

À moins que le promoteur ne fournisse des données démontrant qu'une cigarette électronique qui libère de la nicotine n'est pas une drogue nouvelle, ce produit est réglementé comme tel en vertu du titre 8, partie C, du Règlement sur les aliments et drogues. Le système de libération qui fait partie d'une cigarette électronique contenant de la nicotine doit également satisfaire aux exigences du Règlement sur les instruments médicaux. De plus, il faut obtenir les licences d'établissement requises auprès de Santé Canada avant d'importer et de fabriquer des cigarettes électroniques.

Santé Canada sait que certaines cigarettes électroniques ont été annoncées et vendues au Canada sans autorisation de mise en marché du Ministère. Nous demandons aux personnes qui importent, annoncent ou vendent des cigarettes électroniques sans avoir obtenu les autorisations requises de cesser de le faire immédiatement. Les produits qui sont considérés comme posant un risque pour la santé ou qui contreviennent à la Loi sur les aliments et drogues et aux règlements connexes pourraient faire l'objet de mesures de vérification de la conformité et d'application de la loi conformément à la Politique de conformité et d'application (POL-0001) de l'Inspectorat de la Direction générale des produits de santé et des aliments.

Si vous souhaitez déposer une plainte concernant l'annonce ou la vente d'un produit de santé sans autorisation de mise en marché, veuillez communiquer avec l'Inspectorat de la Direction générale des produits de santé et des aliments.

Voici, à titre d'information, quelques liens Internet :

Les promoteurs qui comptent demander une autorisation de mise en marché pour des cigarettes électroniques peuvent communiquer avec la Direction des produits thérapeutiques de Santé Canada à l'adresse SIPDMail@hc-sc.gc.ca afin d'obtenir des renseignements sur le processus de présentation de drogues.