Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Help the Government of Canada organize its website! Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.
Drugs and Health Products

Health Canada's Clinical Trials Database

Health Canada, through its Clinical Trials Database, is providing to the public a listing of specific information relating to phase I, II and III clinical trials in patients. The database is managed by Health Canada and provides a source of information about Canadian clinical trials involving human pharmaceutical and biological drugs.

Patients can access the database to determine if a clinical trial has met the regulatory requirements. The database may also assist Canadians in finding clinical trials that might be relevant to their medical condition.

The Clinical Trials Database is not a registry, and therefore, it does not contain comprehensive information about each clinical trial.  To maximise use of the database and available information, users are advised to link to external resources, including publicly available registries, to obtain further information such as trial objectives and patient eligibility.  Note however that not all clinical trials are necessarily registered and thus found in these registries.  Health Canada continues to encourage sponsors to register their clinical trials in publically accessible registries such as Next link will take you to another Web site Clinical Trials.gov and Next link will take you to another Web site ISRCTN.  A Canadian-based registry for cancer trials is also available at Next link will take you to another Web site Canadian Cancer Trials.  Additionally, the search portal provided by the Next link will take you to another Web site World Health Organization (WHO) can be used to access a central database that contains information about trials registered in several international registries.

Health Canada is the federal regulator responsible for authorizing the importation and sale of drugs for the purpose of clinical trials. This responsibility is fulfilled through the review of clinical trial applications (CTAs) for phase I, II, and III clinical trials, filed by clinical trial sponsors. One of the objectives of Health Canada's review is to ascertain that subjects participating in the trial will not be exposed to undue risks.

Every year, Health Canada authorizes approximately 900 clinical trials in patients. The database lists trials that were authorized by Health Canada starting April 1, 2013. The database will be populated with information about each clinical trial after Health Canada issues its No-Objection-Letter (see terminology section for a definition). Thus, following the launch, the number of clinical trials available in the database is expected to be small, but the number will increase with time as the database is populated.

Information Listed in the Database

The database will provide the following information on clinical trials for which a CTA has been authorized:

  • Protocol Number;
  • Protocol Title;
  • Drug Name;
  • Medical Condition;
  • Study population;
  • Date of No Objection Letter;
  • Sponsor Name;
  • Control Number;
  • Study Start Date;
  • Study End Date;
  • Trial Status.

Please consult the CTA terminology section of this website for a definition of each of these terms.

The sponsor of the clinical trial should be contacted for more information about a trial's objectives, patient enrolment criteria, potential clinical trial sites, and to confirm the status of a trial. Health Canada will not be providing detailed sponsor contact information, or any other details about the clinical trial, other than what is found in the database. Sponsor contact information should be obtained through an internet search.

It is important to note that Health Canada is not a sponsor of clinical trials, and the Clinical Trials Database is not meant to be a patient recruitment tool. Individuals wishing to obtain more information on clinical trials found in the database should speak with their own physician and contact the clinical trial sponsor.

Please Note

Although the database includes information about all drug clinical trials in patients, the database does not contain the following:

  • Clinical trials in healthy volunteers. Health Canada authorizes clinical trials involving healthy volunteers, such as bioavailability or bioequivalence trials, first-in-human trials (that is, when a new drug is administered for the first time in humans), pharmacokinetic studies, drug-drug interaction studies, etc.; however, information about these trials is not included in the database.
  • Clinical trials conducted with natural health products and medical devices. Health Canada also authorizes trials involving natural health products and devices; however, information about these trials is not contained within the database at this time.
  • Phase IV trials. Phase IV trials are studies carried out with a marketed drug under its approved conditions of use, and a CTA is not required to be filed with Health Canada. Therefore, information about these studies is not reviewed by Health Canada prior to the start of the trial, and is not contained within the database.

The information in the database is provided by the sponsor of the trial. The database may be updated with new information, such as a change in sponsor name and trial start and end date.

Clinical trial sponsors are not required to inform Health Canada when a trial is completed. Although sponsors typically provide this information, some information can be missing, or dates can change leading to some discrepancies. Therefore, it is possible that trials that appear to be ongoing may actually be completed. Sponsors should be contacted for the most up-to-date and accurate information about the status of a clinical trial.

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Médicaments et produits de santé

Base de données sur les essais cliniques de Santé Canada

Certains hyperliens donnent accès à des sites d'organismes qui ne sont pas assujettis à la  Loi sur les langues officielles. L'information qui s'y trouve est donc dans la langue du site.

Santé Canada, grâce à sa base de données sur les essais cliniques, donne à la population une liste de renseignements précis sur les essais cliniques des phases I, II et III chez les patients. Gérée par Santé Canada, la base de données constitue une source d'information sur les essais cliniques effectués au Canada avec les médicaments pharmaceutiques et biologiques à usage humain.

Le public peut accéder à la base de données pour savoir si un essai clinique respecte les exigences réglementaires. La base de données peut aussi aider les Canadiens à trouver les essais cliniques pouvant être pertinents pour leur problème médical.

La base de données sur les essais cliniques n'est pas un registre. Par conséquent, elle ne contient pas toute l'information sur chaque essai clinique. Afin de maximiser l'utilisation de la base de données et l'information disponible, il est conseillé aux utilisateurs d'avoir accès à des ressources externes, y compris les registres accessibles au public, pour obtenir plus de renseignements, comme les objectifs des essais et l'admissibilité des patients. Cependant, veuillez prendre note que ce ne sont pas tous les essais cliniques qui sont nécessairement enregistrés et qu'ils ne se trouvent pas tous dans les registres. Santé Canada continue d'encourager les promoteurs à enregistrer leurs essais cliniques dans les deux registres accessibles au public actuellement disponibles, comme Le lien suivant vous amènera à un autre site Web Clinical Trials.gov et Le lien suivant vous amènera à un autre site Web ISRCTN. Un registre canadien pour les essais sur le cancer est aussi accessible à Le lien suivant vous amènera à un autre site Web Essais canadiens sur le cancer. De plus, le portail de recherche fourni par Le lien suivant vous amènera à un autre site Web l'Organisation mondiale de la Santé (OMS) peut être utilisé pour accéder à une base de données centrale contenant de l'information sur les essais enregistrés dans plusieurs registres internationaux.

Santé Canada est l'organisme fédéral de réglementation chargé d'autoriser l'importation et la vente de médicaments pour les essais cliniques. Cette responsabilité est remplie grâce à l'examen des demandes d'essai clinique pour les essais cliniques des phases I, II et III, demandes qui sont remplies par les promoteurs de ces essais. L'un des objectifs de l'examen de Santé Canada est de veiller à ce que les sujets participant à l'essai ne soient pas exposés à des risques excessifs.

Chaque année, Santé Canada autorise des demandes d'essai clinique pour quelque 900 essais cliniques auprès de patients. La base de données répertorie les demandes d'essai clinique qui ont été autorisées par Santé Canada à compter du 1er avril 2013. La base de données sera constituée de renseignements sur chaque essai clinique pour lequel Santé Canada a émis une lettre de non-objection (consulter la partie de la terminologie sur les demandes d'essai clinique pour obtenir une définition). Par conséquent, on s'attend à ce que, suite au lancement, les essais cliniques disponibles dans la base de données soient peu nombreux, mais aussi à ce que le nombre augmente au fil du temps.

Information répertoriée dans la base de données

La base de données fournira l'information suivante sur les essais cliniques pour lesquels une demande d'essai clinique a été autorisée.

  • Numéro de protocole;
  • Titre du protocole;
  • Nom du médicament;
  • Condition médicale;
  • Population à l'étude;
  • Date de la lettre de non-objection;
  • Nom du promoteur;
  • Numéro de contrôle;
  • Date du début de l'étude;
  • Date de la fin de l'étude;
  • Statut de l'essai.

Veuillez consulter la section de la terminologie sur la demande d'essai clinique du site Web pour obtenir une définition de chacun de ces termes.

Il faudra communiquer avec le promoteur de l'essai clinique pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements tels les objectifs de l'essai, les critères de participation du patient, les sites où l'essai a lieu ou pour confirmer le statut de l'essai. Santé Canada ne fournira pas de coordonnées précises sur le promoteur ou tout autre détail sur l'essai clinique, à l'exception de ce qui se trouve dans la base de données. Les coordonnées du promoteur devraient être obtenues grâce à une recherche sur Internet.

Il est important de noter que Santé Canada n'est pas un promoteur d'essais cliniques et que la base de données sur les essais cliniques n'a pas pour but d'être un outil pour le recrutement des patients. Les personnes souhaitant obtenir plus de renseignements sur les essais cliniques de la base de données doivent parler avec leur propre médecin et communiquer avec le promoteur.

Veuillez prendre note

Même si la base de données comprend de l'information sur tous les essais cliniques de médicaments chez les patients, la base de données ne contient pas ce qui suit.

  • Les essais cliniques menés auprès de volontaires en santé. Santé Canada autorise les essais cliniques avec des volontaires en santé, comme les essais sur la biodisponibilité et la bioéquivalence, les premiers essais chez les humains (c.-à-d. quand un nouveau médicament est administré pour la première fois chez l'humain), les études pharmacocinétiques, les interactions médicament médicament, etc. Cependant, l'information sur ces essais n'est pas comprise dans la base de données.
  • Les essais cliniques menés avec des produits de santé naturels et des instruments médicaux. Santé Canada autorise aussi les essais concernant les produits de santé naturels et les instruments médicaux. Cependant, l'information sur ces essais ne se trouve pas dans la base de données à l'heure actuelle.
  • Essais de la phase IV. Les essais de la phase IV sont des études menées au moyen d'un médicament commercialisé dans ses conditions d'utilisation approuvées. De plus, il n'est pas nécessaire de remplir une demande d'essai clinique à Santé Canada. Par conséquent, l'information sur ces études n'est pas examinée par Santé Canada avant le début de l'essai et ne se trouve pas dans la base de données.

L'information dans la base de données est soumise par le promoteur de l'essai. La base de données peut être mise à jour au moyen de nouveaux renseignements, comme une modification du nom du promoteur, ainsi que de la date de début et de fin de l'essai.

Les promoteurs d'essais cliniques ne sont pas tenus d'informer Santé Canada de la fin d'un essai. Même si les promoteurs donnent habituellement ces renseignements, il se peut que cette information soit manquante dans la base de données. Il est donc possible que des essais semblant être en cours soit, en réalité, terminés. Il faudrait communiquer avec les promoteurs pour obtenir l'information la plus précise et la plus à jour quant au statut d'un essai clinique.