Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Drugs and Health Products

Drug Products

Before drug products are authorized for sale in Canada, Health Canada reviews them to assess their safety, efficacy and quality. Drug products include prescription and non-prescription pharmaceuticals, disinfectants and sanitizers with disinfectant claims.

Prior to being given market authorization, a manufacturer must present substantive scientific evidence of a product's safety, efficacy and quality as required by the Food and Drugs Act and Regulations.

When a product is offered for sale in Canada to treat or prevent diseases or symptoms, it is regulated as a drug under the Food and Drugs Act.

Additional information on how drugs are approved and authorized in Canada is available on the fact sheet "How Drugs are Reviewed in Canada".

What information can you find here?

This section contains fee information, guidance documents, forms and policies needed to submit all the different types of applications.

The Activities section contains information supporting Health Canada's regulation of drug products, including announcements, consultations and fact sheets as well as various projects and committees.

Complete listings of Advisories, Warnings and Recalls for health professionals and the public are available on the MedEffect Canada section.

There are links to our Patent Register Database, an alphabetical listing of patented medicines, and our Drug Product Database, which contains product and company information on drug products marketed in Canada. There is also a link to the Notices of Compliance.

TheáSubmissions Under Reviewálist includes the medicinal ingredient(s) and therapeutic area for new active substances that are accepted into review on or after April 1, 2015.

Summary Basis of Decision documents are available, which outline the scientific and benefit/risk based decisions that factor into Health Canada's decision to grant market authorization for a drug or medical device.

We also provide information to support the role of the federal regulatory authority such as the International Harmonization of drugs for human use, Science Advisory Committees, Association Meetings and Performance Reports. Many of these activities are carried out with the participation of clients, stakeholders and the general public.

The Progressive Licensing Project has been initiated to develop a drug regulatory system for the future, and gives details of the plan for developing a new framework, and provides an opportunity for discussion with Canadians regarding drug licensing.

Information about nanotechnology-based health products and food.

Related Resources

Warning: Unknown: Unable to allocate memory for pool. in Unknown on line 0 Médicaments - Page principale - Santé Canada
Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Médicaments et produits de santé

Médicaments

Avant que les médicaments ne soient autorisés pour la vente au Canada, Santé Canada évalue leur innocuité, leur efficacité et leur qualité. Les médicaments, incluent les produits pharmaceutiques sur ordonnance et sans ordonnance, les désinfectants et des produits d'hygiène revendiquant un pouvoir désinfectant.

Avant d'avoir l'autorisation de commercialiser un produit, le fabricant doit présenter une preuve scientifique substantielle de l'innocuité, de l'efficacité et de la qualité du produit comme le requiert la Loi sur les aliments et drogues.

Quand un produit est vendu pour traiter ou prévenir des maladies ou des symptômes, il est considéré comme un médicament et est assujetti à la Loi sur les aliments et drogues et ses Règlements.

Des renseignements supplémentaires sur comment les médicaments sont approuvés et autorisés au Canada sont disponibles sur la fiche de renseignements « Comment les médicaments sont examinés au Canada ».

Ressources disponibles

Cette section contient l'information sur les frais, les lignes directrices, les formulaires et politiques nécessaires pour soumettre tous les différents types de demandes.

La section des Activités contient de l'information à l'appui de la réglementation des médicaments par Santé Canada, y compris des annonces, des consultations, des feuillets d'information ainsi que divers projets et comités.

Dans la section MedEffet Canada, vous trouverez une liste complète des Avis, mises en garde et retraits à l'intention du public et des professionnels de la santé.

Il y a aussi des liens au Registre des brevets, une liste en ordre alphabétique des médicaments brevetés, et notre Base de données sur les produits pharmaceutiques, qui contient une compilation d'informations sur les compagnies et sur les médicaments commercialisés au Canada, et aux Avis de conformité.

La liste des présentations en cours d'examen comprend l'ingrédient médicinal et la domaine thérapeutique pour les nouvelles substances actives acceptées à l'étape d'examen le ou après le 1er avril 2015.

Les Sommaires des motifs de décision sont disponibles. Ils définissent les décisions scientifiques et les décisions liées aux avantages et risques jouant un rôle dans la décision de Santé Canada d'accorder une autorisation de mise en marché pour un médicament ou un instrument médical.

Nous fournissons aussi de l'information sur le rôle d'autorité de réglementation fédéral tel que l'harmonisation internationale des médicaments pour usage humain, des comités consultatifs scientifiques, des rencontres d'associations et des rapports de rendement. Plusieurs de ces activités sont effectuées avec la participation de clients, de parties intéressées et du grand public.

Le projet d'homologation progressive a été lancé pour élaborer un futur régime de réglementation des médicaments, et montre en détail le plan d'élaboration de ce nouveau cadre, et permet aux Canadiens de s'exprimer sur l'homologation des médicaments.

Renseignements sur les produits de santé et des aliments qui proviennent de la nanotechnologie.

Ressources connexes