Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Drugs and Health Products

Notice of Compliance

Definition: A Notice of Compliance is a notification, issued pursuant to paragraph C.08.004(1)(a), indicating that a manufacturer has complied with sections C.08.002 or C.08.003 and C.08.005.1 of the Food and Drug Regulations. Notices of Compliance are issued to a manufacturer following the satisfactory review of a submission.

All Notices of Compliance with conditions (NOC/c) will be included in this listing. A notation "issued under the NOC/c policy" will be made after the Brand Name to indicate this type of NOC. For further information, please see the NOC/c Fact Sheet.

There are two ways to find information about NOCs.

A searchable database of NOCs issued since 1994

A listing of NOCs issued since 1991

The online NOC Data Extract will be updated weekly, every Friday.

For general questions about the contents of the NOC Database contact: SIPD-Submissions@hc-sc.gc.ca

For technical support about the database contact: NOC Database Administrator@hc-sc.gc.ca

Post Authorization Links:

For current market status the complementary Drug Products Database (DPD) is also available on Health Canada's website. It lists those drugs that are commercially available in Canada and reflects the drug sponsor's decision to market a drug.

The Advisories and Warnings webpage posted by the Marketed Health Products Directorate (MHPD), Therapeutic Products Directorate (TPD) and the Biologics and Genetic Therapies Directorate (BGTD) contains safety alerts, public health advisories, press releases and other notices from industry as a service to health professionals, consumers, and other interested parties.

The Veterinary Drugs Directorate (VDD) maintains a webpage on both the safety and efficacy of authorized veterinary drugs used in animals, and the safety of humans who either handle these products, or consume food derived from animals that have been treated with them. Follow the link to the Pharmacovigilance webpage for further information.

A note on how new drugs are authorized for sale in Canada:

New drugs are regulated under Part C, Division 8 of the Food and Drug Regulations. Companies are granted market authorization by Health Canada in several ways. Regardless of the method of authorization, a manufacturer receives a Notice of Compliance (NOC) when it has met Health Canada's regulatory requirements for the safety, efficacy and quality of a product. The following provides a brief overview of three of the most common routes by which new drugs are authorized for sale in Canada.

  1. Innovator drugs ("brand name drugs"): Manufacturers receive authorization to sell these products in Canada by submitting a New Drug Submission (NDS) pursuant to section C.08.002 of the Food and Drugs Regulations.
  2. Subsequent entry drugs ("generic drugs"): Health Canada often authorizes manufacturers to market these drugs by requiring them to submit an Abbreviated New Drug Submission (ANDS) pursuant to section C.08.002.1 of the Food and Drug Regulations. These products will receive a declaration of bioequivalence to a Canadian Reference Product (pursuant to Section C.08.004 (4)), which will be stated on the NOC.
  3. The Health Canada Changes in Manufacturer's Name and/or Product Name Policy outlines another option for manufacturers wishing to receive authorization through an NOC to market brand name and generic drug products. This policy applies to eligible drug submissions submitted to Health Canada for a change in the manufacturer's name and/or product name subsequent to a merger, buy-out or other corporate restructuring or the establishment of a licensing agreement.

Products that receive an NOC according to one of these mechanisms have met Health Canada's regulatory requirements for safety, efficacy and quality.

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Médicaments et produits de santé

Avis de conformité

Définition : Un avis de conformité (AC) est une notification délivrée en vertu du paragraphe C.08.004(1)(a), indiquant que le fabricant/promoteur se conforme aux articles C.08.002 ou C.08.003 et C.08.005.1 du Règlement sur les aliments et drogues. Un avis de conformité est émis si la présentation est jugée conforme après un examen complet.

Tous les Avis de conformité avec conditions (AC-C) seront inclus à cette liste. Une note précisant "délivré en vertu de la politique sur les AC-C" sera placée après le nom commercial pour indiquer le type d'avis de conformité (AC). Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, voir le Feuillet d'information sur les AC-C.

Il y a deux moyens d'obtenir des renseignements sur les AC

Base de données consultable concernant les AC émis depuis 1994

Liste des AC émis depuis 1991

L'Extrait des données d'Avis de conformité (AC) en ligne sera mis à jour tous les vendredis.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur le contenu de la Base de données des avis de conformité (AC), veuillez contacter: DPPR-Présentations

Pour obtenir du soutien technique en ce qui concerne cette base de données, veuillez communiquer avec l'administrateur de la Base de données des AC

Liens post autorisation :

La Base de données sur les produits pharmaceutiques (BDPP), qui est également sur le site Web de Santé Canada, fournit des renseignements sur la situation actuelle du marchéT. Elle contient une liste des médicaments disponibles sur le marché canadien, ainsi que les motifs des décisions des promoteurs de commercialiser les médicaments.

La page Web des Avis / Mises en garde affichée par la Direction des produits de santé commercialisés (DPSC), la Direction des produits thérapeutiques (DPT) et la Direction des produits biologiques et des thérapies génétiques (DPBTG) comprend des alertes d'innocuité, des avis de santé publique, des communiqués de presse et d'autres avis provenant des compagnies. Ce service est destiné aux professionnels de la santé, aux consommateurs et aux autres parties intéressées.

La Direction des médicaments vétérinaires (DMV) tient une page Web sur l'innocuité et l'efficacité des médicaments vétérinaires autorisés utilisés auprès des animaux, et sur la sécurité des personnes qui manipulent ces produits, ou consomment des aliments provenant d'animaux qui ont été traités avec ces produits. Suivre le lien vers la page Web Pharmacovigilance pour plus de renseignements

Note sur la Procédure d'autorisation de la vente de nouveaux médicaments au Canada :

Les nouveaux médicaments sont réglementés conformément au titre 8 de la partie C du Règlement sur les aliments et drogues, et Santé Canada autorise leur mise en marché de plusieurs façons. Toutes ces méthodes permettent au promoteur de recevoir un avis de conformité (AC) lorsque les médicaments respectent les exigences réglementaires de Santé Canada concernant l'innocuité, l'efficacité et la qualité du produit. Voici un aperçu des trois méthodes les plus courantes par lesquelles la vente de nouveaux médicaments est autorisée au Canada.

  1. Médicaments d'origine (« médicaments de marque ») : Les fabricants sont autorisés à vendre ces produits au Canada en soumettant une présentation de drogue nouvelle (PDN), conformément à l'article C.08.002 du Règlement sur les aliments et drogues.
  2. Médicaments génériques : Santé Canada autorise souvent les fabricants à vendre ces médicaments en exigeant d'eux qu'ils soumettent une présentation abrégée de drogue nouvelle (PADN), conformément à l'article C.08.002.1 du Règlement sur les aliments et drogues. Ces produits recevront une déclaration d'équivalence à un produit de référence canadien, en vertu du paragraphe C.08.004(4), qui sera précisée sur l'AC.
  3. La politique de Santé Canada intitulée Changements dans le nom d'un fabricant ou d'un produit décrit un autre moyen pour le fabricant d'obtenir l'autorisation de vendre des médicaments d'origine et des médicaments génériques dans le cadre d'un AC. Cette politique vise la présentation de médicaments admissibles à Santé Canada dans le but de modifier le nom du fabricant et/ou du produit à la suite d'une fusion, d'une prise de contrôle, d'un autre type de restructuration d'entreprise ou de l'établissement d'un contrat de licence.

Les produits qui reçoivent un AC par le biais d'un de ces mécanismes ont satisfait aux exigences réglementaires de Santé Canada concernant l'innocuité, l'efficacité et la qualité.