Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Drugs and Health Products

Canada Vigilance Program - Collecting and Assessing Adverse Reaction Reports

ISBN: 978-1-100-18265-0 (PDF Version)
Cat.: H164-136/2011E (PDF Version)

Help on accessing alternative formats, such as Portable Document Format (PDF), Microsoft Word and PowerPoint (PPT) files, can be obtained in the alternate format help section.

The Canada Vigilance Program collects and assesses reports of suspected adverse reactions to marketed health products in Canada, including prescription and non-prescription medications; natural health products; biologically derived products such as vaccines and fractionated blood products; cells, tissues and organs; radiopharmaceuticals; and disinfectants and sanitizers with disinfectant claims.

Adverse reaction reports are submitted voluntarily to Health Canada by Canadian health professionals and consumers. Market Authorization Holders (manufacturers and distributors) and source establishments are required to report adverse reactions as mandated by the Food and Drugs Regulations, the Natural Health Product Regulations and the Safety of Human Cells, Tissues and Organs for Transplantation Regulations. This information is one of the tools that enables Health Canada to monitor the safety profile of health products to determine if their benefits continue to outweigh their risks.

Health Canada has collected reports of suspected adverse reactions since 1965 and currently receives adverse reaction reports daily, including new reports and additional information for reports previously submitted.

Health professionals and consumers can report suspected adverse reactions online, by phone or by submitting a reporting form by fax or by mail.

Central to the Program, the Canada Vigilance Database improves Health Canada's capacity to analyse safety data and detect potential safety signals for marketed health products.

National Reach

Seven regional offices support the Canada Vigilance Program, providing local points of contact for health professionals and consumers. Adverse reaction reports are collected regionally and forwarded to the National Office for further analysis. Market Authorization Holders send reports directly to the National Office.

Detecting Signals from Adverse Reaction Reports

Adverse reaction reports are analysed for potential health product safety signals. A signal is considered the first indication of a product-related issue. A signal is not proof that an adverse reaction is a direct result from use of a certain health product; rather it triggers the need to further investigate to confirm or disprove the association between the product and the adverse reaction.

Signals may be detected through periodic analysis of the information contained in the Canada Vigilance Database. Systematic targeted monitoring strategies and statistical tools are used for the monitoring of health products. Health Canada uses the Database's statistical tools as well as those developed by the World Health Organization.

Processing and Managing Data

Each adverse reaction report relates to a single patient; however, more than one reaction may have been described and coded within a single report. Information is coded by key words, using reaction terms described in the report.

The Initial Data Entry of an adverse reaction report involves the registration and scanning of the report into the Canada Vigilance Database.

The Screening stage is a triage process for determining whether a report requires priority attention or re-direction to an adverse reaction reporting program for products outside the scope of the Canada Vigilance Program.

The subsequent Data Entry stage involves the detailed allocation of product therapy and patient information for both standard and priority entries.

The Quality Control stage corresponds to quality assurance processes for data entry and monitoring for consistent application of data entry procedures.

The Assessment stage involves the coding of reactions, indications and patient history, using the Medical Dictionary for Regulatory Activities (MedDRA), the internationally recognized, standardized dictionary of medical terminology. A review process then follows to assess seriousness and outcome, which may lead to further monitoring for potential signals.

Managing Adverse Reaction Reports

Adverse Reaction Report Data

The Canada Vigilance Database stores the following information for each reported adverse reaction:

  • patient characteristics;
  • nature of the adverse reaction;
  • suspected health product;
  • other health products taken at the same time;
  • medical history and laboratory data;
  • treatment of the adverse reaction;
  • patient outcome; and
  • information about the reporter.

All information related to patient and reporter identifiers is kept strictly confidential in accordance with the Privacy Act.

Public Access

Consumers, health professionals, Market Authorization Holders, and the general public can view the types of adverse reactions that have been reported to Health Canada via the Canada Vigilance Adverse Reaction Online Database, which contains over 225,000 suspected adverse reaction reports that have occurred in Canada since 1965. The Database is updated quarterly to reflect new information received by Health Canada.

Information contained in the Canada Vigilance Adverse Reaction Online Database uses generic terminology that excludes any identifiers relating to the patient and/or reporter.

Features of the Canada Vigilance Adverse Reaction Online Database include:

  • search capacity by brand name, active ingredient name, adverse reaction term or system organ class;
  • help documentation and background information; and
  • capacity to print/save/export search results.

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Médicaments et produits de santé

Programme Canada Vigilance - Recueillir et évaluer les déclarations d'effets indésirables

2011
No ISBN : 978-1-100-96999-2 (Version PDF)
No cat. : H164-136/2011F (Version PDF)

Si vous avez besoin d'aide pour accéder aux formats de rechange, tels que Portable Document Format (PDF), Microsoft Word et PowerPoint (PPT), visitez la section d'aide sur les formats de rechange.

Le Programme Canada Vigilance recueille et évalue les déclarations d'effets indésirables présumés des produits de santé commercialisés au Canada y compris les médicaments d'ordonnance ou en vente libre; les produits de santé naturels; les produits d'origine biologique, comme les vaccins et les produits sanguins obtenus par fractionnement; les cellules, les tissus et les organes; les produits radiopharmaceutiques; les désinfectants et les produits d'hygiène comportant des allégations de propriétés de désinfection.

Les professionnels de la santé et les consommateurs soumettent des déclarations d'effets indésirables sur une base volontaire. Les détenteurs d'une autorisation de mise en marché (fabricants et distributeurs) et les établissements centraux doivent obligatoirement soumettre les déclarations d'effets indésirables, conformément au Règlement sur les aliments et drogues, au Règlement sur les produits de santé naturels ou au Règlement sur la sécurité des cellules, tissus et organes humains destinés à la transplantation. L'information obtenue par ces déclarations permet à Santé Canada de surveiller le profil d'innocuité des produits de santé pour déterminer si leurs avantages continuent à être plus importants que leurs risques.

Santé Canada recueille des déclarations d'effets indésirables présumés depuis 1965 et en reçoit actuellement à chaque jour. Dans certains cas, il s'agit de renseignements supplémentaires concernant des déclarations existantes.

Les professionnels de la santé et les consommateurs peuvent déclarer en ligne, par téléphone ou en envoyant un formulaire de déclaration par télécopieur ou par la poste.

Outil essentiel du Programme, la Base de données de Canada Vigilance accroît la capacité de Santé Canada d'analyser les données sur l'innocuité et de repérer les signaux concernant l'innocuité des produits de santé.

Un service à l'échelle nationale

Le Programme compte sur sept bureaux régionaux pour offrir des points de contact locaux aux professionnels de la santé et aux consommateurs. Ces bureaux recueillent les déclarations d'effets indésirables et les transmettent au bureau national pour une analyse plus approfondie. Les détenteurs d'une autorisation de mise en marché doivent toutefois soumettre leurs déclarations directement au bureau national.

Repérer les signaux dans les déclarations d'effets indésirables

Les déclarations sont analysées à la recherche de signaux concernant l'innocuité d'un produit de santé. Un signal est un premier indice qu'un produit pourrait présenter un danger. Un signal n'est pas la preuve d'un lien direct entre un produit de santé et un effet indésirable. La présence d'un signal évoque plutôt la nécessité d'approfondir l'analyse pour confirmer ou infirmer l'existence d'un tel lien.

Les signaux peuvent être repérés par l'analyse périodique de l'information contenue dans la Base de données de Canada Vigilance. Des stratégies structurées et ciblées ainsi que des outils statistiques sont utilisés pour effectuer la surveillance des produits de santé. Santé Canada utilise les outils statistiques de la Base de données ainsi que ceux développés par l'Organisation mondiale de la Santé.

Traiter et gérer les données

Une déclaration d'effet indésirable concerne un seul patient, mais plus d'un effet peut y être décrit et codé. L'information est codée en utilisant des mots clés reliés aux termes utilisés pour décrire l'effet dans la déclaration.

L'entrée de données initiale dans le cadre du traitement d'une déclaration d'effet indésirable comporte l'enregistrement et la numérisation de la déclaration dans la Base de données de Canada Vigilance. L'étape de dépistage est un processus de triage servant à déterminer la priorité d'une déclaration ou si elle doit être dirigée vers un autre programme traitant des produits qui se trouvent hors de la portée du Programme Canada Vigilance.

L'étape de l'entrée de données subséquente comporte la répartition détaillée des renseignements concernant le produit et le patient pour les entrées normale et prioritaire.

L'étape du contrôle de la qualité est celle des processus d'assurance de la qualité et de la surveillance du respect des procédures de l'entrée des données.

L'étape de l'évaluation comporte le codage des effets, des indications et des antécédents du patient. Les termes employés sont ceux du dictionnaire médical des activités de réglementation (MedDRA), la terminologie médicale reconnue à l'échelle internationale. Par la suite, une évaluation est effectuée pour déterminer la gravité et la suite de l'effet, ce qui pourrait mener à d'autres activités de surveillance pour le repérage des signaux potentiels.

Gérer les déclarations d'effets indésirables

Données des déclarations d'effets indésirables

La Base de données de Canada Vigilance renferme les renseignements suivant sur chaque effet indésirable déclaré :

  • caractéristiques du patient;
  • nature de l'effet indésirable;
  • produit de santé soupçonné;
  • produits de santé concomitants;
  • antécédents médicaux et données de laboratoire;
  • traitement de l'effet indésirable;
  • suite de l'effet pour le patient;
  • information sur le déclarant.

Tous les renseignements concernant le patient et le déclarant sont traités en toute confidentialité, conformément à la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

Accès public

Les consommateurs, les professionnels de la santé, les détenteurs d'une autorisation de mise en marché et le grand public peuvent consulter les types d'effets indésirables qui ont été déclarés à Santé Canada dans la Base de données en ligne des effets indésirables de Canada Vigilance. Cette base de données, qui renferme de l'information sur plus de 225 000 déclarations d'effets indésirables présumés survenus au Canada depuis 1965, est mise à jour sur une base trimestrielle afin de refléter les nouveaux renseignements reçus par Santé Canada.

L'information contenue dans la Base de données en ligne des effets indésirables de Canada Vigilance utilise une terminologie générique qui exclut tout identifiant personnel relatant au patient et/ou au déclarant.

La Base de données en ligne des effets indésirables de Canada Vigilance présente les fonctions suivantes :

  • recherche par nom commercial, par ingrédient actif, par terme d'effet indésirable ou par classe par système et organe;
  • aide et renseignements généraux
  • impression, enregistrement ou exportation des résultats de recherche.