Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Drugs and Health Products

Reporting Adverse Reactions to Antiviral Drugs During an Influenza Pandemic - Guidelines for Health Professionals and Consumers

Revised: March 2, 2011

Help on accessing alternative formats, such as Portable Document Format (PDF), Microsoft Word and PowerPoint (PPT) files, can be obtained in the alternate format help section.

Table of Contents

What is an Influenza Pandemic?

People are exposed to different strains of the influenza virus many times during their lives. Even though the virus changes over time, previous bouts of influenza may offer some protection against infection caused by a similar strain of the virus.

However, three to four times each century, for unknown reasons, a radical change takes place in the influenza A virus causing a new strain to emerge. Since people have no protection against the new strain, it can spread rapidly around the world, causing what is known as a pandemic. The pandemic influenza virus may cause severe complications, such as pneumonia and death in previously healthy individuals.

For more information about pandemic influenza consult the Public Health Agency of Canada Web site at Next link will take you to another Web site

What are Antiviral Drugs?

Antiviral drugs, such as oseltamivir (Tamiflu«), zanamivir (Relenza«) and amantadine, are used for the prevention and early treatment of influenza, and are expected to be widely used if there is an influenza pandemic, particularly since a pandemic influenza vaccine is unlikely to be available in the early months of a pandemic.

Antiviral drugs, when taken early in the illness (within 48 hours) can reduce influenza symptoms, shorten the length of illness and potentially reduce the serious complications of influenza. As well, antiviral drugs may prevent influenza infection if they are taken during periods of potential exposure to the virus. Antiviral drugs can come in pill, syrup/liquid, or inhaler form.

Vaccines are the primary means to prevent illness from influenza. They stimulate the production of antibodies against the flu virus, providing immunity against the virus. At the start of an influenza pandemic, it may take several months before a new vaccine can be developed. Antiviral drugs are not a vaccine.

Antiviral drugs are assessed by Health Canada for safety, effectiveness and quality before they can be sold in Canada. Once approved, they are assigned an eight-digit Drug Identification Number (DIN).

Why Report Adverse Reactions to Antiviral Drugs?

Health Canada continues to monitor the safety profile of the health products sold in Canada, to ensure that the benefits of using a product continue to outweigh the risks that may be associated with its use. Some of these risks are known at the time the drug is approved, but additional information about risks can only become known once the product is more widely used.

At this point in time, serious adverse reactions to antiviral drugs have been very rare. However, during a pandemic is essential to look for and respond to any serious adverse reactions that may occur with widespread use of these drugs, as this information will help guide the safest and most effective use of these drugs.

During an influenza pandemic, Health Canada will make the assessment of suspected adverse reactions to antiviral medications a priority, to ensure that any new safety concerns are identified and communicated quickly to help inform the appropriate use of these products.

What to Report

All serious suspected adverse reactions should be reported. A serious adverse reaction is one that:

  • results in a death;
  • is life-threatening;
  • causes congenital malformation or birth defect;
  • results in persistent or significant disability or incapacity;
  • requires in-patient hospitalization or prolongation of existing hospitalization.

To assist in the assessment of the adverse reaction reports as much information as possible should be provided in the report. Please include the following details when possible:

  • whether the antiviral drug was used for prevention or treatment of influenza;
  • the age and sex of the patient;
  • any medical conditions or problems the patient had prior to starting the antiviral;
  • any prescription, over the counter or natural health products that the patient had been taking prior to starting or while taking the anti-viral;
  • the results of laboratory tests or investigations done as a result of the adverse reaction;
  • any treatment of the reaction, including if the antiviral was discontinued;
  • the outcome of the adverse reaction.

Although every adverse reaction report is important, reporting all suspected adverse reactions may not be feasible due to the impact of the influenza pandemic on the health care system and the daily lives of Canadians in general. The most important information to report will be those most serious adverse reactions that may impact on the decision to use one or more of the antiviral drugs for the prevention or treatment of influenza.

How to Report

Health professionals and the general public are encouraged to use one of the following three methods to report an adverse reaction to Health Canada:

  • By calling 1-866-234-2345 (toll-free);
  • Online at
  • By completing a Canada Vigilance Adverse Reaction Reporting Form which can be faxed (toll-free) to 1-866-678-6789 or sent by postage paid mail. The form and postage paid label are available at or by calling 1-866-234-2345 (toll-free). The Canada Vigilance Adverse Reaction Reporting Form is also available for health professionals at the back of the Compendium of Pharmaceuticals and Specialties (CPS). Reports should not be sent by e-mail.

More Information

Health Canada's Canada Vigilance Program is responsible for the collection and assessment of adverse reaction reports that have been submitted by health professionals and consumers; the first phase of the post market surveillance continuum. Information from domestic adverse reaction reports is essential to monitoring the safety of health products. Adverse reaction reporting helps identify, assess and inform Canadians of new health product safety issues. Having access to the latest safety information helps Canadians make informed decisions about the use of drugs and health products.

The Canada Vigilance Adverse Reaction Online Database can be used to retrieve essential information from adverse reaction reports. It is available at and is intended solely to provide health product information as reported to Health Canada. It cannot be used on its own to evaluate a health product's safety profile and does not provide conclusive information on the safety of health products.

Additional information for health professionals and consumers regarding adverse reaction reporting may be found in the guidance document Guidelines - Voluntary Reporting of Suspected Adverse Reactions to Health Products by Health Professionals and Consumers, located on the MedEffect Canada™ section of the Health Canada Web site at:

For more information on the Canada Vigilance Program, health professionals and consumers may contact the appropriate Canada Vigilance Regional Office listed below. The following toll-free numbers may also be used. Calls will be automatically routed to the appropriate Canada Vigilance Regional Office based on the area code from which the call originates.

Telephone (toll-free): 1-866-234-2345
Fax (toll-free): 1-866-678-6789

British Columbia and Yukon
Canada Vigilance Regional Office - British Columbia and Yukon
400 - 4595 Canada Way,
Health Canada
Burnaby, British Columbia V5G 1J9

Alberta and Northwest Territories
Canada Vigilance Regional Office - Alberta and Northwest Territories
Suite 730, 9700 Jasper Avenue
Health Canada
Edmonton, Alberta T5J 4C3

Canada Vigilance Regional Office - Saskatchewan
4th floor, Room 412
101 - 22nd Street East
Health Canada
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan S7K 0E1

Canada Vigilance Regional Office - Manitoba
510 LagimodiŔre Blvd
Health Canada
Winnipeg, Manitoba R2J 3Y1

Ontario and Nunavut
Canada Vigilance Regional Office - Ontario and Nunavut
2301 Midland Avenue
Health Canada
Toronto, Ontario M1P 4R7

Canada Vigilance Regional Office - Quebec
Suite 202-40, 2nd Floor, East Tower
200 René-Lévesque Boulevard West
Health Canada
Montréal Québec H2Z 1X4

New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island and, Newfoundland and Labrador
Canada Vigilance Regional Office - Atlantic
1505 Barrington St., Maritime Centre
Suite 1625, 16th floor
Health Canada
Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 3Y6

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Médicaments et produits de santé

La déclaration d'effets indésirables d'antiviraux lors d'une pandémie de grippe - Ligne directrices pour les professionnels de la santé et les consommateurs

Révision : le 2 mars 2011

Si vous avez besoin d'aide pour accéder aux formats de rechange, tels que Portable Document Format (PDF), Microsoft Word et PowerPoint (PPT), visitez la section d'aide sur les formats de rechange.

Table des matières

Qu'est-ce qu'une pandémie de grippe?

Les gens sont exposés à différentes souches du virus de la grippe à maintes reprises durant leur vie. Même si le virus change au fil du temps, le fait d'avoir déjà eu la grippe peut conférer une certaine protection contre l'infection causée par une souche semblable.

Par contre, de trois à quatre fois par siècle, pour des raisons inconnues, un changement radical du virus de la grippe A peut se produire et donner lieu à l'apparition d'une nouvelle souche. Comme les gens ne sont pas protégés contre la nouvelle souche, celle-ci peut se répandre rapidement à l'échelle de la planète et engendrer une pandémie. Le virus responsable d'une pandémie de grippe cause souvent des complications graves, comme la pneumonie et la mort, chez des personnes jusque-là en bonne santé.

Il est possible de trouver des renseignements supplémentaires sur la grippe pandémique en consultant le site Web de l'Agence de la santé publique du Canada à l'adresse Le lien suivant vous amènera à un autre site Web www.combattezlagrippe.ca.

Qu'est-ce qu'un médicament antiviral?

Les antiviraux tels l'oseltamivir (Tamiflu®), le zanamivir (Relenza®) et l'amantadine sont des médicaments utilisés pour la prévention et le traitement précoce de la grippe. Ils seront probablement largement prescrits s'il y a une pandémie de grippe, surtout parce qu'il est peu probable qu'un vaccin soit disponible au cours des premiers mois de la pandémie.

Les antiviraux pris aux premiers stades de la grippe (dans les 48 heures) peuvent réduire les symptômes de la maladie, en raccourcir la durée et, dans certains cas, réduire les complications graves y afférentes. De plus, ils peuvent prévenir l'infection grippale s'ils sont pris régulièrement pendant les périodes d'exposition possible au virus. Les antiviraux sont offerts en pilules, en sirops ou liquides ou encore sous forme de produits pour inhalation.

Les vaccins sont le principal moyen de prévention de la grippe. Ils stimulent la formation d'anticorps contre le virus de la grippe, conférant ainsi une immunité contre celui ci. Lorsqu'une pandémie de grippe se produit, plusieurs mois peuvent être nécessaires pour mettre au point un nouveau vaccin. Les antiviraux ne sont pas un vaccin.

Avant d'être vendus au Canada, les antiviraux sont évalués par Santé Canada, qui en détermine l'innocuité, l'efficacité et la qualité. Une fois qu'ils sont approuvés, un numéro d'identification du médicament (DIN) leur est assigné.

Pourquoi déclarer les effets indésirables des antiviraux?

Santé Canada continue d'évaluer le profil d'innocuité des produits de santé vendus au Canada pour s'assurer que les bienfaits de ces produits sont toujours supérieurs aux risques qui pourraient être associés à leur utilisation. Certains des risques sont connus au moment de l'approbation des produits, mais de nouveaux renseignements sur les risques peuvent être découverts une fois que les produits sont plus utilisés.

Pour le moment, les effets indésirables graves d'antiviraux sont rares. Cependant, durant une pandémie de grippe, il est très important de déceler les effets indésirables graves des antiviraux, lesquels seront peut-être plus fréquents en raison de la grande utilisation de ces produits, et d'intervenir en conséquence. Grâce aux renseignements recueillis, il serait possible d'orienter l'utilisation des produits de manière à en optimiser l'innocuité et l'efficacité.

S'il y avait une pandémie de grippe, Santé Canada rendrait prioritaire l'évaluation des effets indésirables présumés des antiviraux afin de découvrir tout nouveau problème d'innocuité et de renseigner rapidement les personnes visées sur l'utilisation appropriée de ces produits.

Que faut-il déclarer?

Il faut déclarer tous les effets indésirables graves présumés. On entend par effet indésirable grave un effet qui :

  • cause la mort;
  • menace la vie;
  • cause une anomalie ou une malformation congénitale;
  • entraîne une invalidité ou une incapacité persistante ou importante;
  • nécessite l'hospitalisation ou en prolonge la durée.

Il faut soumettre le plus de renseignements possible dans la déclaration afin de faciliter l'évaluation du cas. Inclure, si possible, les détails suivants :

  • la raison pour laquelle l'antiviral a été pris, c. à d. à des fins de prévention ou de traitement de la grippe;
  • l'âge et le sexe du patient;
  • tout problème médical ou toute pathologie qui existait déjà chez le patient avant la prise de l'antiviral;
  • tout produit d'ordonnance ou en vente libre et tout produit naturel que le patient prenait avant ou pendant la prise de l'antiviral;
  • les résultats des examens de laboratoire effectués comme suite à l'effet indésirable;
  • tout traitement de l'effet indésirable, y compris l'arrêt de l'antiviral;
  • l'issue de l'effet indésirable.

Bien que tous les renseignements aient leur importance, il sera peut-être impossible, en cas de pandémie, de signaler tous les effets indésirables présumés en raison des vastes répercussions qu'aura la pandémie sur le système de soins de santé et les activités quotidiennes des Canadiens. Il importera avant tout de déclarer les effets indésirables les plus graves susceptibles d'avoir une incidence sur la décision de recourir à un ou à plusieurs antiviraux pour prévenir ou traiter la grippe.

Comment déclarer un effet indésirable?

Il y a trois façons dont les professionnels de la santé et le grand public peuvent déclarer un effet indésirable à Santé Canada :

  • par téléphone, en composant le numéro sans frais 1-866-234-2345 (sans frais);
  • en ligne, à l'adresse www.sante.gc.ca/medeffet;
  • en complétant le Formulaire de déclaration Canada Vigilance et en l'envoyant par télécopieur, au numéro sans frais 1-866-678-6789 ou par courrier affranchi. Le formulaire et l'étiquette d'adresse préaffranchie sont disponibles à www.sante.gc.ca/medeffet ou en composant le 1-866-234-2345 (sans frais). Les professionnels de la santé peuvent également obtenir le Formulaire de déclaration des effets indésirables de Canada Vigilance à la fin du Compendium des produits et spécialités pharmaceutiques (CPS). Les déclarations ne doivent pas être soumises par courriel.

Renseignements additionnels

Le Programme Canada Vigilance de Santé Canada est chargé de recueillir et d'évaluer les déclarations des effets indésirables soumises par les professionnels de la santé ou les consommateurs; la première phase du continuum de la surveillance après la mise en marché. L'information recueillie sur les effets indésirables qui se sont produits au Canada est indispensable pour surveiller l'innocuité des produits de santé et à en informer les Canadiens pour ainsi les aider à prendre des décisions éclairées au sujet de l'utilisation des médicaments et autres produits de santé.

La Base de données en ligne des effets indésirables de Canada Vigilance permet d'extraire des données essentielles liées à une déclaration d'effets indésirables. Elle est uniquement destinée à fournir de l'information sur un produit de santé telle qu'elle est soumise à Santé Canada. La base de données est disponible en ligne à l'adresse www.sante.gc.ca/medeffet et ne peut-être utilisée seule pour évaluer le profil d'innocuité d'un produit de santé, car elle ne fournit pas d'information concluante sur l'innocuité des produits de santé.

Les professionnels de la santé et les consommateurs trouveront des renseignements supplémentaires sur la déclaration des effets indésirables dans le document intitulé Lignes directrices - Déclaration volontaire des effets indésirables des produits de santé par les professionnels de la santé et les consommateurs, affiché dans le volet MedEffetMC Canada du site Web de Santé Canada à : www.sante.gc.ca/medeffet.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur le Programme Canada Vigilance, les professionnels de la santé et les consommateurs sont invités à communiquer avec le bureau régional de Canada Vigilance le plus près indiqué ci-dessous. Ils peuvent également utiliser les numéros sans frais suivants. Les appels seront automatiquement dirigés vers le bureau régional de Canada Vigilance approprié en fonction de l'indicatif régional d'où provient l'appel.

Téléphone (sans-frais) : 1-866-234-2345
Télécopieur (sans-frais) : 1-866-678-6789

Colombie-Britannique et Yukon
Bureau régional de Canada Vigilance - Colombie-Britannique et Yukon
400 - 4595, Canada Way
Santé Canada
Burnaby (Colombie-Britannique) V5G 1J9
CanadaVigilance_BC@hc-sc.gc.ca

Alberta et Territoires du Nord-Ouest
Bureau régional de Canada Vigilance - Alberta et Territoires du Nord-Ouest
9700, avenue Jasper, bureau 730
Santé Canada
Edmonton (Alberta) T5J 4C3
CanadaVigilance_AB@hc-sc.gc.ca

Saskatchewan
Bureau régional de Canada Vigilance - Saskatchewan
101 - 22e rue Est
4e étage, pièce 412
Santé Canada
Saskatoon (Saskatchewan) S7K 0E1
CanadaVigilance_SK@hc-sc.gc.ca

Manitoba
Bureau régional de Canada Vigilance - Manitoba
510, boulevard Lagimodière
Santé Canada
Winnipeg (Manitoba) R2J 3Y1
CanadaVigilance_MB@hc-sc.gc.ca

Ontario et Nunavut
Bureau régional de Canada Vigilance - Ontario et Nunavut
2301, avenue Midland
Santé Canada
Toronto (Ontario) M1P 4R7
CanadaVigilance_ON@hc-sc.gc.ca

Québec
Bureau régional de Canada Vigilance - Québec
Tour Est, 2e étage, bureau 202-40
200, boulevard René-Lévesque Ouest
Santé Canada
Montréal (Québec) H2Z 1X4
CanadaVigilance_QC@hc-sc.gc.ca

Nouveau-Brunswick, Nouvelle-Écosse, Île-du-Prince-Édouard et Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador
Bureau régional de Canada Vigilance - Atlantique
Maritime Centre, 1505, rue Barrington,
16e étage, pièce 1625
Santé Canada
Halifax (Nouvelle-Écosse) B3J 3Y6
CanadaVigilance_ATL@hc-sc.gc.ca