Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada
Drugs and Health Products

Categorization of Antimicrobial Drugs Based on Importance in Human Medicine

(Version - April, 2009)

Preamble

Antimicrobial drugs are used primarily in human and veterinary medicine for the treatment, control and prevention of bacterial diseases. In addition, some of these drugs are used for the purpose of growth promotion and improvement of feed efficiency in the agri-food industry. It is well recognized that many of the chemical classes of antimicrobial drugs used in animals are also used in humans. Some of these antimicrobials are essential for treatment of serious life-threatening infections in humans. If these drugs become ineffective due to the development of bacterial resistance, alternative antimicrobials may not be available to treat infections caused by resistant bacteria. Therefore, it is imperative to develop measures to limit the development of antimicrobial resistance and to mitigate the loss of effectiveness of these life-saving drugs. In this context, careful attention needs to be directed on how these drugs are used both in humans and animals, and on how to facilitate their prudent and judicious use.

Health Canada recognizes that all available antimicrobial drugs are important. However, some drugs are considered more important than others in the treatment of serious bacterial infections, and resistance development against those antimicrobials might have more serious consequences in human health. This document uses pre-defined criteria to group antimicrobials into different categories based on the implications of resistance to these drugs to human medicine.

Currently this document focuses on the antibacterial drug products. Other antimicrobials, e.g., antifungal or antiviral drugs which are less frequently used in animals, are not included in this document, but may be considered in future.

Purpose

The purpose of this document is to assist the microbiological safety assessment of pre- and post-market evaluation of veterinary antimicrobials. This also provides a rationale for priority setting and identifying the level of detail required for risk assessments related to antimicrobial resistance.

As this categorization system serves as part of a guide for the evaluation of new veterinary antimicrobial drug submissions, sponsors are requested to take it into consideration when preparing their submissions. It is considered that resistance to drugs of higher importance may be expected to have greater adverse consequences to human health than resistance to drugs of lesser importance, and may require more detailed assessment/data related to their microbiological safety.

Role of the Categorization in the Risk Analysis of Antimicrobial Resistance

This document can be used for priority setting in antimicrobial resistance risk analysis. As antimicrobial drug categories also reflect severity of adverse human health consequences in case of resistance development, the categories could be used to represent the part of consequence assessment in risk assessment. However, the categorization itself is not a risk assessment. Therefore, overall risks to human health related to the particular antimicrobial agents need to be assessed separately in considering the specific application of each antimicrobial during the pre-market or post-market evaluation. The risk analysis or assessment is expected to include drug categorization and other relevant information.

Complexity and dynamics of antimicrobial categorization

It is understood that antimicrobial categorization is a complex issue influenced by multiple factors related not only to the characteristics of an antimicrobial agent but also to the variability in existing medical practice and guidelines in antimicrobial chemotherapy. For the sake of transparency of the categorization process, predefined criteria, based on consultation with experts, are applied to rank antimicrobial drugs. It is also recognized that the categorization scheme presented here is part of a dynamic process. The relative importance of a drug and its use pattern may be altered over time due to changes in factors that determine the drug efficacy, e.g., emergence of resistance, the availability of new drugs in the market, or due to identification of a new indication. Therefore, this categorization will be periodically (e.g., in 2-3 years) reviewed and, if necessary, revised on the basis of new scientific evidence or emerging information on changing patterns of antimicrobial use and/or resistance trends.

Criteria for Categorization

The principal criteria for this categorization are the indication and the availability of alternative antimicrobials for the treatment of infections in human medicine. The use of antimicrobials in veterinary medicine is not considered during this categorization, but would be part of a separate human health risk assessment process. The extent of use in human medicine is also not considered in this document, but could be applicable to prioritizing antimicrobials within a category or during a risk assessment process.

The two major categorization criteria are briefly described below:

Indication: This includes the use of drugs in human medicine and the spectrum of activity as well as the efficacy of drugs. A drug which is preferred for treatment of serious bacterial infections will be considered more important than those that are not used for this purpose. It is noted that development and increased occurrence of antimicrobial resistance, including cross- and co-resistance to other classes of antimicrobials, can alter the usefulness and hence the indications of a drug.

Availability of alternative antimicrobial drugs: Drugs with limited or no alternatives for treatment of infections, or where alternatives available are within the same class, will be considered more important than others. A drug used generally as a last resort treatment will be considered more important. Acquired resistance, including multidrug resistance, may make a drug ineffective and limit the availability of effective alternative antimicrobials.

The following table provides general application of criteria for antimicrobial categorization in an attempt to make the process transparent. The antimicrobial agents are grouped into four categories.

Table. Application of criteria for antimicrobial categorization
Category Preferred option for
treatment of serious human
infections*
No or limited
alternatives available
I – Very High Importance Yes Yes
II – High Importance Yes No
III – Medium Importance No No/Yes
IV – Low Importance Not applicable Not applicable

*Serious infections are considered those which if left untreated would lead to significant morbidity requiring emergency care including hospitalization and/or mortality.

It is noted that for the sake of simplicity, antimicrobial drugs have been ranked according to their chemical class and have been placed in a category where the majority of the drugs within the class may fall. It is understood that some of the individual drugs in a particular class may not fall in the same category as other drugs of the same class and such exceptions will be treated on a case-by-case basis.

1. Category I: Very High Importance

These antimicrobials are considered of very high importance in human medicine as they meet the criteria of being essential for the treatment of serious bacterial infections and limited or no availability of alternative antimicrobials for effective treatment in case of emergence of resistance to these agents. Examples include:

  • 1.1   Carbapenems
  • 1.2   Cephalosporins – the third and fourth generations
  • 1.3   Fluoroquinolones
  • 1.4   Glycopeptides
  • 1.5   Glycylcyclines
  • 1.6   Ketolides
  • 1.7   Lipopeptides
  • 1.8   Monobactams
  • 1.9   Nitroimidazoles (metronidazole)
  • 1.10   Oxazolidinones
  • 1.11   Penicillin-β-lactamase inhibitor combinations
  • 1.12   Polymyxins (colistin)
  • 1.13   Therapeutic agents for tuberculosis (e.g., ethambutol, isoniazid, pyrazinamide and rifampin)

2.   Category II: High Importance

Antimicrobials in this category consist of those that can be used to treat a variety of infections including serious infections and for which alternatives are generally available. Bacteria resistant to drugs of this category are generally susceptible to Category I drugs which could be used as the alternatives. Examples include:

  • 2.1   Aminoglycosides (except topical agents)
  • 2.2   Cephalosporins – the first and second generations (including cephamycins)
  • 2.3   Fusidic acid
  • 2.4   Lincosamides
  • 2.5   Macrolides
  • 2.6   Penicillins
  • 2.7   Quinolones (except fluoroquinolones)
  • 2.8   Streptogramins
  • 2.9   Trimethoprim/sulfamethoxazole

3.   Category III: Medium Importance

Antimicrobials in this category are used for treatment of bacterial infections for which alternatives are generally available. Infections caused by bacteria resistant to these drugs can, in general, be treated by Category II or I antimicrobials. Examples include:

  • 3.1   Aminocyclitols
  • 3.2   Aminoglycosides (topical agents)
  • 3.3   Bacitracins
  • 3.4   Fosfomycin
  • 3.5   Nitrofurans
  • 3.6   Phenicols
  • 3.7   Sulphonamides
  • 3.8   Tetracyclines
  • 3.9   Trimethoprim

4.   Category IV: Low Importance

Antimicrobials in this category are currently not used in human medicine. Examples include:

  • 4.1   Flavophospholipols
  • 4.2   Ionophores

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Médicaments et produits de santé

Catégorisation des médicaments antimicrobiens basée sur leur importance en médecine humaine

(Version - Avril 2009)

Introduction

Les médicaments antimicrobiens sont principalement utilisés chez les humains et les animaux pour le traitement, le contrôle et la prévention des maladies bactériennes. De plus, certains antimicrobiens sont utilisés dans l'industrie agroalimentaire pour stimuler la croissance et augmenter le rendement alimentaire. Il est bien reconnu que plusieurs des catégories chimiques de médicaments antimicrobiens utilisés chez les animaux le sont aussi chez les humains. Certains antimicrobiens sont essentiels pour le traitement d'infections graves parfois mortelles chez les humains et s’ils deviennent inefficaces à cause d’un développement d’une résistance bactérienne, des antimicrobiens de remplacement pourraient ne pas être disponibles pour traiter des infections causées par ces bactéries résistantes. Il est par conséquent impératif d’élaborer des mesures qui permettraient de limiter le développement de la résistance aux antimicrobiens et d’atténuer la perte d'efficacité de ces médicaments d'importance vitale. Dans ce contexte, une attention particulière doit être accordée à la manière dont ces médicaments sont utilisés chez les humains et les animaux, ainsi qu'aux mesures à prendre pour faciliter leur utilisation prudente et judicieuse.

Santé Canada reconnaît que tous les médicaments antimicrobiens disponibles sont importants. Cependant, certains médicaments sont jugés plus importants que d'autres dans le traitement des bactérioses graves et le développement de la résistance à ces antimicrobiens pourrait avoir des conséquences majeures sur la santé humaine. Des critères prédéfinis sont utilisés pour regrouper les antimicrobiens en différentes catégories en fonction de l'impact qu'aurait le développement de la résistance à ces médicaments en médecine humaine.

Pour le moment, ce document porte essentiellement sur les produits pharmaceutiques antibactériens. D'autres antimicrobiens, tels que les médicaments antifongiques ou antiviraux, utilisés moins fréquemment chez les animaux, ne sont pas inclus dans ce document, mais ils pourraient l'être dans le futur.

But

Le but de ce document est de faciliter l’évaluation de l’innocuité microbiologique avant et après la mise en marché des antimicrobiens vétérinaires. Le document fournit également une justification raisonnée de l’établissement de priorités et de la détermination du niveau de détails requis des évaluations des risques de résistances aux antimicrobiens.Comme ce système de catégorisation constitue un guide pour l'évaluation de présentations de nouveaux médicaments antimicrobiens à usage vétérinaire, il est demandé aux promoteurs de le prendre en considération lors de la préparation de leurs présentations. Il est admis, en effet, que la résistance à des médicaments de plus haute importance peut avoir ait des conséquences plus graves pour la santé humaine que la résistance à un médicament de moindre importance et il est possible que des évaluations et des données plus détaillées soient nécessaires pour déterminer leur innocuité microbiologique.

Rôle de la catégorisation dans l'analyse des risques de résistance aux antimicrobiens

Le présent document peut être utilisé pour établir des priorités lors de l’analyse des risques de résistance aux antimicrobiens. Comme les catégories de médicaments antimicrobiens sont déterminées en fonction de la gravité des conséquences indésirables pour la santé humaine en cas de développement d’une résistance aux antimicrobiens, les catégories pourraient être utilisées pour effectuer la partie des évaluations des risques consacrée à l’évaluation de ces conséquences. Toutefois, la catégorisation ne constitue pas en soi une évaluation des risques et il en découle que les risques globaux pour la santé humaine liés à un agent antimicrobien donné doivent être analysés séparément lors du traitement de chaque présentation de médicament antimicrobien soumis à une évaluation, avant ou après la mise en marché. Il est entendu que l’analyse ou l’évaluation des risques devrait comprendre une catégorisation du médicament et d’autres renseignements pertinents.

Complexité et dynamique de la classification des antimicrobiens

Il est entendu que la catégorisation des antimicrobiens est une question complexe sur laquelle s’exercent de multiples facteurs reliés non seulement aux caractéristiques des agents antimicrobiens, mais aussi à la variabilité de la pratique médicale existante et des lignes directrices dans le domaine de la chimiothérapie antimicrobienne. Par souci de transparence du processus de catégorisation, des critères préétablis en consultation avec des experts sont appliqués pour classer les médicaments antimicrobiens. Le système de catégorisation ici présenté fait partie d'un processus dynamique, puisque l’importance relative et le mode d’utilisation d'un médicament peuvent être modifiés au fil du temps, à cause de l'évolution des facteurs qui déterminent l'efficacité du produit tels que l'émergence de la résistance, la disponibilité de nouveaux médicaments sur le marché ou l'identification d'une nouvelle indication. Par conséquent, cette catégorisation sera périodiquement réexaminée et, au besoin révisée, en fonction de nouvelles preuves scientifiques ou d’informations émergentes sur de nouveaux modes d’utilisation des antimicrobiens et/ou des tendances de la résistance aux antimicrobiens.

Critères de catégorisation

Les principaux critères de la catégorisation sont l'indication et la disponibilité des médicaments antimicrobiens de remplacement pour le traitement d'infections chez les humains. L'utilisation des antimicrobiens en médecine vétérinaire n’est pas prise en considération dans cette catégorisation, mais elle devrait l’être dans le cadre d’un processus distinct d’évaluation des risques pour la santé humaine. L’ampleur de l’utilisation des antimicrobiens en médecine humaine n’est pas non plus prise en compte dans ce document, mais elle pourrait servir à les classer par priorité dans une catégorie ou au cours du processus d’évaluation des risques.Les deux principaux critères de catégorisation sont décrits brièvement ci-dessous :

Indication : Englobe l'utilisation de médicaments en médecine humaine, le spectre d'activité et l'efficacité des médicaments. Un médicament préférentiellement utilisé pour combattre de graves bactérioses sera jugé plus important que d'autres qui ne sont pas employés à cette fin. Il est à noter que le développement et l'occurrence accrue de la résistance aux antimicrobiens, y compris la résistance croisée et la co-résistance à d'autres catégories d'antimicrobiens, peuvent changer l'utilité et, par conséquent, les indications d'un médicament.

Disponibilité de médicaments antimicrobiens de remplacement : Les médicaments pour lesquels il n'existe que très peu ou pas de produits de remplacement pour le traitement des infections ou dont les médicaments de remplacement disponibles sont de la même catégorie, sont considérés plus importants que d'autres. Un médicament généralement utilisé dans un traitement de dernier recours est jugé plus important. Une résistance acquise, y compris la résistance à plusieurs médicaments, peut rendre un produit inefficace et limiter la disponibilité des antimicrobiens de remplacement efficaces.

Le tableau suivant indique comment les critères de catégorisation des antimicrobiens sont globalement appliqués pour assurer la transparence du processus. Les agents antimicrobiens sont groupés dans quatre catégories :

Tableau. Application des critères de catégorisation des antimicrobiens
Catégorie Option préférée de
traitement d’infections
graves chez les humains*
Absence ou rareté de
médicaments de
remplacement
I –Très haute importance Oui Oui
II –Haute importance Oui Non
III –Importance moyenne Non Non/Oui
IV –Faible importance Sans objet Sans objet

*Les infections gaves sont celles qui entraînent une morbidité significative exigeant des soins d'urgence incluant une hospitalisation et (ou) la mortalité, si elles ne sont pas traitées.

Il faut souligner que, par souci de simplicité, les médicaments antimicrobiens ont été classés selon leurs groupes chimiques et placés dans une catégorie où la majorité des médicaments appartenant à ce groupe peuvent se retrouver. Il est entendu que certains médicaments d'un groupe donné peuvent ne pas se retrouver dans la même catégorie que d'autres médicaments du même groupe et de telles exceptions sont traitées au cas par cas.

1. Catégorie I : Très haute importance

Ces antimicrobiens sont de très haute importance en médecine humaine, parce qu'ils répondent au critère voulant qu'ils soient essentiels dans le traitement de bactérioses graves et parce qu'il n'y a que très peu ou pas d'antimicrobiens de remplacement permettant un traitement efficace en cas d'émergence d'une résistance à ces agents. En voici quelques exemples:

  • 1.1    Carbapénèmes
  • 1.2    Céphalosporines - de troisième et quatrième générations
  • 1.3    Fluoroquinolones
  • 1.4    Glycopeptides
  • 1.5    Glycylcyclines
  • 1.6    Cétolides
  • 1.7    Lipopeptides
  • 1.8    Monobactams
  • 1.9    Nitroimidazoles (métronidazole)
  • 1.10  Oxazolidinones
  • 1.11  Pénicillines résistantes aux β-lactamases (Associations)
  • 1.12  Polymyxines (colistin)
  • 1.13  Agents thérapeutiques antituberculeux (p. ex., éthambutol, isoniazide, pyrazinamide et rifampicine)

2.   Catégorie II : Haute importance

Cette catégorie comprend les antimicrobiens qui peuvent être utilisés pour traiter plusieurs types d'infections (infections graves incluses) et pour lesquels des médicaments de remplacement sont généralement disponibles. Les bactéries résistantes aux médicaments de cette catégorie sont en général sensibles aux médicaments de la catégorie I, qui peuvent être utilisés comme médicaments de remplacement. En voici quelques exemples :

  • 2.1   Aminoglycosides (sauf agents topiques)
  • 2.2   Céphalosporines - première et deuxième générations (et céphamycines)
  • 2.3   Acide fusidique
  • 2.4   Lincosamides
  • 2.5   Macrolides
  • 2.6   Pénicillines
  • 2.7   Quinolones (sauf fluoroquinolones)
  • 2.8   Streptogramines
  • 2.9   Triméthoprime/sulfaméthoxazole

3.   Catégorie III : Moyenne importance

Les antimicrobiens de cette catégorie sont utilisés pour le traitement de bactérioses pour lesquelles des médicaments de remplacement sont généralement disponibles. Les infections causées par des bactéries résistantes à ces médicaments peuvent, en général, être traitées à l'aide d'antimicrobiens de catégorie I ou II. En voici quelques exemples :

  • 3.1   Aminocyclitols
  • 3.2   Aminoglycosides (agents topiques)
  • 3.3   Bacitracines
  • 3.4   Fosfomycine
  • 3.5   Nitrofuranes
  • 3.6   Phénicols
  • 3.7   Sulphonamides
  • 3.8   Tétracyclines
  • 3.9   Triméthoprime

4.   Catégorie IV : Faible importance

A l'heure actuelle, les antimicrobiens de cette catégorie ne sont pas utilisés en médecine humaine. En voici quelques exemples:

  • 4.1   Flavophospholipols
  • 4.2   Ionophores