Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Drugs and Health Products

Antimicrobial Resistance (AMR)

Antimicrobial resistance (AMR) is an emerging global health issue that, if not addressed, may evolve into one of the most significant public health challenges worldwide.

AMR is a deeply debated subject, not only in Canada, but internationally. There are varied opinions, perceptions and approaches involved in assessing and managing AMR. Health Canada is working with provincial, national and international partners to find solutions to the challenges posed by this issue. Advisory Committees are established to provide expert advice to Health Canada on a number of issues, including AMR. Any decisions taken by the Government of Canada in this regard are based on the most accurate Canadian interpretation of available scientific evidence.

Notice to Stakeholders: Collaborative efforts to promote the judicious use of medically-important antimicrobial drugs in food animal production

Letter: Advice to producers, veterinarians and animal nutritionists regarding the use of growth promoting antimicrobial drug products

Health Canada's Veterinary Drugs Directorate (VDD) is spearheading a number of activities to deal with this issue including research, surveillance, policy development and educational and outreach activities. For example, theNext link will take you to another Web site Canadian Integrated Program for Antimicrobial Resistance Surveillance (CIPARS) was developed by the Public Health Agency of Canada in collaboration with Health Canada, the Canadian Food Inspection Agency and provincial partners to monitor trends in the development of AMR in the food chain.

VDD will continue its public involvement and consultation efforts to work within government, with multi-stakeholder groups, and with national and international partners to move forward on this issue. New information about AMR and our polices will be posted as it becomes available. A fact sheet For Your Information: Antimicrobial Resistance, Antimicrobial Resistance (AMR) Frequently Asked Questions and Antimicrobial Resistance - Debunking the Myths provide additional details on this issue.

Reports

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Médicaments et produits de santé

Résistance aux antimicrobiens (RAM)

Mise à jour - Avis

Veuillez consulter les pages La résistance aux antimicrobiens et animaux pour plus de renseignements sur les règlements qui ont été publiés le 17 mai 2017.

La résistance aux antimicrobiens (RAM) est un problème de santé grandissant qui, s'il n'est pas affronté, pourrait devenir l'un des défis parmi les plus sérieux en matière de santé publique à l'échelle de la planète.

La RAM est un sujet très débattu, non seulement au Canada, mais également sur la scène internationale, et il donne déjà lieu à de nombreuses opinions, perceptions et approches quant à son évaluation et sa gestion. Santé Canada travaille avec des partenaires provinciaux, nationaux et internationaux afin de trouver des solutions aux problèmes que pose la RAM. Des Comités consultatifs sont mis sur pied dans le but de fournir des conseils d'experts à Santé Canada sur de nombreuses questions, y compris la RAM. Toutes les décisions que prend le gouvernement du Canada à ce sujet sont fondées sur les interprétations canadiennes les plus exactes des preuves scientifiques existantes.

La Direction des médicaments vétérinaires (DMV) de Santé Canada dirige un certain nombre d'activités pour affronter le problème, notamment dans les domaines de la recherche, de la surveillance, de l'élaboration de politiques, de l'éducation et de la sensibilisation. Par exemple, le Le lien suivant vous amène à une autre site Web Programme intégré canadien de surveillance de la résistance aux antimicrobiennes (PICRA) a été établi par l'Agence canadienne de la santé publique en collaboration avec Santé Canada, l'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments et des partenaires provinciaux en vue de suivre les tendances de la propagation de la RAM dans la chaîne alimentaire.

Pour faire avancer les travaux, la DMV poursuit ses efforts de participation et de consultation publiques et continue de collaborer avec des organismes du gouvernement fédéral, des groupes formés de nombreux intervenants et des partenaires nationaux et internationaux. Elle publie régulièrement sur le Web de nouveaux renseignements en ce qui concerne ses politiques et au sujet de la RAM. Des feuillets de renseignements intitulés Pour votre information : La résistance aux agents antimicrobiens, La résistance aux antimicrobiens : Foire aux questions et La résistance aux antimicrobiens : Pour faire éclater les mythes fournissent plus de détails sur la question.

Rapports