Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada
Drugs and Health Products

Questions and Answers - Hormonal Growth Promoters

What is the issue?

The use of hormonal growth promoters in beef cattle is an issue which has sparked much debate around the world. They are approved for use in Canada and the United States (US), however, the use of hormonal growth promoters is banned in the European Union (EU).

Public concerns about the use of hormonal growth promoters relate to questions about their impact on human health; in particular, whether these compounds may be cancer-causing and could adversely affect human health. Scientific research to date has not demonstrated that food products from animals treated with these hormonal growth promoters pose a threat to human health.

What are hormonal growth promoters?

Hormonal growth promoters are naturally occurring or synthetic products. They are approved for use in beef cattle. The effect of hormonal growth promoters (HGPs) is to increase lean tissue growth. Fat deposition is reduced and since fat is so energy dense, food conversion efficiency is increased. The result is a healthier product which is produced at a lower cost to the consumer.

What is the growth hormone (somatotropin)?

The growth hormone (somatotropin) is a naturally occurring substance in both humans and animals. It is responsible for skeletal, organ and cell growth.

What is Recombinant bovine somatotropin (rBST)?

Recombinant bovine somatotropin (rBST) is a synthetic version of the naturally occurring growth hormone somatotropin. It is approved for use in the US to increase the production of milk in dairy cattle. However, it is not approved for sale in Canada.

Why is rBST not approved for use in Canada?

rBST was reviewed by Health Canada in the 1990's. Although it was determined that it did not pose a health risk to humans, there were animal health concerns, and therefore it was never approved for sale in Canada.

Can beef cattle be raised without the use of hormonal growth promoters?

Hormonal growth promoters occur naturally in animals. It is possible to raise beef cattle without the use of synthetic HGPs, however, the cost of production would increase, making beef more expensive for consumers.

Which products are approved in Canada?

There are six hormonal growth promoters approved in Canada for use in beef cattle: three natural - progesterone, testosterone and estradiol-17▀; and three synthetic - trenbolone acetate (TBA), zeranol and melengestrol acetate (MGA). Hormonal growth promoters are not approved for use in any species other than beef cattle.

How are they administered to the animals?

All HGPs are administered as subcutaneous implants (behind the ear), except for melengestrol acetate (MGA) which is supplied as a feed additive.

For more information on the veterinary drug approval process, please refer to our Web site at: www.hc-sc.gc.ca/dhp-mps/vet/applic-demande/proces/approval-approbation-eng.php

For information on the monitoring of residues in foods derived from animals, please refer to the Next link will take you to another Web site Canadian Food Inspection Agency's Web site at: www.inspection.gc.ca/english/toce.shtml

How can I keep up-to-date on this issue?

As new data on hormonal growth promoters become available, Health Canada will continue to provide information on our Web site.

Health Canada contact information:

Veterinary Drugs Directorate
Health Products and Food Branch
Health Canada
Holland Cross Complex, Ground Floor
14 - 11 Holland Avenue
Ottawa, Ontario. K1A 0K9
Address Locator - 3000A

General Information
Number: (613) 954-5687
Fax: (613) 957-3861
E-mail: vetdrugs-medsvet@hc-sc.gc.ca

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Médicaments et produits de santé

Foire aux questions - Stimulateurs de croissance hormonaux

Quel est le problème?

L'emploi de stimulateurs de croissance hormonaux chez les bovins de boucherie pose un problème qui soulève beaucoup de controverse partout dans le monde. L'utilisation de ces produits est autorisée au Canada et aux États-Unis, mais elle est interdite dans l'Union européenne (UE).

L'utilisation de ces stimulateurs de croissance suscite des préoccupations parmi le public quant à leurs effets sur la santé humaine, particulièrement en ce qui a trait à la possibilité qu'ils puissent causer le cancer et, de ce fait, nuire à la santé humaine. Jusqu'ici, la recherche scientifique n'a pas démontré que les produits dérivés d'animaux traités à l'aide de stimulateurs de croissance posaient un danger pour la santé humaine.

Que sont les stimulateurs de croissance hormonaux?

Il s'agit de produits naturels ou synthétiques, dont l'utilisation est autorisée chez les bovins de boucherie. L'effet des stimulateurs de croissance hormonaux (SCH) est d'augmenter la croissance des tissus maigres. Le dépôt de gras est diminué et, comme le gras est dense au plan énergétique, l'efficacité de la conversion alimentaire est augmentée. Il en résulte un produit plus sain, à un coût moins élevé pour le consommateur.

Qu'est-ce que l'hormone de croissance (somatotropine)?

L'hormone de croissance (somatotropine) est une substance naturelle produite par les humains et les animaux. Elle stimule la croissance du squelette, des organes et des cellules.

Qu'est-ce que la somatotropine bovine recombinante (STbr)?

La somatotropine bovine recombinante (STbr) est le pendant synthétique de la somatotropine, l'hormone de croissance naturelle. Son utilisation est autorisée aux États-Unis pour accroître la production de lait chez les bovins laitiers. Sa vente n'est pas autorisée au Canada.

Pourquoi l'utilisation de la STbr n'est pas autorisée au Canada?

La STbr a été examinée par Santé Canada au cours des années 1990. Bien qu'il ait été déterminé qu'elle ne posait pas de danger pour les humains, sa vente n'a jamais été autorisée au Canada parce qu'elle soulevait des préoccupations en ce qui a trait à la santé des animaux.

Peut-on élever les bovins de boucherie sans utiliser de stimulateurs de croissance?

Les stimulateurs de croissance sont naturellement produits par les animaux. Il est possible d'élever des bovins de boucherie sans SCH synthétiques, mais le coût de production est augmenté et le boeuf coûte plus cher aux consommateurs.

Quels stimulateurs de croissance sont autorisés au Canada?

Six stimulateurs de croissance hormonaux sont homologués au Canada pour être administrés aux bovins de boucherie. Trois sont naturels: la progestérone, la testostérone et l'oestradiol-17ß; et trois sont synthétiques: l'acétate de trenbolone, le zéranol et l'acétate de mélengestrol. L'utilisation des stimulateurs de croissance n'est autorisée pour aucune espèce animale autre que les bovins de boucherie.

Comment les stimulateurs de croissance sont-ils administrés aux animaux?

Tous les SCH sont administrés sous forme d'implants sous-cutanés (derrière l'oreille). Exception faite de l'acétate de mélengestrol, lequel est ajouté aux aliments.

Pour plus d'information sur le processus d'homologation des médicaments vétérinaires, consultez notre site Web à l'adresse : www.hc-sc.gc.ca/dhp-mps/vet/applic-demande/proces/approval-approbation-fra.php

Pour vous renseigner sur le contrôle des résidus de médicaments dans les aliments provenant d'animaux, consultez le site Web de Le lien suivant vous amène à une autre site Web l'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments à l'adresse : http://www.inspection.gc.ca/francais/tocf.shtml

Comment puis-je me tenir au courant de l'évolution de cette question?

À mesure que de nouvelles données sur les stimulateurs de croissance hormonaux seront publiées, Santé Canada les affichera à son site Web.

Adresse de Santé Canada :

Direction des médicaments vétérinaires
Direction générale des produits de santé et des aliments
Santé Canada
Complexe Holland Cross, Tour A, rez-de-chaussée
11, avenue Holland, bureau 14
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0K9
Indice de l'adresse - 3000A

Renseignements généraux :
Téléphone : (613) 954-5687
Télécopieur : (613) 957-3861
Courriel électronique : vetdrugs-medsvet@hc-sc.gc.ca