Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada
Environmental and Workplace Health

Formaldehyde

Formaldehyde is a colourless gas that is emitted mainly from household products and building materials. Low levels of formaldehyde in indoor air are actually very common. When found at high levels in air, it can be detected by a sharp smell. High concentrations of formaldehyde can cause irritation of the eyes, nose and throat and can worsen asthma symptoms in children and infants.

On this page:

What are the sources of Formaldehyde?

Formaldehyde can enter indoor air in two ways:

  1. from emissions arising from construction materials and household products: off-gassing;
  2. from burning materials: combustion.

Low levels of formaldehyde in indoor air are actually very common and come from sources including:

  • pressed wood products that use glues that contain formaldehyde, such as particle board, hardwood, plywood paneling, and medium density fibreboard. These products may be used in home construction and renovations, and are also often used to make furniture and cabinets;
  • paints, adhesives, varnishes and floor finishes;
  • household products such as wallpaper, cardboard and paper products;
  • vehicle exhaust from attached garages or from outdoors;
  • smoke from fireplaces and wood-burning stoves; and
  • tobacco smoke.

In general, formaldehyde off-gassing sources emit less and less formaldehyde over time. However, it can take weeks - and sometimes even months or years - to disappear completely.

What are the Health Risks?

Formaldehyde is an irritant, and exposure to high concentrations of formaldehyde can cause burning sensations in the eyes, nose and throat.

Long-term exposure to moderate formaldehyde concentrations (at levels lower than those causing irritation) may also be linked to respiratory symptoms and allergic sensitivity, especially in children.

At very high concentrations, formaldehyde can cause cancer of the nasal cavity. It has been linked to this rare type of cancer in industry workers who are regularly exposed to high levels of formaldehyde (higher levels than most people are ever likely to encounter in their homes). The risk of developing cancer from formaldehyde exposure at concentrations found in most Canadian homes is essentially zero.

Health Canada's Residential Indoor Air Quality Guidelines

Health Canada has developed an indoor air quality guideline for formaldehyde in residences. The guideline sets recommended maximum formaldehyde levels for two types of exposure:

  • The short-term exposure limit protects against health problems that may arise from exposure to high levels over a short time period (e.g. one hour). This type of exposure could occur, for example, when working with paint or varnish containing formaldehyde.
  • The long-term exposure limit protects against health problems that may be caused by repeated exposure to lower levels of formaldehyde over a long period (days, weeks, months, etc.). Since formaldehyde levels change over time, with occasional peaks and valleys, long-term exposure levels are best measured by sampling indoor air over a longer period (8 hours or more).

To avoid possible eye, nose and throat irritation from short-term exposure, indoor air levels of formaldehyde should be below 123 μg/m3 (100 ppb). This is actually lower than the formaldehyde level that has been shown to cause irritation in scientific studies. The lower value was chosen to be more protective of health, as people may differ in their sensitivity to formaldehyde.

To prevent respiratory problems from long-term exposure, i.e. over days, months or years, indoor air levels should be kept below 50 μg/m3 (or 40 ppb). As formaldehyde levels increase above this level, the risk of having respiratory problems or allergic sensitivity also increases, especially for children.

Formaldehyde levels in air are usually measured in micrograms (μg) of formaldehyde per metre cubed (m3) of air. A microgram is a very small amount equal to 1 millionth of a gram, while a metre cubed is the amount of air in a box that is 1 metre high by 1 metre long by 1 metre wide. Formaldehyde levels are also sometimes expressed as parts per billion (ppb). For example, a level of 1 ppb of formaldehyde means there is 1 part of formaldehyde in a billion parts of air.

Health effects at different levels of formaldehyde
Level of formaldehyde Possible health effects
Low - below 50 μg/m3 (40ppb) No adverse effects should be noticed.
Moderate - above 50 μg/m3 (40ppb) Long-term exposure may result in respiratory symptoms such as coughing and wheezing, and allergic sensitivity, especially in children.
High - above 123 μg/m3 (100 ppb) The risk of irritation or burning sensation in eyes, nose and throat from short-term exposure grows with increasing concentration. There is also an increased likelihood of respiratory symptoms from long-term exposure.

Typical Levels Found in Homes

Health Canada has measured formaldehyde in a large number of homes in different cities across Canada - Charlottetown, Ottawa, Quebec City, Regina - as part of an ongoing study on the quality of indoor air. All houses had at least some formaldehyde in indoor air. On average, formaldehyde levels measured over a day in Canadian homes were 20-40 μg/m3 (16-32.5 ppb). Daily levels as high as 95 μg/m3 (77 ppb), however, have been recorded.

Formaldehyde levels indoors will depend on the number of formaldehyde sources in the home. Ventilation is also a factor, as fresh air brought in from outdoors will dilute and reduce indoor formaldehyde levels. Higher temperature and humidity will also increase the release of formaldehyde through off-gassing from some products.

How to Reduce Exposure to Formaldehyde

The best way to control formaldehyde in the air is to reduce or eliminate as many sources as possible, and prevent it from getting into the air in the first place.

Some actions you can take to reduce formaldehyde levels in your home include:

  • Don't allow anyone to smoke inside.
  • Make sure fireplaces and woodstoves are in good working condition to prevent smoke from getting into your living environment. Keep your chimney clean and clear of obstructions.
  • Don't idle cars or other gas powered equipment in attached garages or near doors or windows. Engine exhaust contains a number of toxic chemicals, including formaldehyde.
  • For some building and household products, there may be no or low formaldehyde options available, ask retailers or manufacturers for details.
  • To keep emissions low from pressed wood furniture or cabinets, purchase items with a plastic laminate or coating on all sides, or seal them yourself when you get them home.
  • Make sure there is plenty of ventilation during major painting or varnishing projects, or when installing wall-to-wall carpets using glues or adhesives.
  • Allow products that contain formaldehyde to "air out" before bringing them into your home.

Formaldehyde concentrations are higher indoors than they are outdoors, so you can significantly decrease indoor formaldehyde levels by letting in dry, fresh air. Also, high relative humidity increases formaldehyde emissions. Therefore, it is recommended to measure your indoor humidity level with a Next link will take you to another Web site hygrometer and keep the humidity at around 50% in the summer, and 30% in the winter. If necessary, you can use a dehumidifier to reduce the relative humidity.

Urea formaldehyde-based foam insulation (UFFI)

Urea formaldehyde-based thermal insulation, which is foamed in place and used to insulate buildings, has been banned in Canada under the Hazardous Products Act (HPA) since December 1980. UFFI was prohibited due to the high levels of formaldehyde that were given off during the installation process, as well as the continued off-gassing of formaldehyde from poorly installed insulation.

The amount of formaldehyde released by UFFI was highest when first installed and decreased over time. As a result, UFFI installed before 1980 would have little effect on indoor formaldehyde levels today. If UFFI gets wet, however, it could begin to break down and may release more formaldehyde. Wet or deteriorating UFFI should be removed by a specialist and the source of the moisture problem should be repaired.

RetroFoam

RetroFoam, a foamed in-place thermal insulation product, was installed in between 800 and 900 homes in Ontario between 2007 and early 2009. Health Canada has confirmed the product contains urea formaldehyde, and is therefore prohibited under the Hazardous Products Act. Once Health Canada became aware the Hazardous Products Act had been contravened, the department took prompt compliance and enforcement action. As a result, RetroFoam is no longer available for sale or installation in Canada.

Like the earlier UFFI, the amount of formaldehyde released from RetroFoam would have been highest at installation and should decrease over time. While it may take a few months or even years, RetroFoam will eventually stop releasing formaldehyde.

Health Canada offered homeowners with RetroFoam the opportunity to test their indoor formaldehyde levels. The results of that testing are available here.

Advice to homeowners

It is the responsibility of any vendor to ensure that the product they sell, advertise and/or import meets the requirements of Canadian laws.

Before installing any insulation in your home, ask your contractor or retailer whether their product meets applicable laws. Specifically, you can ask them to demonstrate that their insulation product is free of urea formaldehyde. Ask to see the Material Safety Data Sheet or a copy of the chemical formulation for the insulation and make sure the words "urea formaldehyde" do not appear.

Where Can I Get More Information?

Health Canada Resources

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Santé de l'environnement et du milieu de travail

Le formaldéhyde

Le formaldéhyde est un gaz incolore qui est émis principalement par les produits ménagers et les matériaux de construction. Il est très courant aujourd'hui de détecter de faibles doses de formaldéhyde dans l'air intérieur. Lorsqu'il est présent à des niveaux élevés dans l'air, il se révèle par une odeur piquante. Des concentrations élevées de formaldéhyde peuvent causer des irritations des yeux, du nez et de la gorge et peuvent aggraver les symptômes de l'asthme chez les enfants et les nourrissons.

Sur cette page :

Quelles sont les sources du formaldéhyde?

Le formaldéhyde peut s'infiltrer dans l'air intérieur de deux façons :

  • par les émissions des matériaux de construction et des produits ménagers : dégagement gazeux;
  • par des matériaux qui brûlent : combustion.

De faibles niveaux de formaldéhyde dans l'air intérieur sont actuellement très courants et émanent de certaines sources, notamment :

  • les produits de bois aggloméré qui nécessitent des colles contenant du formaldéhyde, comme les panneaux de particules, le panneautage de contreplaqués de feuillus et les panneaux de fibres à densité moyenne. Ces produits sont utilisés dans la construction et la rénovation des maisons et servent également souvent à fabriquer des meubles et des armoires;
  • les peintures, les adhésifs, les vernis et les finis de plancher;
  • les produits ménagers comme le papier peint, le carton blanchi et les articles en papier;
  • les émanations de véhicules des garages adjacents ou de l'extérieur;
  • la fumée des foyers et des poêles à bois;
  • la fumée du tabac.

En général, les sources à dégagement gazeux de formaldéhyde émettent de moins en moins de formaldéhyde au fil du temps. Toutefois, ils peuvent mettre des semaines - et parfois même des mois ou des années - à disparaître complètement.

Quels sont les risques pour la santé?

Le formaldéhyde est un irritant, et l'exposition à des concentrations élevées de formaldéhyde peut causer des sensations de brûlure aux yeux, au nez et à la gorge.

L'exposition à long terme à des concentrations modérées de formaldéhyde (à des niveaux plus faibles que ceux qui causent des irritations) peut également être reliée à des symptômes respiratoires et à une sensibilité allergique, en particulier chez les enfants.

À des concentrations très élevées, le formaldéhyde peut causer le cancer de la cavité nasale. On l'a relié à ce rare type de cancer chez les travailleurs industriels qui sont régulièrement exposés à des niveaux élevés de formaldéhyde (des niveaux plus élevés que ce que la plupart des gens ne connaîtront jamais à la maison). Le risque de développer un cancer suite à l'exposition au formaldéhyde, aux concentrations décelées dans la plupart des maisons canadiennes, est pratiquement nul.

Lignes directrices sur la qualité de l'air intérieur résidentiel - Santé Canada

Santé Canada a formulé une ligne directrice sur la qualité de l'air intérieur dans les résidences quant au formaldéhyde. La ligne directrice établit des niveaux de formaldéhyde maximaux acceptables pour deux genres d'exposition :

  • La limite d'exposition à court terme protège contre les problèmes de santé qui peuvent découler d'une exposition à des niveaux élevés pendant une brève période de temps (p. ex. : une heure). Ce genre d'exposition pourrait survenir, par exemple, lorsqu'on utilise de la peinture ou des vernis contenant du formaldéhyde.
  • La limite d'exposition à long terme protège contre les problèmes de santé pouvant découler d'une exposition répétée à de faibles niveaux de formaldéhyde pendant une longue période (jours, semaines, mois, etc.). Étant donné que les niveaux de formaldéhyde varient au fil du temps, avec des pics et des creux occasionnels, on mesure mieux les niveaux d'exposition à long terme en prenant des échantillons d'air intérieur durant une période plus longue (8 heures ou plus).

Afin d'éviter l'irritation possible des yeux, du nez et de la gorge due à l'exposition à court terme, le niveau de formaldéhyde dans l'air intérieur devrait se situer sous les 123 μg/m3 (100 ppb). Ce niveau est en fait plus faible que le niveau de formaldéhyde responsable des irritations, selon des études scientifiques. On a choisi la valeur plus faible pour mieux protéger la santé, puisque la sensibilité au formaldéhyde varie selon les individus.

Afin de prévenir les problèmes respiratoires dû à une exposition à long terme, c'est-à-dire pendant des jours, des mois ou des années, le niveau dans l'air intérieur devrait se maintenir au-dessous de 50 μg/m3 (ou 40 ppb). Lorsque les niveaux de formaldéhyde augmentent au-dessus de ce niveau, le risque d'avoir des problèmes respiratoires ou une sensibilité allergique augmente également, en particulier chez les enfants.

Les niveaux de formaldéhyde dans l'air se mesurent habituellement en microgrammes (μg) de formaldéhyde par mètre cube (m3) d'air. Un microgramme est une très petite quantité équivalant à un millionième de gramme, tandis qu'un mètre cube est la quantité d'air contenue dans une boîte d'un mètre de haut sur un mètre de long sur un mètre de large. Les niveaux de formaldéhyde s'expriment aussi parfois en partie par milliard (ppb). Ainsi, un niveau de 1 ppb de formaldéhyde signifie qu'il y a une partie de formaldéhyde dans un milliard de parties d'air.

Effets sur la santé à différents niveaux de formaldéhyde
Niveau de formaldéhyde Effets possibles sur la santé
Faible - sous les 50 μg/m3 (40ppb) On ne devrait remarquer aucun effet critique.
Moyen - au-dessus de 50 μg/m3 (40ppb) L'exposition à long terme peut causer des symptômes respiratoires comme la toux, la respiration sifflante et la sensibilité allergique, en particulier chez les enfants.
Élevé - au-dessus de 123 μg/m3 (100 ppb) Le risque d'irritation ou de sensation de brûlure des yeux, du nez et de la gorge dû à l'exposition à court terme croît avec l'augmentation de la concentration. Il y a aussi une plus grande probabilité de symptômes respiratoires dû à l'exposition à long terme.

Niveaux typiques détectés dans les maisons

Santé Canada a mesuré le formaldéhyde dans un grand nombre de maisons de différentes villes du Canada - Charlottetown, Ottawa, Québec, Régina - dans le cadre d'une étude de longue durée sur la qualité de l'air intérieur. Toutes les maisons contenaient au moins un peu de formaldéhyde dans l'air intérieur. Les niveaux de formaldéhyde moyens mesurés pendant une journée dans ces maisons étaient de 20-40 μg/m3 (16-32,5 ppb). Toutefois, des niveaux quotidiens aussi élevés que 95 μg/m3 (77 ppb) ont été enregistrés.

Le niveau de formaldéhyde à l'intérieur dépend du nombre de sources de formaldéhyde de la maison. La ventilation est également un facteur : un air frais extérieur dilue et réduit le niveau de formaldéhyde intérieur. Une température et une humidité plus élevées augmentent la diffusion de formaldéhyde par dégagement gazeux de certains produits.

Comment réduire l'exposition au formaldéhyde

Le meilleur moyen de contrôler le formaldéhyde dans l'air est de réduire ou d'éliminer le plus de sources possible et d'empêcher le formaldéhyde de se répandre dans l'air de prime abord.

Vous pouvez prendre certaines mesures pour réduire les niveaux de formaldéhyde dans votre maison, notamment :

  • Ne permettez à personne de fumer à l'intérieur.
  • Veillez à ce que les foyers et les poêles à bois soient en bon état de marche, afin d'empêcher la fumée de se répandre dans votre milieu de vie. Tenez vos cheminées propres et exemptes d'obstructions.
  • Ne faites pas fonctionner au repos les voitures ou autre équipement au gaz dans des garages adjacents ou près de portes ou de fenêtres. L'échappement des moteurs contient nombre de produits chimiques toxiques, dont le formaldéhyde.
  • Pour certains produits ménagers et matériaux de construction, il existe des options à faible taux d'émissions; consultez vos détaillants ou fabricants pour de plus amples informations.
  • Afin de contenir à un faible niveau les émissions de meubles ou d'armoires de bois aggloméré, achetez des articles recouverts de plastique stratifié ou pelliculés de tous les côtés ou scellez-les vous-mêmes quand vous les emportez à la maison.
  • Assurez-vous de bien ventiler durant les grands travaux de peinture ou de vernissage, ou quand il s'agit d'installer des moquettes en utilisant des colles ou des adhésifs.
  • Laissez les produits qui contiennent du formaldéhyde s'aérer avant de les rentrer dans la maison.

Les concentrations de formaldéhyde sont plus élevées à l'intérieur qu'à l'extérieur, ainsi vous pouvez réduire de façon importante vos niveaux de formaldéhyde en laissant entrer de l'air frais et sec. De plus, une humidité relative élevée accroît les émissions de formaldéhyde. Par conséquent, on recommande de mesurer votre taux d'humidité intérieure avec un Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web hygromètre et de conserver un taux d'humidité de près de 50 % durant l'été et de 30 % durant l'hiver. S'il y a lieu, vous pouvez utiliser un déshumidificateur, afin de réduire l'humidité relative.

Mousse isolante d'urée-formaldéhyde (MIUF)

L'isolation thermique à base d'urée-formaldéhyde, injectée sous forme de mousse et qui sert à isoler les bâtiments, est interdite au Canada depuis décembre 1980 en vertu de la Loi sur les produits dangereux (LPD). La MIUF a été interdite en raison des concentrations élevées de formaldéhyde libérées pendant son installation, ainsi que des émanations continues de gaz en cas de mauvaise installation.

La quantité de formaldéhyde libérée par la MIUF est très élevée lors de l'installation et diminue avec le temps. Par conséquent, la MIUF installée avant 1980 a peu de répercussions sur les concentrations de formaldéhyde dans l'air intérieur aujourd'hui. Par contre, la MIUF qui entre en contact avec de l'eau ou de l'humidité pourrait se dégrader et libérer davantage de formaldéhyde. La MIUF humide ou en voie de détérioration doit être enlevée par un spécialiste et la source du problème d'humidité éliminée.

RetroFoam

RetroFoam, un isolant injecté sous forme de mousse, a été installé dans 800 à 900 maisons en Ontario entre 2007 et le début de 2009. Santé Canada a confirmé que ce produit contient de l'urée formaldéhyde et qu'il est par conséquent interdit en vertu de la Loi sur les produits dangereux. Santé Canada est intervenu promptement dès qu'il a su que la Loi sur les produits dangereux avait été enfreinte. RetroFoam ne peut donc plus être vendu ni installé au Canada.

Tout comme avec la MIUF, la quantité de formaldéhyde libérée par le produit RetroFoam aura été à son plus haut lors de l'installation et devrait diminuer avec le temps. Bien que cela puisse prendre des mois ou même des années, RetroFoam cessera ultimement de libérer du formaldéhyde.

Santé Canada a offert aux propriétaires dont la maison a été isolée avec RetroFoam la possibilité de faire analyser la concentration de formaldéhyde dans leur résidence. Pour consulter les résultats de ces analyses, cliquez ici.

Conseils à l'intention des propriétaires

Il incombe aux fournisseurs de s'assurer que le produit qu'ils vendent, annoncent ou importent est conforme aux exigences des lois du Canada.

Avant d'installer de l'isolant dans votre habitation, demandez à l'entrepreneur ou au détaillant si le produit est conforme aux lois du Canada. De plus, vous pouvez lui demander de prouver que le produit isolant en question est exempt d'urée-formaldéhyde. Demandez à voir la fiche signalétique du produit ou une copie de la composition chimique du produit afin de vous assurer que les termes « urée-formaldéhyde » n'y apparaissent pas.

Où puis-je obtenir de plus amples informations?

Ressources de Santé Canada