Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Environmental and Workplace Health

The Canadian Health Measures Survey

The Canadian Health Measures Survey (CHMS) is a national survey that is led by Statistics Canada, in partnership with Health Canada and the Public Health Agency of Canada, which collects information from Canadians about their general health. Through personal interviews and the collection of physical measurements, the survey provides baseline data on indicators of environmental exposures, chronic diseases, infectious diseases, fitness, and nutritional status, as well as risk factors and protective characteristics related to these areas. The physical measurements include such factors as height and weight, blood pressure, physical fitness and lung function measures, as well as many measures based on blood and urine samples including environmental chemicals.

The CHMS is an ongoing survey.

Cycle 1 (2007-2009)

The Report on Human Biomonitoring of Environmental Chemicals in Canada, released in August 2010, presents the first-ever comprehensive set of biomonitoring data on the Canadian population's exposure to environmental chemicals, collected as part of cycle 1 of the CHMS.

For more information on cycle 1 of the CHMS, please refer to the following information:

Biomonitoring results for bisphenol A, lead, cadmium and mercury from cycle 1 have been summarized in several Statistics Canada publications. For additional information, please refer to the following:

Cycle 2 (2009-2011)

The Second Report on Human Biomonitoring of Environmental Chemicals in Canada, released in April 2013, presents new and updated biomonitoring data on the Canadian population's exposure to environmental chemicals, collected as part of cycles 1 and 2 of the CHMS. About 55% of the environmental chemicals measured in cycle 2 were not included in cycle 1. Additionally, a 3-5 year old age group was introduced in cycle 2 expanding the total sample population to 3-79 years. Cycle 2 also included an indoor air sampling component for environmental chemicals.

For more information on cycle 2 of the CHMS, please refer to the following information:

Cycle 3 (2012-2013)

The Third Report on Human Biomonitoring of Environmental Chemicals in Canada, released in July 2015, presents new and updated biomonitoring data on the Canadian population's exposure to environmental chemicals, collected as part of cycles 1, 2, and 3 of the CHMS. About 31% of the environmental chemicals measured in cycle 3 were not included in previous cycles. Cycle 3 included an indoor air and tap water sampling component for environmental chemicals.

For more information on cycle 3 of the CHMS, please refer to the following information:

Cycle 4 (2014-2015)

The fourth cycle of the CHMS is currently underway, with data collection for this cycle taking place from 2014 to 2015.

Need More Info?

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Santé de l'environnement et du milieu de travail

Enquête canadienne sur les mesures de la santé

L'Enquête canadienne sur les mesures de la santé (ECMS) est une enquête nationale dirigée par Statistique Canada, en partenariat avec Santé Canada et l'Agence de la santé publique du Canada, qui consiste à recueillir des renseignements sur la santé générale des Canadiens. Au moyen d'entrevues individuelles et de mesures physiques, l'enquête fournit des données de référence sur des indicateurs de l'exposition environnementale, les maladies chroniques, les maladies infectieuses, la condition physique et l'état nutritionnel, ainsi que des facteurs de risque et des caractéristiques de protection qui ont trait à ces domaines. Les mesures physiques comprennent la taille, le poids, la tension artérielle, la condition physique et la fonction pulmonaire et incluent également de nombreuses mesures fondées sur l'analyse d'échantillons de sang ou d'urine, notamment les concentrations de certaines substances chimiques de l'environnement.

L'ECMS est une enquête en cours.

Cycle 1 (2007 à 2009)

Le Rapport sur la biosurveillance humaine des substances chimiques dans l'environnement au Canada, publié en août 2010, présente le premier ensemble exhaustif de données de biosurveillance sur l'exposition de la population canadienne à diverses substances chimiques présentes dans l'environnement, données qui ont été recueillies dans le cadre du cycle 1 de l'Enquête canadienne sur les mesures de la santé.

Pour plus de renseignements sur le cycle 1 de l'ECMS, veuillez consulter les ressources suivantes :

Les résultats de biosurveillance pour le bisphénol A, le plomb, le cadmium et le mercure, qui ont été obtenus dans le cadre du cycle 1, ont été résumés dans plusieurs publications de Statistique Canada. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur ce sujet, veuillez consulter les ressources suivantes :

Cycle 2 (2009 à 2011)

Le Deuxième rapport sur la biosurveillance humaine des substances chimiques de l'environnement au Canada, publié en avril 2013, présente de nouvelles données de biosurveillance et des mises à jour sur l'exposition de la population canadienne aux substances chimiques de l'environnement, données qui ont été recueillies dans le cadre des cycles 1 et 2 de l'ECMS. Environ 55 % des substances chimiques mesurées dans le cadre du cycle 2 ne faisaient pas partie du cycle 1. De plus, le groupe des 3 à 5 ans a été ajouté dans le cycle 2, étendant ainsi l'échantillon de population aux Canadiens de 3 à 79 ans. Le cycle 2 comprenait également un volet sur l'échantillonnage de l'air intérieur pour y mesurer les substances chimiques présentes.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur le cycle 2 de l'ECMS, veuillez consulter les ressources suivantes :

Cycle 3 (2012 à 2013)

Le Troisième rapport sur la biosurveillance humaine des substances chimiques de l'environnement au Canada, publié en juillet 2015, présente de nouvelles données de biosurveillance et des mises à jour sur l'exposition de la population canadienne aux substances chimiques de l'environnement, données qui ont été recueillies dans le cadre des cycles 1, 2 et 3 de l'ECMS. Environ 31 % des substances chimiques mesurées dans le cadre du cycle 3 ne faisaient pas partie des cycles précédents. Le cycle 3 comprenait l'échantillonnage de l'air intérieur et de l'eau du robinet pour mesurer les substances chimiques.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur le cycle 3 de l'ECMS, veuillez consulter les ressources suivantes :

Cycle 4 (2014 à 2015)

Le quatrième cycle de l'ECMS est en cours; la collecte des données ayant lieu de 2014 à 2015.

Renseignements