Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Help the Government of Canada organize its website! Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.
Environmental and Workplace Health

Environmental Impact Initiative

The Environmental Impact Initiative (EII) Division was established in 2001 following the publication of a Next link will take you to another Web site Notice of Intent in the Canada Gazette Part I. This notice informed the public of Health Canada's intention to undertake the development of appropriate Environmental Assessment Regulations (EARs) for new substances in products regulated under the Next link will take you to another Web site Food and Drugs Act.

The EII is part of the Policy, Planning and International Affairs Directorate in the Health Products and Food Branch (HPFB) of Health Canada. The EII's mandate is to reduce environmental and indirect human health impacts of substances in products regulated under the Food and Drugs Act. To fulfill its mandate, the EII is developing appropriate EARs for substances contained in these products. In addition, the EII is researching if there is a need to improve or develop appropriate Best Management Practices (BMPs) for the products regulated under the Food and Drugs Act.

More information about the Environmental Impact Initiative is available in the About Health Canada section.

The need for appropriate EARs and BMPs is growing in importance since scientific evidence has demonstrated that substances in products regulated under the Food and Drugs Act can be found in the Canadian environment.

The Development of the Environmental Impact Initiative

  • Next link will take you to another Web site Notice of Intent - September 2001
    This notice advised the public of Health Canada's intention to undertake the development of new Environmental Assessment Regulations for new substances in products regulated under the Food and Drugs Act.
  • Issue Identification Paper - January 2003
    This paper served as a basis for discussion with stakeholders to identify the issues being addressed by the Government of Canada and to set out the goals and objectives for the Environmental Assessment Regulations' options.
  • Options Analysis Paper - An Environmental Assessment Regime for New Substances in Products Regulated under the Food & Drugs Act - June 2005
    This paper was released to obtain feedback on the legislative authority under which the Environmental Assessment Regulations should be placed.
  • Options Analysis Paper Feedback Analysis Report - February 2006
    This report provided an analysis of the Stakeholder feedback received on the Options Analysis Paper.
  • Discussion Document for the March 29 and 30, 2006 Stakeholder Consultation - March 2006
    This document was intended to provide participants with background information on the development of the Environmental Assessment Regulations in order to initiate discussion at the March 29 and 30, 2006 consultation.

The Chemicals Management Plan

The Next link will take you to another Web site Chemicals Management Plan (CMP) is a joint initiative between Health Canada and Environment Canada that was created to improve and protect the environment as well as the health and safety of all Canadians against harm from hazardous chemicals. It includes a number of new and proactive measures to ensure that chemical substances are managed properly. The mandate of the EII Division falls under the CMP. In addition to the development of EARs and BMPs, EII is also involved in other activities that fall under the CMP. EII plays a coordination role for the HPFB Directorate's response to the CMP Challenge, CMP Post-challenge, legacy substances among other activities.

Additional Resources

Health Canada Resources

Other Government of Canada Resources

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

À propos de Santé Canada

Initiative sur l'impact environnemental

La Division de l'Initiative sur l'impact environnemental (IIE) a été créée en 2001 à la suite de la publication d'un Le lien suivant vous amènera à un autre site Web avis d'intention dans la Partie 1 de la Gazette du Canada. Cet avis informe le public que Santé Canada a l'intention d'élaborer un règlement d'évaluation environnementale (REE) pour les substances nouvelles présentes dans les produits régis par la Le lien suivant vous amènera à un autre site Web Loi sur les aliments et drogues.

L'IIE a été établie au sein de la Direction des politiques, de la planification et des affaires internationales qui fait partie de la Direction générale des produits de santé et des aliments (DGPSA) de Santé Canada. Son mandat est de réduire l'impact sur l'environnement et, indirectement, sur la santé des substances contenues dans les produits visés par la Loi sur les aliments et drogues. Pour ce faire, l'IIE est en train d'élaborer un REE pour les substances présentes dans ces produits et étudie la nécessité d'améliorer ou d'élaborer des pratiques exemplaires de gestion (PEG) pour les produits régis par la Loi sur les aliments et drogues.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements au sujet de l'Initiative sur l'impact environnemental, consultez la section À propos de Santé Canada.

L'élaboration d'un REE et de PEG appropriés devient de plus en plus nécessaire puisque, selon des données probantes scientifiques, les substances contenues dans les produits visés par la Loi sur les aliments et drogues sont présentes dans l'environnement au Canada.

Élaboration de l'Initiative sur l'impact environnemental

  • Le lien suivant vous amènera à un autre site Web Avis d'intention - septembre 2001
    L'avis informe le public que Santé Canada a l'intention d'élaborer un règlement d'évaluation environnementale pour les substances nouvelles présentes dans les produits régis par la Loi sur les aliments et drogues.
  • Document sur la détermination des enjeux - janvier 2003
    Le document est à la base des discussions avec les intervenants visant à déterminer les enjeux examinés par le gouvernement du Canada et sert à fixer les buts et les objectifs pour les options d'un règlement d'évaluation environnementale.
  • Document sur l'analyse des options - Régime d'évaluation environnementale des substances nouvelles présentes dans les produits visés par la Loi sur les aliments et drogues- juin 2005
    Le document a été publié afin de recueillir des commentaires pour déterminer l'autorité législative responsable du règlement d'évaluation environnementale.
  • Rapport d'analyse de la rétroaction au Document sur l'analyse des options - février 2006
    Le rapport contient une analyse des commentaires des intervenants au sujet du Document sur l'analyse des options.
  • Document de discussion pour la consultation des intervenants les 29 et 30 mars 2006 - mars 2006
    Le document vise à fournir aux participants des renseignements concernant l'élaboration du règlement d'évaluation environnementale, et ce, afin de pouvoir en discuter lors de la consultation des 29 et 30 mars 2006.

Plan de gestion des produits chimiques

Le Le lien suivant vous amènera à un autre site Web Plan de gestion des produits chimiques (PGPC) a été élaboré par Santé Canada et Environnement Canada afin d'améliorer l'environnement, la santé et la sécurité des Canadiens et les protéger contre les risques associés aux produits chimiques dangereux. Cette initiative propose plusieurs nouvelles mesures proactives qui visent à s'assurer que les substances chimiques sont correctement gérées. Le mandat de la Division de l'IIE se rattache au PGPC. En effet, en plus de l'élaboration du REE et des PEG, l'IIE participe à d'autres activités qui relèvent du PGPC. Parmi ses nombreuses activités, l'IIE coordonne la réponse de la Direction de la DGPSA au Défi du PGPC, à l'après-défi du PGCP et aux substances existantes.

Ressources connexes

Ressources de Santé Canada

Ressources du gouvernement du Canada