Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Help the Government of Canada organize its website! Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.
Environmental and Workplace Health

Perfluorooctane Sulfonate (PFOS) and Health

2007
ISBN: 978-0-662-44818-1
Cat. No.: H128-1/07-496-7E
HC Pub.: 4468

Help on accessing alternative formats, such as Portable Document Format (PDF), Microsoft Word and PowerPoint (PPT) files, can be obtained in the alternate format help section.

Table of Contents

Issue

Perfluorooctane sulfonate or perfluorooctanyl sulfonate (PFOS) is a synthetic (human made) chemical belonging to a large family of compounds known as perfluorinated chemicals. The exposure of some wildlife organisms in Canada (e.g., polar bear, bird species) to PFOS could be near or at levels that are harmful to them. Current exposure for humans in Canada is not significant enough to be considered dangerous to human health under the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA 1999).

Background

Perfluorinated chemicals have been widely detected in the environment and in organisms, including in remote areas of the world such as the Canadian Arctic. PFOS is exceptionally persistent (meaning that it takes a very long time to break down in the environment) and can "bioaccumulate" or build up in certain living organisms. A number of related chemicals, referred to as "PFOS precursors" can transform or degrade into PFOS in the environment. PFOS is the final degradation product, and is not known to be subject to any further degradation in the environment or change in living organisms (i.e., metabolism).

PFOS, its salts and its precursors were used historically as water, oil, soil and grease repellents for carpets, fabric and upholstery and food packaging, and as surfactants in specialized applications such as fire-fighting foams, aviation hydraulic fluids, and fume suppressants for metal plating. While there may still be some manufacture globally, the key producer of PFOS phased out worldwide production in 2002 and direct uses in Canada have largely been phased out.

Sources

PFOS, its salts and its precursors are not manufactured in nor exported from Canada. Almost 600 tonnes of perfluorinated chemicals were imported into Canada between 1997 and 2000 as chemicals or in various products. Approximately 43 percent of these imports were identified as PFOS, its salts or its precursors. When the primary supplier of PFOS voluntarily phased out production in 2002, imports into Canada of PFOS, its salts and precursors essentially ceased. The exception was approximately 3 tonnes of PFOS imported in 2004 for use as a surfactant in fume suppressants. While an estimated 3 tonnes of PFOS are contained in stockpiles of aqueous film-forming foam (AFFF) used for firefighting, it is believed that most other supplies of PFOS have been depleted.

PFOS, its salts and its precursors may enter into the environment through treated or untreated municipal/industrial wastewater discharges to surface water and through leachates from landfills when products and materials containing these substances are sent for final disposal. PFOS may also be released directly to air, land and surface water when products containing PFOS are used.

Health Risks

Health Canada has completed a State of the Science Report for a Screening Health Assessment for PFOS (July 2006). Nearly all Canadians carry low levels of perfluorinated chemicals, including PFOS, in their blood as a result of exposure. While exact exposure routes are not well understood, people can be potentially exposed to perfluorinated chemicals from contaminated air, surface and ground water, contaminated foods, in certain occupational settings, and from the possible release of perfluorinated chemicals during the normal degradation or possible use of commercial products that contain them. Health Canada's assessment concluded that adequate margins of exposure existed between the amount of PFOS in human blood compared to levels at which effects occurred in animals, including consideration of age differences and differences within and between species. Specific consideration of the risk to children's health was an integral part of the assessment.

Role of Governments

Health Canada and Environment Canada have completed ecological and human health screening assessments for PFOS, its salts and precursors. The human health screening concluded that current levels would not have a harmful effect on human health. In July 2006, the final ecological screening assessment report concluded that PFOS, its salts and precursors are entering into the environment in a quantity or concentration or under conditions that have or may have an immediate or long-term harmful effect on the environment or its biological diversity under CEPA 1999. The final ecological screening report also concluded that PFOS and its salts meet the criteria for persistence according to the CEPA 1999 Persistence and Bioaccumulation Regulations. While the weight of scientific evidence is sufficient to conclude that PFOS and its salts are bioaccumulative, the relevant data for these substances do not meet the numeric criteria for bioaccumulation as defined in the CEPA 1999 Persistence and Bioaccumulation Regulations. A potential risk may occur through bioaccumulation and biomagnification of PFOS in wildlife.

The Government of Canada has recommended that PFOS, its salts and its precursors be added to the List of Toxic Substances in Schedule 1 under CEPA 1999. An Order was published in Canada Gazette, Part I proposing that Perfluorooctane Sulfonate and its Salts and Certain Other Compounds Regulations be put into force under CEPA 1999 to prohibit the manufacture, import, use and sale of PFOS, its salts and precursors.

Need More Info?

 More information can be found at
www.chemicalsubstances.gc.ca

Health Canada's State of the Science report for Perfluotooctane Sulfonate, its Salts and its Precursors
www.hc-sc.gc.ca/ewh-semt/pubs/contaminants/existsub/pfos-spfo/ index_e.html

Environment Canada,  Perfluorooctane Sulfonate (PFOS), Its Salts and Precursors: Risk Management Strategy. June 2006.
www.ec.gc.ca/CEPARegistry/documents/part/PFOS/

Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD),  Perfluorooctane Sulfonate (PFOS) and related chemical products.
www.oecd.org/document/58/0,2340,en_2649_34375_2384378_1_1_1 _1,00.html

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Santé de l'environnement et du milieu de travail

Le perflurooctane sulfonate (PFOS) et la santé

2007
ISBN : 978-0-662-73232-7
No de catalogue : H128-1/07-496-7F
SC Pub. : 4469

Si vous avez besoin d'aide pour accéder aux formats de rechange, tels que Portable Document Format (PDF), Microsoft Word et PowerPoint (PPT), visitez la section d'aide sur les formats de rechange.

Table des matières

Enjeu

Le perfluorooctane sulfonate (PFOS) est un produit chimique synthétique (d'origine humaine) appartenant à une vaste famille de composés connus sous le nom de composés perfluorés. On a détecté chez certaines espèces fauniques au Canada (p. ex. l'ours polaire et des espèces d'oiseaux) des concentrations possiblement ou effectivement nocives pour eux. Les humains au Canada n'en sont pas actuellement exposés à des concentrations suffisamment élevées pour être considérées comme dangereuses pour la santé, aux termes de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) (LCPE 1999).

Contexte

Des composés perfluorés ont été largement détectés dans l'environnement et sur des organismes vivants, y compris dans des régions éloignées comme l'Arctique canadien. Le PFOS est une substance exceptionnellement persistante (ce qui veut dire qu'il peut résister très longtemps avant de se décomposer dans l'environnement) qui est « bioaccumulable » ou capable de s'accumuler dans certains organismes vivants. Un certain nombre de produits chimiques connexes, appelés « précurseurs du PFOS », sont susceptibles de se transformer ou de se dégrader en PFOS dans l'environnement. Le PFOS est le produit de dégradation final. Il n'est pas réputé subir de dégradations plus importantes dans l'environnement, ni se transformer en d'autres substances dans les organismes vivants (c.-à-d. métabolismes).

Le PFOS, ses sels et ses précurseurs étaient utilisés dans le passé pour ses qualités antitaches et hydrofuges dans des moquettes, des tissus, notamment d'ameublement, et des emballages d'aliments, ainsi que pour leur propriétés tensioactives dans des applications spécialisées, comme la mousse extinctrice, les fluides hydrauliques d'aviation et les agents de suppression des vapeurs dégagées par le placage de métaux. Bien qu'il se puisse que certains en fabriquent toujours, les principaux producteurs de PFOS en ont éliminé progressivement la production en 2002 et les utilisations directes de ce produit au Canada ont été largement éliminées.

Sources

Le Canada ne fabrique ni n'exporte de PFOS, ses sels et ses précurseurs. Entre 1997 et 2000, il a importé près de 600 tonnes de produits chimiques perfluorés sous forme de produits chimiques ou de composants de divers produits. Environ 43 p. 100 des quantités importées comportaient des renseignements indiquant qu'elles contenaient du PFOS, ses sels ou ses précurseurs. Dès que les principaux fournisseurs du PFOS a, sur une base volontaire, arrêté progressivement d'en produire en 2002, le PFOS, ses sels et ses précurseurs ont sensiblement cessé d'être importés au Canada. Toutefois, quelque trois tonnes de PFOS ont été importées en 2004 pour être utilisées comme tensioactif dans les agents de suppression des vapeurs. Bien qu'on estime qu'il reste aux alentours de trois tonnes de PFOS dans les stocks de mousse de type A.F.F.F. utilisés pour la lutte contre les incendies, on croit que la plupart des autres stocks de PFOS sont en voie d'épuisement.

Le PFOS, ses sels et ses précurseurs sont susceptibles d'être libérés dans l'environnement par voie des eaux usées munici-pales/industrielles traitées ou non traitées ou par voie du lixiviat des décharges, par suite de la mise aux rebus de produits et de matériaux contenant ces substances. Le PFOS est également susceptible d'être libéré directement dans l'air, dans le sol et dans les eaux de surfaces lors de l'utilisation de produits qui en contiennent.

Risques pour la santé

Santé Canada a terminé un Rapport sur l'état des connaissances scientifiques sous-jacentes à une évaluation préalable des effets sur la santé - PFOS (juillet 2006). Presque toutes les Canadiennes et tous les Canadiens ont de faibles quantités de produits chimiques perfluorés, y compris le PFOS, dans le sang par suite à leur exposition à cette substance. Bien qu'on ne sache pas exactement par quelles voies ils ont été exposés aux produits chimiques perfluorés, on pense que c'est par l'air, le sol et l'eau de surface contaminés, des aliments contaminés, le travail dans certains milieux professionnels et leur libération lors de la dégradation ou de l'utilisation de produits commerciaux qui en contiennent. Santé Canada a conclu qu'il existe une marge adéquate entre les quantités de PFOS dans le sang humain et les quantités qui provoquent des effets néfastes sur les animaux, même en tenant compte des différences d'âge et des différences au sein des espèces et entre celles-ci. Son évaluation a pris en compte tout particulièrement les risques de ces composés sur la santé des enfants.

Rôle des gouvernements

Santé Canada et Environnement Canada ont achevé une évaluation écologique et sanitaire des effets du PFOS, de ses sels et de ses précurseurs. Ils ont conclu que les quantités détectées actuellement chez les humains ne sont pas nocives pour la santé humaine. Selon leur rapport final d'évaluation écologique, publié en juillet 2006, le PFOS, ses sels et ses précurseurs entrent dans l'environnement dans des quantités ou des concentrations ou dans des conditions qui ont ou pourraient avoir des effets nuisibles immédiats ou à long terme sur l'environnement ou sur sa biodiversité, aux termes de la LCPE 1999. Le rapport indique aussi que le PFOS et ses sels satisfont aux critères de persistance aux termes du Règlement sur la persistance et la bioaccumulation de la LCPE 1999. Bien que les preuves scientifiques tendent à prouver que le PFOS et ses sels sont bioaccumulatifs, les données pertinentes sur ces substances ne respectent pas les critères numériques de la bioaccumulation, qui sont définis dans le Règlement sur la persistance et la bioaccumulation en vertu de la LCPE 1999. Il y a un risque en raison de la bioaccumulation et la bioamplification de PFOS dans la faune.

Le gouvernement du Canada a recommandé l'ajout du PFOS, de ses sels et de ses précurseurs à la Liste des substances toxiques de l'annexe I de la LCPE 1999. Un décret a été publié dans la Gazette du Canada, partie I, à l'effet de proposer que le Règlement sur le sulfonate de perfluorooctane et ses sels et certains autres composés s'applique en vertu de la LPCE 1999 en vue d'interdire la fabrication, l'importation, l'utilisation et la vente du PFOS, de ses sels et de ses précurseurs.

De plus amples renseignements?

 On peut obtenir de plus amples renseignements à l'adresse suivante :
www.substanceschimiques.gc.ca

Rapport sur l'état des connaissances scientifiques - Le sulfonate de perfluorooctane, ses sels et ses précurseurs
www.hc-sc.gc.ca/ewh-semt/pubs/contaminants/existsub/pfos-spfo/ index_f.html

Environnement Canada,  perfluorooctane sulfonate (PFOS), ses sels et ses précurseurs : Stratégie de gestion du risque. Juin 2006. Accessible au :
www.ec.gc.ca/CEPARegistry/documents/part/PFOS/toc.cfm

Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques (OCDE),  perfluorooctane sulfonate (PFOS) et les produits chimiques connexes. Accessible au :
www.oecd.org/document/58/0,2340,en_2649_34375_2384378_1_1 _1_1,00.html.