Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Environmental and Workplace Health

Findings and Recommendations of the Fluoride Expert Panel (January 2007)

The opinions expressed in this report are those of the Expert Panel and do not necessarily reflect the views of Health Canada.

April 2008

Help on accessing alternative formats, such as Portable Document Format (PDF), Microsoft Word and PowerPoint (PPT) files, can be obtained in the alternate format help section.

Context:

As part of its review of the health effects of exposure to fluoride in drinking water, Health Canada convened a panel of experts in January 2007 to discuss this topic and to provide recommendations to ensure that exposure to fluoride remains below levels that could cause adverse effects (i.e., moderate and severe dental fluorosis) while achieving the public health benefit of preventing dental caries. Discussions were based on topic-specific literature reviews developed and presented by some of the invited experts.

The Expert Panel was asked to provide expert advice and to make recommendations to Health Canada and the Federal-Provincial-Territorial Committee on Drinking Water (CDW) regarding fluoride in drinking water. Advice was sought from the Expert Panel on five specific issues of concern:

  • Total Daily Intake of Fluoride;
  • Dental Fluorosis;
  • Other Health Effects;
  • Risk Assessment; and
  • Drinking Water Fluoridation: Risks and Benefits

The Expert Panel reached a consensus on all key issues identified, and its main conclusions and recommendations to Health Canada and the Federal-Provincial-Territorial Committee on Drinking Water on each issue are provided below.

Expert Panel Members

  • Steven M. Levy, Iowa College of Dentistry
  • Christopher Clark, University of British Columbia
  • Robert Tardif, UniversitÚ de Montreal
  • Michael Levy, Institut National de SantÚ Publique du QuÚbec
  • Jayanth Kumar, New York State Department of Health
  • Albert Nantel, Institut National de SantÚ Publique du QuÚbec

Total Daily Intake of Fluoride

Conclusions/Concerns:

  • There appears to be a general decrease in the overall intake of fluoride in recent years. The use of supplements has decreased, as have the concentrations of fluoride in infant formulas.
  • Experts were concerned about the assumptions used in the total daily intake calculation provided for the discussion. They all found that the ranges of age groups were too wide, especially for the 12 months to 4 years old category regarding differences in daily habits, body weight, food intake, and ingestion rates. (Note from Health Canada: these are standard assumptions used by other groups within Health Canada. A working group at Statistic Canada is currently preparing the updated version of some of these exposure factors for the Canadian population.)
  • A concern was raised about the presence of Sulfuryl Fluoride residues as a pesticide that might be present in some food items. (Note from Health Canada: This is not expected to be a concern in Canada, where there is a Maximum Residue Limit (MRL) of 0.1 ppm in unspecified food products, with actual levels observed usually much lower.)

Recommendations:

  • In the table summarizing the data for the total daily intake, ranges of intakes should be presented, rather than point estimates.
  • In the table summarizing the data for the total daily intake, the range of the fluoride intake from toothpaste should be based on mean values of fluoride, and not on the 90th percentile.
  • For infant formula, it is recommended that the "All Formulae" estimation, taking into account the average consumption of infant formula by Canadian infants, should be used. A footnote should be added at the bottom of the summary table of the Total Daily Intake from all sources to indicate that it does not represent the worst case scenario (powdered infant formula reconstituted with fluoridated water).

Dental Fluorosis

Conclusions/Concerns:

  • There is no compelling evidence to challenge the statement that "22-26 months of age represents the period of greatest risk." However, the first three years of age should be considered as the period with the most significant concern, with 22-26 months old possibly being the period at highest risk.
  • The end-point of concern for fluoride is still considered to be "moderate dental fluorosis," according to Dean's Index. It was agreed that this should not be considered a toxicological end-point, but that this endpoint is significant because it correlates with cosmetic problems.

Recommendations:

  • A clear definition is needed for the end-point of concern "moderate dental fluorosis" as there are no generally accepted criteria, and existing rating systems are not generally compatible and/or comparable. Monitoring of the prevalence of dental fluorosis in the Canadian population should be done on an on-going basis, based on the resulting definition and using common criteria.
  • The calculation of the tolerable daily intake (TDI) of fluoride to prevent the occurrence of moderate dental fluorosis (according to Dean's Index) should be mainly based on estimated total fluoride intake from fluid and food in Dean's time. These estimates, as described below, should still be relevant today and should be used in the calculation of the tolerable daily intake to prevent the occurrence of moderate dental fluorosis:
    1. 1600 μg/L of fluoride intake from drinking water, the level at which there was no moderate dental fluorosis in the 1940's, according to Dean's data (Note from Health Canada: With an ingestion rate of 0.8 L/day and a body weight of 13 kg for a 1 to 4 year-old child, the fluoride intake from drinking water would be:
      1600 μg/L × 0.8 L/day
      13 kg


      = 98.5 μg/kg/day);

       

    2. Use the best food intake value to represent the situation in the 1940's. (Note from Health Canada: New calculations, assuming a 1940's diet, indicate that the dietary intake of fluoride by a 1-4 year-old child living in a community with 1.5 ppm fluoride in the drinking water would have been about 27 μg/kg bw/day. Knowing that about 80% of the intake of fluoride from food comes from beverages (included in the 0.8 L/day), the breakdown amount comes to 5.4 μg/kg/day for food intake only);
    3. The intake of fluoride from soil and air is assumed to be about the same as it was in the 1940's (the values are 1.19 μg/kg/day from soil and 0.01 μg/kg/day from air).

Fluoride - Other potential health effects

Conclusions/Concerns:

  • Skeletal fluorosis: The primary functional adverse effect associated with excess fluoride intake (after dental fluorosis) is still skeletal fluorosis (milder forms), likely to occur at about 10 mg/day after 10 or more years of exposure. Definitions of the different stages of skeletal fluorosis should be developed.
  • Cancer: Weight of evidence does not support a link between exposure to fluoride and increased risks of cancer. It is important to avoid any generalization and overinterpretation of the results of the Bassin et al. paper and to await the publication of the full study before drawing conclusions and particularly before influencing any related policy. In addition, there is supplemental negative evidence from the 2005 NTP study, even with higher levels of fluoride than the original 1992 NTP study.
  • Intelligence Quotient: - Weight of evidence does not support a link between fluoride and intelligence quotient deficit. There are significant concerns regarding the available studies, including quality, credibility, and methodological weaknesses such as the lack of control for confounding factors, the small number of subjects, and the dose of exposure.
  • Bone fracture: Studies that do not control for confounding factors, such as intake of calcium, fluoride, or vitamin D supplements, intake of other medication, or consideration of traumatic fractures, should be interpreted cautiously.
  • Immunotoxicity, reproductive and developmental toxicity, genotoxicity and neurotoxicity: Weight of evidence does not support a link between exposure to fluoride in drinking water at 1.5 mg/L and any adverse health effects regarding immunotoxicity, reproductive/developmental toxicity, genotoxicity and/or neurotoxicity.

Recommendations:

  • Weight of evidence does not support modifying the current Health Canada position/opinion on the carcinogenicity of fluoride. Policy decisions should not be based on the Bassin et al. (2006) paper.
  • The current Maximum Acceptable Concentration (MAC) of 1.5 mg/L of fluoride in drinking water is unlikely to cause adverse health effects, including cancer, bone fracture, immunotoxicity, reproductive/developmental toxicity, genotoxicity, and/or neurotoxicity.

Risk Assessment

Conclusions/Concerns:

  • The consumption of powdered infant formula reconstituted with fluoridated water could lead to excessive intake of fluoride in infants, although the following points should be considered:
    1. A few studies have found a positive association between greater use of infant formula reconstituted with fluoridated water and a greater prevalence of dental fluorosis; however, there are no studies that have been conducted to assess possible associations between fluoridated water and risk of moderate/severe dental fluorosis;
    2. The bioavailability of fluoride in reconstituted infant formula is likely to be less than in drinking water;
    3. Extended periods (e.g., multiple years) of exposure to fluoride are associated with increased fluorosis risk, and a higher exposure in the first year of life may not be as much of a concern if it is followed by low exposure;
    4. The risk of excessive intake of fluoride is higher for infants consuming larger quantities of infant formulas.
  • Probabilistic exposures and outcomes are important to consider, rather than just point estimates.

Recommendations:

  • Based on earlier and updated data, the current drinking water guideline of 1.5 mg/L for fluoride is still unlikely to be a cause of moderate dental fluorosis in the Canadian population.
  • The (MAC) of 1.5 mg/L for fluoride in drinking water should be reaffirmed.
  • Monitoring of fluoride levels in food items for the Canadian population known to contain high levels of fluoride should be done on an on-going basis.
  • Further study is required to identify any possible links between dietary factors, fluoride intake and health impacts.

Water fluoridation - risks and benefits

Conclusions/Concerns:

  • Under modern conditions of exposure, Heller et al. (1997) concluded that 0.7 mg/L of fluoride in drinking water provides a suitable trade off between the risk of dental fluorosis and the protective effect against dental caries. A previous analysis by Eklund and Striffler (1980) indicated that the effectiveness of water fluoridation seems to plateau at a concentration higher than 0.6 ppm of fluoride in drinking water.
  • From a health perspective, there is no reason to be concerned about the actual prevalence of very mild and mild dental fluorosis in Canada. In addition, the actual prevalence of moderate dental fluorosis in Canada is low, and all evidence suggests that since 1996 there has been an overall decreasing trend of dental fluorosis in Canada.
  • Community drinking water fluoridation is still an effective public health method to reduce the prevalence of dental caries in the Canadian population.
  • It is now unlikely necessary to determine a range for the optimal target concentration of fluoride, partly because seasonal variability in drinking water consumption appears to be less significant now than before, with more indoor temperature control and fewer people working outdoors.

Recommendations:

  • To adopt a level of 0.7 mg/L as the optimal target concentration for fluoride in drinking water, which would prevent excessive intake of fluoride through multiple sources of exposure.
  • To promote and encourage the availability of lower-concentration fluoride dentifrices for children, which are already available in other countries.
  • Because the greatest variability in fluoride ingestion from food comes from infant formula, the affected industry should be requested to continue to lower and standardize the fluoride concentration in infant formula.

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Santé de l'environnement et du milieu de travail

Observations et recommandations du groupe d'experts sur le fluorure (janvier 2007)

Les opinions exprimées dans le présent rapport sont celles du groupe d'experts et ne reflètent pas nécessairement les vues officielles de Santé Canada.

Avril 2008

Si vous avez besoin d'aide pour accéder aux formats de rechange, tels que Portable Document Format (PDF), Microsoft Word et PowerPoint (PPT), visitez la section d'aide sur les formats de rechange.

Contexte

Santé Canada a amorcé un examen des effets sur la santé de l'exposition au fluorure dans l'eau potable. Dans le cadre de cet examen, en janvier 2007, un groupe d'experts s'est réuni pour discuter de ces effets et formuler des recommandations qui permettraient de maintenir l'exposition au fluorure en deçà des valeurs pouvant causer des effets néfastes (p. ex., fluorose dentaire modérée ou grave) tout en atteignant l'objectif de santé publique de prévenir les caries dentaires. Les discussions étaient fondées sur l'examen de revues de littérature spécialisées sur le sujet, présentées par certains des experts invités.

On a demandé au groupe d'experts de formuler à l'intention de Santé Canada et du Comité fédéral-provincial-territorial sur l'eau potable des conseils et des recommandations concernant le fluorure dans l'eau potable. Le groupe d'experts avait pour mandat de se pencher sur cinq questions d'intérêt précises:

  • Apport quotidien total en fluorure
  • Fluorose dentaire
  • Autres effets sur la santé
  • Évaluation des risques
  • Risques et bénéfices de la fluoruration de l'eau potable Le groupe d'experts a atteint des consensus sur toutes les questions clés.

Les principales conclusions et recommandations qu'il a présentées à Santé Canada et au Comité fédéral-provincial-territorial sur l'eau potable figurent ci-après.

Members du groupe d'experts

  • Steven M. Levy, Iowa College of Dentistry
  • Christopher Clark, University of British Columbia
  • Robert Tardif, Université de Montreal
  • Michael Levy, Institut National de Santé Publique du Québec
  • Jayanth Kumar, New York State Department of Health
  • Albert Nantel, Institut National de Santé Publique du Québec

Apport quotidien total en fluorure

Conclusions/préoccupations

  • L'apport global en fluorure semble avoir généralement diminué au cours des dernières années. L'utilisation de suppléments alimentaires a diminué, de même que les concentrations de fluorure dans les préparations pour nourrissons.
  • Les experts étaient préoccupés par les hypothèses à la base du calcul de l'apport quotidien total utilisé pour les besoins de la discussion. Ils ont jugé que tous les groupes d'âge, particulièrement celui des 12 mois à 4 ans, étaient trop vastes pour des facteurs comme les habitudes alimentaires, le poids corporel, l'apport alimentaire et les taux d'ingestion. (Remarque de Santé Canada : Ces hypothèses standard sont utilisées par d'autres groupes de Santé Canada. Un groupe de travail de Statistique Canada est en train de préparer une nouvelle version de certains de ces facteurs d'exposition dans la population canadienne.)
  • Les experts étaient également préoccupés par la présence potentielle de résidus de fluorure de sulfuryle, un pesticide, dans certains produits alimentaires. (Remarque de Santé Canada : Cette préoccupation ne devrait pas poser de problème au Canada, où les concentrations de résidus observées sont généralement beaucoup plus faibles que la limite maximale de résidus [LMR] de 0,1 ppm dans les produits alimentaires non précisés.)

Recommandations

  • Dans le tableau résumant les données sur l'apport quotidien total, il faudrait présenter des plages de valeurs, et non des estimations ponctuelles.
  • Dans le tableau résumant les données sur l'apport quotidien total, la plage de valeurs de l'apport en fluorure provenant du dentifrice devrait être fondée sur les valeurs moyennes de l'apport, et non sur le 90e percentile.
  • En ce qui concerne les préparations pour nourrissons, il est recommandé d'utiliser l'estimation se rapportant à « Toutes les préparations », qui tient compte de la consommation moyenne de préparations pour nourrissons par nourrisson canadien. Il faudrait ajouter, sous le tableau sommaire de l'apport quotidien total provenant de toutes les sources, une note indiquant que ce tableau ne représente pas le pire des cas (en l'occurrence, les préparations en poudre pour nourrissons reconstituées avec de l'eau fluorée).

Fluorose dentaire

Conclusions/préoccupations

  • Il n'existe pas de données probantes qui contredisent l'énoncé selon lequel « le risque maximal se situe entre 22 et 26 mois ». Cependant, les trois premières années de vie devraient être considérées comme la période la plus cruciale, l'intervalle de 22 à 26 mois étant peut-être la période la plus à risque.
  • L'effet néfaste cible en ce qui concerne les fluorure est encore la « fluorose dentaire modérée », mesurée selon l'indice de Dean. On a convenu que la fluorose dentaire modérée ne devrait pas être considérée comme un paramètre toxicologique, mais plutôt comme un paramètre important en raison de sa relation avec des problèmes esthétiques.

Recommandations

  • Il faut définir clairement l'effet néfaste cible « fluorose dentaire modérée », puisqu'il ne fait l'objet d'aucun critère généralement accepté. De plus, les systèmes d'évaluation actuels sont rarement compatibles ou comparables. La surveillance de la prévalence de la fluorose dentaire dans la population canadienne devrait être continue, et elle devrait être étayée sur une définition et sur des critères communs.
  • Le calcul de la dose journalière tolérable (DJT) en fluorure, qui vise à prévenir la fluorose dentaire modérée (mesurée selon l'indice de Dean), devrait se fonder principalement sur des estimations de l'apport alimentaire total (liquides et aliments) en fluorure à l'époque de Dean. Ces estimations, décrites ci-dessous, devraient encore être adéquates de nos jours. Elles devraient être utilisées pour calculer la dose journalière tolérable et prévenir la fluorose dentaire modérée.
    1. Les données de Dean, qui datent des années 1940, indiquent qu'aucune fluorose dentaire modérée n'a été associée à un apport de 1 600 μg/L en fluorure provenant de l'eau potable. (Remarque de Santé Canada : Si un enfant âgé entre 1 et 4 ans présente un taux d'ingestion de 0,8 L/jour et un poids corporel de 13 kg, l'apport en fluorure provenant de l'eau potable serait de :
      1 600 μg/L × 0,8 L/jour
      13 kg


      = 98,5 μg/kg/jour);

       

    2. Il faut utiliser les meilleures valeurs de l'apport alimentaire pour bien représenter la situation des années 1940. (Remarque de Santé Canada : Selon les nouveaux calculs, fondés sur l'alimentation dans les années 1940, l'apport alimentaire en fluorure d'un enfant âgé entre 1 et 4 ans vivant dans une collectivité dont l'eau potable contenait 1,5 ppm de fluorure aurait été d'environ 27 μg/kg p.c./jour. Comme environ 80 % de l'apport alimentaire en fluorure provient de boissons [valeur comprise dans le 0,8 L/jour], la fraction attribuable aux aliments serait de 5,4 μg/kg/jour);
    3. On considère que l'apport en fluorure provenant du sol et de l'air est environ le même qu'il était dans les années 1940 (c.-à-d. 1,19 μg/kg/jour en ce qui concerne le sol et 0,01 μg/kg/jour pour ce qui est de l'air).

Autres effets possibles sur la santé

Conclusions/préoccupations

  • Fluorose squelettique : Le principal effet fonctionnel néfaste ayant été associé à l'ingestion excessive de fluorure (après la fluorose dentaire) demeure la fluorose squelettique (formes légères), qui est susceptible de survenir après dix ans ou plus d'exposition à environ 10 mg/jour. Des définitions des différents stades de fluorose squelettique devraient être établies.
  • Cancer : Les données dont nous disposons n'appuient pas l'existence d'un lien entre l'exposition au fluorure et le risque accru de cancer. Il est important d'éviter de généraliser ou de surinterpréter les résultats de l'article de Bassin et coll. (2006); il faut plutôt attendre la publication de l'étude complète avant de tirer des conclusions et, surtout, de modifier toute politique connexe. De plus, l'étude de 2005 du National Toxicology Program (NTP) a donné des résultats négatifs, même à des concentrations de fluorure plus élevées que celles utilisées dans la première étude du NTP en 1992.
  • Quotient intellectuel : Les données dont nous disposons n'appuient pas l'existence d'un lien entre le fluorure et un déficit intellectuel. Des problèmes importants ont été notés à l'égard des études disponibles, notamment sur le plan de la qualité, de la crédibilité, des méthodes (aucun ajustement en fonction des facteurs de confusion, faible nombre de sujets et doses d'exposition).
  • Fractures : Les études qui ne tiennent pas compte des facteurs de confusion (p. ex., consommation de suppléments de calcium, de fluorure ou de vitamine D, utilisation d'autres médicaments, fractures par traumatisme) devraient être interprétées avec prudence.
  • Immunotoxicité, toxicité pour la reproduction et le développement, génotoxicité et neurotoxicité : Les données dont nous disposons n'appuient pas l'existence d'un lien entre l'exposition au fluorure dans l'eau potable à raison de 1,5 mg/L et quelque effet toxique que ce soit en termes d'immunotoxicité, de toxicité pour la reproduction et le développement, de génotoxicité ou de neurotoxicité.

Recommandations

  • Les données probantes n'appuient pas la modification de la position actuelle de Santé Canada sur la cancérogénicité du fluorure. Aucune décision stratégique ne devrait être fondée sur l'article de Bassin et ses collaborateurs (2006).
  • Il est peu probable que la concentration maximale acceptable (CMA) actuelle de 1,5 mg de fluorure par litre l'eau potable entraîne des effets sur la santé (cancer, fractures d'os, immunotoxicité, toxicité pour la reproduction et le développement, génotoxicité et neurotoxicité).

Évaluation des risques

Conclusions/préoccupations

  • Bien que la consommation de préparations en poudre pour nourrissons reconstituées avec de l'eau fluorée puisse entraîner un apport excessif de fluorure chez les nourrissons, il faut prendre en considération les points suivants :
    1. Quelques études ont fait ressortir une relation positive entre l'utilisation accrue de préparations pour nourrissons reconstituées avec de l'eau fluorée et la prévalence accrue de fluorose dentaire; cependant, aucune étude n'a été menée sur les relations possibles entre l'eau fluorée et le risque de fluorose dentaire modérée ou sévère.
    2. La biodisponibilité du fluorure est vraisemblablement moins élevée dans les préparations pour nourrissons reconstituées que dans l'eau potable;
    3. Les périodes prolongées (c.-à-d. plusieurs années) d'exposition au fluorure sont associées à un risque accru de fluorose. Une forte exposition pendant la première année de vie pourrait ne poser aucun problème si elle est suivie d'une faible exposition;
    4. Le risque d'ingestion excessive de fluorure est plus élevé chez les nourrissons qui consomment des quantités importantes de préparations pour nourrissons.
  • Il est important de prendre en considération non seulement les estimations ponctuelles, mais aussi les estimations probabilistes d'exposition et d'effet.

Recommandations

  • À la lumière des données antérieures et des données mises à jour, la valeur recommandée pour l'eau potable de 1,5 mg de fluorure par litre est peu susceptible de causer de la fluorose dentaire modérée dans la population canadienne.
  • La CMA de 1,5 mg de fluorure par litre d'eau potable devrait être réaffirmée.
  • La surveillance des concentrations de fluorure dans les produits alimentaires destinés à la population canadienne qui présentent des concentrations élevées de fluorure devrait être faite de façon continue.
  • Des études approfondies sont nécessaires pour examiner les liens potentiels entre les facteurs alimentaires, l'apport en fluorure et les effets sur la santé.

Risques et bénéfices de la fluoruration de l'eau potable

Conclusions/préoccupations

  • Dans les conditions d'exposition actuelles, Heller et ses collaborateurs (1997) ont conclu que 0,7 mg de fluorure par litre d'eau potable représente un équilibre convenable entre le risque de fluorose dentaire et la protection contre les caries dentaires. Selon une analyse précédente menée par Eklund et Striffler (1980), l'efficacité de la fluoruration de l'eau potable semble plafonner à une concentration de fluorure supérieure à 0,6 ppm.
  • Du point de vue de la santé, il n'y a aucune raison de se préoccuper de la prévalence actuelle des fluoroses dentaires légères et très légères au Canada. De plus, la prévalence actuelle de la fluorose dentaire modérée est faible au Canada, et tout porte à croire que depuis 1996, la fluorose dentaire est en baisse au pays.
  • La fluoruration de l'eau potable des collectivités demeure une mesure de santé publique efficace pour réduire la prévalence des caries dentaires dans la population canadienne.
  • Il n'est probablement plus nécessaire d'établir une plage de concentrations optimales de fluorure, en partie parce que la variation saisonnière de la consommation d'eau semble moins prononcée qu'auparavant (plus de contrôle de température à l'intérieur, diminution du nombre de personnes travaillant à l'extérieur).

Recommandations

  • De fixer à 0,7 mg/L la concentration optimale de fluorure dans l'eau potable afin de prévenir l'ingestion excessive de fluorure par de multiples sources d'exposition.
  • De promouvoir et encourager l'accès à des dentifrices à concentrations plus faibles en fluorure pour les enfants. Ces produits sont déjà offerts dans d'autres pays.
  • Puisque la principale cause de variabilité dans l'apport en fluorure par l'alimentation réside dans les préparations pour nourrissons, on devrait demander à l'industrie concernée de continuer à réduire et standardiser les concentrations de fluorure dans les préparations pour nourrissons.