Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Environmental and Workplace Health

Microbiological Quality

November 1998
Revised March 1999
Updated October 2001
(edited January 2002)

Help on accessing alternative formats, such as Portable Document Format (PDF), Microsoft Word and PowerPoint (PPT) files, can be obtained in the alternate format help section.

Introduction

A primary goal of drinking water treatment is to remove microbiological contamination and thereby reduce the risk of illness from pathogenic microorganisms. However, achieving a zero risk of waterborne illness is virtually impossible. Instead, water purveyors attempt to reduce the risks of illness to levels deemed acceptable by public health authorities, by applying a multiple-barrier approach to the presence of pathogenic microorganisms. This approach includes the protection of source water, the use of appropriate and consistently effective treatment, a well-maintained distribution system, routine verification of drinking water quality and public education.

Monitoring water for all pathogens that could be present is not technically or economically feasible. Instead, faecal indicator bacteria are used to verify the microbiological safety of drinking water. The presence of faecal indicators, such as Escherichia coli, in a drinking water supply suggests that enteric pathogenic microorganisms could also be present. The absence of faecal indicators, on the other hand, while denoting the absence of enteric bacteria, is no guarantee that enteric viruses and protozoa are absent. Although these microorganisms cannot grow in water, many can survive longer in water, are more resistant to disinfection and are more infectious than most pathogenic bacteria. While most jurisdictions around the world are focusing on E. coli, some continue to use total coliform or thermotolerant coliform bacteria to verify safety. It should be noted that because many members of these groups can colonize distribution systems, their presence in distribution systems does not necessarily indicate a threat to public health. Nevertheless, the presence of total coliform bacteria in water leaving a treatment plant indicates a serious breach in treatment and requires immediate action.

The use of indicator organisms is only one component in the multiple-barrier approach to ensuring microbiologically safe drinking water. Adequate treatment to remove or inactivate the pathogens is the primary means used to ensure against their presence in drinking water. A treatment system that provides effective filtration and disinfection and maintains an adequate disinfection residual should minimize the presence of pathogenic microorganisms and the risks of related waterborne diseases. Where feasible, a watershed or well-head protection program should be the first line of defence against the presence of pathogenic microorganisms.

Barring system-specific exemptions, all supplies should be disinfected. In addition, minimum treatment of all supplies derived from surface water sources and groundwater impacted by surface waters should include coagulation, sedimentation and filtration, or equivalent technologies.

If the safety of a drinking water supply is compromised to the extent that it presents a threat to public health, the authorities responsible for the safety of the affected supply should have protocols in place for issuing and rescinding boil water advisories. In the event that a supply causes an outbreak, the responsible authorities should have a contingency plan in place to quickly and effectively minimize the extent of illness.

For the purpose of the documents related to the microbiological quality of drinking water (bacteriological quality, protozoa, turbidity, boil water advisories), the use of the phrase "boil water advisory" is taken to mean advice given to the public by the appropriate agencies to boil their water, regardless of whether this advice is precautionary or in response to an outbreak.

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Santé de l'environnement et du milieu de travail

La qualité microbiologique

Novembre 1998
Modifié : mars 1999
Mis à jour : octobre 2001
(révisé : janvier 2002)

Si vous avez besoin d'aide pour accéder aux formats de rechange, tels que Portable Document Format (PDF), Microsoft Word et PowerPoint (PPT), visitez la section d'aide sur les formats de rechange.

Introduction

Le traitement de l'eau potable vise principalement à en éliminer la contamination microbiologique et à réduire ainsi le risque de maladies causées par des micro-organismes pathogènes. Il est toutefois à peu près impossible d'éliminer complètement le risque de maladies d'origine hydrique. Les fournisseurs d'eau essaient plutôt de ramener ce risque à un niveau jugé acceptable par les autorités de la santé publique en suivant une stratégie à barrières multiples pour lutter contre les micro-organismes pathogènes. Cette stratégie consiste notamment à protéger la source d'eau, à utiliser un traitement approprié et d'une efficacité uniforme, à bien entretenir le réseau de distribution, à vérifier régulièrement la qualité de l'eau potable et à informer la population.

Il n'est ni techniquement ni économiquement possible de contrôler la présence dans l'eau de tous les agents pathogènes susceptibles de s'y trouver. On utilise plutôt des bactéries indicatrices de la présence de matières fécales pour vérifier la qualité microbiologique de l'eau potable. La présence d'indicateurs fécaux comme Escherichia coli dans une source d'approvisionnement en eau potable indique que celle-ci peut contenir aussi des micro-organismes entéropathogènes. Par contre, et tout en démontrant l'absence d'entérobactéries, l'absence d'indicateurs fécaux ne garantit nullement que l'eau ne contient pas d'entérovirus et de protozoaires. Bien que ces micro-organismes ne puissent se reproduire dans l'eau, beaucoup peuvent y survivre plus longtemps, résistent mieux aux désinfectants et sont plus infectieux que la plupart des bactéries pathogènes. Si la plupart des secteurs de compétence dans le monde concentrent leur attention sur E. coli, certains continuent de se servir des coliformes totaux ou des coliformes thermotolérants pour vérifier la qualité de l'eau. Il convient de signaler à cet égard que, comme bon nombre des membres de ces groupes peuvent coloniser les réseaux de distribution, leur présence n'indique pas nécessairement qu'il y a menace pour la santé publique. La présence de coliformes totaux dans l'eau qui sort d'une usine de traitement indique néanmoins une sérieuse défaillance du traitement et nécessite une prise de mesures immédiate.

Les micro-organismes indicateurs représentent un élément seulement de la stratégie à barrières multiples qui vise à assurer l'innocuité microbiologique de l'eau potable. Un traitement adéquat pour éliminer ou inactiver les agents pathogènes constitue le principal moyen d'en éviter la présence dans l'eau potable. Un système de traitement qui filtre et désinfecte efficacement et qui maintient une désinfection résiduelle adéquate devrait réduire au minimum la présence de micro-organismes pathogènes et les risques de maladies connexes d'origine hydrique. Lorsque c'est possible, un programme de protection du bassin hydrographique ou de la tête de puits devrait constituer la première ligne de défense contre la présence de micro-organismes pathogènes.

Sauf les exemptions spécifiques à des réseaux, il faut désinfecter toutes les sources d'approvisionnement. En outre, le traitement minimal de toutes les sources d'eau de surface et d'eaux souterraines sur lesquelles les eaux de surface ont une incidence devrait inclure la coagulation, la sédimentation et la filtration, ou des technologies équivalentes.

Si la qualité d'une source d'eau potable est compromise au point de constituer une menace pour la santé publique, les responsables de la salubrité de l'approvisionnement en cause devraient pouvoir se baser sur des protocoles préalablement mis en place pour diffuser et annuler des avis d'ébullition de l'eau. Les autorités responsables devraient également avoir un plan d'intervention d'urgence en cas d'éclosion due à une source d'approvisionnement, afin d'enrayer rapidement et efficacement la propagation de la maladie.

Pour les besoins des documents reliés à la qualité microbiologique de l'eau potable (qualité bactériologique, protozoaires, turbidité, avis d'ébullition de l'eau), l'expression « avis d'ébullition de l'eau » désigne un avis émis par les organismes compétents, recommandant au public de faire bouillir l'eau potable, que l'avis en question constitue une simple précaution ou une réponse à une éclosion.